Grey Water to wash 4x4?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:09
ThreadID: 26178 Views:2674 Replies:4 FollowUps:19
Does anyone use grey water to wash there 4x4 instead of wasting virgin water ?

I have pressure cleaners that will suck from a drum - so have no problem with delivery - can anyone see any problems with using this water ( washing 4x4 on grass and no run off to road )

will do quick final wash down with clean water

Frank

P.s I don't mean legally - I mean in relation to car damage

Reply By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:23

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:23
Hi there boc1971, yeah I have the same set up at home pipe runs from washing machine to a 200L drum which I can use for my underground sprinklers or connect up my garden hose and use it that way. I park the lux on the back lawn and do it that way only thing I find is the detergent is pretty hard on the paint work Strips the polish off pretty quickly so am finding myself polishing quit a bit more (if your worried about keeping it shiny.) We just use what ever is on special eg, fab, cold power,surf etc, I think I should be using bio degradable but it doesn't go down the drain soaks in the lawn anyway.Dont think there's anything on the market that's good for washing the clothes then reusing so your 4b gets a wash n wax out the same water.Take Care Vitara
AnswerID: 128548

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:30

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 09:30
The only prob I can see is if lint and crap is in the water. I have a presure spray and the nozzle partially blocked the other day and that's using clean 'virgin' water.

Leroy
AnswerID: 128550

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 10:14

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 10:14
Hi there Leroy, I use a pair of my wife's old stocking over the end of the the outlet hose from the washing machine to catch any finer lint, then I have an inline filter after the pump just to make sure had no blockage problems, that's using either the hose which you wouldn't have to worry about but I also have a Karcher Gurnie that I use and have had no problems. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 383177

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:10

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:10
could you build a small sump/filter inside the drum on the inlet side of the drum using the stockings to block the lint getting in there yet allowing the water to get in.. then the drum would be 'clean' remove the sump to clean crap out...
FollowupID: 383188

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:30

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:30
Hi there Truckster, yeah probably could but I have the stocking over the pipe thats delivering the water to the drum and I just remove and replace when it get full of lint. Does get a bit of crap on the very bottom of the drum but I have the outlet about 1 inch up from the bottom. Our washing machine latest model hoover doesn't have a lint filter in the machine just throws it out with the wash water, The only reason I have put the filter after the pump (which is only like the ones you use for your gardening undergroung watering systems ($10) at bunnings) so that incase the filter does block it wont stuff the pump up.It was just a quick set up to try and save the water. 200L drum from work, unfortunately had to pay for the 10 metre extesion hose(ah well can't get every thing on the cheap)Scored the pump for a couple of cases of grog. It's the type they use on farms that pump the water up from the dams about $800 new. I can run my 7 pop ups in the front garden and can empty a 200L drum in about 3 and a half minutes.Take Care Vitara
FollowupID: 383190

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:35

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:35
And by the way I have the greenest lawn in the street all from washing water my water bill has dopped by $70 a quarter. Shows how much I use to pump /waste on my lawns. Forgot to say that on a large wash 6 and half kilo machine it pumps out 180 litres of water each wash including rinse. How many loads do the average family do a week. Thats a lot of water.
FollowupID: 383193

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:45

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 11:45
wholey bleep , I didnt realise it was that much water!

Been meaning to look into the grey water thing for a while now, might extract the digit now..
FollowupID: 383199

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 12:59

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 12:59
Yeah s@it loads of water, My neighbour is in the process of doing the same thing as there is six in his family They have a 10 kilo washer so you could imagine his water usage, there line is full everyday he trying to get hold of an IBC which is those big 1000L plastic tanks you see with a crate on the bottom for forklift use. Before the water restictions you could find them anywhere now they want anything from $$150 onwards. You can buy them new for about $350.Take Care vitara
FollowupID: 383214

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 13:12

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 13:12
Have to do the same. 6 in our family , and probably a minimum of 1 load a day , and most cases 2.

Problem is getting the water from the Laundry to the garden
FollowupID: 383215

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 13:41

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 13:41
If your on a down hill run it's ok I have my'n going out through the laundry window (window locked with a lock in the open position about an inch) cut a small hole in the flyscreen same size as hose as said my'n only goes into a 200l drum the washing machine pump, pumps it out no problems about 8 meters in total so I just duck outside and turn the pump on for 3 and a half minutes and it's ready for the next load. I think for a Bigger washing machine a bigger tank would be the way to go that's if you want it set up that way. I was lucky as when I did the landscaping originally I set up all the underground sprinklers/pop ups and ran the black hose up the side of the house to the back tap with a timer on it. Set the time and leave. Reason I sent it to the back so no light fingered person would flog my timers from the front, other wise if your on a down hill run just let it lay on the lawn will just have to move it aroung a bit that's all,I'm a bit fussy and didn't want the black hose running across the lawn, Looks untidy especially at the front of the house. My neighbour has to drill a hole through his internal wall and external brick wall as he has no window only a door. Take Care Vitara
FollowupID: 383221

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:09

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:09
My problem is that now that we have an extension on the house , the Laundry is almost in the middle of the house. No where to run a hose.

