All our cars are iligal

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:13
ThreadID: 26487 Views:4721 Replies:17 FollowUps:18
Just had a interesting reading about what weight we can actually cary in our 4by's. Was interested to read that legaly , you are only alowed to carry the following in the next group of 4by's

Landcruiser 580 kg
Kluger 575 kg
Nissan Patrol 555 kg
Ford 250 1073 kg
Ford courier 1166 kg

Ok , so you want to add the basic accesories

Bull Bar 60 kg
Winch 50 kg
rear bar 100 kg
Long range tank ( lets say extra 50 L ) 50 kg of fuel + 10 kg extra for larger tank
Roof rack 65 kg empty

thats 335 kg already . Lets say you own a Nissan patrol , with a 555 carrying capacity , that leaves you with 220 kg
2 adults + 2 children lets say 270 kg ( some families are larger lol )

this means your vehicle is 50 kg over weight and you havent even packed a plastic spoon yet

Food for thought

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:32

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:32
Yep, utes are built for load carrying, other vehicles are for passengers and suitcases.
AnswerID: 130293

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:35

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:35
Give em heaps Ray. LOL

Rock Crawler,

Where did you get that info?
FollowupID: 384745

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:21

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:21
That may not be quite right mad dog. Bloke at a place I worked was working on the justification for buying an F250. Fully kitted an exploration ute only has about 200kg of extra carrying capacity. certainly another place I worked had to upgrade the springs fro new to raise the GVM to keep them legal - no I think you will find utes are in the same boat
FollowupID: 384749

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:33

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:33
Well it doesn't matter how much the load capacity is if you put enough gear on it you will eventually reach the limit. The fact remains utes have a larger capacity. From memory my lux is about 1100 kg.
FollowupID: 384750

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:31

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:31
Sorry Davoe Heavy duty springs does not lift the vehicles carrying capasity , you need to spend around 10 k with a engineer to do that
FollowupID: 384798

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 15:14

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 15:14
yea brakes need some mods as well but I dont think its 10k They had an extra plate under the bonnet advising they had an upgraded gvm capability. I understand its alot easier to do with a new vehicle than upgrading a 2nd hand one
FollowupID: 384880

Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:39

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:39
Isn’t that referring to the weight that can be carried in the designated luggage Area? And not the weight that can be carried on the car, like bolts on accessories and passengers.

And how can a courier be licensed to carry more weight than a F250??
AnswerID: 130295

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:46

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:46
Carrying capacity means just that , it means how much weight that vehicle can carry . Dosnt mater were it is
FollowupID: 384754

Reply By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:39

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:39
Interesting to compare Prado/Pajero figures to LandCruiser/Patrol - the "smaller" vehicles have about 100kg more payload.
AnswerID: 130296

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:40

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:40
Yes I can imagine just how overloaded the T40x2 used to be with all those gadgets on it....hahahahahahaha

BTW did that letter arrive?
AnswerID: 130297

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:49

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:49
Yes mate thanks , a very happy Dean , was more exited to hear that you were visiting soon

;-)
FollowupID: 384755

Reply By: cabbageoz - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:26
708 kgs for F100 4x4
AnswerID: 130310

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:27

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 21:27
Nearly finished packing mine and I think I need to go on a diet. Full tanks and 80ltr of water and she's at 3260kg according to the weighbridge at work. New with no accessories it tipped 2800kgs. Tent, swags, spare tyre case, clothes and fridge to fill yet and with a few odds and ends she'll most likely hit 3400kg. That rear Kmar bar must weigh half a ton! I still have a further "legal" margin of 300kgs but enough is enough!! Ahhhh...but I can hardly wait to point her north and get going.
AnswerID: 130311

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 22:37

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 22:37
Its dead set simple:

Load your vehicle up with whatever it is you intend to carry when driving off on your trip. (just think you are going to do the SD or CSR)

Go to the local weigh bridge and weigh the sucker including SWMBO and any others likely to travel.

Then compare the weigh bridge result with your vehicles rated GVM.

And cry tears of blood working out how you are going to get the 'mother' under the Rated, Legal, Lawful GVM.

