Looking for strong offroad Camper Trailer

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 11:46
ThreadID: 26721 Views:13818 Replies:20 FollowUps:31
Hi, my first post. My wife and I are planning a long trip for next year and will need to buy an offroad camper trailer. The trip will be mainly in SA, WA, NT and FNQ. I have done some research on the internet and come across the Pilbara from Adventure Offroad Campers in WA and the Odyssey ZR camper from Adventure Camping and Offroad in QLD. These seem to be the sort of thing we are looking for. Tow vehicle will be a large deisel 4WD - either a Landcruiser 100 or a Discovery 3 (still to be purchased, but currently looking).

Can anyone comment on either of these campers - ease of erection and packing away - toughness, ease of towing, wet weather packing, etc. We have done lots of outback camping, but have not done it in a camper trailer before - getting older now :-)
Are there other strong easy to use offroad campers we should consider?
I don't have prices on either of these campers yet, but am assuming somewhere in the low $30k area. Does anyone know?

Looking forward to some expert help from ExplorerOZ people.

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 12:46

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 12:46
Sky Pilot

I have just been down this road and in the end decided not to buy one but to upgrade my tenting arrangements instead.

Google ........

Australian Camper Trailer Manufacturers online or www.ozebook.com/campertrailer/online.htm.

It features all CT manufacturers in Oz with html links to them. There are around 85 CT manufacturers so there is a wide varietyof product.

I was particularly interested in the Heaslip Tray Top camper which can be slid on to a trayback ute or fit on to a trailer. The unit is very well made and presented. They will also mail out a very nice brochure. Unfortunately it is beyond my financial capacity otherwise I would have seriously have thought about it.

AnswerID: 131627

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:02

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:02
Sky Pilot, I'm not familiar witht the Pilbara (but had a quick look at their web site, but I have an Odyssey ZR. If I looked at the right Pilbara, it is very different to the Odyssey. Apart from the obvious design difference, the Pilbara seems to have leave springs and mechanical override brakes. The Odyssey has independant suspension, coils, shocks and electric brakes (which I prefer).

We have been very happy with the Odyssey. We just have the annex and one end wall (which can be put on either end. It has a gas HWS and ensuite annex with shower, which my wife loves (well so do I). Takes about 20 to 25 mins to fully set up (including annex and ensuite). For a quick overnighter, you can set up without the annex in about 2 to 3 minutes.

We got the second water tank (total of 200 lt in the two) and tropical roof (highly recommended. I've installed two 120AH AGM batteries in a 'pantry box' on the drawer bar (box provided by manufacturer). Also have 4 gerry cans on the drawer bar. With my set up, we have a bit over 200KG ball weight when fully loaded (both water tanks full, 2 batteries, all gerry cans full, generator on drawer bar and storage box full). This is pretty heavy, but within vehicle specs. High weight is caused by my mods to standard design.

Only done short trips so far. Off to Fraser Island for a week in early Oct. First big trip is next winter when we will do 10 to 12 weeks Qld, NT, Kimberly, GRR, Broome, etc.

If you are in SE QLD, I suggest you visit the factory at Caloundra and have a chat to Steve and Rhonda (the owners). They are happy to discuss modifications during construction and will tell you some of the mods done by other buyers.

When we were looking, I short listed Cape York (made in Cairns), Campomatic (then made at Yatala, but I think now made in Melbourne), Kimberly Kamper and Odyssey. Narrowed it down to Cape York and Odyssey. Both great trailers. As much as anything, we went for the Odyssey as they are 'local' (we are on Gold Coast) and we could visit factory and deal direct with the manufacturer.

Oz Roamer is the agent for the Cape York trailers. They are an advertiser on this site and Paul (owner) is very helpful. He is based on Sunshine Coast.

