Some very condescending views.

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:17
ThreadID: 26848 Views:4140 Replies:27 FollowUps:73
After reading post 26767 I was appalled at the judgemental comments made.

Let's leave aside whether grog should, or should not, be allowed to be taken into various parts of Australia. That's a seperate, and complex, issue.

Comments along the lines of "If you can't go two weeks without a full strength beer, you have a problem" are simply reprehensible. That someone may like a drink is their business, and as long as this does not result in consequences to another party, it is entirely a private matter.

Who makes the rules for camping morality?

Who decides how many glasses of wine, or cans of beer, is socially acceptable?

It's all about behaviour. A decent human being has the right to behave decently. No-one can tell them how they conduct themselves in their pursuit of such behaviour.

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:25

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:25
I can go 2 weeks without a beer when on site - but on my week off its a differnt matter. As it is usually me the tojo the trees and the campfire I dont get too many complaints, didnt get any complaints last weekend either - but then maybe Rods just polite, now wheres my beer last few or few more before I go back to work 2 morrow
AnswerID: 132236

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:32

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:32
Here here....................or is it there there?? Who knows.....I am off to get a beer :))
AnswerID: 132238

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:59

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:59
People just like to have a say Jimbo, right or wrong, human nature and maybe some self righteousness takes over. Let them have their say mate and we can kick back around the fire have a sip of whatever we please.

People who are not happy within themselves find it easy to judge others. We who are happy enjoy life to its fullest....

AnswerID: 132246

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:31

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:31
I contributed to that thread so I'll have a go (oh oh). Please bear in mind that these are general comments. I'm not having a go at anyone.

Let me say first that I don't drink. It's a medical thing.
But I don't object to those who do. In moderation (that's the word your missus probably uses when you get frisky 5 nights a week). By midnight you'll have forgotten that my glass is full of coke...so will I probably :)
I used to take a drink. Scotch to be precise. But never, ever, when I had to drive the next day. I needed all my concentration on the track (not much of a driver did I hear you say ?)

I never became loud in camp (well maybe my snoring did but that hasn't changed), nor did I ever have complaints about my behaviour after 2 or 3 glasses.

So I dont care if you drink legally. Thats your business.

But if I meet you on the wrong side of the track around a blind corner, if I have to stop and attend your accident, if I cant sleep because you're yelling and carrying on at 2am at the campsite, then that's MY business.

And believe me, my comments will be more than reprehensible.

With freedom comes responsibility.

Footy
AnswerID: 132252

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:35

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:35
"With freedom comes responsibility"

That says it all. Something a lot of us forget from time to time (me as well unfortunately). There are a lot of other areas around the country where we cannot consume or transport alcohol. Have you checked around your local - NSW - railway stations lately? I'm not talking about on the platforms but the "Alcohol Free" zones that seem to be springing up everywhere. I'm all for it. Plenty of other places to drink unimpeded and not impose on others.

If the bans/limitations on the Cape help prevent abuse etc, it's a good move. Won't stop me enjoying the experience when I eventually get there.
FollowupID: 386524

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:46

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:46
How in the greatest stretch of the imagination is banning tourists having a beer going to stop indigenous alcohol abuse??? - Adress the problem anything else is just a waste of space
FollowupID: 386531

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:51

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:51
Davoe,

Nothing is foolproof or guaranteed 100%. If this measure helps, then good. You'll never know if you don't try. I really cannot see why so many people get their backs up about it. It's not as if the whole Cape is a completely 'dry' area.
FollowupID: 386532

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:38

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 22:38
Hear, hear Jimbo ..... well said!
AnswerID: 132253

Reply By: 4runner - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:08

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:08
I totally agree with the above comments. There is a time and place for everthing. Alcohol in moderation, without upsetting other campers ,is called consideration for your fellow travellors. Becoming loud, aggressive and abusive in front of woman and children in a campsite, and keeping everyone up at 2.00am, calls for some serious formof restrainment. By the time the individual is restrained, the tyres on his 4x4 deflated and on his camper van or caravan, he might think twice before behaving like a pratt next time round. If you want to behave like a yobbo, then go and do it somewhere, where there are no decent law abiding folks who are trying to have decent holiday.
AnswerID: 132260

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:49

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 00:49
I think you misunderstood Jimbo. The point of the comment (can't remember who it was) was that if you can't go without beer what right do you have to comment on the grog problem in aboriginal communities? Maybe you have a problem too then?
AnswerID: 132269

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 06:40

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 06:40
I want to drive through school zones at 80k per hour because i am a responsible driver and a good driver.
I want to smoke in public places like on a bus and on trains because I am responsible and always put my butts in the bin.
I want to lite my wood fire BBQ on total fire ban days because I am responsible and always put it out .
I want to drink and drive with no limit on what I drink before I drive because I am responsible.
I want to do the above but I cant but I make adjustments to my life because it benifits my fellow man and woman and kids.

PS I dont smoke and havent for about 10 years now
AnswerID: 132275

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:37

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:37

You are right and it is a point worth discussing.

