The rock was Ayres Rock..Still is for me

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:26
ThreadID: 26093 Views:3590 Replies:23 FollowUps:30
Ayres Rock will always be Ayres Rock to me..No thanks to Kruszelniki in Overlander Magazine,who claims all us real Aussies now call it that other name..Freedom of speech..I spent six years in army protecting it..Then they gave the rock to a minority group,not to all Australians!MPG:6!

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:57

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:57
Six years protecting it.............Struth!

That "minority" group spent 40'000 years calling it their own!

Browny
AnswerID: 128074

Reply By: lindsay - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 11:04

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 11:04
Good on you rocky, we becoming a minority group in our own country. The more people that stand up and say that we don't agree with this form of culture change the better it will be for every one. Heard the other day that a person who had immigrated here, said that Australians had no culture. Why? because we are constantly being told that we must conform to all these minor groups, and at the same time disregarding our own forbearers. How do you think that Gosse, Giles and all the others who struggled to open this (our) great country and named these sites would feel if all of a sudden we go back to an indigienous name. I wonder how people in Sydney, Melbourne or the likes would react to the renaming of there cities. A couple of years ago the Vic govt. attempted to rename the Grampians and there was a public outcry from victoria. But if we can change the name of an icon site for a few people and sell it to the international tourists then hide the rubbish and discrace then make a few bucks out of it. who cares what a few locals think. i like you will still call it Ayers Rock, Olgas and the Bungles ect.
But say it to the people in the resorts and tourist areas to indicate that not all peolpe agree or are prepared to go along with the rot of changing names.
AnswerID: 128075

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:16

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:16
Lindsay,

I reckon you miss the point, "WE" formed the cities so we can call them what we want, the big rock allready had a name and "we" changed it!

If the chinese one day decide they want a little more elbow room and invade us I wouldn't be to happy with being told to call it boc choy???
or name it after the current leader cause he says "look what I've discoverd" and we say "maaaate wev'e called it Ayers Rock for ages ya can't change it"

What do you mean by "hide the rubbish & the discrace" you mean the pepsi bottles and food wrappers & stuff, I wonder how long that rubbish has been around, since the rock was called Ayers I'm tipping....:-)

Browny
FollowupID: 382726

Follow Up By: warthog - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:32

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:32
As somebody who has built housing at the Mutitjulu community let me tell you hygine aint high on the agenda there. There was a chicken wire mesh fence placed around the community to stop some of the mess blowing across to the base of the rock.
FollowupID: 382787

Reply By: Member - Foxer - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 11:27

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 11:27
Ayres Rock you bet yah
AnswerID: 128077

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:22

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:22
Yup another vote for Ayres Rock..

White man is allowed history isnt he?

Like tryin to rename Captain Cooks Landing Place to kangaroowallabywallawallawallawallapetroleum isnt it?
AnswerID: 128084

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:46

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:46
Quote:................."now call it that other name"................

What other friggin name is there???????????????? hahahaha (;-))
AnswerID: 128089

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:55

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:55
Jessss !!! Talk about giving 4wd owners a bad name. Maybe you do not like it but that doesn't mean you have to be a twit and vent your spleen in this manner. How about you put brain into gear before opening mouth eh !
AnswerID: 128091

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:24

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:24
I've said it before - why would you want to honor some pommy bastard "His Excellency the Governor of South Australia". Fair dinkum you blokes you'd be better off going and living over there. I guess you barrack for the Poms in the cricket too. Truckster you are obviously a suck to the Monarchy - go and live there.
Its Uluru
AnswerID: 128096

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:49

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:49
what you against white man having a past and history?

Where do I say bleep about the monarchy? fool
FollowupID: 382793

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 18:09

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 18:09
Truckster
if you want Australian geographical landmarks to be named after Governors (the Queens representative) you are a monarchist. Think about for a while. If Giles had named it after himself it wouldn't have been so bad, but to name it after some fag who never went there and is now completely forgotten was a mistake. A mistake that we can thankfully correct.
FollowupID: 382900

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:23

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:23
That we can thankfully correct???
... so, again what your saying is that white man is not allowed to have any history in this country - correct?
FollowupID: 382994

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 22:41

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 22:41
No. None at all.

