4x4 Levy Impost

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:01
ThreadID: 27116 Views:8871 Replies:21 FollowUps:21
After being away from home for the past week, I could not believe my eyes when I collected my mail from my post office box. As I was expecting my new rego papers to come in, I was not disappointed as they were there along with other mail and the usual supply of junk mail.

Looking at my papers to see to what degree the rego on my GQ had gone up by, I saw that this time there was an attachment to the papers. Boldly printed at the top of the page is FOUR WHEEL DRIVE LEVY.

Our Government, in their wisdom, have introduced a bill into the Parliament, to collect, in the form of a levy, a further $50 per year, from the owners of ALL four wheel drive vehicles. This levy will apply to ALL Residents of South Australia and ALL Travellers passing through this State whether on holiday or just in transit. Exemptions do apply to In-Transit 4x4’s but a Statutory Declaration has to be made by the driver or owner of the vehicle to state just that. Four Wheel Drives registered with Government Licence Plates are also to be exempted.

The levy will be collected by Service Stations or Fuel Outlets, if they notice that your vehicle is not displaying a window sticker with the relevant year stamped on it. As an incentive to facilitate this new ‘IMPOST’, the government is offering the collectors of the levy, a 10% discount to collect the fee. In other words when you go to fuel up, the servo will be getting a once off $5 extra from you every year. Imagine how much money they are going to make!.

The letter goes on to explain that due to the incredibly high number (according to them) of four wheel drive vehicles using the State roads on a regular basis and during peak holiday seasons, our outback bitumen roads as well as dirt roads and tracks are suffering enormous damage and the upkeep on them has risen by 200%. An example given is the new Orroroo to Hawker road in the Flinders Ranges where the bitumen is now breaking up despite the fact that Road Construction Company who built the road, having received an Engineering Best Practice Award from their peers for the quality of construction in 2003. The data on four wheel drives had been collected in the 2003/2004 financial year by those Vehicle Counter wires which are placed across the road and by a team of government employees who sit on the side of the roads counting vehicles and making notes. They have stated that the Orroroo-Hawker road had been used by 326,014 four wheel drive vehicles during the time of the survey.

The letter waffles on about other things as usual but at least there is body to which comments or representations can be made. Don’t know if this will help as the government states that it wishes enact the legislation by 1 July 2004.

You may write to The Chairperson, Four Wheel Drive Transport Levy Committee, G.P.O.Box X03, Adelaide, 5000, South Australia or ring Freecall 1800 846 980. But you have to be quick, as no submissions will be entertained after 1 November 2005. I rang the number but got put in to a queue listening to inane music and every short while a voice would say “Your call is important to us………etc”. I gave up after ten minutes. Will try again later.

My rego is already $550 per year. I don’t know if I can afford another $50 on top of it. But then again it is only just under a dollar per week extra. Nothing is mentioned of Semi’s, B-doubles and Road Trains which ply our outback roads, but I do know that there are moves afoot to increase their rego’s considerably as well.

Maybe 4x4 owners are just a soft target, ready for milking.

This is one issue I am going to take action about...starting tomorrow!!!

Reply By: Hun - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:33

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:33
With all the hype in the media these days this doesn't surprise me.Not like your being screwed enough on the Fuel tax.
Get all the 4WD Clubs to complain to their local member.Let them know their Jobs are on the line.
Don't let that scum of the earth win.
So your saying if i were to travel through SA they would charge me that levy?
Be Buggered...SA will be a no go zone for tourists in 4WDs...
No wonder mexicans are moving to QLD by the Thousands.
Sanity still prevails here......For how much longer,Who knows.
AnswerID: 133778

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:34

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:34
Jeez Willie, I got my rego renewal a month or so ago. As usual I just ditched all the other useless paperwork included and kept the formal notice. I've since paid it (about $513- from memory) and didn't know anything about this other 50 bucks. Are you sure you haven't been into the rocket-fuel again?? ;-))

I can't see any servo having much success with the collection of such a levy. To start with, most of the console operators don't even look at what vehicle they are getting paid for and wouldn't have time to go and check for a bloody sticker etc.

I'd love to know the name of the poor pryck who had to sit beside the road and count the 326,000 4bys (as distinct from sedans and semis etc). No rubber strips across the road could disceminate between a motor bike and a haulpak. (so they MUST have had a dude sitting there for 12 months of course; yeh, right!!!).

Also, once again we come the question of "what is a 4 wheel drive?". A RAV4 is gunna do less damage to a gravel road than a fully laden Falcon with a caravan will.

Sounds like a total wind-up to me mate.

