HF radio versus Sat Phone

Submitted: Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 13:49
ThreadID: 27148 Views:3363 Replies:21 FollowUps:16
Good Afternoon

I wanted to ask if there are any updated views on one as against the other since the comprehensive postings of 2002.

Jenny

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:05

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:05
G'day

I went the HF way because of running costs. I have used my HF for the last 3 months and have found it quite good. I am experienced with 2 way radio so the occasional comms difficulty did not concern me. VKS737, RADTEL and the RFDS networks all performed fine.

Sat is cheaper to purchase and set-up. Sat running costs are high and fixed for the term of a contract. Sat comms reliability is fine unless it rains or is foggy or the air has heavy moisture content. Under these conditions it may or may not work (Sat).

I use a Codan NGT with an auto tune. Mounting the auto tune antenna can be a bit of a pain. HF's such as the NGT are easy to use if configured properly by the installer.

AnswerID: 133931

Reply By: Member - Landie - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:23

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:23
I've just been out in the Cnr country and used both.

If cost is not an issue have both, especially if travelling in remote areas, as neither is a replacement for the other.

AnswerID: 133933

Reply By: Member - Drew T (VIC) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:31

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:31
I thought long & hard about which way to go.
- HF is expensive to set up but cheaper to run (but i really don't want to be on the air while i'm away as i only want 'emergency' communications)
- HF does however give you the ability to get status updates (eg: track conditions) via the HF user community
- SATCOM is cheaper to setup & more expensive call costs
- SATCOM arguably has a greater probability of establishing a long distance call ... vagaries of ionospheric comms for HF vs line-of-sight & rain for SATCOM (now that should raise some debate!!)
- SATCOM is much easier to use than HF for the infrequent user
- SATCOM can also be readily used for other types of recreational/business activities eg: when using your other car, hiking, canoeing, overseas travel etc etc etc

I figure that since i only want the SATCOM for emergency use, i'm prepared to accept what i see as the only disadvantage .. higher call costs
AnswerID: 133937

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:43

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:43
I take both on each trip.........

My views are:
Because my missus calls me at certain times a sat phone is easy and of course it doubles as an emergency item.....
The HF radio is also emergency but more so better for retrieving information on road conditions and weather etc....
So you can get by with either,, but i once saw a rolled vehicle which had snapped off and badly damaged the HF antenna and was unusable,,, it goes without saying he needed a sat phone as well...

Since that day i have always taken both...
A spare for most spares is important... (Hence two tires)....
AnswerID: 133939

Reply By: davelivo - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:55

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 14:55
Indeed the choice between the two is a tough one - and ideally - (putting cost aside) - having both is the best option. (one as a backup)

However - not being a millionaire myself - I decided to go the SAT option - simply because I only wanted really remote emergency contact for a period of 1 year while I was travelling the remote deserts of OZ on my working holiday. The overall costs were far below that of purchasing a reliable HF and trying in vain to teach my girlfriend how to use one (which she would need to do should I not be around to call in an emergency). I was not interested in the HF culture, receiving up-to-date track information - instead I preferred to enjoy the silence of the bush, and asking the locals (where possible) about current conditions. I also enjoyed chatting to family friends from home without radio static.

In my case - I had a SAT account and was able to make personal calls, however - the ongoing cost of using SAT for emergency purposes only is free - as you do not need an account (SIM card) to call emergency numbers (112). So if this is the only reason for your purchase, SAT is the go.

Everyone will have their own opinion - this is mine - go with what your desires & needs require.