Norm C
AnswerID: 131628

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:34

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:34
Norm, I've got to admit that the Oddysey ZR interests me enormously. It is currently on my very short list along with a few others. I also love your SR5 with the canopy. How does it pull the van and how does it ride over rough stuff. I haven't made up my mind at this stage on the vehicle, but it will definitely be purchased and set up before I get the camper. Unfortunately, I am down in NSW, near Sydney, so can't just pop into the factory, but when I am getting down to the nitty gritty and ready to purchase, I will drive up and view one and talk to the manufacturer. I also like the look of the Kimberly Kamper, but it seems a tad overpriced to me.
FollowupID: 386009

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 18:57

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 18:57
Hi Sky Pilot, sorry about delay, been out with the 4WD Club.
The Hilux has no worries pulling the CT. It has a tow capacity of 2250KG (a very conservative rating IMO). Fully loaded, we are pulling about 1500 KG or a bit more, but I tend not to fill the water tanks completely (200 lt) far A to B travel; preferring to fill nearer to the camp site when we can. Also only fill the 4 fuel gerries when needed for a trip. On average, we probably pulling about 1250KG. Probably have to change down a gear up hill a bit earlier, but not a problem. I avoid towing in 5th unless down hill or sometimes on long flat stretch, but this is recommended for all vehicles I understand.

Will be pulling it all through the sand at Fraser Island in early Oct, so that will be a test, but I reckon it will be fine.

The Hilux is great. On road it drives like a car. Heaps of power (it is the intercooled TD) and drives like a petrol. Surprisingly quiet. Heaps of room in the back seats. We did a night nav run with the 4WD club recently with 3 'kids' in the back. One was 6 ft 4, another 6 ft 2. They had a ball and didn't complain about lack of space (although I was happy to be in the drivers seat!).

Off road, it is good, but not great. I have lifted it and upgraded the suspension (OME from ARB). Also removed the factory alloy side steps (which are very low) and replaced with super strong steel ones up under the sill. Removed the rear step to fit a Trail Boss tow bar (leaving the step on would have made the tow bar 2 inches lower). I've had some rear protector bars made (welded to tow bar) and they will be fitted tomorrow afternoon. Bull bar (ARB colour coded) and Safari snorkel go on this Friday.

I've built my own roller drawers (full 1500mm depth) for the back, installed a 50 Lt Reefer dual temp fridge, a 20ltr water container with hose and tap and installed some dust proofing for around the tail gate and made my own tail gate protector from marine carpet. The canopy is a Carryboy.

Inside I've put a Prodigy brake controller in the ash tray space, installed my self made roof console with two map lights and the cabin light, storage space and GME 4400 radio will go in next week end after the bull bar in done(with microphone connected via remote lead through the dash). Also have reversing camera and monitor (attaches to rear view mirror) which I'll install at same time a radio.

We went for the dual cab as the Land Cruiser, Patrol etc are bigger and more expensive than we need; and also much heavier on the juice. We like the load carrying capacity (space and weight) of the ute, and and also having a totally separate cargo area. Narrowed the choice to the Rodeo and Hilux. The Rodeo is good but we were sold on the Hilux due to the new intercooled motor, general refinement and the Hilux rep.

Overall it is great. People at the 4WD Club were initially a bit amused. It doesn't look like a 'real' 4WD, particularly with the colour. But they have been seriously surprised how well and where it goes.

Not saying it is the best off road vehicle. It is not. But for our use it is ideal. Great on road and touring vehicle. With the mods we have done, it is more than capable off road and handles the club trips we do with relative ease. It will do some serious trips over the next few years.

Long story (sorry about that), but we are just about finished on the set up and proud of what we have done(and bank account is close to empty).

As for the CT, if you want any more info on the ZR, let me know. I try to avoid the 'I've got brand x. It is therefore best and you should have one too' type responses, but happy to answer questions or provide info if asked (via e-mail if preferred).

FollowupID: 386081

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 19:39

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 19:39
Just a small question Norm about the 4 models of the Oddysey, the VR, XR and ZR and the export. Are the main differences between them in the equipment level? Say you already had some of the equipment like fridge, stove, gas bottles, etc. Can you purchase the lower model and then build it up with some of your own stuff and still have the same CT structurally? Probably one for the manufacturer, but I thought you'd already know the answer having bought one.
FollowupID: 386086

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 20:31

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 20:31
Sky Pilot, if you give me your e-mail, I can send you the spec sheets for each model. The VR (bottom model) has leaf springs. The other 3 have independent trailing arm coil suspension.
The Export has a longer drawer bar (2.4m v 2.2m) and has two storage boxes (one holds fridge which is supplied). The others have 1 storage box and no fridge supplied. Otherwise, it is finish specs. If you carry fridge in your 4WD (as I do), 1 storage box is enough. Storage space has not been a problem for us so far.

