This post's got no title ...

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:56
ThreadID: 26845 Views:2939 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
... just words and a doon (a)

I am predominately an inland, or riverside camper, and have never had the pleasure of camping along the coastline.

I have two questions for the seasoned, and regular beach campers.

1) I am told that canvas products are a no-no on the beach. Canvas swags and tents, do not fare too well. Is this true?

2) Because we base our activities on the water, at the end of the day, we are dry, but our clothes are salt encrusted. No big deal, ‘cause we get wet again next day, but what about our sleeping apparel?
Do you still use your regular sleeping bags and doonas, and simply get them dry cleaned, or do you do something different?

Wolfie

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:14

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:14
Keep above the part of the beach where the water comes at high tide and you will have no worries with your swag. Even better camp at least 1 dune back as it keeps salt sparay off your vehicle. Where have you got in mind? places i have camped in Sa are Venus bay, Dolphins beach, Talia beach, Smooth Pool, Streaky bay, Formby bay, Near Edithburg, Elliston, South of the Murray Mouth, Browns Beach, Pondalowie bay, Waitpinga
AnswerID: 132203

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:20

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:20
Venus Bay is where I go say, about twice a year, because my long time friend, has property and a house, on the spit in the bay. We don't camp there, 'cause he's got the house.

I had heard that the salt content in the air can wreak havoc with cotton & canvas products, ergo the swag, and out Black Wolf Turbo tent.

When I bought both of these products, I was told by the sales people, that prolonged ( whatever that is... ) beach camping, is not advised.

The sleeping bag thing also reared its head, because of the high salt content on our bodies after a week in the sea.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 386464

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:00

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:00
Davoe
was doing some researching on titan resources and noticed one of their tenements is Widgiemooltha...any where near you LOL
if so any hints????
FollowupID: 386774

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 19:56

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 19:56
Yes Titan recently had a bit of a setback after setting up the infrastrucure for a decent size mine and comencing mining they found it had little extractable Nickel. If you have confidence that the esuing court cases will go there way and there aggresive exploration (if they have any money left) they may be a good speulative buy while the share price is down
FollowupID: 386879

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:23

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:23
G'day Wolfie,

We do a lot of camping near the ocean in a number of different locations and have never had problems caused by salt but having said this we do carry out regular maintenance on our gear and I think that is the key.

In answer to point one after a few trips away we give the canvas on our camper a really good wash in fresh water and leave it up to air dry at home before packing it away and have never noticed any deterioration.

For point 2 yes some of our gear gets a bit salty but as far as our sleeping gear such as our doona etc, this is never bothered by salt air etc and every time we return from a trip Deb gets it all out of the camper and gives it a good wash and we air dry it. Again no problems with this so far. We also manage to grab a freshwater shower most nights we are away so this does the job also.

Hope this helps you out.

have a good one.
AnswerID: 132207

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:25

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:25
"Deb gets it all out of the camper and gives it a good wash and we air dry it"

Has she got a sister.... in Adelaide?

Wolfie
FollowupID: 386467

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:59
Pix could be interesting ! (sorry, almost Friday)
FollowupID: 386475

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:20

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:20
No mate you're out of luck there.

Take it easy
FollowupID: 386507

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:51

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:51
Sorry Brian, I was being rude. Sometimes I forget how ancient and decrepit I am. I'll assume you pointed this out to your good lady and will consider myself suitably boxed around the ears :)))

FollowupID: 386519

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:44

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:44
It's all good mate.
FollowupID: 386550

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:09

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:09
Hey Wolfie

Follow the advice of any, either, all of the above. Stay above the high water mark for a more comfortbale camp .. ;-)

Never heard of canvas suffering from the environment ... we're not talking about a 12 month stint are we??

Go for it cobber

AnswerID: 132219

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:18

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:18
Mmmmm....

Looks like I'm simply being over cautious about my gear.

Still can't understand why the sales people warned me about prolonged beach camping.

Either way, I would probably be one dune behind the beach, to get relief from the wind, so I guess the salt issues are probably not that important.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 386478

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:51

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:51
No one has ever told my swag its bad for it wolfie. Spent many a night on a beach.
AnswerID: 132230

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:02

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:02
Thanks Brew.

I'll simply have to jump in, and brave the elements.

I just love your signature!!

It reminds me of something a chick said to me last week. She is a Texan, and Texans are a proud lot. Proud & parochial, to put it mildly. If you weren't born there, look out!

Anyway, one poor guy had just moved into her town, and they were taking the plss out of him, calling him a foreigner, to which he replied...
"Hell man, I know I wasn't born here, but I got here as quickly as I could!"

Wolfie
FollowupID: 386487

Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:49

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:49
Have camped on the beach many many times. Have found the generator doesnt particularly like the salt spray in the air so always make a tarp tent over the generator to keep most of the spray off the genny as well as the rain. Camp at Cotton Tree Maroochydore for 4 weeks at xmas time and since the huge erosion now right on the beach with lots of spray. We hang shade cloth from the poles which hold the end flies over the bed of the Jaco Dove and this stops some of the spray but as there is always a sea breeze the salt builds up. We come home and always wash what we have had on the beach or near the beach be it tent, camper trailer or the Jayco with warm water as this breaks down the salt better.
Enjoy the beach camping. Nothing like sitting on top of the dune with a wine looking at the moon rising over the sea or the sun setting over the sea if in the west.
AnswerID: 132241

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:57

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:57
Wolfie,
We don't use sleeping bags any more but when we did, SWMBO made up an inner sheet in the shape of the sleeping bag. Just throw it in the wash when you get home or give it a shake when still camping to get the sand out. Keeps the bag cleaner and more comfortable
Des
AnswerID: 132245

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:07

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:07
I must go down to the sea again
To the lonely sea and the sky
And all I need is a bottle or two
And a squeeze to see me by

The sand and surf are great until
Its sleepy byes for me
And then the salt gets in yer...back
And places you can't see

The sea is great it has a mystery
It has magesty and power
But when you go down to the sea again
Be sure to take your shower.

Footy
AnswerID: 132259

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:13

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:13
Ahahahaha!

Very Good Footy!

FollowupID: 386582

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:18

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 09:18
Wolfie ,the secret of beach camping ,passed down thru the ages ,mother to daughter and to the occasional husband is ????????????????? TALCUM POWDER,,bulk bloody talcum powder ,put on feet before entering swag/tent/camper trailer/ = no sand . Wet or dry sand just falls off when doused in talc.
AnswerID: 132465