I built a new toy over lunch hour today...

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 15:40
ThreadID: 26804 Views:3141 Replies:14 FollowUps:9
Take one disused jet ski trailer, one 800 litre water cube, a water pump from China and four big u-bolts.....mix well..... and voila! An all-purpose water carrier for our property - and good for firefighting as well. Got to design the hose layout not so that I can park next to our river frontage, fill up the container and then drive around the property and squirt it all over the place. The new trees are going to love it..... and now I can wash the fourbies after a weekend out - and not use town water to do it.

Gotta love a spare hour over lunch :)

Front view: [ View Image]

Side view: [ View Image]

Rear view: [ View Image]

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 15:45

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 15:45
Well done, good job.
Would be a good grog carrier for visiting the cape
AnswerID: 131998

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:01

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:01
:-))))
FollowupID: 386334

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:18

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:18
LMAO
FollowupID: 386363

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 15:46

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 15:46
Looks purpose made mate, neat too, could use the 4wheel bike to pull it about

AnswerID: 131999

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:35

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:35
Bonz, you are nice and close to buy me the 4 wheel bike to pull a tonne of water. Usually I find 400 - 500 litres pulls up what you can get round easily with on the back of a one tonne ute. Having no internal baffle may be a recipe for some fun too :-(

I saw a 200 litre ute pack just a couple of weeks back, for a CFA brigade.

FollowupID: 386342

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 15:46

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 15:46
Nice work Chrispy!

Where can one get one of these spare hours over lunch? :-Þ

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 132000

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 16:04

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 16:04
Lunch! What's lunch?
AnswerID: 132002

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:22

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:22
Lunch: (noun) Unpaid time that lets your employer officially say you work a lower number of hours a week than you actually do.
FollowupID: 386348

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:11

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:11
Great Job.
U can now use the winch for something else.
Perhaps as a lift for the gamble?
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 132007

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:21

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:21
Its obviously to take camping , so what are you going to put in it?? bulk red or white???
AnswerID: 132010

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:52

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:52
Ohh!!... I couldn't possibly drink that much wine by myself.

I might have to wait for a jamboree or something.........

FollowupID: 386338

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:00

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:00
Whats the chinese water pump quality like? There was a thread a few weeks ago about these cheap Chinese pumps and i am sort of interested.

AnswerID: 132016

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:57

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:57
To tell you the truth Alan - I don't know yet. I have to finish off the whole unit and get it down to Omaroo before I can actually test it properly. Judging by the casting quality, and the general robustness of my Chinese generator's engine - I can't see that it won't work well. It looks nicely put together - and these units are getting better all the time. I can't see the Chinese using these units themselves if they didn't work reasonably well. The average Chinese farmer isn't made of money.

Of course, I'd rather an Australian-made unit with a Honda engine - but the dollars would kill me.

I'll let you know how it goes. It should be a ripper - as it's rated at 35 cubic metres flow an hour, and will lift to a 55 metre head. Not bad.
FollowupID: 386344

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:59

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:59
I would be interested in knowing after youtest it. I have looked around Perth over the last few weeks and i cant find any one here who sells them, the only choice is the big brand names.

Could you let me know who sells them and i might get one freighted accross. ( i also know a few who may be interested so i might get more than one)

FollowupID: 386412

Reply By: porl - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:34

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:34
fantastic, i was looking at how to build a water tractor for my football field but you got it as good as i could imagine. I just gotta learn how to weld aluminium now, bugger.
AnswerID: 132022

Reply By: Disco Td5 - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:37

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:37
Well done Chris !!
Kev .
AnswerID: 132024

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:58

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 18:58
Thanks mate.

See you on the weekend. Can't wait! 5 days in the high country!!!! Whoohoo!!
FollowupID: 386345

Reply By: Disco Td5 - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:22

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:22
No !!

Triple !!!
Woo Hoo !!!!

Looking forward to the trip - and some " Clean Mountain Air " .

See you Saturday ,

Kev .
AnswerID: 132033

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:38

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:38
Funny thing that............ There is a guy on Outerlimits4x4.com that has done EXACTLY the same thing.................................

;-)
AnswerID: 132068

Reply By: gramps - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:44

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:44
Chrispy,

Fix your tail light lenses before you venture out. The boys in blue may take an unhealthy interest in your creation. Well done.
AnswerID: 132071

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:52

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:52
Too true gramps

I've bought some new little circular lights this arvo to keep the boys in blue at bay.

FollowupID: 386372

Reply By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:58

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 21:58
Not too shabby Chris!
Don't forget water weighs a kilo per litre. Don't venture out on the roads with a full load.
AnswerID: 132076

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:19

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:19
Chrispy,

Now if only the Water Pump was Water Proof!

You could simply back it into the river until it was completely submerged.
An easy way to refill it:-)

AnswerID: 132122