If I send you the specs, you can put them side by side and see the difference. HWS, ensuite, shower for eg is included in the Export and ZR, not the bottom 2)

Remember though, the things you have mentioned are not expensive (other than fridge which is only included in the Export). Deleting the stove and gas bottles won't save much and they would probably only reduce the price by their purchase (not retail) price. But they type of thing you have raised is possible.
FollowupID: 386094

Reply By: big red car - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:47

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:47
Dear Sky Pilot,
My wife and I have just been down this same path, looking to buy a super strong off-road camper trailer. We short listed the Odyssey ZR and Cape York Trailers- Extreme Explorer.
I posted a simular question on the forum (see post 25963). 2 weeks ago we bit the bullet and purchased the Cape York Extreme Explorer. Mainly due to the spec list. Things such as independant coil suspension (see huge), foam cell shocks, 60mm stub axles, 12inch electric brakes, 50 x 150 x 4mm draw bar, twin caterpillar 100amp hour deep cycle batteries, 60amp built in battery charger, excellent dust seals, virutally all wires and hoses under the camper are internal.
100 litre water tank with pressure pump, roll out stainless kitchen, large gull-wing box on draw bar for storage of fridge, food boxes etc. Holds 2 x 4.5kg gas bottles, 2 jerry tins, AT35 off-road hitch rated at 3.5 t .
We have just got back from our maiden voyage to Carnarvon Gorge we were there for 1 week, the unit towed well, was fully dust proof, and was a joy to set up and use. Only draw back we found this is heavy for a Camper Trailer. Fully loaded over the weigh bridge it was 1.5 t , but having said that you have to pay a price for such an incredibly strong and well built camper trailer. The rack on the roof is stainless, the sides are all sheeted in aliminimum, the draw bar and chassis is all galvanized. Cape York Camper Trailers are manufactured in Cairns, expect to pay approximately $35K.
Our tow vehicle is a 62 series Landcruiser running a 6.5 chev V8 diesel. No dramas at all pulling or stopping it. Hope this info helps you with your decision.
Johno.
AnswerID: 131629

Follow Up By: big red car - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:50

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:50
oooooops
30 amp battery charger not 60.
FollowupID: 385986

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:28

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:28
Sounds good Johno. Certainly a strong camper. The weight does get up a bit. Most of the trailers I have considered so far are about 950kg empty, so they are certainly going to approach 1.5t with full load of water and gear for a trip. Your 6.5L chev V8 diesel would have little trouble with that though. I am hoping with about 400+ Nm of torque and a low camper that doesn't stick up higher than the car, I should be able to handle that weight easily too.
FollowupID: 386008

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 15:17

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 15:17
G'day

If you have not already been there I would suggest the Camper Trailers Group. Make your way there via Camper Trailers web site

Much valuable info and many experienced CT owners.

AnswerID: 131633

Follow Up By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 15:30

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 15:30
Woops the URL is not quite correct campertrailers.org

FollowupID: 385990

Reply By: Tracker Mick - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 18:05

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 18:05
Sky Pilot,
I have been researching for months now.
For toughness and reliability check out Trackabout C/T's in Brisbane, service and reputation as well as a reasonable price ya can't go past.
Safari model being the best choice for good off road work.
AnswerID: 131637

Follow Up By: Tracker Mick - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 18:17

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 18:17
Forgot to say I am purchasing a safari model.
They get a great write up as well.
Check out the write up by John Rooth on the overlander website.
FollowupID: 385998

Follow Up By: big red car - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:45

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:45
tracker mick
You are right about the Safari, being excellent value for money serious off-road camper trailer.
I know because we have 3 of them in our camper trailer hire fleet, they have been to Birdsville, Cape York, Lorne Hill, & Darwin. We have never had a failure or breakdown. Our clients have nothing but praise for their construction and intelligent design. John at Trackabout has put alot of research & development into building a very strong well designed serious off-road trailer.
Johno
FollowupID: 386011

Reply By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 18:47

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 18:47
Sky Pilot,

Take a look at the Ultimate advertised in the Traders pages of this site. Lots of very happy Ultimateers out there. Us included. Drop an email if you want to know more.