Ken Robinson

AnswerID: 130326

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 22:43

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 22:43
Roachie is bleep ed....
AnswerID: 130327

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 22:54

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 22:54
Yeah!

And so am I by a 100kgs.

Bugger.

However I have got that Driving Light thing under control with the 4 driving lights now coming in to fit NSW legal requirements.
FollowupID: 384784

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 23:12

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 23:12
Yeh, I've known for donkey's ages that I'm illegal BEFORE I even get in the bloody thing on a GOOD day (ie: "unloaded"), cos the bloody thing weighs 3000kgs with me standing OFF the weigh bridge. Add missus and kids (300kgs....hahahaha), 100 litres of coolant in the radiator, plus hang the trailer on the Treg (70kg ball weight), plus about 100kg on roof rack etc etc.......I've never been game to put the whole shooting match on the bridge when I'm just about to head off on a trip.

(;-))
FollowupID: 384789

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 23:17

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 23:17
ssshhhh, best not to talk about this subject, before we know it the authorities will be cracking down on overloaded 4b's, and the media will have a field day every month.
FollowupID: 384790

Follow Up By: Member - toohey - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 06:42

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 06:42
gid'ay lucy
tell me about the driving lights,how ya gunna do it.
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 384796

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:34

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:34
Every month Ray? try every hour!
FollowupID: 384815

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:22

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:22
Check your MM Toohey
FollowupID: 384829

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:28

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 10:28
hey lucy I aint workin there no more either so no need to call there, call me at ome or mob if ya need me in future :)
FollowupID: 384831

Reply By: figtree - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 23:08

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 23:08
I thought the reason for fitting an aftermarket suspension (which comes with weight rated springs-light, medium, heavy) was to enable a higher load.... Reading this thread, I went to check the papers for HJ61:

Tare: 2360kg
GVM: 2850 kg
Aggregate Weight: 3250kg

The OME suspension was fitted a few months ago and in the warranty conditions it states that the warranty is void is the vehicle is loaded over the manufacturers GVM.... this makes me wonder what on earth is the purpose of the aftermarket suspension which is supposed to cope with off-road conditions and heavy load (isn't that why there are different load options for the springs?)

Joseph
AnswerID: 130337

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:36

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:36
>>> this makes me wonder what on earth is the purpose of the aftermarket suspension which is supposed to cope with off-road conditions and heavy load (isn't that why there are different load options for the springs?)
Correct - Cope with offroad conditions, and to cope with heavier loads - Upto GVM. Stock MT truck V Full Truck.

The purpose of the heavier suspension is only to allow a better ride, nothing to do with increasing anything.
FollowupID: 384816

Reply By: Blaze - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 01:36

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 01:36
Yeh People it sucks and Rock Crawler has it right on the money, I have heard incidents in NSW of the Barbie boys weighing some lately, also checking towball weights if towing Vans or Campers. Bigger worry than being pinched for overloading, is if you happen to dent your pride and joy, insurance companies have an out if the vehicle is proved to be over its GVM. My Bravo went 2.9 when we crossed the Simpson so was just over, mates Nissan went 3.4 so was over by miles. The after market guys can have a field day, using Carbon fibre etc for all the add ons, even including body panels. Then we will only need about 300K to get a vehicle setup. i think I need a ly-down
AnswerID: 130346

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 08:09

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 08:09
Yeah...if they only manufactured a carbon fibre camp oven I'd be right.
FollowupID: 384803

Reply By: bushy04 - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:04

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:04
Look, listen and learn!

Look in parking bays just before weighbridges, chances are that if its full of trucks, the 'barbie' is hot. That mean VicRoads, highway patrol, RTA, transport QLD, SAtransport, or some other group of self justifying gooses are there.

Listen to your UHF or CB! The truckies genarally know whats going on in front of them. Occasionally, they get it wrong, but for the most part, they'll fill you in.

Learn to speak another language. this will confuse a scalie or cop to no end. But under no circumstances should you drive off after speaking fluent swahali with a casual 'See ya later mate.' That will get you caught.
AnswerID: 130368

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 11:15

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 11:15
LMAO, yeah like are you trying to tell us somthing we DIDN'T know? :-)

Man the surf carry's more than mosta you blokes I'm sure, look at my list of CRAP and that's before we pack all the camping gear and BABY stuff! (I think I have the same problem as roachie but on a smaller scale).