"I'm all right Jack" is common now, with the cult of individualism having been preached at the highest level in this land (apeing the US of A).
The individual is not the ultimate social reality, for society to work we must have a connection with others and accept some rersponsibility for the collective good.

It is a selfish set of values to rationalis exploitation by those who would have no responsibility for others or for their effect on others. John Winston Howard and the Czars of the banking world are proponents and prime examples of post-modern capitalism and the individualism. [It is far from Menzies' concept of liberalism].

Of course the strongest proponents of individualism are the first to demand community help when things go pear shaped for THEM.

There is nothing wrong with being an individual and that can be very healthy but when it is over done, as in 'I'm all right Jack', it disrupts. Ever travelled/worked with someone who wants to get the benefits of being part of the team/group but refuses to comply with the simple rules to make things work?

On the subject issue (booze bans), limiting booze is not attacking the root causes of substance abuse in Aboriginal communities, however some action was required to reduce the carnage while other solutions are found, or can have an effect.

Unfortunately there is rarely the political will at State and Federal levels to address the fundamental causes of most problems in society. A good example is youth crime where it has been clearly demonstrated that diversion programs are far superior to detention, but pollies refuse to bite the bullet and take action. This affects Aboriginal communities too.

EV700
FollowupID: 386559

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:40

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:40
Time to use glasses, I keep missing words and letters ;-(
FollowupID: 386560

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:40

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:40
Eric,

You nailed it !!! I completely agree with you. At some point a line needs to be drawn.
FollowupID: 386586

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:33

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:33
Davo says - "Address the problem" Well, thats EXACTLY what the alcohol ban is designed to do. Wake up sunshine and think for a change about why it was put in place and not just about your own desires (or lusts) :-)) When in someone elses back yard you respect their rules and customs.
AnswerID: 132278

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:53

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:53
The rules and customs were put in place to help prevent the sale of grog to the locals buy idiots from down south.

Haveing spent a lot of time in Weipa since 1969 and some of the outlying communities, I have seen the worst what alcohol can do and anything to prevent it continueing has got to be a good thing.

So travelers to the Cape now know the rules so should abide by them whether they like it or not.
FollowupID: 386538

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:18

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:18
The ban doesnt address the problem, it addresses a symptom. Its a sign of desperation, like banning ULP from some places due to sniffing, and now Opal fuel. What does that do? Makes ppl look elsewhere to service their problem.

Address the problem, then have the arguement.

FollowupID: 386543

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:54

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:54
Address the problem, address the problem. Up goes the cop out balloon. Why don't we just ignore the problem and hope it will go away. Why should we have to inconvenience ourselves one little iota.

Maybe there is a little truth in what the anti 4wd lobby are saying in their propaganda.
FollowupID: 386552

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:30

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:30
Yes people address the problem but the problem is how do we address the problem to achieve the required result. Until we know the answer to this and all the other problems that inflict the human race we must address the symptom.
FollowupID: 386563

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:39

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:39
Absolutely. Obviously the root cause of the problem is difficult and complex. The authorities are desperate and until that root cause is addressed the only option they have is to address the symptoms.
FollowupID: 386567

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:15

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:15
Unless I have it wrong the bans were to stop people selling sly grog. Well unless I am out of touch who the hell sells there beer to the locals? dunno how much of that goes on but i suspect that sort of person doesnt go there for holidays and an alcohol ban wouldnt stop them
FollowupID: 386573

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:32

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:32
There has been the odd few from down south who have paid for their fishing trip to the cape with grog. $50 for a carton and cask of wine.

You can carry a fair bit on the tray back or in the boat.

This is what the ban's are trying to prevent.
FollowupID: 386575

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:56

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:56
Well 55, Can you tell me what happens to the members of the community who are caught drinking this sly grog.
FollowupID: 386577

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:42

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:42
Bonz, your statements "The ban doesn't address the problem, it addresses a symptom" and "Address the problem, then have the argument" suggest that you believe treatment of the symptoms is a futile and worthless exercise which should not be undertaken. Instead all activity should be geared towards solving the underlying problem. I humbly suggest that this is akin to refusing symptom relief to a terminally ill patient on the basis that there is not a cure for their illness.

From my experiences alcohol abuse is endemic within aboriginal communities and the amount of effort and resources that is channelled into a solution is, at best, questionable, but denying the affliction 'pain relief' will only exacerbate the severity of the illness.

YMMV
FollowupID: 386589

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:47

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:47
Wombat,

You have put the view far more eloquently than I. Thankyou.
FollowupID: 386592

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:39

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:39
I was simply responding to the assertion by Kiwi Kia that the alcohol ban, addresses the problem, as you all have said, eloquently or diligently, it does not. It is a symptom addresser, and also, I sadly feel, a placater, or placbo designed to make ppl feel better without actually doing anything to address the core issue. I am not offering solutions, to what I believe is a complex issue, merely asserting that if we treat he symptoms, the patient still dies, as Wombie says.