AnswerID: 131642

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 20:03

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 20:03
Actually, I've just been reminded that I know someone who has an Ultimate. Haven't talked to him for a while, so might have to mosey on around. Just checked out your profile. Love your photos, you obviously have a bit of a talent that way. Will ask about the DTronic. How much difference does it really make?
FollowupID: 386017

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 21:52

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 21:52
Have many more pics from trips over last few years. Just wish we could get away for longer trips. The Dtronic is great. Makes a big difference to the 3l Patrol and I couldn't do without it now.

FollowupID: 386025

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 08:24

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 08:24
We are still using a tent, but came across a group towing utlimates last year on the Strezlecki. They look good trailers. One thing though, take pity on every one else in the camp site and don't camp near some one. The water pump is really noisy, and the one near us was getting a drink of water or something every few hours through the night. Glad when they pulled out after two nights :-).
FollowupID: 386136

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:22

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:22
John,

I know exactly what you mean. We have a drink container for use during the night to avoid this noise. Simple solution but a wonder that others don't think about their fellow campers.

FollowupID: 386142

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:05

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:05
I think advice on the car is more important to you . I just finished a trip throgh the Pilbara and there was 5 vehicles . One of them was a diesel Disco towing a camper and one was a 100 Series towing a camper .
The Disco got bogged literally everywhere . The 100 had to be snatched once in three weeks .
Cheers ,
Willie .
PS
My Trak Shak is very tough with huge storeage , but takes a bit to put up and down .
AnswerID: 131645

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:22

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:22
Willie, did it have the air suspension or the coils? What tyres? I have not made a firm decision on vehicle yet. I have owned quite a few 4WDs in my life, including 2 old Rangies, one of which I did a 20,000km trip around the top end with in 1996 - it was a bit of a mechanical disaster when I stripped the teeth of both starter motor and flywheel at Turkey Creek. Cost several thousand dollars to fix and a week sunning myself at Kununurra. Currently have a 1998 petrol Prado, but will not use it as it does not have enough torque down low to pull a heavy van (or a light one for that matter). Also, have definitely decided on a diesel - Petrol is getting too expensive and I want that low down torque.
FollowupID: 386007

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:35

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:35
Possibly, if you had swapped the drivers, the figures may well have been reversed!
FollowupID: 386010

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:53

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:53
I thought that too, but wasn't game to say it. There is an optional rear difflock on the Discovery 3 for $1000 which should make it near unstoppable - in the right hands. I do however always worry about mechanical, or worse still electronic problems on imported vehicles in the outback.
FollowupID: 386015

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 20:05

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 20:05
It was the traction control that did not work and the thing just dug in one wheel on the front and one on the back .
The gfuy was bloody embarrassed that he had to be continually pulled out .
I don't know about the suspension type , but it was a diesel .I seemed to have plenty of power , but just kept sinking into the sand .
Willie.
FollowupID: 386018

Reply By: snailbait - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:18

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:18
HI SKY Pilot
My wife and i are raeching reateriment (fogive the spelling )age where we have been on a lot of trips of 21 days and 14 days long we have had a roof top tent where we selpt acros the simson we could move every day most time quicker than othrer campers, We then could not stay at one place with out packing up the vehicle we got to a recent trip where we were rained out in Brokn Hill
So we Rhonda and i discussed after we were rained out in Broken Hill to purache a camper trailer etc etc
Y ou can purchase a mid off road , range camper trailer from about $12k
and if you can find a second hand one for less
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 131646

Reply By: Member - Karl - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:31

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:31
If you have time and are not in a great hurry try hiring a couple of different camper trailers for short breaks such as a weekend away. By doing this you will find which one you are most comfortable with and it will provide valuable practice and experience before you head off on your trip.