Where do you live? Melbourne (named after another Governor)?

Have a look around you. I think you'll find that about 99.99 % of all named places/features have Euro names.

There are a handful of geographical features that had names before Euros arrived. If you are so insecure that you need to stick irrelevant European names on these very few things then go ahead.
FollowupID: 383132

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:26

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:26
Then your more stupid than you make out.

Im white and IM proud of it and what WHITE man has achieved. bleep the rest.
FollowupID: 383171

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:26

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:26
Truckster
you have confirmed what I have suspected for a long time : you're scum
FollowupID: 383447

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 09:06

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 09:06
Thats your best comeback?

Good to see your not proud of what has been achieved in this country. Bet ya call yaself an aussie too?
FollowupID: 383517

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:37

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:37
Before you get to carried away with what you call it you might want to learn how to spell it.

AnswerID: 128099

Reply By: Tuff60 - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:43

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:43
Are we not still a free country??
Each person ONE vote, no voice louder than another, reguardless of education.
So BOB and KIWI, it is thier right to call the big red rock anything they like.
Your opinion is no more important than anyone else's.

AnswerID: 128101

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:54

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:54
Maybe we should go the same way as New Zealand and be "politically correct":

- let's call all non-indigenous persons pakeha coz that's the Maori name for it
- let's spend ratepayer money on getting govt employees to learn Maori - which 80% of Maoris can't speak(!!!!)
- let's forget about Europe and the US (not that I'm a Bush fan myself...) and embrace pacific island culture instead, and call it superior too.
- let's instill a sentiment of guilt into our offspring - after all they ARE guilty for what happened 150 years ago right?
- let's begin govt meetings with a 10 minute prayer in Maori, which only about 0.5% of people there (the priest??) understand, and end them the same way. After all, it's the ratepayers who pay wages for public servants - and guess who pays the higher taxes anyway?, Oh, and end meetings with the same prayer of course.
- let's let Maori's sell the radio frequency spectrum to the broadcasting stations, coz it wasn't covered by the Treaty of Waitangi.
-etc etc, just watch the news (I for one have given up)

Now no disrespect meant, everyone has a right to his own culture, and should try to understand and certainly respect everyone else's culture. The problem is when some group is trying to ram it down everyone else's throat, in the name of PC.

Okay, we did it to them I guess, but I don't think they should do it to us now. Two wrongs don't make a right I think.

Where's all common sense gone?
AnswerID: 128103

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 01:16

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 01:16
Un Zed is a classic example of the winners re Writing history - The maoris claim to be indigenous but in fact havnt been ther long the mori ori were shown no mercy by them and the mauri become traditional owners by default - the others were all dead
FollowupID: 382955

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:56

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:56
Me first ,you first ,who realy cares , take the word Aborigine = native of the region = native = born in region = any and all born in Australia are Aborigine ,,so who cares if a big rock is called Alice or Biggustdamnestredcolourchanginghunkofrockindewholewideworldieverdamnsee...
AnswerID: 128104

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:09

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:09
Your durn right there are too many things named after English royalty and their hangers-on.

Maybe Deputy John Howard could come up with a name from the land of the stars and stripes. That's where the cringe is directed these days and we really should keep up to date.

Maybe one face could be carved to display John Howard in a typical pose with President Bush? Imagine the sunsets! As a bonus, the sculpture of President Bush could offer sun rise photo opportunities as well! Double the benefit, but there's more.....................

Ayres Rock/Uluru could be called Big Cowboy Hat Rock and something shorter could be called Little Cowboy Hat Rock.

I can see it now - Big Cowboy Hat Rock with a revolving restaurant on top with golden arches. And Bush on top as well.

Go you good thing!
AnswerID: 128105

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:18

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:18
............... Noah, who was now living in Australia .................