I guess we need to save the patient if we can.

FollowupID: 386634

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:14

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:14
So you believe that the alcohol limitations on the cape have no intrinsic remedial value and are simply applied to appease or reassure?
FollowupID: 386640

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:21

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:21
yes mate, imho a ban is not a remedy, its reactionary. However, depends on the problem, is it alcoholism, abuse, theftery, vagrantism, nohopeism or what, for my mind, alcohol abuse is a solace to deeper issues, take away the solace without removing the issue and relief is sought elsewhere.

FollowupID: 386642

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:33

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:33
So . . . on that basis illicit drugs should be legalised and made readily available to all and sundry as drugs are not really the problem they are simply "solace to deeper issues" such as "nohopeism"?
FollowupID: 386647

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:37

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:37
alcohol is legal, drugs are for another post, and no i disagree

FollowupID: 386648

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:42

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:42
Agreed Jimbo. It's no-one's place to tell others how to drink. If they're not old enough to act responsibly they will be one day.

I'm lucky. If I get seriously on the turps I fall asleep before I get rowdy.....
AnswerID: 132280

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:07

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:07
I want to drive through school zones at 80k per hour because i am a responsible driver and a good driver.
I want to smoke in public places like on a bus and on trains because I am responsible and always put my butts in the bin.
I want to lite my wood fire BBQ on total fire ban days because I am responsible and always put it out .
I want to drink and drive with no limit on what I drink before I drive because I am responsible.
I want to do the above but I cant but I make adjustments to my life because it benifits my fellow man and woman and kids.

FollowupID: 386639

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:27

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:27
Jimbo, your words are sage. What is too much? For me thats a glass and a half of red on the odd occasion that I imbibe. For others it may be 2 dozen a day.

If we look after the outcome, i.e. clean up our empties, (I remember having this job when we were breastfeeding! Its fun), dont become a PITA awe obnoxious twit and who cares how much or how often others partake?

We all too fast impose our own paradigm on others, including our fears and our prejudices, often in the name of caring but rarely in the form of empathy.

The human race is one fought on many principles.

AnswerID: 132295

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:18

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:18
jimbo your spot on but i think eric cpe york connections would like all 4x4 banned from going anywhere up there except through his little set up?
AnswerID: 132301

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:38

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:38
what a ridiculous thing to say. How you get that out of his comments is well beyond me.
FollowupID: 386585

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 15:25

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 15:25
shnog dog are you posting a follow up to eric or ev700 & as for my little dig at cape york , it was a joke by the way, read the original post not jimbos
FollowupID: 386608

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:05

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:05
I hope It was a joke.
We do 3 trips a year between Pete and I I do it because I love the place and the same as Pete.

FollowupID: 386638

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:59

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:59
whats that, you love pete? i hope im wrong
FollowupID: 386709

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 06:25

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 06:25
old magpie I do but not like that.
WE have been mates for about 30 years now.

all the best
FollowupID: 386749

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:41

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:41
The other thing that I have wondered about is what do you do when you get to places like Finke, that has sign saying 'no alcohol past this point'?

Do you just unload it from your vehicle & leave it against the sign post, for the locals to come & drink?

Or, do you sit & drink it all & drive on very drunk?

Or, do you simply turn around & go back to where you came from?

Hmmm ........
AnswerID: 132307

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:54

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 09:54
Hopefully you've done a bit of pre trip planning beforehand :)
FollowupID: 386561

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:21

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:21
Same thing you do with fruit when crossing the border.
gramps has the best solution.
FollowupID: 386658

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:12

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:12
Ignore it!
FollowupID: 386816

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:01

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:01
This site is no different than most others Jimbo, there are a number of judjmental bigots who visit. If you don't think or do as I do then you are wrong, no different to Harold Scrubby's thoughts on 4b's.

AnswerID: 132310

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:36

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 10:36
Everyone has a right to their own opinion Mad Dog. It neither makes them a judgmental bigot nor an uncaring borderline alcoholic. Forums serve the purpose of airing differing opinions as well as providing valuable information.
FollowupID: 386564

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:49

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 11:49
I agree Gramps. I'm pleased that I in this country have the ability to express my opinion as much as the law allows and I respect and value yours but it's the inability to tolerate the opinion of others that makes one a bigot. And judgmental, have a look at the post again, from the top of my head someone was called a drunken yobbo who left mountains of bear cans just because they enjoy a few drinks at the end of the day.
FollowupID: 386576

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:42

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:42
Aaahhhhh............... the red mist has cleared, the eyes have rolled back into their proper position. I see your point. Probably just a tad judgmental :)
FollowupID: 386590

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:22

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:22
Good morning Jimbo.

Your post and and those of the respondents make for interesting reading.

I have one question for you - Would you have been less aggrieved if the comment which you found offensive had been "If you can't go two weeks without a full strength beer because law dictates this, you have a problem"?
AnswerID: 132325

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:55

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:55
The problem with bureaucrats is that they don't follow logic.

