Flinders Ranges.

Submitted: Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:43
ThreadID: 26608 Views:5571 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Thinking Willem might have some input to this question, or anyone else who has a fave spot in the Flinders Ranges.

I have just a weekend in late November and a mate who has recently moved to Broken Hill from somwhere near the coast (Gunnedah is near the coast when you live in Broken Hill). He has never been west of the Hill.

Leaving early Friday arvo and have to be back mid arvo Sunday (work). We would like to camp in the same spot both nights and wondering what the best spot might be. I have previously camped in Chambers Gorge a couple of times. It is nice but was wondering about other possibilities, maybe with some water, for a swim? I know it's asking a lot but in late Nov it could be warm and a quick dip before bed might be real nice.

I am looking forward to a long list of options even if the swim thing is overly optomistic.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:50

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:50
Duncs,

Have a look at my post 26576.

AnswerID: 130927

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:07

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:07
Thanks Wayne,

I did read that post and have been thinking that Rawnsley might be the go. I am just doing a little "fishing" to see if someone might let me into one of those local secret type things. I have probably blown my chances of that now.

I promise not to tell anyone else, honest.

FollowupID: 385312

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:22

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:22
Duncs,

Not much chance for swimming in November unless there is some unseasonable rain to feed the creeks/water holes.

As far as camping is concerned, I can recommend Willow Springs Station, about 1/2 hour north of Wilpena Pound.
Not only do they have some beaut Bush camping areas, but this is the home to Skytrek, which takes about 5 hours to drive around. the trek takes you to the top of Mount Caernarvon giving a superb view over the surrounding area with Wilpena Pound in the foreground.

Wilpena Pound which is within an easy drive if you wish to check it out. There you can take a walk, or even a flight over the pound.

Brachina Gorge is also another good spot to camp.

Blinman is not too far away if you need to "replenish" your stocks and is a great little town with a swimming pool in front of the Pub if you want that swim.

AnswerID: 130934

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:27

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:27
Thanks Sandman,

I have seen the Willow Springs web site and it too looks nice. Skytrek has tempted me for some time. Just a little concerned about the distance from home.
FollowupID: 385425

Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 00:05

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 00:05
Totally agree with Sandman, I believe Willow Springs is still one of the best places to camp in the Flinders, and is by far the best track to drive. Do it and say hi to Carmel and Brendon for me.
AnswerID: 130946

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 11:33

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 11:33
Seeing you only have a weekend, and you need to minimise the k's from Broken Hill, go to Bendleby Ranges.

www.bendlebyranges.com

They have enough 4wdtracks to keep you occupied for 3 days, great camp sites and you can still get hot showers. The owners are great people.

Its only a stones throw from Peterborough.

AnswerID: 130990

Follow Up By: PandJ - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 14:35

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 14:35
Good sugesstion Phil, I have worked all through the flinders grading the roads, and at Arkaroola for a mining company and think the Bendleby ranges could be worth checking over.

Cheers P&J
FollowupID: 385385

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:22

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:22
Thanks for this suggestion Phil. I would not have known about Bendelby without it, that's why I asked here. The web site looks good and it's closer to home, I like that.
FollowupID: 385423

Reply By: Glowplugs - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:23

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:23

Yes, well......I like Warraweena but it is nearly 600km from you. Bendelby Ranges sounds good. And you can drop in for a cuppa on your way home :o)
AnswerID: 131041

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:15

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:15
You've changed your name.

I was thinking the cuppa might be offered. Have to see what the others are thinking at the time but if I can I will.

Bendelby does sound good. I have never shied away from driving, but if you can get somewhere nice without spending hours at the wheel why not.

Warraweena looks nice too.

I did wonder about Chambers Gorge but I have been there a couple of times and a new spot is usually more fun. Roughly how long do you reckon it would take from Yunta to Chambers.

FollowupID: 385422

Follow Up By: Glowplugs - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:24

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:24
Hi Duncs

Yes, changing name to go incognito..hahahahaha

Chambers Gorge is around the 280km from Yunta and although the road is reasonable you will probably only drive at 80/90kmh. So 3 hours plus I would say. You could do Bendelby Ranges on the way back from Chambers

FollowupID: 385424

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 18:45

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 18:45
Duncs, I know this is nearly a month behind your post, but I agree with Willem that Warraweena has it for me too. Have done the Sky Trek and also the Cockatoo - Dunbar Track and the variety and beautiful cool gorges are lovely. Easy to forget to do the Suicide Track though, for Heathers' nerves. LOL
FollowupID: 388937

Reply By: DaveF - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 14:02

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 14:02
I can reccommend Bendelby Ranges. Stayed there a few months ago with a group of friends. There are a number of tracks to do but certainly the Billy Goat Hill track offers brilliant panoramas and a bit of 4WD challenge.

DaveF
AnswerID: 131354