In the year 2005, the Lord came unto Noah, who was now living in
Australia,
and said, "once again, the earth has become wicked and over-populated and
I see the end of all flesh before me.
Build another Ark and save two of every living thing along with a few good humans."
He gave Noah the blueprints, saying, "You have six months to build the
ark before I will start the unending rain for 40 days and 40 nights".
6 mths later, the Lord looked down and saw Noah weeping in his yard, but
no ark.
"Noah", He roared, "I'm about to start the rain! Where is the Ark?"
"Forgive me, Lord," begged Noah. "But things have changed.
- I needed a building permit.
I've been arguing with the inspector about the need for a sprinkler
system
My neighbours claim that I've violated the neighbourhood zoning laws
By building the Ark in my yard and exceeding the height limitations.
We had to go to the Planning Tribunal for a decision.
Then the electricity companies demanded a bond be posted for the future
costs of moving power lines and other overhead obstructions, to clear
the passage for the Ark's move to the sea.
I argued that the sea would be coming to us, but they would hear nothing
of it.
Getting the wood was another problem.
There's a ban on cutting local trees in order to save the spotted owl.
I tried to convince the environmentalists that I needed the wood to save
Owls but no go !
When I started gathering the animals, I got sued by an animal rights
group.
They insisted that I was confining wild animals against their will. As
well,
they argued the accommodation was too restrictive and it was cruel and
inhumane to put so many animals in a confined space. Then the EPA ruled
that
I couldn't build the Ark until they'd conducted an environmental impact
study on your proposed flood. I'm still trying to resolve a complaint
with
the Human Rights Commission on how many minorities I'm supposed to hire
for
my building crew.
Also, the trades unions say I can't use my sons. They insist I have to
hire
only Union workers with Ark building experience. To make matters worse,
the
Tax Office seized all my assets, claiming I'm trying to leave the country
illegally with endangered species. So, forgive me, Lord, but it would
take
at least ten years for me to finish this Ark."
Suddenly the skies cleared.
sun began to shine, and a rainbow stretched across the sky.
Noah looked up in wonder and asked ,
"You mean, You're not going to destroy the world ?"
"No," said the Lord. "The minoritys beat me to it.

AnswerID: 128109

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:39

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:39
Mt Augustus is twice the size of Uluru/Ayres Rock and a bloke called Gregory called it after his brother Sir Augustus in 1858.
See: http://www.calm.wa.gov.au/national_parks/previous_parks_month/mount_augustus.html

Although Francis Gregory was the first European to find it, I suspect the Aboriginals (Wadjeri Tribe) already knew it was there ;-)

I wouldn't be offended if it came to be known by its original name because I, like many others on this forum, dislike change for change sake.

So Mt Augustus should revert to Burringurrah. As a bonus there are some dreaming time legends to go with the name.

As an aside, I suspect most of the ire about 'political correctness' is a reaction to the excesses of the middle class elites who gain benefit from the 'victim' industry. They annoy me as well :-(
AnswerID: 128111

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 00:23

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 00:23
You started with
I dislike change for change sake.

then say
So Mt Augustus should revert to Burringurrah

??
FollowupID: 382816

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:43

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:43
G'day rockyone, must be bored, are you
andy
AnswerID: 128113

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 15:24

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 15:24
Couldn't care less what its called.

Main hassle with Uluru is the way its been exploited/developed the past 20 years. Having visited it a few times in the 70's and 80's, when travelling there was an adventure, I am quite happy never to go back again - way too many tourists.

AnswerID: 128118

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:41

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:41
Quote: I am quite happy never to go back again - way too many tourists.

So what are you when you go there??

FollowupID: 382719

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:11

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:11
Hi Shaker,

No matter where I go, I am a tourist too. But I'd rather get away from my fellow tourists by going away in the off-season or going to isolated places. Pretty hard to do that at Uluru.

phil
FollowupID: 382723

Follow Up By: warthog - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:40

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:40
Phil you are dead right about it being a rip off. Yulara is an absolute rort. I feel sorry for the overseas tourists who pay trough the nose at this souless chit hole and wonder what opinion this gives them of Australia. IMHO Kings Canyon or what ever pc name it may be called chits on that big red lump of extortion.
FollowupID: 382789

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:20

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:20
Hi warthog,
It doesn't bother me that its a rip-off - must be plenty of tourists out there only too willing to pay the high price of seeing it.