Cheers ol' fella

AnswerID: 133780

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:56

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:56
goodday willem and roachie
so this means i no longer go thru sa OR what happens if i tell the console operator where to go
please note i am renowned for my diplomacy NOT

FollowupID: 387950

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:34

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:34
So Willem's on the White Lightening again.
A careful read through Willem's post will find a couple of errors. (All P.O. Box's in Adelaide Post Code is 5001)
It's not April 1st yet but nice try.
Desmond in the TuTu
FollowupID: 387958

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 10:09

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 10:09
he tried this a yr or so back didnt he Des.......i think he thinks we are all deslexic except he?....bloody old goat he is
FollowupID: 388016

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:43

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:43
If this is true, we all need to take action and flood the SA government with emails stating our objection to the tax.

As 4WD owners we already pay more tax (Fuel etc) than most other road users and distribute wealth through the non suburban areas of australia through buying food, fuel, and entertainment etc while on the road.

SA is already too money hungry through their access permits fees by the public to public lands and more levies of even 1 cent is too much.

Roads are public infrastructure that the public has RIGHT to access. How did our society let itself be drawn into a situation where access and camps and enjoyment is only for the rich?

IF ENOUGH PEOPLE SEND EMAILS, THEY MAY JUST RETHINK IT.

Readers from SA should harrass the govt about elections etc and those of us from outside should harrass them about boycotting a state that charges us an entry fee.

I'll be sending my email to this site

http://www.premier.sa.gov.au/

Sorry, but user pays etc for public and natural areas gets to me.

AnswerID: 133781

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:48

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 18:48
ha ha ha ha Got some of em eh! I got around this last time by promising not to engage my front hubs
AnswerID: 133783

Reply By: rossco - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:26

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:26
Surely this is a joke!
I'm planning to bring 8 4by's over to South Oz next March .
If this is true then we will look elsewhere to spend our money
AnswerID: 133788

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:31

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:31
A further classic case of double dipping. These mongrels receive bucket loads of Commonwealth funds for roads collected, as we know, through income taxes. I reckon your local Federal SA members should be made aware of the differential system that SA is intending to impose. Secondly they would want to do their $$ numbers to see whether there will be a resultant detrimental economic impact. We all appreciate the funds we part with on a trip and how expensive travel is. Think of the businesses that currently receive our hard earned neddies and what reductions will mean to profitability and employment. Seems very short sighted, ill considered and worst of all...devisive! Given the opportunistic nature of our politicians and the lack of creative thought I can just see this type of revenue raising spreading its magic across the nation!!
AnswerID: 133790

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:50

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:50
Bloody disgusting.
If this spreads to Qld then expect to see me being arrested for burnin me bra in front of Parliament. Seeing as how I'm a bloke I rekkon that might get a 30 second grab on the 6 oclock.
Checked the mirror...make that a page 16 job, forget the camera.
How much further do the mongrel pollies rekkon they can go before there's an electoral backlash ?
FollowupID: 387942

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:57

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 19:57
hehe...good idea eh

WXI 5/96 (16.5) Fol. AUS 5/293 (50)
AnswerID: 133796

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:02

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:02
WXI 6/99 (17.5) Fol. AUS 5/293 (50)
FollowupID: 387943

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:24

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:24
Although I am yet to see this in writing, I am led to believe that this was a Greens idea at the Federal level. It wasn't going to get through, so they have obviously tried to handball it down the line.

If it is going to happen, all the states will obviously fall into line.

$50.00 @ year.

Some of you guys are paying that amount extra in a FORTNIGHT, to fill up your tanks with the current fuel prices.

Hey, look on the bright side... we will be legit 4 x 4 owners, who fill the coffers for the government. Scruby will have to rethink his plan, as the government won't want to know about him.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 133800

Reply By: hoyks - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:35

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:35
Well they imposed a levy on motorcycle riders in Victoria so that they could spend the money to educate other road users not to run into them 8-S
AnswerID: 133802

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:53

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:53
i think willem is having a lend of us lol
AnswerID: 133805

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:53

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:53
Are you suggesting that Willem would take the bleep er out of people on here?

I find that hard to believe, never ever would he even consider that.

FollowupID: 387963

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:54

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:54
Post 11722 1 April 04
didnt get anyone that time but maybe its like a fine wine and gets better with age
AnswerID: 133807

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:04

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:04
I think Willem was cleaning out the hard drive.

