Deep cell batteries

Submitted: Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 09:45
ThreadID: 26761 Views:5386 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
New to this, so hullo to all.
I am having a new camper trailer built (Sundowner NSW) after much research. I need to know what size deep cell battery I should fit and where in NSW are the suitable suppliers?
Thanks.

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 10:08

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 10:08
Before deciding on a Deep Cycle Battery you need to consider your charging system.
You will need one that completely isolates the D/Cycle battery from the Cranking battery on your car, before charging it.

As far as I know you can't just charge using a parallel charging system to charge dissimilar battery types. For this reason I have gone the expense of a Rotronics Battery system, which actually allows for dual battery on the car and one in the camper. It recharges the batteries individually therefore you can have mixed types of batteries in your system.

There are more knowledgeable people than me regarding this subject on this forum.

Another valuable resource you may want to look at is the Camper Trailer Group on Yahoo. Between that group and this Forum you have all aspects of campertrailers covered.

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/campertrailers/
AnswerID: 131795

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 11:41

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 11:41
Should be no problem with a deepcyle battery in the camper except you need to pay attention to the wiring and charging regime. There has been heaps and heaps of discussio on this topic so if you do a search you'll have enough reading to keep you off the street for a week.
Try this web site for some ino:-
http://www.windsun.com/Batteries/Battery_FAQ.htm
Also get hold of Collyn Rivers' book "Motorhome Electrics & caravans too.
To your question the size depends on how much space you have, your intended use and how you expect to recharge the battery.
If your budget will allow, Solar seems to me to be the best way to go but again you need to work out how much power you will consume per day. If you are only charging the car while driving there are quite a few thing to be aware of.
AnswerID: 131809

Follow Up By: PBob - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:05

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:05
Yes, thanks, I was aware of the possible isolation of the cranking battery.
My main question really relates to what size (in amps) should I go for. It will run a Engel 40 litre fridge and also some lighting, mainly overnight, but also for say two to three days. The trailer has a built in charger for when connecting to 240v - my main concern is out in the bush and charging off the car during the days running.
FollowupID: 386154

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:36

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:36
Pbob,

To give you some idea, my off-road van has an 80 AH battery coz that's what I can fit in.
My engel stays in the car which has a dual battery. My van fridge runs on gas when we are camped.
With this system and the van battery fully charged BEFORE I leave home (using a "Smart" charger) I get about 3 nights. Lights and bit of music TV etc. before I switch off because I 'm down to the recommended discharge level of aboout 50%. Discharging beyond 50% is said to dramatically shorten the life of the battery. The vehicle's alternator will only get you back to about 80% and seems to get worse the longer you are out on the road. Needs lots of driving to get to this level
When I get 240V, I stick the Smart charger back on and within 8 hours I'm up to about 80% but it can take another 48 hours before I get back
to 100%.
So what you need to do is add up all the current you will use per hour, Fridge, Light, Music, fans etc. then if you are only charging while you drive and assume you drive all day you will only ever get to 80% charge. Now you shouldn't discharge below 50% so in reality you only have 30% of useable battery capacity. In my case 30% of 80 AH or 24 AH.
If you are running the Engel it will probably draw on average about 2 amps per hour (others can tell me if this correct). So camped with no lights etc you have about 12 hours of battery life.
The best way to overcome these problems (IMHO) is use solar panels and a good quality solar regulator to feed the battery and power the campsite during the day and then run off the battery when the sun is no longer available. My investigation suggests you'l be up for $1200 to $1400 dollars for such a system.
FollowupID: 386157

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:57

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:57
Ross,

I not having a go at you personally, but I have seen this 50% figure misquoted several times on this site and by some people who should know better.

Hybrid batteries that are half way between starting and deep cycle batteries should only be discharged down to 50%.

Many deep cycle and especially AGM batteries can be discharged regularly down to 80% without detriment to the battery.

Source:-
http://www.windsun.com/Batteries/Battery_FAQ.htm#Lifespan%20of%20Batteries

which appears to be an independent authority on battery technology.

FollowupID: 386163

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:01

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:01
And a vehicle's alternator only returning a battery's charge to 80% maximum is another.

An AGM battery for instance will achieve close to 100% charge if managed by a quality dual battery controller.