In reality I don't think your going to get into much strife from the cops if your vehicle doesn't look dodgy. ie If you ensure that your suspension is up to scratch and the load is balanced and well secured.
We put the roof rack bag on and secure everything neatly in the back and then pump up the rear air bags. We have no sagging and everything looks and feels sweet so the average copper that pulls you over for a licesne check is going to look at your tyres and suspension and make sure your numberplates aren't dirty and go, no worries mate take it easy. Most coppers wouldn't have a clew anyway. That's what amazes me about the powers cops have to issue roadworthy's, I mean where did they do their mechanics or engineers apprenticship? What the hell do they know, why should they have the right to interfere with mechanical issues!?
I got my cortina yellow stickered when I was 17 because it had "oil leaks". Of course I probally didn't help the situation by being smart but hey. COPPER -"Looks like you got some oil leaks hey mate." ME - "Well it is a ford isn't it?". LOL
I steam cleaned the engine, my neighbour (a mobile mechanic) gave me a dummy recepit for replacing all the engine seals and my girlfirend took it over the pits with a tight top on, back and the road with a leaky master cylinder, more oil leaks than a triumph, a leaking head gasket, retread tyres and more bog than metal. They are idiots...
AnswerID: 130394

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:15

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:15
Bloody Cortinas!! You have just reminded me of when I had one or two. It took many years but I finally weaned myself off Fords lol
FollowupID: 384876

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 12:20

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 12:20
Looking at the manual for the Disco weighing in at 2195kg and a GVM of 2750 gives me 565kg carrying capacity, with an extra 130kg if i have load leveling suspension, which gives me a GVM of 2880kg, this means i'm under by my short and curlies ;-)

AnswerID: 130401

Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 12:24

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 12:24
. . . . and I got insulted by an EO member early last month for suggesting that many 4WDs which have been set up for off-road use were indeed, overweight.
AnswerID: 130402

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:17

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 14:17
Yes but you are a Forumite just waiting to be insulted. You can't help yourself, Wombat!!! LOL
FollowupID: 384877

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 16:41

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 16:41
I and others have been pointing the overloading issue out for years, it's amazing how much you can pare from the load if you travel light and don't take too much that isn't used constantly when travelling.
Do't forget with most of the big wagons that can carry 8 passengers, each passenger 'weighs' for weight purposes 65-70kgs multiply that by 8 and you've punched a serious hole in the load carrying capacity (probably none left.)
Add bullbar, towbar, heavier suspension, dual batteries, recovery gear, winch, spotties, rear tyre carrier, long range fuel tanks, cargo barrier, rear drawer system, etc etc etc and most 4wd's set up for touring would be way over GVM.
I remember weighing a 47 series troopy in Alice Springs back in the mid 80's, all loaded up to head across the Tanami, weighed 4.2 tonne, the weighbridge fella wouldn't write it down as he knew that we were illegal!
AnswerID: 130431

Reply By: sudsy - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 23:47

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 23:47
Yes it's surprising what light loads some of the larger vehicles can actually carry legally.

I believe the manufacturers set the GVM by taking everything about the truck into consideration.....e.g: load bearing capabilities of the axles and bearings, unladen vehicle weight already on the axles & susp., chassis design and construction, structural integrity, spring rates, etc. etc.

So upgrading to heavier springs etc doesnt necessarily mean you can legally or safely exceed the load limit specified by the manufacturer although there is usually a buffer zone of some percentage of what the vehicle can actually safely carry.

Utes are usually designed with a very rigid chassis and are lighter on the back to start with gives them a greater load carrying capacity than most of the bigger wagons. Ah, I love the versatility of the dual cabs.

my 2c

AnswerID: 130749

Reply By: Tuff60 - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 13:03

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 13:03
In the interest of getting three more slabs on board and staying legal, it would appear that the missus or the bullbar will have to stay at home. Decisions, decisions.
AnswerID: 131005