A bloke wants to get from A to C. Region A says you can only have a dozen mid strength beers whilst Region C says you can have a dozen full strength.
Now to get from A to C you have to travel through Region B and the local tribe's council here says you are not allowed any alcohol at all.

Also, you are not allowed in if you drive a petrol fuelled vehicle because the natives sniff petrol when they can't get booze to annihilate themselves with.

Now I have a further problem because I prefer red wine when sitting around a camp fire, or an occasional cider, whilst my wife may like a "cruiser".

So, we carry a variety of booze to pleasure ourselves with and bugger anybody elses "rules". That is of couse if they know I am "carrying".

What are they going to do, search every vehicle that trespasses on "their" land.
Well I was born in Australia so it is MY land as well and I pay my hard earned taxes to claim it as "ours" if not "mine"

So I guess I am just being politically incorrect.
Well..........Stuff Them!

AnswerID: 132327

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:00

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:00
I'm with you Bill. I guess if i found myself up that way i would hide my grog. No B@stard is going to tell me how many beers i can take on a trip.And if they did find them and want to fine me...........they had better be fast runners.
FollowupID: 386614

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:39

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:39
That was very well put, and hello, Mr and Mrs Sand Man.
FollowupID: 386626

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:03

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:03
Bill,

Totally agree with you. They want to claim it as their land and run it how they wish, but they are the first ones to put their hands up for funding when the community needs help. I agree with helping all countrymen but when help is taken for granted then we must draw the line.

Drink up!!
FollowupID: 386628

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 05:14

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 05:14
Hello Ruth!

Bev & I were just thinking about you earlier in the week.

Was this time last year we met you and Ian and explored the Birdsville area. Geez, time flies!

Bill.

FollowupID: 387428

Reply By: kesh - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:56

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:56
I reckon that whilst there have been some very sensible responses here a major factor in the aboriginal/grog factor is overlooked. SELF RESPECT.
A very good and close friend of mine has worked as a remote area nurse for many years in outback towns and aboriginal community locations.
In towns where employment is both available and encouraged, drinking to excess seems not to be an insurmountable problem. But where the community is isolated and exists solely on funding and royalties, money has the same value as a hand full of marbles so 100 bucks for a slab is of no consequense, theres another 100 on its way. And what else do you do with the day when there is no effort in collecting it.
She has suggested these bans are a "lip service" way of authorities showing recognition of a problem without addressing the root cause.
One of the last places she worked at is in the E Kimberley where access is by sea or air only. Supposedly dry and no tourism, she ended up leaving in dispair at the futility of constantly repairing bodies damaged from alcohol induced violence. Against that backdrop we are very familiar with a small town in W.Qld. with a substantial part of the population being aboriginal. With little or no unemployment, self respect at healthy levels I have yet to see any evidence of alcohol problems in that community.
And I certainly aint no wowser!!
the kesh

AnswerID: 132328

Follow Up By: Rowie - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:29

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:29
Kesh your nursing friend has hit the nail right on the head. Self Esteem is an issue. Handouts for no work is also part of the problem.

I've spent a fair bit of time in the NT, Qld, NSW and Vic and my partner is an Emergency Dept Nurse.

From what I've seen, heard and discussed about the Indigeonous alcohol issue, the "Black Fellas" do not respect the "White Fellas" because we hand out money to them they haven't done anythign to earn. For that, the White Fella is seen by them as weak.

Their trial culture, dictates nobody has possessions, everythign belongs to the tribe and is shared. EVERYONE has a job within the tribe. Unless you are very sick, if you don't pull your weight and perform your task, you don't eat.

In th NT many people receive annual Tribal royalties checks from Ayers Rock etc. which amount to many tens of thousands of dollars each and whom still receive full Centrelink payments! We keep throwing money at them for doing nothing, they sit around and drink and then we want to throw more money at them.

The problem isn't being fixed by throwing money at them now. It's being made worse.

We've forced a nomadic culture to live in houses in isolated areas, left them essentially to their own devices without any ability to earn an income and taken away their means of traditional living and simply thorwn some welfare dollars at them and abandoned them. Manyof the communities have no electricity or running water. Can any of us imagine being given a Housing Commission house to reside in withot power or water? That's the reality for many black fella communities.

I totally agree that the alcohol bans have come about as a result perception. The powers that be want to create a perception (in the greater and essentially ignorant city based majority) that they are taking positive action towards fixing the problem, when the reality is the opposite. What resources are required to ban alcohol? Virtually none. Such laws just become something else that the already over burdened and sparsely located local coppers have to enforce.

We have white and black fella alcoholism and domestic violence in big cities too. I don't see alcohol sales, consumption and the mere posession of it in your vehicle being made illegal in the cities.

Alcohol in the communities isn't the REAL problem. Self esteem is. Alcohol is merely a way for people of escaping the reality of their lives. If Alcohol is elimnated, without addressing the causor of low self esteem, a replacement substance will be found.

