we are home
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:29
GOB & denny vic member
hi folks we are home again after covering about 8600ks in our given 4 weeks fairly uneventful apart from some drunken pricks lighting us up with a spotlight and taking a shot over us with a shoutgun 1st night out bil had fuel problems and we camped on the roadside 8ks short of Coleambally at a tee
intersection so although in need of fresh fuel we took our tourisst dollar and moved on to
Griffith before spending. my personal advice to others if this sort of braindead action is encouraged in these 2 bit communities keep your money in your pockets and avoid the area its safer,anyway the only other car problem was my car and a load of crook fuel at 3 ways car was going great pulled in filled up and within 5ks didnt have the enough guts to pull the skin off a rice pudding.
fishing in the daly area was pretty lean due to a lack of
water in the wet. we passed quite a few trucks leaving
alice springs after the truck convention (a couple heading south to warrnabool an old fire truck heading north to kingaroy was still a goer) some great old rigs still moving about
have managed to track some of our trip with the gps and computor but my little car on the map kept deciding at the end of the days to do its own thing
cant remember any crook caravan parks (just 1)
probably our best night was when we pulled into a certain working cattle station north of
cunnamulla, on arrival and not knowing anybody we were told "just find a powered site set up managers are busy at the minute but will get site fees after oh by the way HOW ARE YOU AT CROSSDRESSING??????? wondered what we had struck for a while but the managers had suggested a competion to go with happy hour what a blast decided i would take the photos. while in
darwin they had croc decide to visit cullen bay beach. was a good trip around the worst part was when my mate rang me from
adelaide after we had set up at pt
augusta to tell me they had left a little fishing village not far from KADINA where the whiting had been going crazy if he had let me know a couple of hrs earlier i could have worked it into family committments which also took me away from catching up with willem. i am starting to believe i should leave my fishing gear at home as it just doesnt seem to happen for me on holidays
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:32
Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:32
was wondering when you was gettin back as I came past your joint the other night.
Crossdressing? Thats a worry.. ;)
Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:34
Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:34
goodday bruce
call in and have a beer most nights will be home now
PS never saw another EO sticker or wheelcover except for my travelling companions
Reply By: Bega Photographer - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:47
Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:47
Hi.
I passed the old trucks head-on between
Pimba and
Hay. Dozens of them. Now I know where they were going. Great trucks.
I'll bet their owners and crew had a great time with like minded people in
Alice Springs.
Quite a trip for the "old girls."
Laurie.
Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:52
Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 21:52
goodday laurie
was an anniversary of the transport hall of fame in the alice i believe they had 2500 people at the ball on the saturday night
Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 22:06
Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 22:06
Well' there'd be some "
Miles per gallon" and "Big end bearing" stories going the rounds.
Laurie.
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 19:44
Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 19:44
G'day Steve
Glad to hear you had a good time tho it all seems a bit of a rush to me. But one only has so much time available, eh?
Yeah
well, maybe we can catch up in Melbou4rne later in the year