Australia won by 156 runs
FollowupID: 387952

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:56

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 20:56
Hah ha Willem
you old stirrer.
AnswerID: 133808

Reply By: rusty1 - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:05

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:05
you mention that it was not mentioned about truck, b-double, road train rego being levied, most car and 4x4 owners would really cringe if you got a rego bill for close to $ 10,000.00 for a prime mover then another $ 1200.00 per year for a trailer. Now the do - gooder greens are pushing for this horrific amount per year to be doubled, so if you only have a car or 4x4 you are getting off light. on the other hand i totally agree with you that all forms of government are ripping off all motorists, i have always said that if all the fuel and road tax and rego levies collected were put where they were supposed to be, back into our roads, we would have the best road system anywhere in the world.
unfortunately you have to grin & pay it, you know the saying " i owe, o owe its off to work i go !!!!"
AnswerID: 133812

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:50

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:50
Jeez some must have short memories. LOL.
It was not that long ago that you posted this very same item, maybe 12 months ago with your last rego renewal.

Cheers mate.

AnswerID: 133829

Reply By: Volante - Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:50

Sunday, Oct 09, 2005 at 21:50
Stop dribbling before you drown
AnswerID: 133830

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:12

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:12
Hey! stop bagging Willem you 4WD rednecks.

I think this is the best idea yet that those Bolshevicks running SA have ever had.

As a matter of fact there should be a 'driveway parking levy' there as well, and a within 30km radius of Adelaide levy also would be a good move.

Whats more that thing they call a 'tunnel' should be good for $20 ea way every time you pass through, however they will be a bit short there as the vehicle counter only got up to 163,007 vehicles per annum. Only half as many of them roadbusting 4wd's as the Hawker-Orroroo freeway. Damn! might have to make it $30.

All I can say is its going to be a long way around SA when travelling West.
AnswerID: 133845

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:14

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:14
You pink Nissan Mafia members can get in early and file for bankruptcy tomorrow.
FollowupID: 387990

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:15

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:15
Ok! I'll stop now (ROFLMAO)

FollowupID: 387991

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:35

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 00:35
HaHaHa Willem, me thinks you laid up and very bored , and this line has been up here b4, and yes you got some new ones in HaHaHa
FollowupID: 387993

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 09:19

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 09:19
Thats right Lucy, many a great idea is borne out of levies, look at Holland for example, or Echuca. SA already have the Grand Prix, the AFL cup and Willem. What more could they need?

FollowupID: 388011

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 02:11

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 02:11
The AFL cup bonz?
What rock you been living under??!!
FollowupID: 388154

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:37

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:37
hahahaha fisho....the Grand Prix?....what rock have you been living near?

FollowupID: 388160

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:16

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:16
wot are u on about bonz? No SA team won the AFL grand final this year, they didnt even play in it?
FollowupID: 388293

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:25

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:25
Fisho, I shouldnt need to explain this but I guess I should for Lucy's sake. My comments mentioned two things "lost" to South Australia and Willem too, who is in the rest of the world more than he is in SA.

It was a pointed attepmt at sarcasm, which I only recently found useful. My apologies for stirring up your AFL knowledge in a haze of existentialism.

Bonz

FollowupID: 388342

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:11

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:11
oh

my apologies

ha ha
FollowupID: 388465

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:33

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:33
hahaha ya dag, no apology necessary, just send money hahahaa

FollowupID: 388476

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 01:55

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 01:55
I think its the victorian sense of humour, it doesnt translate into english so well for us australians
FollowupID: 388601

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 07:45

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 07:45
Seems strange that they'd do this in SA. Usually the good old NSW government thinks up these hairbrained ideas.

Rob
AnswerID: 133861

Reply By: Cannon - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 10:23

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 10:23
This sort of Post is utterly stupid, conjuring up imaginary taxes.
The SA Government will no doubt be on the receiving end of abusive and possibly damaging correspondence. Then the SA Government will be asking themselves "What The !! . What are these arrogant, ar$ehole 4WDers complaining about now?"
This will really give the government a fantastic opinion of us, won't it?

What an absolute stupid post, a waste of time and Exploroz should get rid of it before some naive person actually hassles the SA Government and lowers our public opinion any further. Heaven forbid this actually made it to ACA or Today Tonight.

AnswerID: 133887

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 11:49

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 11:49
Willem,

You are nothing but a bloody old TROLL.

Shame on you.

AnswerID: 133898

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:32

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:32
Hey Willem,

Fishing pretty good in Peterborough this time of year?

AnswerID: 133938

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:52

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:52
not too bad i'd say...but to some of us he used stale bait!
FollowupID: 388199

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:23

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:23
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!

Some of you are smart
Some of you are wise
Some of you really need to lighten up

Have a nice life

AnswerID: 133994

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 03:27

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 03:27
Evil, Wicked and Nasty..........but PRICELESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 388155

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:00

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 10:00
well there's obviously nothing wrong with the cv joints in your elbows & wrists, still capable of casting one out there - even if the bait was a little stale :-)

Hope its going well, and you can get out and about soon, cheers.
FollowupID: 388490