Fitch catalyst

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 16:58
ThreadID: 26836 Views:3869 Replies:11 FollowUps:25
I realise that Fitch is an advertiser on the site but I would like to hear first hand from any Exploroz members who have had one installed in a diesel 4wd. What improvements have you experienced?

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:08

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:08
Here we go again!
AnswerID: 132181

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:10

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:10
So if you know the answer already please tell, cos I have yet to see any independant evidence.
FollowupID: 386445

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:54

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:54
That's the problem............there hasn't been any INDEPENDANTLY verified evidence of these things working, only "testimonials" from the manufacturer. If they work so well, why dont the manufacturers fit them as standard, knowing that fuel consumption is a major selling point of any vehicle? The only way to test it is on an engine dyno (not a chassis dyno)

Why aren't they mandated by law to be fitted (or similar items by other manufacturers)? We already have airbags, catalytic converters, etc that have been proven to work.

Disregard any testimonial evidence. There are way too many variables for a realistic comparison, even down to seasonal adjustments of the blend of fuel that we don't know about, ambient air temperature/pressure variations, etc....

No one will own up to paying that much for one of these things, only to find out that it doesn't work. They will try to justify the expence by saying it works, just to save face, more often very defensivly (rings any bells???). (Psychology 101)

Put simply, if the Manufacturer can provide INDEPENDANT, VERIFIED, results on a number of engine types on an engine dyno, then I will personally buy ten of them. Untill that day happens my money stays in my pocket.

Welcome input from the manufacturer....................
FollowupID: 386449

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:03

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:03
"...had one installed in a diesel 4wd. What improvements have you experienced?"

If you go looking for "improvement" you will find it, simply because you are now more acutely aware of the vehicles performance and expecting "improvement", and possibly subconciously changing your driving style to suit.

Next step: define "improvement".

FollowupID: 386450

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:29

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:29

Gazza is on the money for this one.

I read in the motoring section of the local rag just the other day about how some major European motoring manufacturers are about to spend zillions on further R & D on developing more fuel efficient diesels.

If these snake oil jobbies were half as flash as they claim, wouldn't you think the ppls with the munmuns would be knocking down their doors.

Pleeeeaaaseee

Cheers from your friendly local cynic.
FollowupID: 386482

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:17

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:17
AFAIK the only guy (genuine) that has one is F4 Phantom on this forum hopefully he will reply for you (BTW I reckon it is crap)
AnswerID: 132184

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:11

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:11
G'day Peter,
The last thread to discuss this topic at length and also where F4phantom put his latest update was 25725, unfortunately upon checking this I found this thread has been removed for some reason, perhaps F4 could give us an update again here and hopefully this thread will remain for future search purposes.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 132193

Reply By: 4runner_Adam - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:52

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:52
I had one installed in my 88 2.4D 4runner i went from about 420kms per tank to 505kms per tank but i changed all filters at the same time too my fitch is the F200 inline. i feel that the fitch did help but i didnt recive the horsepower gains (not much gain at all actually but that could just be the engine size) that they recon i should get.
AnswerID: 132215

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:38

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:38
HI Adam, Just this morning I had a 3litre toyota tested at TURBO GLIDE in RUSSELVALE and guess what an instant gain in power was logged on the dyno,and furter more this vehicle will be tested by an indipendant driver running from south coast to Sydney and back each day. fo econamy gains.
May be if he posts his findings it just might have some accredatation due to his standing,but then some dont know till it bites. But mate thanks for your input at least you get 80klms further on your fuel better than nothing.

BILLS
FollowupID: 386483

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:01

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:01
I see you still wont but your advertising avatar on your logo like other advertisers do so everyone can see that you make money from people that believe your apparantly unbiased testamonials. If you have nothing to hide why dont you declare your financial intrests with your posts. It really seems you work off the advertising premise that mentioning a product often enough legitimises it. And as for any gains in economy - the proof comes only after the product is removed
FollowupID: 386486

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:59

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:59
Post a link/file with the Dyno results... you did start off by saying that you " had a 3litre toyota tested at TURBO GLIDE in RUSSELVALE " so then I'm sure you would have been given the results which you can post all to see?
FollowupID: 386528