I personally would go the Landcruiser - but again make sure you take one for a good test drive - including towing a camper trailer and when you find the one you want make sure your suspension is set up correctly for towing.

Best of luck with your purchases and trip. If you neeed any more just keep on posting.

Karl.
AnswerID: 131648

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:39

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:39
Theer are a couple of makes of CT that never seem to get mentioned here, one being the Heaslip & the other one is Tough Country, both are very well put together & represent fairly good bang for your buck!
Adventure Camper Trailers have been cleverly thought out, with there unusual tent system & are well built, probably quite a bit oversprung though.
AnswerID: 131651

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:46

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:46
BTW, I have a Track Eagle which is awsesome, but unfortunately has been discontinued in favour of the T-Van, so I have no vested interest in my comments.
FollowupID: 386012

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:57

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:57
What is so great about the T-van. I have seen it advertised a lot with Ron Moon saying it is great. Apart from its dead set unusual looks, how good is it?
FollowupID: 386016

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 20:59

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 20:59
The T-Van chassis & suspension would be unequalled ........ the rest is a matter of personal taste, I guess!
FollowupID: 386022

Follow Up By: Member - Jason F (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 20:33

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 20:33
I hired a T-Van recently and would of purchased one had it of not rained and the thing leaked.
Apart from that the design is exceptional. I would love to find something that has that ease of setup and packup.

FollowupID: 386357

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:55

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 19:55
G'day

Another comment. From personal experience my vehicle of choice would NOT be a Land Rover. Mine was a late model Disco. Nice to drive, excellent off road. It travelled far to many kilometres going to and from the dealer for warranty work. The new ones have small fuel tanks and little or no after market options available.

As you plan to travel into country/remote areas my suggestion would be a vehicle that is commonly used in those areas. Brands would be Nissan or Toyota and also be aware that 17 inch tyres are still not commonly available in these areas.

AnswerID: 131656

Reply By: Fusion - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 23:14

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 23:14
G'day Sky Pilot,

I have an Adventure Pilbara - In fact my unit is probably the one you've seen on all the advertising materials as I'm the photographer who's done their work as well as designed their website, brochures etc. Having said that, I did about 6mths of research, visited about 5 shows and put my money down before I did any work for the company, so take my comments as you will.

You are right about the dollars, the top of the range Adventure will set you back about $30,000 which is less than most units with anything like the same specifications. As you've probably seen from your research, no other camper can come close to the Adventure units in 3 vital areas:

1) Kitchen, the Adventure has the biggest, quickest to setup & IMHO best kitchen of any camper trailer on the market. The bench is 2.3 m long by 60cm deep, and it takes literally 15 seconds to make ready at any time. The kitchen also has a self standing awning that goes over it. 2.3m wide x 2.5m long. Takes about 2mins to setup, and doesn't require the tent or anything else to be setup to use it.

2) Bedroom, the Adventure is the only trailer on the market with a bigger than King size bed, at normal bed height. Read: no climbing into and out of bed.

3) Storage, the Adventure is the only camper on the market with over 1500 litres of storage at waist height, quickly and easily accessed with 2 lockable latches. Read: no bending or high lifting to get a huge amount of gear into and out of the camper.

On top of that it's built really tough for offroad usage. Because all the weight is down nice and low (ie bedcase, water tanks etc) the trailer tows and tracks beautifully. All the above info sounds good, but when the rubber hits the mud, these units are great. We've spent about 30 nights camping so far this year in the Pilbara, and absolutely love it. My wife loves the kitchen, I love the storage areas & we both love the bed.

There is a lot of debate about suspension for offroad camper trailers, which I think is a bit of a wank, but anyway here's my take on it...

I bought a Nissan Patrol 'cause it has real tough offroad suspension, ie live axles front and back. Everyone who goes outback and has a recent 100 series cruiser wishes it had a live axle in the front instead of the IFS which breaks too easily. No one who does any hard stuff offroad would ever say I want Independent Suspension for offroad work. So why would I want Independent Suspension on my tough offroad camper trailer?