As a result in areas where communities have successfully banned alcohol, Marijuana has replaced it along with several other drugs like Amphetamine (aka. Speed)

Alcohol bans are not the panacea the pollies are leading us to believe they are.
FollowupID: 386621

Follow Up By: Rowie - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:37

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 16:37
Kesh your nursing friend has hit the nail right on the head. Self Esteem is an issue. Handouts for no work is also part of the problem.

I've spent a fair bit of time in the NT, Qld, NSW and Vic and my partner is an Emergency Dept Nurse.

From what I've seen, heard and discussed about the Indigeonous alcohol issue, the "Black Fellas" do not respect the "White Fellas" because we hand out money to them they haven't done anything to earn. For that, the White Fella is seen by them as weak.

Their tribal culture, dictates nobody has possessions, everything belongs to the tribe and is shared. EVERYONE has a job within the tribe. Unless you are very sick, if you don't pull your weight and perform your task, you don't eat.

In th NT many people receive annual Tribal royalties checks from Ayers Rock etc. which amount to many tens of thousands of dollars each and whom still receive full Centrelink payments! I met a bloke in Katherine who receives over $100k a year. We keep throwing money at them for doing nothing, they sit around and drink and then we want to throw more money at them.

The problem isn't being fixed by throwing money at them now. It's being made worse.

We've forced a nomadic culture to live in houses in isolated areas, left them essentially to their own devices without any ability to earn an income and taken away their means of traditional living and simply thrown some welfare dollars at them and abandoned them. Many of the communities have no electricity or running water. Can any of us imagine being given a Housing Commission house to reside in withot power or water? That's the reality for many black fella communities.

I totally agree that the alcohol bans have come about as a result perception. The powers that be want to create a perception (in the minds of the greater and essentially ignorant city based majority) that they are taking positive action towards fixing the problem, when the reality is the opposite. What resources are required to ban alcohol? Virtually none. Such laws just become something else that the already over burdened and sparsely located country coppers have to enforce.

We have white and black fella alcoholism and domestic violence in big cities too. I don't see alcohol sales, consumption and the mere posession of it in your vehicle being made illegal in the cities.

Alcohol in the communities isn't the REAL problem. Self esteem is. Alcohol is merely a way for people of escaping the reality of their lives. If Alcohol is elimnated, without addressing the causor of low self esteem, a replacement substance will be found.

As a result in areas where communities have successfully banned alcohol, Marijuana has replaced it along with several other drugs like Amphetamine (aka. Speed)

Alcohol bans are not the panacea the pollies are leading us to believe they are.

FollowupID: 386625

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:16

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:16
Rowie, I don't really believe there is an implimentable solution to the problem that will allow both traditional culture and a modern world to co-exist.

The traditional aboriginal life style in Australia was very tough. Existence and survival was a daily struggle. This grind for survival was the backbone for most of their culture. This is true for many civillisations. Aboriginal people however also like to have the conveniences and gluttony of the modern world as we all do. Many parts of aboriginal culture is simply not compatible with the modern world.

This is particularly true in my opinion of your description of the tribal ownership tradition. It tends to drag the community down to the lowest common denominator (a bit like classic communism). Some communities with strong leaders/elders have the opposite affect and can actually pull the community up. Alcohol and other drugs simply magnify the negative affect.

The desire to accumulate assets and wealth (successful or not) is a big part of much of our lifestyles and influences our laws and our standards. This is not the traditional Aboriginal way.

I am not aboriginal nor claim to be any sort of expert or authority.

Spade
FollowupID: 386669

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:13

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:13
I think the communitys put the ban on themselves.

As I said further up there are many rules in life we may not like them but we make adjustments to help others.

AnswerID: 132370

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:28

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:28
Thats what I thought, it was also one of a range of actions designed to address numerous issues, one unfortunately, that affects travellers. Its signposted and advertised, so should be able to be complied with, exept maybe Crazie's A to C thru B story above, whereby I think one would have reasonable case for arguement.

FollowupID: 386645

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:01

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:01
It no only afects the travellers as you know in Qld they are big drinkers.
As I have said else were in one season I have seen the changes the kids look healthier the community in all looks healthier.
Which in my opinion cant be a bad thing.

all the best
FollowupID: 386650

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:58

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:58
Hiya Jimbo

geez you can get a response can't you...hahahah....I think some people have taken it all a bit too personal, you did state "Let's leave aside whether grog should, or should not, be allowed to be taken into various parts of Australia. That's a seperate, and complex, issue".

Soo, drinking while at camp - as you know I'm not afraid of indulging in a drink or 3 while on camp, and I think I'm responsible, and those I camp with I would argue are responsible too, we are not offensive, aggressive or cause disturbances to others that may be around . Sharing a drink and a meal at camp with friends is something I really enjoy, and I get mad as hell by people who pass judgement on others after only spending a short amount of time in their company concluding that they may have a problem becasue they enjoy a few drinks.

I guess I feel strongly about that as I have a personal view as I spent a few years of my life with a person who had an alcohol addiction, and I learnt very quickly that the drink was not the cause of the problem but was his attempt to deal with it.