Have to route it under the house somehow , and its a tight fit under there.
FollowupID: 383228

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:22

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:22
Hi there Flappa, Unless you have a good down hill run from under the house without going to big expense sounds like you might be in a no win situation. Unless you can get under the house and put in a diversion valve so you can send the water across to another area where you could have a pit type set up with an internal water pump with a float on it which will activate so the pump will come on automatically and send the water to your sprinklers or like my'n you will have to go and turn on yourself, sounds like more trouble than it's worth unless you know some one in the game, as they say it's not what you know it's who you know. Take Care Vitara, Ps it can be done.
FollowupID: 383232

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:33

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:33
I would like to be able to collect it , and use it as I need , but , that may be difficult. Worst case , I dump it all onto the lawn (or what there is of it).

What I'm looking at is , 2 seperate drain pipes on the Laundry tub.

One, main one , drains as per normal , but , the 2nd one , connected to a grey water pipe that drains to the backyard.

If its then raining , I have the option of where to send the waste water. Yeah, ok , its not getting saved , but then , we haven't been getting a lot of rain either.

Seperate Rain water tank is going to be installed anyway.
FollowupID: 383233

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:35

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:35
Im also interested in Bath and Shower water if that can be reused easily enough.

But by the sound of it, you could end up overwatering the garden!
FollowupID: 383235

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:44

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 14:44
Thats where you need the option T.

To use it when you want to , and then either store it , or , say a week of good rain , direct it back into the drain like normal.

Laundry would be easy enough , just a matter of where you stick the hose from the machine . . . drain or grey water hose.

Not so easy for showers/bath. Need to setup a diverter , would mean a plumber being involved.
FollowupID: 383240

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:30

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:30
Id probably have to get a plumber anyway, the only places to put a tank for me are above the shower/washing machine :( and pump it up there somehow..

those Gov Rebates still happening?
FollowupID: 383326

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 09:38

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 09:38
Don't know T ?

I know there are Tank rebates here in the ACT , but , there are restrictions to it , and at the end , hardly worth it.
FollowupID: 383381

Follow Up By: vitara - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 10:36

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 10:36
As flappa said it is hardly worth it Yes rebates still available in sydney NSW. I wanted to put 1 in when the house was built but hey guess what council said no to my application. Don't require one was the response typical but now they beg you to put 1 in and yes the price now for a tank is a shiiit load more than 7years ago,why cause now people want them. But I'm not buying 1. Got me own might not look as good but does the same job A bigger size would be better but hey I just go and turn on the pump more often. Take Care Vitara
FollowupID: 383385

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 10:44

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 10:44
Not sure of other places , but around here , you can get the rebate on the tank , but ,in order to get the rebate , you must have it hooked back into the house for flushing loos etc , so you need pumps , fittings etc.

Costs more then the rebate.

If you want a tank , you just buy it.
FollowupID: 383386

Reply By: G-wizz - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 12:32

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 12:32
4by's look better with dirt on I reckon. Wash the windows when necessary and leave the dirt on the body to protect against scratches on tight bush tracks

;-)
AnswerID: 128585

Follow Up By: Bros - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:35

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:35
Lads,
Have high block house, run bath-shower to back yard via hose.
Wash water hooked up to hose doing both back, side and front yard.
Don't wash 4x4 ( too lazy). Besides looks don't make it go better.
Probably all illegal at present but saving on heaps of water.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 383275

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 09:39

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 09:39
Yeah it is illegal , but , under current conditions , most Govts turn a blind eye to reusing water UNLESS it starts causing problems (run off to neighbours yard etc).

I certainly wouldn't be concerned over it.
FollowupID: 383382

Reply By: Mike DiD - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:35

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:35
Pouring grey water from the shower or washing machine straight onto the lawn is legal.

But if you STORE the water first, Sydney councils will be only too glad to fine you - UNLESS you treat the water first (for a cost of about $10,000 ! ! ! )

This is despite a serious water shortage in Sydney.
AnswerID: 128829