That's my logic on the issue & in practice I've had the Pilbara, fully loaded, plus about 100kg of extra firewood tied to the rack, flying down 2 wheel outback tracks at speeds of 100km/h +. Literally getting airborne on hills, and bottoming out real hard on washouts. On corrugations, on sand, all over the place. It performs flawlessly. I don't see how Independent Suspension is going to improve it, when I can't feel the trailer on the back of the car at most times & in the above mentioned situation (100km/h + down 2 wheel tracks) nothing in the fridge broke, which included a dozen eggs in a standard egg carton.

Anyway, that's all IMHO just FYI. Whatever you do, don't base your decision on faulty logic & info regarding suspension systems.

Any questions, just let me know.

Aaron.
AnswerID: 131674

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 23:35

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 23:35
Don't want to get into an argument ... but the Outback is littered with broken leaf springs, not too many broken coils, I wouldn't imagine!
FollowupID: 386033

Follow Up By: Fusion - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 16:16

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 16:16
This isn't an argument, it's a disscussion :)

Good Point Shaker,

I've not seen these broken leaf springs, but I'll take your word for it.
Simple 2 part explanation IMHO.

1) There are probably 10's of thousands of cheap box trailers in this country. All of which use cheap low rating axles & leaf springs, none of which was ever intended to head off the blacktop. Some of which seem to find their way off the black top, a few of which then break.

2) Older 4bys, say 60 seriers Cruiser with leaf springs all round. If people are still taking them outback, chances are finances are pretty tight. If finances are pretty tight, chances are maintence is not a high priority, therefore the 20 yr old springs have a much better chance of breaking in the tuff stuff.

These are 2 huge generalisations, but you probably get my point. Solid axles and leaf springs can be the cheapest way to hang your wheels, therefore all cheap trailers / vehicles use this method. Therefore more of them exist & break particularly in the outback, where many of them shouldn't have been in the first place.

Having said that, a properly set up solid axle leaf spring vehicle is every bit as strong and will go anywhere an indepentant vehicle will go. Some would say they'll go further. IMHO it doesn't make much difference on a trailer, both types of suspension (specified & setup properly) will do a very good job. (BTW - I'll still take the Live Axle ;)

Aaron.

FollowupID: 386071

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 19:33

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 19:33
As it works out, I had already downloaded and printed out all your photos then Aaron. Very impressive. Almost a studio look to some of them. I think advertising wise, sites that have large quality galleries showing their CTs being used have a distinct advantage over the many that just have text - its so boring to someone looking for a camper. I can't wait to see the Pilbara and the Oddysey ZR in the flesh, preferrably in the same place at the same time. Unfortunately, as it turns out, all the Camping and Caravan shows this year over here are over, so I'm going to have to wait a while I think. The Dubbo agent (400km away) is supposed to be getting one soon, but how long that'll last in the shop is another thing. There is the Melbourne show, but that is 1100km each way, so it is unlikely that I will go to it.
FollowupID: 386084

Follow Up By: Fusion - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 20:47

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 20:47
Thanks Sky Pilot, the pics certainly make a big difference. Before I bought my Pilbara, the Adventure guys had some really average images that they used to sell the trailers. But I'm certainly not complaining about going on camping trips and getting paid for it though ;)

The Dubbo guy should be keeping them in stock AFAIK if you're ever in the area. Where are you based?

There is a fundamental difference between the Oddysey style (hard floor) and the Adventure style (soft floor) that might make your decision process a little easier.

The hardfloor type campers (Oddysey, Kimberly, Campomatic, etc) are extremely quick to setup (usually less than 2 mins) with just a floor to flip over, but lack internal space, storage & undercover area compared to the soft floor models.

On the other hand softfloors (Adventure, Trak Shak, etc) take longer to setup (The Adventures are about 4mins for the bedroom) but provide much more space all round. The caveat here, is that if you are staying somewhere for a couple of nights, you might decide to put up the awning etc. Once you go to this stage the Adventure will probably be quicker than the hardfloors, taking about 15mins to setup with everything ie, main bedroom, enclosed kitchen area, shade sail over fridge etc. The main reason for this is the adventure only uses 3 guy ropes to do the full setup.