Lyn

AnswerID: 132377

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:07

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:07
Lyn I love a beer or two around the camp and even a scotch and A port and a burbon and coke.
But not past the Jardine and other communitys aroud australia.
When past the Jardine I can drink a carton of mid strenght and 2 bottles of red or wite a day.

But I dont because I would be more over weight than I am now.
And very Pis%%ed. If I did.

Do people relise you can drink over the river but not full strentgh or spirits etc.

FollowupID: 386655

Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:17

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:17
Eric,

I have tried many different sites to try and find out info on what one can take into the different communities.

Lets look at a couple of things.

OK I like a drink on occassion, especially on fishing trips after a good day in the sun.
I go with three vehicles, my patrol, my trailer, and my boat. All registered vehicles.

What are the rules.

Most sites say one carton and one flagon. No where does it say whether its per day, per vehicle, per day, what is the actual rules.
If it's per vehicle then I can take three cartons and three flagons. If its per person then the total goes down to two of each. If it's per person and per vehicle I won't have time to fish.

It's hard to be legal, I also would like to take a fishery inspector with me to work out the fish species I can catch, (that is today, not tomorrow, it changes every other day up here in the North)

FollowupID: 386670

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:27

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:27
Depends on what community you go into.
Some you cant even take any grog into

Alcohol restrictions in Qld indigenous communities
Information on Alcohol Management Plans and links to alcohol restrictions within
Queensland indigenous communities. Information for travellers and tourists ...
www.liquor.qld.gov.au/Community/ Qld+alcohol+restrictions.html - 17k - 27 Sep 2005.

Go to this site and go to the area you are going to.

FollowupID: 386673

Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:54

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:54
Eric,

I went to that site and again I cannot find the rules as they apply to nothing in particular. See paste below.
Again I ask in possession of who for how long. In one vehicle or on one person.
I hope you can see my point.

Mapoon

The Mapoon community is subject to the following alcohol restrictions:

Restricted area - the whole of the Mapoon community area.
Liquor Restrictions

The possession of liquor in the restricted area is limited to:

* nine(9) litres (1 carton of 24 x 375ml cans) of light or mid strength beer; and
* two (2) litres of wine (excluding fortified wine)

Map of Mapoon (PDF 1.94mb)

Last updated 05 July 2005.
FollowupID: 386684

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:58

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:58
Lynn,
If you are taking offence to me saying that somebody has a problem because they enjoy a few drinks, then please don't, because that is NOT what I am saying.
What I am trying to say is that for a person to COMPLAIN loudly and feels so strongly about 2-4 cans per night every night for 2 weeks not being enough for them, whilst in an alcohol restricted area, then IMO they have a problem.
It's not the consumption, it's the complaint about it 'not being enough', that leads me to believe they have a problem.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 386686

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:06

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:06
IT is per vehicale so if you say drink 10 midstrength stubbies and 1 bottle of red wine you can go and buy another 14 mid strenghts and another bottle of wine.
So it dosnt matter on the occupants but the vehicale.

FollowupID: 386690

Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:15

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:15
Thanks for that Eric, I have three vehicles registered so now I know I can have three of everything. Funnny , it doesn't say that anywhere. Typical government web site.
FollowupID: 386692

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:28

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:28
Angler you say you have 3 registered are you a party of three 4wd going.

FollowupID: 386697

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:46

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 07:46
no worries Pezza, no offence taken...

have a great weekend :)

Lyn
FollowupID: 386760

Follow Up By: angler - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:10

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:10
I usually travel with one other pair to some place on the Cape every years or so fishing for around 10 days.

Great fishing and camping experiences but getting much harder these days with all the bloody do gooder rules.

Re the three vehicles, I meant I have three, my patrol, my boat, and my boat trailer, all registered vehicles. The other party has a similar setup and we have been trying to get some info on this totally useless crap for some time now. We are not big drinkers however we do like around four stubs a day per person after a good day on the water.
I know some locals in Mapoon who are totally against these new rules as it is hitting their tourist trade really hard.

At least let the local shop sell some alky to the tourists.

For interest the best fishing I have had so far are at Mapoon, (if you know where to go) and Beatrice Island in the Gulf. (again special spots).

FollowupID: 386764

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:39

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 15:39
I dont realy think mapoon has A thriving tourist trade.
You have to get permits to camp at mapoon and to go to pennyfether.
I also know a lot of people in the cape that are against the laws and plenty that like it.
I think the kids that get a proper feed every day and dont watch there mums get beaten up every night and there dads Pis$ed to the max day after day.
I can sacrifice full strenght beer and my scotch.
But I can still drink a carton of mid strenght and 2 bottles of wine a day if need be.{but I dont}
Its like smoking not many places left to do that either.

FollowupID: 386834

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:10

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:10
There are many communitys In Oz and the world you cant drink or are resticted.

AnswerID: 132379

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:01

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:01
A lot of very interesting responses.