FollowupID: 386164

Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:09

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:09
Lots of debate on this point. I use a wet cell conventional bettery and I tend to stay on the safe side.
Collyn Rivers tends to use this figure and I have read some info that tends to dispute his explanations.
Discharge to 50% or 80% the calcs need to be done. From my experience it's the charging regime that's the more difficult. From what I've read, Solar is the way to go but I can't stretch the budget that far yet.
So far, I tend to stay away from mains no more than a couple of days at a time and when we leave the van to go "exploring" we take the tent and do a fair bit of driving with just one or two night stop overs.
FollowupID: 386169

Reply By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:02

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:02
Some more reading material:-
http://www.uuhome.de/william.darden/index.htm
AnswerID: 131821

Reply By: PBob - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:11

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:11
Thanks for that, very informative. I can add up the amount we will use.
Solar may well be the way to go.
AnswerID: 131822

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 12:42

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 12:42
PBob

-> S O L A R

is the (only) way to go :-)
FollowupID: 386310

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:55

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:55
PBob, you have some good advice already. Here is my experience:

I have a 100AH wet cell Federal under the bonnet and two 120 AH AGMs in the camper trailer. For the CT, the most important thing is to use heavy duty cable for charging. I used double insulated 20mm squared welding cable which I ran through the chassis rail to a 175 amp Anderson plug. My fridge is in the back of the Hilux. I have one 10mm squared cable pair running from the DC under the bonnet to a plug beside the fridge. Also have another 10mm squared cable pair running from the CT batteries via another Anderson plug to another plug beside the fridge. I can therefore choose where I draw the power from.

Running the fridge (50ltr Reefer DTV), water pump, lots of lights (we have 4 plug in lights, plus 4 built in to the CT), we have never yet run out of power. Although we don't waste power, I don't fret about it either. I reckon we could sit still without charging for 6 or 7 days with no worries. I carry a 1KVA Kipor generator, but it is rarely needed.

AGMs are ideal for the CT. They charge quickly and hold their power well when not in use. They do not need to be kept on trickle charge when at home. They can also be stored and used on their side. We use one on its side under a seat in a canoe to power the electric motor.

From my experience, there is no problem charging wet cell cranking battery, wet cell DC and AGMs all in parallel. You just need to isolate when motor is off. If you do lots of short trips the wet cells might not charge properly as the AGMs might be drawing all the charge current. But if you do some long trips (say over an hour or so) there seems to be no problem. I've had none anyway. I've just used a continuous duty solenoid for isolation. Collyn Rivers suggests using a Redarc or similar voltage sensing isolator to avoid the problem of the AGMs sucking all the charge current if you do a lot of short trips.

I'd put in the biggest AGM you can fit / afford. I doubt you would regret having too much power, but you might regret not having enough.

AnswerID: 131829

Reply By: PBob - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:01

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:01
Thanks norm, excellent advice and much appreciated.
AnswerID: 131830

Reply By: Lunar - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:58

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:58
Thought I'd mention Collyn Rivers has done a new book specifically for camper trailers, I have one myself and went to buy the Motorhome edition but he advised the Camper Trailer edition would be out in a week or so now so I will get that.

Based on the research I have done, mostly using this site as a reference point here is what I'm intending to get, I want the book to clarify a few things and deal with mounting the panels and what not.

GMC 850 Generator 98 Bunnings
Steca PR1515 225http://www.au.store.yahoo.com/solaronlineaust/stec12asolre.html
Uni Solar 64 560http://www.awardcaravanaccessories.com.au/
Switchmode 12V 12 Amp Charger 99.95http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MB3612
FullRiver HGL120 (130 AH) 289http://www.lakecomm.com.au/batteries.html
ST2 - Two Modules Solar Tracker 462 http://www.solarvalley.com.au/solartrackers.htm

I want the tracker as a good secure mount will cost about 150-200 dollars anyway, for 462 and so not much more for a heap more sun hours. It also means I can get anouther amperouse panel and easily mount it if I want.

To start off with I'll use the solar and see how I go, that's why I'm getting a decent regulator to keep an eye on things, if I need to use the genny for an hour or so to keep the battery up then so be it it's only 60 dB and I reckon a bit of radio at dinner time will mask that easily enough. I'll but another panel and another battery down the track if needed.

Have done the amorphous/crystaline thing and reckon the amorphous is the way to go cause I live in Queensland and like to camp in summer. Also it's tough as old boots so I don't have to worry about it breaking.

AMG battery IMO is a no brainer as it is safe and the benefits for this type of application are apparent.

Other than the right heavey duty cabling and a decent mount on the A frame that'll be it unless the book shoots it down too much.