So the question then becomes (when comparing hard & soft floor) are you looking for pure speed for overnighters, or more space for yourself and gear?

Hope that is somewhat helpful?

Aaron.
FollowupID: 386101

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 12:42

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 12:42
Gidday Aaron, Do you have an email address I can access to contact you re the Pilbara, I am very interested and have been looking at their website and will attend the 4WD - Camping Show in Melbourne on the weekend to have a look. Rgds, Dean
FollowupID: 389342

Follow Up By: Fusion - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:14

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:14
Hi Dean,

You can get me on aaron@fc7.com Say hello to Frank (the owner & designer) for me at the show. He's the old short guy on the stand. (Hope he doesn't read this ;)

If you're going to be at the show you might also want to head up to the Grampians (3hrs approx) the following weekend to check out the Annual Adventure get together. I'll be there, along with the Adventure boys & girls plus other owners. Not sure how many other owners will be there, probabaly 10 or so.

Adventure Get Together

Aaron.

FollowupID: 389349

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 23:36

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 23:36
A friend of ours purchased a Trayon camper (slides on to the back of his Landcruiser ute). Look at trayon.com for pictures. He said it was quite expensive, but easy to unfold and fitted out like a caravan. Easier than struggling with unfolding a canvas one in the wind.

AnswerID: 131679

Reply By: Well 55 - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:57

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:57
G'day Sky Pilot, my wife and I went through a simular search, ours took over two years. We settled on the Coota Camper, built in Cootamundra.

Dual axle with roller rocker load shareing suspension and electric brakes. This unit is built tough for extended travel over any road surface. Very easy to set up for over night stop and takes about 20 min to set up full annex.

Plenty of storage, great S/S slide out kitchen and pantry, room for a 90 ltr fridge. we have a front opening Reefer fridge/freezer. Dual AGM battries, 250lt S/S water tank with 12 volt pump. AT 35 hitch with about 90kg ball weight a very well ballanced camper.

Well worth a look if you want a comfortable easy to tow camper.
AnswerID: 131780

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:01

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:01
Well 55, we had a good look at the Coota Camper as well. Great piece of kit and looks to be super strong. In the end, we were turned off by the weight. Fully loaded, it must be at least 1800 KG. But if you can handle the weight, they seem terrific.
FollowupID: 386138

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:13

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:13
Well 55, what a mean mother of a camper. It is a very impressive strong looking camper with lots of storage space and am also impressed by the price. What do you tow it with? The pictures showing the F250 towing it on the site seem to be about right for a vehicle to tow it. How does your towing vehicle cope up hills and what sort of drop in fuel economy do you get when towing it?
FollowupID: 386141

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:35

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:35
Not to sure of the loaded weight, as every time we go away some things are left behind and other things added, but I guess around the 17 - 1800kg would be in the ball park.

I have a 4.2 turbo intercooled Patrol. it tows it with ease using 5th on the flat and 4th in the hills. Up around Mudgee and back to Bathurst some of the big winding hills in 3rd, more for taking our time and not pushing it.

If required I can keep to the posted speed limit, but when touring 90 - 95 is my best speed for fuel using 16 - 17 lt per 100k, normally when not towing I can get around 12 lt per 100 on the highway.
FollowupID: 386143

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:14

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:14
If you choose a Disco make sure it's the D2a with the centre diff lock, the early D2s had the centre diff lock removed for some strange season and had to rely on traction control only which was probably the case with the above mentioned Disco, you can have one fitted after market unless it's the late 2001 to early 2003 models, which don't have this option (another brain fade by LandRover).

D3 on the other hand will pull the wheels off a 100s cruiser but as there not a proven product as yet i would weight.

An 04/05 Disco2a TD5 auto, will do the job perfectly.

AnswerID: 131790

Reply By: OMN - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:47

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:47
Hi SkyPilot,

Two quick things in your search as i went through this earlier this year, fun isn't it.