I PUT UP THE ORIGINAL POST. Primarily to see what type of response I would get.

However not too many got it.

I was simply trying to demonstrate the self righteous views of so many. The "I'm a good person, you're the devil" attitude of too many people here. I haven't been disappointed. About what I expected really.

Understand this, the whole thing had nothing to do with alcohol, indigenous communities, laws, or anything like it.

It was all about attitude to your fellow human being and the thought that you may be entitled to judge another.

AnswerID: 132388

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:24

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:24
Judging others is a national pastime.

In fact was ranked second only to drinking as Australians most preferred activity in a recent study.

The study was conducted by a fellow named Jimbo.
FollowupID: 386671

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:30

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:30

PS I dont smoke and havent for about 10 years now
FollowupID: 386674

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:34

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:34
Eric,

Why do you keep repeating this? I don't get it.
Spade
FollowupID: 386675

Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:40

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:40
I'm allright, your allright, thats allright.

But when i'm allright and your not allright, thats not right.

Judge not and ye shall not be judged..
FollowupID: 386677

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:41

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:41
Sorry spade It wasnt ddirected at you.

FollowupID: 386678

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:44

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:44
And you made it very clear what your post was all about Jim but it's a common occurrence, seems to me that at times some don't fully read and comprehend before replying.
FollowupID: 386679

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:51

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:51
Mad dog If I have missed the point can you tell me please.

FollowupID: 386680

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:51

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:51
Mad Dog
The debate simply went its own way as most thought provoking topics do.
FollowupID: 386681

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:37

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:37
Ok, suppose I'd better put my 2 bob,s worth in, seeing as the "comments" people are refering to were my own.
Firstly, Jimbo, mate, if you dissagree with my opinion you could have posted your view directly under mine, I have no problem with people dissagreeing with me, it doesn't mean you are an instant enemy, there was no need to start a new thread on it. I have not agreed with some of your opinions either (especially the political ones, lol) but have, over time, come to agree with a lot more than dissagree, and found that we share a lot of the same views on most things,and have formed the opinion that you are a good decent bloke overall.
Though, saying this, you have misquoted me in your above post,
" If you can't go two weeks without a full strength beer,you have a problem" should read
"if you can't go for a week with 1 ctn or less of full strenghth then in IMO you have a serious problem"
The comments have 2 completely seperate meanings, mine should also be taken in the context of 'Up the creek's' post, I'm not telling anyone how much they can or can't drink, if someone is in an area where there are no restrictions I couldn't care less if they drink the whole ctn in one night,as long as they don't annoy any neighbours in the process.
'Up the creek' wrote a rather lengthy post on how upset they were at being restricted to only one ctn per vehicle, now whether we like the laws up there or not is irrelevant, they are the laws. Now, a ctn holds up to 30 cans, which equates to 2 cans per night for 2 weeks, or 4 cans per night for a week, now IMO if that is not enough for a person for a couple of weeks whilst in a restricted area then I stick with what I said in that they have a problem.
Now keeping in mind these people felt so strongly at being restricted to only 2-4 cans per day that they were even going to the extent of writing a letter of complaint to a government department about it.
Now, most of us have come across area's of our beautiful country, especially in northern QLD and central Australia, where we have encountered piles of dumped rubbish consisting mainly, if not wholley (spelling?), of beer cans. I have never met anyone personaly that does this sort of thing, but the picture I get of this type of grub is one of a person who wants to drink 4 or more cans a night for 2 weeks straight, and complains about anything less, just so he "can have a good time" with no regard to anyone elses problems or issues, especialy those of the aboriginal comunities and alcohol.
Now, as for the quote
"from the top of my head someone was called a drunken yobbo who left mountains of beer cans just because they enjoy a few drinks at the end of the day"
I suggest you re-read my post, because if that is how you interpreted my quote, then you would make a good ACA reporter.
To finish off, most of us enjoy a few drinks at the end of a days travel, no-one, including I has any problem with that. As far as I'm concerned 'Up the creek' and his mates who complain loudly that 2-4 cans isn't enough whislt in a restricted area, don't fall into this catagory.
I hope this has cleared up some misinterpretations of my original post.

Avagoodn
Pezza

AnswerID: 132399

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:53

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:53
Pezza,

You said, and I quote:

"Now, a ctn holds up to 30 cans, which equates to 2 cans per night for 2 weeks, or 4 cans per night for a week, now IMO if that is not enough for a person for a couple of weeks whilst in a restricted area then I stick with what I said in that they have a problem"

You are being judgemental. You are saying terrible things about someone who may not adhere to to your standards of decency.

Who are you to set a limit on what is right or wrong?

Thankyou for confirming what I said in the original post.

FollowupID: 386683

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:57

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:57
Pezza
I actually view sticking to the limited alcohol laws should be no more difficult than sticking to fish bag limits.
A 50 cm Barra tastes just as good as a 60cm Barra. But it's against the law. Am I gunna get caught with it? Probably not. But I still throw it back with tears in my eyes.
FollowupID: 386685

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:59

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 20:59
Its called up to about 75,000 dollras in fines
As per many things its the law.
If you read my replys there are many thing I would like to do.