I travelled thru there in 1977 in a Corolla station wagon. Camped adjacent to the rock where the famous dingo did the deed. Then to get to Kings Canyon, we called into the pub at Wallara Ranch and the guy there drew us a mudmap on a scrappy piece of paper. There was nothing at all out there - just park the car, and do the walk across the top and down into the Garden of Eden. Great place on a hot day. Then we camped nearby at a place called Reedy Rockhole which was another great waterhole. Naturally we can't do that now - but thats what happens to the popular spots. Just lucky Australia's a big country and theres plenty more places to see.

FollowupID: 382805

Reply By: Redback - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:49

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:49
200 years ago some fella was say the same thing, why change the name it's been Uluru as long as i've known, probably sitting round a fire just like yours in the pic.

Get a grip mate and build a bridge.

AnswerID: 128124

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:42

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:42
on yer Baz..Loved your reply..We are all Australians connected by this "bridge"..On one bank,lets call it Ayres Rock,on the other Urulu..After all,we do have freedom of speech,don't we..Thanks all you other guys for all those great replies.(Not all agreeing with me,which is fine) Discussion is what we need..My reason for starting the thread in the first place..Have a great weekend ! Now,back to the fire.."Another lamb chop? " :-)
FollowupID: 382738

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:50

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:50
Just can't leave this one alone lol

History records that the human race started out as Black in the Rift Valley in Africa.

Whitefellas got their skin colour from living under mammoth skins for centuries

There were another human race here in Terra Australis before the aborigines arrived about 20,000 recorded years ago.

I wonder what THEY called the Big Stone?

Does it matter?

After WW 1 the townsfolk of this town changed the name of our town(and many street names as well) from Petersburg to Peterborough because they hated Germans. Funny thing is that the fella after whom the town was named was born in Australia to German immigrant parents.

Aren't we a petty lot!!!
AnswerID: 128137

Follow Up By: Member - Ian B - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:13

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:13
"Whitefellas got their skin colour from living under mammoth skins for centuries"

Skin colour became white to allow the extra absorption of vitamin D from the sun as they moved into the higher latitudes.

Eye colour from brown to green - blue, is also because of the the same.

There are two models of theoretical human migration, that are both hotly contested by scientists, but both camps still do agree on the skin - eye - hair colour change due to the early adaptation processes.

FollowupID: 382741

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:20

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:20
Ok I believe your theory too Mr B....but how come we go black when standing in the sun for too long?

What was the old saying??? Adapt or die!!!

Hope you are keeping well

FollowupID: 382742

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:51

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:51
>> I wonder what THEY called the Big Stone?
Ayres Rock
FollowupID: 382794

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 00:00

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 00:00
Oh Trucky

Methinks you have lost the plot...hahahahahahaha

PS Have decided against an auto ....will stick with what I have.
FollowupID: 382813

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 00:24

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 00:24
na enjoyin som e banrock stn cab tonight :)~
FollowupID: 382817

Reply By: Joe - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:05

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:05
The rock is part of all the creation... so I'm not clear why any one group of Australians has has more rights to it than another.
As a photographer who sells images from time to time... I'm not allowed to photograph it without a permit... which limits what can be photographed at the rock...and I have to sit over 1hr at a briefing on WHY.

My attitude is it's not "THEIR" rock ...it but belongs to all Australians
Cheers joe

AnswerID: 128140

Reply By: Peter - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:38

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 19:38
it always intrigues me to see the reactions of us white aussies when there is a name "change" of an area to the original indigenous name.
we whites have been here a bit over 200 years. we get attached to the name and think of it as our own. something to identify with and cherish and to marvel at when we visit it for a day or 2. then someone changes it and we feel outraged and victimised. its not fair we cry. its our name and you have no right to change it we scream.
so imagine being a blackfella in this land during the 1800s. what is must be like to have been here for 20,000 years and see the place everyday of your life. to live side by side with it. to identify with it as part of your culture and as part of your identity. to feel that you dont own it but that it owns you. then someone comes along and says "tough luck mate we are changing the name now". i reckon your sense of outrage and victimisation would be pretty intense. to be told your culture is not worth preserving or recognising and that you must comply because the new fellas want to have a sense of belonging to this land and need to change the name to suit themselves. talk about political correctness gone mad.those damn minority group of whites coming here and changing the name of the land. pretty soon they will think they own the place and may well become the majority. then we are stuffed.
so anyway the anger and sense of betrayal we have after being here for 200 years must seem pretty small when one tries to imagine it after 20,000.
it is after all just a name. to us day visitors and tourists it is a place to visit. for others it is a place to live. at worst it means some of our maps need updating to the "new" name.
AnswerID: 128146