1/ By the sound of it you are looking just for yourself and your wife to be the people using the CT pretty much all of the time.

If thats not the case then the Trak Shak, made in Adelaide, is really good as it folds out to approx twice the size of most other camper trailers and has two full size queen beds, i think, in it. We bought one of these for us as we wanted the extra room with two young but rapidly growing boys.

It is not the fanciest but it has all the features and is pretty rugged, one thign i liked was that you can carry up to 12 jerry cans of 20 litres each, which means you can mix and match the ratio of water to petrol as required and also if you get really bogged can lightent the laod by simply removing some 240kg and get it unstuck and put it back on again. With a premanaent water tank if you had to lightent the trialer completley you have lost the water. Which depending on where you are could be very costly.

It also has plenty of storage, solar options and i have seen a few with extra mods as well.

2/ If you are lookign to potentially invest up to $30,000 then maybe the price of a return airfare of $300 or so is well worth the expense to come down to Melbourne in October and check out the CT's that are there.

Last show for example Trak Shak had ones in the $20 - $25k range with fridges, solar panels, coils, stub axles, electric brakes etc, some $5,000 off normal built up price from the base model.

Others may also have a show special in a brand you are interested in or mentioned above, if you saved $1,000 - $5,000 off the purchase price due to a show special and only had to spend a few hundred to visit the show that would be a good investment in my opinion.

Lastly you mentioned Campomatic, i think Trak Shak have taken these over just recently.

Plus you get to fabulous Melbourne and go to a 4WD and Camping Show to boot.

Hope some of that helps,

AnswerID: 131794

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 10:59

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 10:59
Sky Pilot,

Just one correction for your consideration.

Adventure Offroad Campers are based at Edwardstown in South Australia, although they have interstate dealers.

They are quality Campers and were my original choice to buy, but for the higher price bracket.

They have a design layout that is both unique and practical.

AnswerID: 131803

Reply By: Jarrotts - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:07

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:07

We have an off road 4wd campomatic and its been fantastic. It tows well, its light weight and its fast to erect. The hard floor is great as nothing gets wet. We have just spent 2 weeks with 2 adults and 2 kids in various locations in Nsw with it. One down side is if the canvas gets wet you must put a tarp on the bed to stop moisture when folded. We researched a lot and decided that Campomatic are built for off roading and the suspension etc will handle any conditions. The previous owner of our camper took it on many outback trips over 5 years without any problems. We have lots of road clearance and with the 4wd tyres on the camper it tows well. Storage space is limited that is one downfall. We may be selling our Campomatic as the width when we have two beds on the floor for the kids is tight. We may buy a Jayco as we want more internal room with a double bed for the kids.
AnswerID: 132505

Reply By: Sky Pilot - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 13:45

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 13:45
Went to a camping and 4WD show today at Newcastle and looked at quite a few CTs. I was very impressed with the Kimberley Camper. Unfortunately, there were no Odysseys or Pilbaras there to compare with. Can anyone tell me anything about the Kimberley Kamper - I was thinking Classic or Limited Edition. I would be really interested in any adverse comments and how they compare to the other two. The price is a bit OTTfor the KK top of the range Platinum at $80 shy of $38,000, but it seems very well specced. The next one down, the limited Edition is $30,000 and the Classic is $26,800.
AnswerID: 133633

Reply By: 10 Para (Qld) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 20:33

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 20:33
Hi Sky Pilot,
We have had an australian Off Road CT now for about 2.5 years and have used it acrross australia and back and also 2 trips to new zealand spent about 18 months in the CT all up and it has answered all the questions we have asked of it, Norm c contact me re the purchase of his CT and from what i have just read is as pleased as we are with ours we take it just about everwhere with us, do your self a favour and have a look at them, we also looked at KK but they are just not up the the same design standards, and also are not as user friendly. we are now mocing up to a Caravan only because the hand brake has said that if she is going back to the snow with me she wants a hard top over her head" could be time to look a for a new HB.
AnswerID: 134654

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 20:49

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 20:49
Very brave Brian. Barbara might here about that!!!
FollowupID: 388701