FollowupID: 386687

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:22

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:22
Eric, I'm trying to understand the situation up there and this not a loaded question. Is there any penalty for people caught drinking or purchasing sly grog, what happens ?
FollowupID: 386693

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:25

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:25
As above visit the web site and read what laws apply to what communitys.

FollowupID: 386695

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:26
Jimbo,
You are still not getting my point, maybe my fault for not explaining myself correctly, I have no problem with the CONSUMPTION AMOUNT,
I am not setting any standards of decency. These guys are in an alcohol restricted area for a few weeks, it is the LOUD COMPLAINING of 2-4 cans not being enough whilst in this area for a short period of time, that leads me to say they have a problem.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 386696

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:29

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:29
Yes but I can't find anything about the penaltys if any that apply to members of the communties (people) caught drinking or purchasing grog.
FollowupID: 386698

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:33

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:33
It applys to everyone.
Not only visitors

FollowupID: 386700

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:14

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:14
Jimbo,

I consider Pezza's statement is an opinion not a judgement. To me a judgement is specifically about someone's character. Most people would have an opinion as to what alcohol consumption might be considered problematic.

just a comment
Spade

AnswerID: 132409

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:50

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:50
The words "you have a problem" is not an opinion.

It is a judgemental comment, and hence a statement which is based on a chosen moral standard. Therefore it constitutes a judgement.

Simple understanding of the English Language really.
FollowupID: 386705

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 16:27

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 16:27
If it's one carton per vehicle then Pezza's statement of 2-4 beers per night is ridiculous considering that most people have at least one passenger when they go away. I'd hate to be travelling with 4 people in the one car cause 1/2 a can to a can a day makes for s##t campfire relaxation.
FollowupID: 386842

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:46

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 21:46
gday jimbo.
hope you can make it this weekend.
looking foward to a few drinks and conversation around the fire.
followed bye a good sleep and great driving.
then followed bye another quiet night with a few more drinks and chat.
geez i love this weather when we can get away and indulge in the things i like.
friends/conversation/4wd/camping/drinks/time with family and so on.
AnswerID: 132415

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:13

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 22:13
Where ya going, I need to test the dirt bikes out.

FollowupID: 386715

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:21

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:21
Jimbo
Paul Kelly once wrote
If drink is a problem, then drink a little bit less

AnswerID: 132429

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:30

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 08:30
Many moons ago when part of what was termed the green machine the "rules" were 2 cans per man per day , if your mate did not want his you bartered for his "ration" ,was easy to get up to 6/10 cans if wanted ,so according to some I and many others have /had a problem ,,,to an alcoholic 1 drink is to many and 100 not enough but NO one has the right morally or legaly to judge how much I or any one over the age of 18 can drink in a 1 wk or 2wk period ,....its friday at 8.30 am and I have just finished a 54 hr work stretch since monday pm ,, time for a beer or 10.
AnswerID: 132454

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:26

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 14:26
Jim,

Read your original post and then all the responses.

Obviously a lot of different opinions out and about.

In your last paragraph "It's all about behaviour. A decent human being has the right to behave decently. No-one can tell them how they conduct themselves in their pursuit of such behaviour" lies what I think is a major part of the dilemma.

The decent human being you refer to is what I think a lot of people all see as a level headed, decent sort of person but when governments set laws and rules they have to factor in the minority element which most reasonable people would class as a ratbag.

Classic tale I remember setting up the ambulance station on an aboriginal mission in Central Queensland about ten years ago. Alcohol and glue and petrol sniffing were killing heaps of local kids. At one stage I attended about ten deaths in one month. Anyway a lot of rules were put in place on the mission and it became a lot harder to get these things and on the surface it appeared to be starting to work. Most people on the mission acted like reasonable people and yet the kids were still getting access to petrol mainly. When the cops finally nailed it down visitors to the mission were siphoning off juice out of their cars and selling to the local kids.

Mate the point I make is that the law at times can be bloody stupid and I think most of us feel that way but at times it has to be made in such a way as to factor in the lowest common denominator. Now on that particular mission you can not go in there and do as you please especially in the way you handle alcohol and petrol, and if you don't comply with that then the law will be wanting to talk to you, and at the very least you will be shown the door.

I think a lot of people have different interpretations of what being a decent human being is all about. You go to a serious assault where a couple of young guys have assaulted another to steal his shoes and when you speak to them and say do you guys think that is Ok to do that a lot of them think it is and that is alarming in that they see their behaviour as OK when most would say that's not on. It's more common than you would think.

It's a difficult one to get your head around and I certainly don't have all of the answers but as far as the cape goes I think the intent of the rules is to try and help local communities and I think all of us have to play our part and comply with that.

Have a good one.

AnswerID: 132512

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 06:43

Saturday, Oct 01, 2005 at 06:43
Nicely said.

FollowupID: 386921