Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:27
stans truck
Hi all can anyone recomend a
good camp chair my son he keep breaking them he is 15 and 6ft. tall and weights 120kg and no overweight just a big framed boy we cant find a good chair for him gone through 3 so far at 60 bucks its getting beyond a joke.Aslo looking for a pair of
driving lights for the cruiser i looked at light force 250 dont know much about, them can anyone recomend a set of good lights
about $500 to spend ,regards stan.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:48
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:48
stan,
Ask the big brute to sit on the ground:-)
Maybe a tree trunk?
At 15, he is invincible and will break anything you provide.
As far as
Driving lights are concerned I wont recommend an individual brand.
Either the Lightforce, or IPF brands are quality units that are available in different sizes and light intensities. The IPF brand has a rectangular unit available and was the main reason I chose them over the Lightforce unit. They just matched my original headlights better and fitted in between the bar work better than the round style.
There are other brands also that cant be discounted such as Cibie Oscars so the end choice must be yours.
One recommendation however I will make. When you purchase your set of
driving lights, ENSURE you also purchase a set of quality locknuts to secure them to your vehicle and use a bit of "locktite" to limit vibration enduced loosening.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 12:44
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 12:44
ditto Sandman,
i prefer the ground (mat if wet.) I don't pack chairs (unless the wife wants one) or a table. And yep, nothing wrong with a bit of wood or a rock if you can fine one suitable. Less stuff to pack but I like being at ground level at
camp.
just me, cheers.
and Lightforce is a good choice.
Follow Up By: sudsy - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 01:53
Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 01:53
Just make him stand up or find a log to sit on.
That way with the money you save on replacing chairs you can get some reeeaaally nice spotties
Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 12:30
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 12:30
stan
have had caribee "king maker" or something similar name to that which have had for at least 4-5 yrs and gets plenty of use
have kept in bag and looked after when travelling and every now and then retighten screws or replace a cple.
take it easy when plonking into chair and getting out.
had cheapie at about $20 from one of shows and it lasted 1 hr-went to get out of it and arm busted.
anyway above working for me(110kg)-u may have tried these and maybe they broke
when
mine breaks i will replace with same again
longest lasting one ive seen used and sat in
fozzy
Reply By: Member - Raymond - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:40
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:40
Hi Stan
I found the best unbreakable chairs were the ones the army had in the 70's. They were all steel, stong even to drive on if bogged and yet comfortable.
I guess he likes leaning back in them and that is what breaks them, recommend that he buy the new one out of his money, should last for years.
Ray
Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:56
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:56
I dont know what sort of chair you have been using but, I would be looking at the Full Frame ones , aluminium Arms , and legs. I think Coleman and Caribee make them. Bit more pricey at around $80 but they seem to work
well. About to buy a couple of those myself.
As for lights.
I'm a Lightforce person myself.
I current have a set of LF 170's on my Pajero that I'm rapt in. had them for nearly 3 years. I'll be getting a set of LF 240's for the Patrol when funds improve , to replace my IPF900 which I think are crap.
I have quite a few mates running the 240's , both Blitz and XGT's.
Buy Aussie Made.
Reply By: meaticus - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:23
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:23
Mate ... I know I am going to get flamed to a cinder on this one, but I bought 4 chairs from Big W - a no name brand - steel x-over type frame & canvas. They were $14.99. This was 3 years and at least 15
camping trips ago.... They are still going strong. I am 6'2" and 140kg ... They even have a stubby holder built into the arm rest so that I am efficient in maintaining my svelt figure and hydration. !!!! ;)
I am all for buying the best quality but, just sometimes, you can pick up something for cheap .... and its just as good .... lol
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:49
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:49
I'll join you in the BBQ. Used a $8.99 special from Bunnings on a four week trip and it's still going strong and I'm 98kg.
Reply By: See You - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:41
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:41
I would put the kid on a diet and make him sit on the ground. This weight for height puts him
well into the unhealthy bracket. A 14 year old that fat should take up sport and get off the computer.
Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:05
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:05
Where is it mentioned that the kid is Fat and sits on the computer, how do you know he doesnt play sport ??????
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:34
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:34
See You , 15yrs +120kg and 6ft tall ,you call him fat ,hope you can run and that you have good medical insurance ..
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:11
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:11
And pray he does'nt find you when he's a couple of years older.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:39
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:39
When I was 18 I was 6'3" and 122kg and had <5% body fat. If the kid is broad and fit, then all the charts go out the window. My doctor reckons those charts are responsible for a lot of the eating disorders getting around. People ill-informing themselves from VERY generalised information.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 08:55
Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 08:55
>My doctor reckons those charts are responsible for a lot
>of the eating disorders getting around. People ill-informing
>themselves from VERY generalised information.
Interesting. The Australian Department of Health, The British National Health Service and the USA Surgeon General's Department all recommend, and use, the Body Mass Index to assess weight and obesity...?
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 10:07
Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 10:07
Hi Mike,
it is interesting. He says the charts the regular Joe generally finds in magazines and other publications, are based on the "average" person and make no allowances for varying body frame types, states of fitness or muscle mass. When I was in the army(the fitest I've ever been), my BMI was 33.5(6'3" and 122kg). This put me in the obese catagory yet I only had a fat percentage of <5%. Once body fat and muscle mass were factored in, my BMI came down to about 19 if I remember correctly. If you are physically fit and have gained muscle mass, the general BMI tables are next to useless. You need to source far more complex tables and calculators to assess all of the variables.
Reply By: Spade Newsom - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:59
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:59
I like the kookaburra chairs. comfortable and strong.
How you stop a 120 kg 15yo kid from breaking anything I can't help with that one.
What footy team he signed up with?
Reply By: res.q.guy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:02
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:02
Hi Stan
Have a look at the king Chair. I have seen them under two brands "Seven Creeks" and "Hi-Country" they are the best I have come across so far. We have two of them.
Neil
Reply By: Tony Shaw - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:23
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:23
Hi there,
Coleman have a few new chairs out that are gauranteed to 130Kg, I'm guessing they must have tested them beyond this figure to gaurantee that. Maybe they are worth a look at.
Cheers, ToNy!
7/9/05 18:23:42
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 19:03
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 19:03
Get him to pay for his own chair ...... be very interesting to see how long it would last then .... lol
Reply By: Scoey - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 11:19
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 11:19
Mate, I'm 6'6" and 110kgs. The bought a chair from one of those cheap shops dead set years ago for about $8 and it's still going strong. I don't think the problem's his size, i think it's his age mate. No easy fix for that one eh!
Oh and don't reckon you can go past Lightforce...
Cop ya later!
Scoey
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:32
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:32
Have to agree, I'm 6'3" and 118kg. Cheapo chair circa 1997 still going strong.
As for lights, had 2 good sets nicked so I stick with my Narva ultima 175's. So far no-one has seen the worth in stealing them and for my requirements, they provide adequate light.
Reply By: stans truck - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 15:40
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 15:40
ok thanks guys and by the way the fat comments i can assure you he is not fat his grand father was 6ft6 and a big man my son takes after him and as sports go, he is verry fit
well lets say he has been boxing for about 3 years would anyone like to go a round or 2 lol thank regards stan
Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:41
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:41
I think See You might like a round.
Follow Up By: See You - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 18:26
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 18:26
Send him up to
Darwin fo a round or 2. If the heat and humidity doesn't get him I will. How many teeth he got??? He will have less when he gets
home.
Reply By: stans truck - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:02
Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:02
well flat out, the old saying dont count your chickens before they hatch and flat out you just might
well be flat out on your back lol