Premium Unleaded

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 17:13
ThreadID: 26649 Views:2427 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
I bought the missus a new pulsar when I upgraded the fourby and we were discussing the merits of using premium unleaded. They say its better for the engine and increases economy so I was just wondering if anyone out there uses it. Is the price difference at the bowser made up for in better economy?

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 17:34

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 17:34
No. Not for Shell Premium Unleaded anyway. (95 octane)
The additional cost (8c/l) was NOT made up for in better fuel economy in testing I did over 3 months or so.

It may be possible for something like BP PULP (Ultimate) which is 98 octane rating but without a discount fuel voucher I'm reluctant to try them.

Interestingly, Shell also flog "Optimax" which is 98 octane, but only in Vic, NSW and SE QLD. So bugger them.

AnswerID: 131209

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:11

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:11
HI guys , Its time I told you again Fit a FITCH and use standard unleaded and get premium performance.
Interestingly a diesel expert overhauled my injector pump after 490,000 klms removed for a leak {broken seal} this pump running with fitch for 150,000klms and he states that the inside of the pump was ,as he states cleaner than clean. What does this indicate to those who DOUBT.?????
Its your money waste it as you see fit.

BILLS
FollowupID: 385588

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:24

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:24
You keep pushing it don't you Bill?

Please send me one of these "fantastic" devices and I will provide an independent evaluation of the products' worth.

Otherwise, Nah! I'll save my money on something worthwhile thanks.

FollowupID: 385590

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:42

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:42
Why would the injector pump be anything other than clean? it only has diesal go through it its not like an engine that gets clogged with soot as a byproduct of combustion. Also for how many of those ks was the fitch fitted ? Sounds to me like all was well until the fitch was fitted then your seals started crapping out!!
And last of all your testimonals are useless as you provide only an opinion biased by your need to MAKE MONEY
FollowupID: 385594

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 20:15

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 20:15
So the pump still had 340000 on it with no FITCH.

Bill, You are a mechanic are you not? If so, why would you pay somebody else to do your injector pump?
FollowupID: 385606

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 22:07

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 22:07
Exploder --- Most mechanics are just new parts fitters - if something needs some real servicing - there usually taken to machinists

prepares to duck for cover hehehe ;)

Frank
FollowupID: 385634

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:39

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:39
Bill,

Reckon that if I wanted to hear about the fitch I would have asked a long time ago!
FollowupID: 385728

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:36

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:36
Check the owners manuel. I had a camry and in that it specifically advised NOT to use premium
AnswerID: 131233

Reply By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 20:01

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 20:01
Years ago I owned a 97 Pulsar from new - running it on 98 octane at the time worked out the same cost per km as regular, with a bit of extra power. So no fuel savings, just better performance. Assuming they have a different engine now - mine was only a 1.6L. Do a couple of test runs after the engine has a few thousand km to run it in a bit - do a dozen fills on ULP, then do a dozen on PULP, and compare the consumption.

Conversely I'm finding PULP in my Pajero to be a much better proposition for hwy use, and break even or more expensive around town.
AnswerID: 131239

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 21:02

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 21:02
My wife has a 2000 model N15 Pulsar, and changed from regular unleaded to the BP premium unleaded 2 years ago. Hasn't looked back. The thing ran well before, but runs even sweeter now. Fuel consumption is about 10% better, so running costs are even or maybe less. We recently did a run to Melbourne, and it did 700km on 44 litres.

They are great vehicles - two of my daughters have them now as well.

AnswerID: 131257

Reply By: Jodi - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 12:10

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 12:10
I ran my old Barina on Premium in order to stop the 'pinging' that no mechanic could fix. Ended up putting it into holden who told me that that particular model was meant to run on premium. Worked a treat and finally offloaded at nearly 300,000km. Now driving a new civic (well about 12 monthys old now) and use normal unleaded. Decided to try premium to see if it made a difference. Can't vouch for fuel economy (simply have not monitored it) however I noticed a marked improvement in power and and runs far smoother when idling at lights etc. In the Barina I definately got more km out of 30litres.
AnswerID: 131338

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:04

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:04
it is not rocket science all modern motors have knock sensors that retard timing if pinging is sensed. High octane fuel allows motors to run an advanced timing without pinging hence more performance and better economy
FollowupID: 385738

Follow Up By: Jodi - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 09:06

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 09:06
Hi Davoe,

Being my first car, female and very young at the time it was difficult to tell if I was being ripped off or there was a genuine problem. When the mechanics gave up and told me to phone Holden I was stunned.

I guess you live and learn - although now having a new car has eliminated the need to be suspicious of most mechanics. Just put it in for service when it's due and forget about it. I love it.
FollowupID: 385795

Reply By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 21:26
I can only offer this.. I have a 120 series Prado V6 and only run it on PULP, despite the initial fill cost, I find it to be more economical and delivers slightly more power. I think it probably varies from one car to the next but check this out..

http://www.lcool.org/technical/prado_high_octane_fuel.html

I can only agree with the findings in this article.

AnswerID: 131425

Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 21:33

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 21:33
I run Caltex Vortex (96) in my patrol and found it made a difference of approx 2/100 k's over normal unleaded. I found that Premium Unleaded (Optimax etc , 98) made about the same difference.

The difference being that, for example, with your woolies voucher, I was paying about the same as regular unleaded , but, getting slightly better economy and power, and no pinging. I found paying an extra 6 to 8c a litre ABOVE the 96 unleaded (about 12c more then stanard unleaded), I didn't see any more then using 96 RON.

AnswerID: 131428

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:50

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:50
TO Exploder. Mate as you lot dont believe what I an trying to help you all with, why would i not pay to get an indipendant report on my pump. I was probably fixing cars before all the experts who bag me were born,but remember when the so called experts on this product get to appraise its effect on their vehicles I will look forward to see your appolagies posted. So what I suggest is that you all desist from comments untill you know what you are talking about,thank you for your efforts.

Regards BILLS
AnswerID: 131442