Submitted: Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 12:37
simon
Hi All HELP req
looking for a good diesel engine rebuilder and tuning spealist in nth qld (im in
gladstone).
I have a 4.2L GU with aftermarket turbo intercooler the vechicle has only done 135K with regular servicing and maintence yet while driving up the
gladstone last week it dropped its bundle.
It appears that i have dropped a piston as i am getting heaps of blowback through the air cleaner and tappet cover.
Looking for recommendations on repairers will transport the nissan to Bris is required.
Simon
Reply By: Leroy - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 13:18
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 13:18
How old is it? Even if it's a tad over 3yo and i know the km's put it out of warranty but I'd be having a chat to Nissan HO and see what they can do for you.
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 20:49
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 20:49
If he can get warranty on a motor running an aftermarket turbo he can buy my lotto tickets
Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 11:27
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 11:27
aftermarket may present a prob. lol Missed that. If it was factory
well another story.
Leroy
Reply By: 120scruiser - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 13:19
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 13:19
If its dropped its bundle at 135 k I'd say it was overfueling therefore running too hot EGT's. The only one I know is Motsons. This would be a good start as I would be getting the pump recalibrated and Dynoed after the rebuild to ensure the fuel system is spot on so you don't do another engine in the foreseeable future.
Follow Up By: macka - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 23:58
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 23:58
If. In the unfortunate circumstance,you do have to do a rebuild/exchange..
Think about a Chevvy 6.5 natural Aspirated donk. in leue of...
Don't need a Turbo then and more grunt than you can poke a stick at..
Just a thought.
Macka
Reply By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 13:19
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 13:19
Simon,
Cant help you with info but im amazed at reading your story.
Hope whoever does the work spends time investigating the cause. I cant see the cause being an Engine failure, Personally I'd be looking closely at the turbo and how it was fitted. Do you know what boost it was set at? Also what brand oil were you putting in the sump?
Really sorry you have to go through this mate.
Ange
Follow Up By: simon - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 09:26
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 09:26
Hi Ange
The nissan was purchased from a company that specialise in turbo charging and tuning of nissans patrols in the
Wauchope area in NSW it was the owners wifes car.
I assuming the turbo fittment is ok but im guessing that the tuning side was incorrect and like the guy with the 1hz motor I have holed a piston.
I think at this point of time i may get the nissan transported to Bris to someone like motsons and get it sorted out depending on costs involved.
The oil i use is Total Rubia 6600.
Simon
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 14:19
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 14:19
G'day Simon,
My old man lives at the
gemfields,just had his 4.2 turbo rebuilt by the bloke who rents our house up there, and works as a diesel fitter in
emerald, Dad saved himself about 4grand by getting him to do it as a weekend job.
I can get hold of him if your interested and put him in contact with you, I realise the distance between you, but you may be able to work something out between you if he is interested in doing it.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: simon - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 09:30
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 09:30
Thanks Pezza
At this stage im more inclined to send the nissan too Bris where i can get the tuning sorted out at the same time to ensure this problem never occurs again.
Simon
Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 14:36
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 14:36
Hi Simon,
Would've thought Nth Qld started up around Mackay, not
Gladstone, but anyway...
Sorry, I can't recommend any repairers in that neck of the woods except to say, Steve, the service manager at the
Gladstone Nissan dealer is a good bloke who should give you reliable advice.
You may not have actually 'dropped' a piston. It is is possbile you've holed one throught excess fuelling and temperature in one cylinder. This would be a much simpler repair than a full rebuild. I'd recommend getting the head lifted to exposed the damage, then make a desicion on repair/re-conditioning/exchange, etc.
Follow Up By: simon - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 09:37
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 09:37
I will go and have a chat with steve on Monday
Simon
Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 22:42
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 22:42
Hi Ian Would you mind looking at the posts on 26328 and helping out ,if you can with some info on diesel exhaust gas temps?
Thank you Ken.
Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:38
Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:38
simon,
maybe even just dropped a push rod out from under a tappet, gives a shocking sound through manifold when this happens...........Hopefully!
Browny
Reply By: kesh - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 08:34
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 08:34
Was talking to the owner of a 75 series who had turboed the 1hz motor.
Coming up the
hill from
Grafton to Glen Innes he expierienced identical problem to yours. Holed piston from over fuelling. No other damage, replaced one piston then had pump correctly calibrated.
Your repair bill may not be too exreme.
Methinks this was the gremlin stalking owners of early 3.0l. Nissans.
kesh
Reply By: Muzza - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 11:58
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 11:58
G'day Simon,
I have a '97 GQ Patrol with 110,000km on it. It has had the Safari turbo and intercooler on from about 30,000km. Compression is now down in 2 cylinders with a leakage of about 65% in both of them. Cannot tear it down yet as the vehicle is essential for work. Various opinions suggest broken top rings because from about mid '95 to '97 the GQ TD42 had lighter pistons.(This makes me wonder whether your GU being naturally aspirated from factory will be the same motor as
mine). I am seriously considering a low km Jap import TD42T motor as they had the strong internals, and even though it may be cheaper to rebuild
mine, the problem may occur again.
(Just as an aside, my egt's were spot on)
Hope this helps mate,
Muzza