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 01:21

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 01:21
Quite. Worst of all, the likes of the original poster in this thread and Truckster with his usual redneck idiocies can't even spell the name they're so attached to... They might find Uluru easier to spell :-)
FollowupID: 382826

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:53

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:53
I dont understand your post, Last time I checked aboriginals still lived next to the rock and are still free to call it whatever they want. In actual fact the rock has NEVER been called Uluru as Uluru is a printed word which does not exist in aboriginal culture as they only had oral language. So going by your reasoning it is offensive to write tyhe name of the rock as that is not in keeping with 20,000 years of history
FollowupID: 382984

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:07

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:07
Why do people want to change the name AGAIN, to Ayres Rock. This would be the third name we have known it by.

The first name we knew it by was Ayers Rock.

Who, or what, is Ayre that you are all so mad about?

Get Fair Dinkhum, it won't look any different, or be any less attractive to visit if someone renames it the "The Greatest Living Fossilised Turd of the Mighty Dreamtimeosauraus". I don't give a bugger what it is called.

I've been watching this all day and had to comment. Much ado about nothing IMO.

AnswerID: 128151

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:37

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:37
Yer bored Jimbo ... admit , yer bored ..... :o)
FollowupID: 382754

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:46

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:46
I'll admit I was bored with the whole load of tripe I read Rosco (well, some of it).

Had to add something useful.

Didn't you like the bit about the Fossilised Turd?
FollowupID: 382756

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:54

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 20:54
Well ... I have to admit .. it did add a little intellegensia to the string.

Though I would have thought ... a tad nuggety.
FollowupID: 382760

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:10

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:10
"intellegensia"??? I think you spelt it wrong but I love your sarcasm LOL.

Nothing quite like a big nugget. Some prefer finding them, some prefer to get rid of them. I'm in the latter.

Cheers Mate,

FollowupID: 382763

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:37

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:37
Jimbo I loved the Fossilised Turd bit......hate to imagine what the Olgas were :)
FollowupID: 383173

Reply By: Graham- Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:24

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:24
nice troll. ;-)

I have enjoyed you reeling them in.

Graham

PS - this post would be more suited to the Overlander Campfire area - they really know how to go to town on one of these topics :-)
AnswerID: 128162

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:48

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 22:48
Graham,

I occasionally visiit the Overlander Campfire Forum.

It's just full of unfunny one liners.

Never a sensible exchange. A lot of dumbarses trying to be smartarses.

In the main, they succeed in making fools of themselves. They just don't realise it.

Try to raise a sensible topic and all you get is a constant flow of amateur comedians. Boring place.

FollowupID: 382792

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 12:44

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 12:44
Yeah! Graham..Normally,I would just mumble to myself about retaining a reasonable degree of freedom of speech (I do not however,regard the vocal de-grading of others in public,or otherwise,as fair,freedom of speech)..Must have been Fathers Day looming,when I posted my mssg..Expected some pretty serious flack,but I thought I got out of it preety lightly.This forum is hardly the place for the big two (politics and religion) and this matter comes reasonably close to the former..Mostly,I just play it cool,call the monolith "The Rock",which it is of course..When does a stone graduate to being a rock? "stone n. A piece of rock" "rock n 1 The hard part of the earth's crust.2 a mass of this:a large stone or boulder"..Call it quits Rocky,you've had your fun!
FollowupID: 382859

Reply By: Skinny- Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:37

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:37
A rock by any other name is still a rock. When rocks become more important than people and names more important than each other we had better take a long hard look inside ourselves.

Whoops on the soap box so early in the day.

Skinny
AnswerID: 128336