Member - Willie , Epping .Syd.
Howdy all ,
I have just decided to have some narrow 6.5 inch wide 16"
wheels made for my 100TD . I am going to fit either 10 ply Bridgestone 661s or 14 ply Bridgestone M880s .
This is an attempt to use tyres that don't feature bulging sidewalls . I am sick of staking them out in
the desert . I know this will not solve the problem ,but it will help a lot .I plan to have a set of city
wheels and these for trips into tiger country .
Have any of you people had any experience with either of these tyres ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
Reply By: John L G - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 17:55
Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 17:55
Willie
No but a mate of
mine put standard splits back on his cruiser a few years ago and fitted them with Bandags 14 ply and they sure did have vertical sidewalls.
His truck turned into a bit of a steamroller and was pretty uncomfortable to ride in, but flats were history.
Another downside is that if you get in the soft stuff and let the air out it doesn't seem to make much difference - bit like a "run flat" on a motor bike - they just seemed to stay up. Everyman's dream!!!
But for gibber deserts, fantastic tyre and unstoppable in jam country when other vehicles are popping their radials at regular intervals.
I recall one day in the Gibson with three vehicles and 9 flats, but the Bandag beast was unscathed with the owners drinking beer under a tree.
John G
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 21:59
Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 21:59
Hi Willie,
The Bridgestone 661 is a
well constructed tyre which gets used a bit around South Aus, but does chip out too easily on the outback stony roads. Don't know about the M880.
If I were you, I'd consider the Goodyear MTRs in 235/85R16 or 265/75R16.
Also, the Toyo M55F are also meant to be a good tyre in the 235/85R16 size, but the above tyres are expensive.
The better cheaper tyre for outback roads are the Kelly AWR, in either the 235/85R16 or 265/75R16.
And contary to popular opinion, you may find that lowering tyre pressures actually reduces staking of tyres.
Reply By: Jayson - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:28
Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:28
G'day Willie,
After living in the
Pilbara for nearly 12 years, I too am a big fan of the skinny tyre.
I also have a 100 series TD and have been running 6.5" rims from new in 2002.
The tyre placard lists 235/85 16's as an option for the TD and with the large positve rim offset, Toyota were the only place I could get them from for the IFS. They had to come from Japan, special order and took the usual three months. They are very similar to the standard, original 8" steel rim in looks. You don't want to know the price for six of the buggers though.
Anyway, I run a Bridgestone V-Steel, 10 ply rated, 235/85 16 tyre and my last set of six were good for 100 000 kms over two vehicles. These tyres are great for our sharp rock conditions with major earth moving contractors, government depts and Hamersley Iron using them, to name a few. Also good on the highway. I normally run them around 40psi but as they're good for 80psi, depending on the rear load and conditions, I've had them everywhere between 60 and 20 psi. Just finished doing 5700kms in the
Kimberley and CSR. For our conditions, which sound similar to yours, they are the ducks guts.
Jayson
Karratha WA
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 10:49
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 10:49
Jayson,
Good info. Do those Bridgestones have any other numbers on them, so we know what to get.
Years ago I had the V-steel with the steel sidewalls - they were M757. Bridgestone do make tyres for a lot of heavy duty applications but don't publicise them.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 12:03
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 12:03
Hi Jayson ,
I was just in the
Pilbara for 6 weeks in July / Aug , but am now cooling my heels in
Sydney and planning my return trip to WA in June 06.
Where do you live in the
Pilbara ?
Like Phil G , I would appreciate the model numbers etc of those tyres .
I never thought of ordering the
wheels from Toyota Japan . There is two companies in
Sydney I know of , who cut the rim from the centre of the wheel and weld on a 6.5 inch rim .I guess this would be cheaper than the Japanese option , and a lot quicker .
I will not be using the tyres till next June , so I will leave them out in the sun for 8 months to toughen up .
Thanks for your help ,
Willie
Follow Up By: Jayson - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 15:35
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 15:35
G'day guys,
I ordered the rims through my local Toyota dealership but because they were a special order they had to get them from Japan. It took some three months, about as long as it takes to get a whole car, and they were over $200 each. Too expensive for steel rims I agree but the rim offset for the IFS is the catch for finding aftermarket rims in 6.5" width.
The tyres are:
Bridgestone V-steel M1X (VSXDZ)
LT 235/85R16
10 Ply rating
They cost me about $270ea fitted
Willie,
I live in
Karratha and have been here for almost 12 years. For five of those I was a surveyor and used a PC (Troopie) for work. I got to try a lot of "skinnies". I would never go back to a split rim and have had a lot of success in sand with 235's let down to the 20ish mark.
I'm not sure I subscribe to the "toughening up" of tyres in the sun. I know I dry out and crack in the sun and I reckon if the tyres are more pliable they'll mould around the sharp stuff better and bag out for the soft stuff better too. Just my experience, that's all.
Jayson
If you want some pictures email me at franjays@tpg.com.au
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:34
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:34
Jayson ,
I stayed a couple of days near you at Pt Headland in the middle of our 7 week
Pilbara adventure .Then we went up the coast to do some fishing at Condon - caught heaps of blue nose salmon which we froze and ate later on in the trip .
Cheers ,
Willie.
Reply By: banjodog - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 06:12
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 06:12
link Bridgestone 661
Follow Up By: banjodog - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 06:15
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 06:15
I'll try again >>> Bridgestone 661
Reply By: Peter - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 11:53
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 11:53
Have run 661's for 18months, good tyre. did have chipping on rear tyres only on strez track. Assuming it was caused by excessive pressure in rear tyres. Fronts didn't chip at all. Was
well loaded and had 45 in the rears and 35 in the fronts.
Cheers Peter and Lez
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:20
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:20
Thanks to all you guys for the great info :
John LG , Phil G , Jayson , Banjodog , Peterand Davoe .
I went down to see my Toyota dealer . He quoted me 15 days delivery from Japan for 16 x 6.5 steel rims from Japan at $218 plus GST each .
I have to find out how much it will cost to have them welded up from second hand
wheels .