Much thanks to Jimbo/Jumbo, Collyn Rivers, Mainey,Mike DID and lotsa other peeps who helped me get to this point, also that fella that changes he's name a lot and wants to sell stuff he's got some good things to say and played a good devils advocate.

AnswerID: 131908

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 12:56

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 12:56
Lunar, good to read our experience's are now working for you!
FollowupID: 386311

Follow Up By: Lunar - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 16:46

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 16:46
ahh hell yeah, everything u need to know is in these forums, takes a bit to sort the wheat from the chaf, but all that does is enhance the knowledge base. I hope that with the tracker and 2x64's with another AGM I can be relativley power self sufficient for about 50 amp hours a day in the long run. I really only need 35 or so atm so should only need to run the genny every so often. I hope to be plesantly surprised so am starting small and working up.
FollowupID: 386332

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:38

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 12:38
Lunar, I believe the expectation of 50 a/h daily may be somewhat high from just two 64w panels, even on a good tracker.

Unfortunately, solar is not a numerically definitive science, you can’t multiply your panels MAXimum power output by the number of hours of "perfect" sunshine (not heat) which is OFTEN available and get a consistent answer… regrettably!

Very often you will only get just over half the nominated Maximum number of a/h as being the potential for any number of UNrealistically but regrettable valid reasons.

Example only; 7 (a/h) x 7 (hours of good sunshine) = 49 (a/h)
Realistically; 6 (a/h) x 6 (hours of good sunshine) = 36 (a/h)
Probable; 5 (a/h) x 6 (hours of good sunshine) = 30 (a/h)
Expect; 5 (a/h) x 5 (hours of good sunshine) = 25 (a/h)

If you start small as you say you may be prepared to add one more ~100w panel to get closer to your desired 50 a/h daily consistently.

I don't get anywhere remotely near 50 a/h daily,
with one 80w, 5 (a/h) panel in WA sunshine
but, auspiciously I don't require 50 a/h daily… :-)

Mainey....
FollowupID: 386427

Reply By: Lunar - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 02:11

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 02:11
Yep I appreciate the input Mainey, I figure loose 25% for the dodgy rating and conditions, that puts it back to 48 Volts, so about 4 amps an hour, so say I got 5 peak sun hours, then 20 amps, add the tracker and I should be able to get a 30-50% increase, say another 6 amps on 30%. So for the one I should only have to run the genny every few days (to tell the truth I’m only going to be using about 35 per day to start), so hopefully that will be sweet with a bit of light genny work. Then add the other cell and that should pull me up to where I want to be.

Fact is I need the book to clarify this (to get the PSH and other bits) and I haven’t seen any real life tests with the tracker, just what is quoted and I hope the tracker does it's job well. Haven’t bought yet but that's the plan ATM, I agree I'd like to get a larger amorphous panel to be safe but I don't think they sell over 64 cause of the size?

Anyways, based on the above I should be getting over 50 with 2 panels and 2 batteries which will still mean a little genny work for a long stay but will be close enough I think. I know I'm sailing close to the wind but as I got the genny I'm not too worried. When I get the 4x4 I’ll rig the second up to the alternator as I’ll prolly be using it most days, and reckon I’ll be able to do away with the genny completely but keep it as an emergency of course.

Cheers and beers.
AnswerID: 132273

Reply By: drivesafe - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:46

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:46
Hi PBob, beware, there are a lot of myths surrounding battery use and charging.

Without having to lay out too much money, you can fit a decent size battery and your vehicles alternator will easily and regularly charge it back to 90 to 95% and the only thing you have to make sure of is that your existing charging system, thats your vehicle’s alternator and regulator are in good condition and you have suitably thick enough cable, both positive and negative, running between the front of the vehicle and the camper trailer, you will have no problems charging up even a large battery as you drive along.

The only governing situation is the amount of time you drive for, obviously the longer you drive, the higher the charge capacity your battery will have when you stop.

A drive of around 3 to 4 hours, even with the battery starting out at say 50% charge, will get the bulk of the charge back into your battery.

A drive of 7 or 8 hours should put your battery back above 90%.

There is no reason for isolating ANY battery from the charge system while you are driving. An alternator of 85 amps or higher, can happily handle two or three batteries at the same time and charge them all as pre what I posted above.

The only thing you need to consider is the type of isolator to use for protecting your starting battery when you turn your motor off.

AnswerID: 132281