- Dave
AnswerID: 133943

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 16:11

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 16:11
Just a little story, I've been involved with HF over the last 40 years so I have a vested interest. But a company that has an offshore office called me recently and asked if I could set up a HF link for them. They are getting rid of their sat phones. Too unreliable and expensive they said. Naturally I didn't ask them any more questions.
There is another point in favour of Hf that is rarely mentioned, and that is their entertainment value. Not just listening to others on the track but the shortwave stations. I was stuck for 3 days and nights near Kintore, remote country when it rains. The ABC proved to be invaluable in sending me to sleep ..cricket scores, footie results etc and a bit of news in between. :))))
AnswerID: 133958

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 16:48

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 16:48
Whilst I have both I prefer the HF for general info and awareness of what is going on around me. Sat phone is good for staying in touch with SWMBO but otherwise it stays packed away while the HF is used extensively. If I ever needed recovery from a situation I'd rather rely on the HF & VKS737's resources to get me out rather than use Sat phone to beg for assistance. In any event having both is a great comfort and I have yet to really require either to date........fingers crossed!!
AnswerID: 133963

Reply By: jdpatrol - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 17:32

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 17:32
I have not looked at the postings of 2002, but I found Roachie / Footloose comments in post 21775 (April 05) to be persuasive – i.e. where’s the help coming from with a sat phone? With a HF there are a network of vks members etc who will help you because they want you to help them when they need it.
AnswerID: 133971

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:58

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:58
Glad to have been of assistance mate.......lol

FollowupID: 388107

Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 17:53

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 17:53
G'day all. Let me weigh into this debate a little on Sat-Phones. I purchased my Iridium Sat-Phone (Telstra) in 2002 and use it for emergency situations only.

It is now out of contract, so I organised a GSM $10 p/month contract with Telstra about 2 years ago. and put the sim card in the Sat-Phone.

To do this, contact Telstra and enable international roaming on the sim, and it will work a treat.

The downside is $2 per 30 seconds, in & out, but if it saves my bacon, I don't care, it's there.

Now to start some hot debate. I believe Telstra's Iridium system is the way to go. Been all through the NT, inland QLD, NSW, SA and the phone never missed a beat when I used it (could not believe the clarity from Chamber's Pillar).

I have heard of problems with Vodaphone's Sat-Phone dropping in and out, and apparently it has the capability of working on the GSM band as well. Trouble is, it seems to swap to Sat-Mode with out much warning when other GSM phones are still operating, thus rasising call charges substantially. Nice surprise when the bill comes in :-o

Hope this helps :-)
AnswerID: 133974

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:46

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 18:46
I have both

I have had HF for about 20 years now. My set is an old 25watt Codan 6924 and I am a member of VKS network

Bought a 2nd hand Satphone a couple of years ago. Hooked up to the Telstra Iridium system at $30 per month with $10 worth of free calls. I have used the phone all over the country and overseas and it works well. When out in the bush in remote areas I keep in touch with a friend once a week. So from a safety aspect it works well. I consider the $360 per year connection cost as insurance.

AnswerID: 133987

Reply By: Michael_FNQ - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:21

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 19:21
Used both - HF is great but if I want help after an accident the Sat phone is the only one I would rely on. Always worried that if I have an accident it would destroy the HF aerial. Zero chance of teaching my wife how to use hf. Anyone can use a sat phone, particularly in an emergency.
AnswerID: 133992

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:01

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:01
An emergency HF aerial is relatively easy to create. An HF cheat sheet for an emergency call is also easy to type up.

I once was at an accident site where an ambulance was needed and the guy with the sat phone couldn't get it to work. Ended up drivign up the road to get CDMA reception.

I'd carry both if I could. If not then HF as the first option, a mayday call on the VKS network will get an amazing response as I found out a few weeks ago on Fraser Island.
AnswerID: 134004

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:42
I have used both quit a bit - they both work. The hands free sat phone kit though won hands down for effective easy to understand communication. Hf is vittually useless at night due to the background chatter of indon fisherman (or so I was told). Having said that I would like a HF and already have all the wiring ready for it in my vehicle so if any one knows where I can get a Barrett preferably with multi tap ariel for under a grand................
AnswerID: 134010

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:45

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:45
Davoe- Check out Bushcomm in Herne Hill perth- I got my HF off them not long ago and they have been beyond helpful. A couple of club members have been set up through them for a little less than $1k. I needed to get a replacement for a $150 cable I lost- I met with the manager at his house at 7pm friday night when coming into perth and he was more than hapy to help me out with a $20 replacement.
FollowupID: 388126