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:55

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:55
dyno doctering is a recognized method for these products where you crank the vehicle up and chuck it straight on the dyno then runit for a bit (we all know how much better a warm diesal runs) add your fitch and have another go - not surprisingly more power. What they dont do is remove the fitch and show a drop in power. Bill mentions an immediate gain in power which is at odds with what others have been told by fitch when they got no benifit and even some of their testimonials which claim benifits are not immediate (well not until after the warranty period)
FollowupID: 386533

Reply By: theshadows - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:33

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:33
why dont yu call an automtoive group lik the NRMA and see if they can do a proper test on that garbage and finally put every one out of their misery...... wheres is the hi-clone thread that goes with this one.....

shadow
AnswerID: 132226

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:44

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:44
GUESS What Shadow, The NRMA ans AAA are now in the process of doing just that,but by the time they prove me right you guys are the losers as if you had believed me the first time you would be streets ahead by now. And Shadow stay there>

BILLS
FollowupID: 386484

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:48

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:48
I'll sit over ->> there with shadow and have a laugh and a beer....
FollowupID: 386498

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:11

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:11
TO Whom IT may CONCERNE and thats afew, BILLS is a director of FFCA and managing Director of FFCsouthern NSW.And for the information of doubters I do know what I am about and know I speak the TRUTH. Is this enough declaration of where I stand???????

REGARDS BILLS
AnswerID: 132234

Follow Up By: theshadows - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:31

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:31
with 2.5 billon kms travelled each year. tell me why havent TOLLS come knocking on your door yet alone FINEMORES..... when then go on their rigs I will considerate.

shadow
FollowupID: 386491

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:34

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:34
You dont have to declare where you stand coz we know - you stand to profit from your posts. We dont get the managing directer of Engal telling us how good they are when Fridges are brought up do we? or Komazoomie from Toyota telling us to buy a land cruiser instead of a patrol etc etc. You dont post on anything other than Fitch even the Diesal guy only gave advice general in nature instead of telling they guy to bring his smoking 2h down to his workshop.
FollowupID: 386493

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:47

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:47
Bill,
TO save us listening to you blowing your own trumpet again and again and again, why dont you take Diamond, and AWILL up on their offer to provide some real world figures?

No cost to you, as said if they worked, Diamond would buy the unit off you.

But IF they work as your own testimonials to yourself state, the sales would be in your favor.

I expect to hear crickets chirpin in answer to this.
FollowupID: 386497

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:27

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:27
Chirrrp chirrrrp chirrrrp :) It's been a while, may be even the crickets have given up on Fitch.
FollowupID: 386511

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 13:45

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 13:45
When I see a "testimonial" on the fitch site claiming a 30%, yes, that was a 30% increase in fuel economy then I start to think that something stinks about the whole deal.

FollowupID: 386598

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:12

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:12
David and Michelle

Please do something about this thread. Once again Bill S who is a retailer/distributor of the Fitch Catalyst is attempting to use the forum to coerce people into purchasing his products, WITHOUT ADEQUATELY IDENTIFYING HIMSELF AS A DISTRIBUTOR.

There was a thread a couple of weeks ago about , for want of a better term, forum ettiquette from advertisers. There were a few good suggestions in it.

Bill S, if you want, take your comments to the original poster offline to save further grief. Should you wish to make the results of the RACV/NRMA test known, then publish them in your advertising, NOT IN THIS FORUM.

Simple concept - no free advertising.
AnswerID: 132248

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:05

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:05
Oddly enough, if that is his intention, I really cant see that its working. The more I see that "F" word appear on this forum, the more I see people doubting it and bagging it. Seems to be doing himself no real favours at all.

May have more luck selling meat tray tickets wearing a mink coat at a vegetarian animal rights convention?
FollowupID: 386529

Reply By: 4runner_Adam - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 01:48

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 01:48
OK fitch has been removed for the long weekend ill post again and let you all know if there is a change in performance economy etc.

