Roller Draws - Who wins?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 18:26
ThreadID: 26991 Views:5454 Replies:15 FollowUps:2
This question is probably going to be the same as Toyota Vs Nissan or Engel Vs Waeco, but I was after some opinions on Black widow Vs Outback roller draws.

Whos got 'em, and how have they found 'em? Aside from Outbacks finger protection gap and Black Widows seemingly better locking system, they seem to be the same literally to the dollar.
Is there more to either one than meets the eye?
I will be putting a set of side by side draws into a 60 series cruiser and they price almost identically so thats not an issue.

Any thoughts and experiences will be appreciated.
Andi.

Reply By: S&N - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 19:14

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 19:14
outback is vehicle specific. thats why we got the blackwiddow, if we sell the triton, we can move them to another vehicle and just replace the side bits!
AnswerID: 133027

Reply By: govo - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 19:40

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 19:40
Half you luck...I wish i could afford it...very expensive to buy...ended up making my own for about $200...a couple a sheets of 16mm ply and marine carpet with good locking latches..happy with the result...personally i'd go for the Black Widow.
AnswerID: 133033

Reply By: snailbait - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:15

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:15
hi andi
make your own you can have your size of ply cut by mr minute ply and very square to join up and screw and glue this is the way i do it so go to it
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 133049

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:16

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:16
Andi,
I've got the Outback roller drawers in my GU yes they are vehicle specific as mentioned. Personally I've had no problems apart from the little black plastic plug continually falling out of the draw lock on the right hand side. Fridge slide is good never had any rattles, dust cleans off easily, what there is.
I've had the water tank full (54 kilos) and the fridge full all sitting on the fridge slide, no problem. The product to me is a quality product (not cheap), I've had no problems if I can afford to buy them if I change my vehicle I would buy them again. No I haven't got more money than sense.
I've never had any Black Widow products so I can't and won't comment on them. My experiences as usual.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 133050

Reply By: OMN - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:37

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:37
I have the Black Widow in my 100 series and i find them very useful to say the least.

Only minor issue i have is the continual small noises from the drawer / cargo barrier combination.

Other than that it does everything i have asked of it and i am very happy with it.

AnswerID: 133056

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:43

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 21:43
I agree with others on make your own.. Save yourself $1000.00
AnswerID: 133059

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 23:25

Tuesday, Oct 04, 2005 at 23:25
Yep, make your own. Not difficult. I was going to buy the Black Widow ones, but would have been over $2,000 for the Hilux. Built my own, just as good I reckon for $600, including roller bearings and very strong steel slides. Apart from the savings, you can design them to fit the stuff you will carry and get great satisfaction to boot.

Leaving aside the brand or bought v built debate. Drawers are great. You can organise your stuff and get at it much easier. Wouldn't be without mine.
AnswerID: 133076

Follow Up By: Beast Of Bodmin - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 08:30

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 08:30
Hi Norm,
I have an 80 series which l load up with 60l waeco, bunnings plastic 3drawer stack, water carriers, tents etc. As soon as something is moved, the other stuff falls in the space. Really annoying when on club trips and trying to get packed up.

I'm interested in the drawers you built up, l also think that $2k plus is too much for a storage setup.

Do you have any plans that can be used, or places to buy drawer slides etc etc.

How have you joined the corners? How well have they stood up to travelling?
l have been looking for a dovetail kit for a router but cannot find one. My other option is to buy a biscuit joiner - cuts a slot into the corner to be joined so that a wafer can be glued into the gap.

Beast Of Bodmin
FollowupID: 387317

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 15:39

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 15:39
Hi Beast,
The basic plan for my drawers came from Geocacher, who posts on this forum. Go to archives and find post 16496. There are links there to plans and info. Also email address for Geocacher (Dave Jones).

I modified the plans a little, but you will get the idea.
These are seriously strong drawers. Mine are 1500 deep.

For an 80 series, your drawers will probably be only about 900 deep. You should be able to use standard steel slides from a kitchen place. You may be able to get them at Bunnings.

Mine are made from 12mm ply. All glued with liquid nails and lots of 'chipboard screws'. They have 40mm x 3mm steel strapping across the front and back (routed into the ply), welded to the RHS rails down the side. This is probably not necessary for the smaller drawers you would need. Don't even think you will need to biscuit join the corners if you cut the ply very square and use plenty on glue and screws.