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:34

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:34
Thanks - given my recent experience and some of the trips i am planning I reckon I should bight the bullet and outlay some cash
FollowupID: 388140

Reply By: atoyot - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:55

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:55
I've only just started to use a HF on the VKS737 network, and we found it pretty easy to use and entertaining as well. A travelling companion had a Sat phone on a recent trip and he got calls from work and also used it lots to ring his mates back home. When I'm on hols. I don't care if the backups aren't working or if the cat died. If it's urgent, they can leave a message with VKS737. On the emergency thing, I must be a bit paranoid as I had an autotune on the back, a tapped ant. on the front, and a spare strapped to the overhead grab handles.

If Davo is interested, I have a couple of Barrett SB250's that I've been going to sell for a while now, but haven't got around to it. I'm in NSW though, so postage might be a killer.

AnswerID: 134028

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:33

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:33
If you have more info eg price and channels you can email me
d dot evans at mopl dot com dot a u
FollowupID: 388139

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:28

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:28
I feel more secure with a radio, just me and the other end with no infrastructure or dimwits inbetween.
AnswerID: 134037

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:34

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:34
Very intersesting discussion, but frustrating. Those who travel in remote locations regularly want both, for obvious reasons. But the question of choice arises for those who don't go to really remote regions very often and therefore want to know what to spend their money on, as both are expensive. So the REAL question is:
If you're only gonna need it two or theee times a year, and you can't afford both, which to go for?
AnswerID: 134048

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 00:22

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 00:22
Hire a Sat phone.

FollowupID: 388150

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:23

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:23
Borrow a Sat Phone from a mate and buy the HF. Cheers
FollowupID: 388157

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:34

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:34
I'm with John,

Hire a Satphone if only travelling in remote areas infrequently.

HF is expensive to purchase and the iminent roll-out of BPL technology (broadband over power lines) may eventually make HF "unusable" due to interference.

I have found UHF to be adequate for "local" communications and obtaining road condition updates from people travelling in the opposite direction.

I guess it gets down to individual choice and there is no right or wrong solution, just that which works well for the individual.

As far as real emergencies go, there is ONLY one solution:- An EPIRB is a cost effective solution that should give everyone piece of mind.

FollowupID: 388169

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:47

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:47
Mungo...

My starting poijnt is that neither is a replacement for the other. However, in answer to your question.......

Whilst a more expensive option I would go the HF Radio. The reason is that it provides 'broadcast' communication function and if connected to one of the private networks it will also enable you make outgoing telephone calls.

I am a member of VKS737 and also Radtel. Through Radtel I can make telephone calls at the rate of $1.00 per minute. The resources of both these organisations is fantastic and they are easily contacted at anytime.

For very infrequent remote area travellers - hire a satphone, or purchase a second hand one (probably for the cost of a one-month rental).

FollowupID: 388173

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:42

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:42
Can't see the point of HF unless you spend your life on the CSR. In NSW or VIC, where most of us live, you need no more than UHF and reasonable supplies of water/food/blankets because anywhere in those two states, someone will be around soon or there's a repeater/station/other UHF user nearby. I hired a satphone for a trip to Innamincka once but not because I thought I'd need it, only to reassurew my European visitors coming along.
Now if you do go very remote every now and then, surely a satphone is the way to go because it's also useful elsewhere. Hire, buy, whatever. I've yet to see a good argument for HF as a necessity rather than luxury, and as for both: OK if you have money to burn and live in the Kimberleys, but otherwise, give us a break!
EPIRB? Always, simple as that.
FollowupID: 388327

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:48

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:48
I appreciate your comments and can understand what you are saying. As for the eperb....don't agree and have no confidence in their use in an emergency. I "burn't" my money not for me but more so in regard to my 9 y/o son. We have just completed the Anne Beadell and together (single vehicle trip) and our needs are probably a bit different in that regard. I am anxious about things like snake bite etc and want the capacity to communicate immediately with the experts and so on. This is his third significant desert trip which all started from the age of 6. Perhaps our needs are just very different. I am also a Victorian but try to get out as much as possible!!
FollowupID: 388356

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 11:12

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 11:12
Hi Mungo

I thought my comments covered the question that was originally asked. Neither is a replacement for the other. However, some people will need to decide which one due to the cost of having both, so best to understand both of them.