I didnt realise that this was such a sore subject with some people after the weekend after i post the details ill never mention it again.

p.s ill be running about 600kms only *should be enough*
AnswerID: 132272

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 14:32

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 14:32
to really gain any proof, you need to run it over 6 mths to average out all conditions in weather, road, tires, car, state of tune of engine, temp changes, etc etc, then remove it and do it again...
FollowupID: 386600

Reply By: tour boy - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:01

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:01
Havn't kenworth been using Fitch filters as standard for years?
AnswerID: 132276

Follow Up By: theshadows - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:29

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:29
Filter service australia would not be happy reading this post......
go wash your mouth out.

Nope fitch is named after the con man who decided to fleece a lot of people in my opinion.

advance Power systems in the states is the company and as far as i can work out its the only product it makes.

Note I'm not sayin it dosn't work. But I will say the amount of cars it will make a difference on is very few pre 1960 models and for it to work you would need at least 30 of these large units in a line for any thing to be noticeable.

Yess the theroy is sound however the service area needs to be bigger than 3 foot ball fields and a very old car.

Shadow

FollowupID: 386646

Reply By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:13

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:13
I just found this post and am a bit late but have a couple of things to say about the fitch. Firstly I consider myself keenly interested in the environment and all that, so the fitch was interesting to me. I got the inline version for $385 i think. I thought if it does what it says it does then its a pretty cheap deal. Some of the convincing arguments to be fair are slightly more established than some of the people on this thread say (big companies and governments and stuff have recoomended it/ all that helped me buy). Also I find Bill a bit over bearing a aloof in his comments on this site. I kind of feel bad for him cause he is trying to make a living out of this thing but his comments always make him look shifty. I would say post on other stuff bill and seem interested in other topics that concern others and you may establish a bit more creed amongst all these good people - who currently dont like you. Anyway, right now the fitch has done nothing good for me. I am going to take it off tommorow and fill up to see if there are any immediate differences. I understand all these people who say you need a double blind test and all that but i still say that you can still get an idea if it works especially in the longest recorded range per tank stat. If my economy jumps up to where it used to be, i may question Bill and ask for a refund. I would like to think the fitch works because of the environmental benefits but i have to say i have yet to see any benefit. I didnt realise my earlier fitch post was removed, i wonder if the site guys are a little concerned about fitch advertising money, i know i would be.
AnswerID: 132408

Follow Up By: warthog - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:41

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:41
The censorship appears to be increasing in frequency lately. I value frank opinions and like to read a bit of contoversy. The post removals lessen my enjoyment of the site. Just my own frank opinion.
FollowupID: 386704

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:29

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:29
HI ,Once again a user has phoned me to inform me his V/8 landcruiser is using TWO litres less fuel for every 100klms he travells,happy motoring======

Regards BILLS
AnswerID: 133331

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:59

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:59
Yawn!!!!!!
FollowupID: 387550

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:03

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:03
WTF ...... Truckster, the crickets are chirping again!!!! Seems more like groundhog day.
FollowupID: 387553

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:40

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:40
There are NONE so Blind as those who do not want to SEE.
Just purchased a 100srs turbo cruiser, I will run three tanks of fuel with out and then three tanks with aux tanks that is.I will then offer my findings,but whats the point I ask myself, but then at least I prove it to myself aGAIN
.But being unable to post a post I will answer questions in relation only.

At least rest easy BILLS
FollowupID: 387574

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:48

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:48
ROFLMAO .... You are joking! Hang on, I need a tissue to wipe the tears away
FollowupID: 387577

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:18

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:18
I had someone call me up sayin' they put a pickle in the exhaust, and it gained them an extra 100 klms to a tank, thats towing the QE2 across the simpson with the anchor out.

Bill I hate to say it, you really need to either stop posting stuff like this that nobody will believe, as for one we have no proof anyone called you, and it could have been your wife... Or the other possibilities that are happening, are letting someone else hack your name on here to post, or allow some independant testing.

Again, take Diamond Jim up on his offer. You have zero to lose, and all to gain.

I for one dont understand why you continue to carry on like this.

YMMWVWAF.
FollowupID: 387581

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:25

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:25
YMMWVWAF ...... hmmm ....ponder ... cogitate ... ponder .... cogitate...sigh !

I give up Truckster. What does it all mean?
FollowupID: 387583