Mine are as solid today as when they were built.
FollowupID: 387367

Reply By: Andi - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 06:09

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 06:09
Thanks to everyone who has replied so far.
Yes making your own would be cheaper but as my garage is basically non existant and even though I am a sparky and fairly competant with my hands, I had enough agro making a false 2 piece bolt in base for my existing pirhana fridge slide as it was. Ive been flogging every bit of useless gear and household Items I have for about 11 months on ebay and am nearly there in so far as the saving plan goes so that is why cost is not an issue. Trust me I dont have $2200 for a draw and cargo barrier set up just sitting around.

No compelling arguments for either brand except that the Black Widow is non vehicle specific so If I upgrade the old bus I can take em with me - seems they may be the go.

Cheers for your great inputs and keep em coming
Andi
AnswerID: 133089

Reply By: Banjo - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:03

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:03
Have had the Outback system for 4 years and after many corrugated roads work same as when new. I installed them myself and was amazed at how the various components fitted together so precisely.

Despite a self installation (maybe because of) not a squeek or rattle or any other malfunction.

10 out of 10 from me. (Customer only, no affiliation)

Banjo (WA)
AnswerID: 133105

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:12

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:12
Black Widow. Can transfer them from vehicle to vehicle. The carpet is a better quality, easier to clean pile. Much better locks.
When I compared the two side by side at the Brissy show the Black Widow had a slightly better build quality.

Cheers........
AnswerID: 133107

Reply By: vinh n - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:56

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 09:56
for most models, you'll find the outback drawers are larger than black widow. this is also the reason why outback drawers are model specific. black widow makes their drawers to the smallest common dimension so that they will fit all models.

i suggest the deciding criteria ought to be flexibility to move from model to model vs. maximum space utilisation/draw size for each model.
AnswerID: 133116

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 12:33

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 12:33
Hi Andi

Just to throw another choice in the ring, have you looked at Offroad Systems? If you are Sydney based, it could be worth your while. I have them in my 80 series and they are cheaper than Black Widow and Outback, they don't rattle and the people at Offroad are very helpful.

AnswerID: 133127

Reply By: Member - Rick A (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 12:59

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 12:59
The Black Widow is the only one ADR approved to carry firearms and to mount child seat restraints to. Don't know if this would apply to you though.

I have the Black Widow and speak more highly of them. I do however have the same problem as OMN in that the cargo barrier makes noises because of the rubber mounts they used. I have since purchased the divider and shelf combo for the drawer system ( another plus for Black Widow) as well which has tightened it all up quite a bit. Not as many noises now.

Go down to your local ARB store and have a look at the 2 of them side by side and have a play around with them. Both are good systems, but the Black Widow was a definate winner for me.

Rick.
AnswerID: 133130

Reply By: S&N - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 16:37

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 16:37
vinh n says " for most models, you'll find the outback drawers are larger than black widow"
i dont know if he realises that black widow also make a "trade height" set which are considerably taller!
i got these, in one draw i have; an angle grinder, circular saw, acetyline bottle, 25m extension cord, several box's of nuts and bolts, some hand tools, a 9ltr bucket which can stand up, and assorted plumbing fittings.....and its not full !!!!
also, and i could be wrong but i think that the black widow draws can carry about 10kg more, doesnt sound like much but its a few more power tools!!!

what ever you choose, have fun!

i also dont have $$$$ to burn, but i could write it off with the business!!!
AnswerID: 133146

Reply By: JAS095 - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 17:13

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 17:13
Hi Andi there I have a set of outbacker draws in my 80 series which I first bougt when using the 4x4 for work and they halod a lot of stuff and are quite and strong and would not be with out them.

However the only down sides that i have found are as follows (yes i will be repeating some that have been mentioned)

1 the cost
2 the fridge slide has no locking mechanisim when extened out
3 the draws when compartmentised using the dividers may not allow you to reach the back of the draw as does not pull out far enough
4 they are made to a make and modle (though if you are handy i think that this can corrected)

next time if they are not able to be ajusted to suit my next 4x4 i will have a go at making some my self

see JAS095
AnswerID: 133151