Although, it is interesting to note that many forumites do actually carry both.

I carry both because I have a 5 year old son (and beautiful wife!) that has accompanied us on remote area trips since he was borne. Having both (communication devices that is) is expensive, but the young bloke is priceless! I want to have the best chance of contacting someone if I really need to. Murphy's laws says that one or the other will fail just when you need it most!

People have perished in far less remote areas then the CSR.

Epribs also have a role to play, but worth keeping in mind they are not a communication device, all they will do is pinpoint your location for the authorities, nothing else. By the time help arrives it may be too late.....

Expensive for both, maybe; but isn;t car insurance expensive and a waste of money if you don't plan on having an accident?

Best regards to you.
FollowupID: 388377

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 16:09

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 16:09
Landie...you have so much summed up my thoughts and reasons. My last trip across the Anne Beadell with 9 yo son and no one else meant that the Sat phone and HF had real roles to fulfill. The HF was terrific and used the most to log in daily and to get info reports etc. Carrying this equipment forms part of my risk planning and frankly I would not put a price on it particularly when the crisis is encountered and all turns to goooo. A Epirb would only rate as my third level of recovery should the first two fail. The UHF, whilst on scan, didn't even make a sound for six continuous days out on the AB........just perhaps there's very few travellers out there and there are no repeaters??? UHF is good though for convoys and checking traffic etc etc but it takes two to make it work!!
FollowupID: 388425

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:58

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 20:58
Landie,

I'm not arguing with you, I agree with you: if you can afford both and spend enough time in remoter parts (especially with kids), get both by all means. But not that many of us can justify it on financial grounds, or the time spent in remote parts. At least a satphone can be used as an ordinary mobile in town, and be used away from the car.

FollowupID: 388453

Reply By: jonsal - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:02

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:02
Hey Landie, met you and mate with kids at Noccundra and saw you on the Cooper. Recognised your rig. Got back Saturday. Boo Hoo. Might see you on the track again sometime.
AnswerID: 134115

Reply By: jonsal - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:06

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:06
hey Landie, met you and your mate with your boys at Noccundra and on the Cooper. Got back Saturday. Boo Hoo. Might meet you on the track again sometime.
AnswerID: 134117

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:14

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:14
Howdy.....

Yep, post holiday blues for me at moment. Planning the next trip already.

We had a great few days on the Cooper down at SKi beach. Up and down in the canoe.........we got back Saturday.

All the best.
FollowupID: 388207

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:14

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:14
Jenny,
I purchased an iridium sat phone about 6 months ago. I thought long and hard between the two. Both seemed excellent with each having advantages over the other.
As we have two young children I finally decided on the phone for its portability.
Dean
AnswerID: 134119

Reply By: Austravel - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 14:08

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 14:08
Wasn't sure which way to go either but ended up with a HF. Will probably sell it and go for a Sat phone for many of the reasons above. One thing I've always wondered are the members on the HF network really that obliging?? Are there many instances of breakdowns where members rush in to help out or does the network really only help with organising recovery or parts etc. In which case you or RACQ or NRMA etc could do the same thing with one call from your sat phone. Not knocking either just very curious if the believed source of security from the HF network is indeed a reality.
AnswerID: 134123

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 19:42

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 19:42
That's a good question....

Personally I feel that the VKS737 network is in tune to the needs of outback/remote area travellers as that is generally what it's members are doing.

For instance, in an emergency they can take the pressure off the individual by making the necessary calls etc.

Secondly, and this will sound like a cliche, but help might just be around the corner. The HF will allow you to make a broadcast call, and help may be close at hand. A Satphone will not enable you to do that.

But neither is a replacement for the other, both have advantages over the other.

FollowupID: 388264

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 09:07

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 09:07
Thanks Landie, good to know.
FollowupID: 388359

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:08

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 22:08
G'day Jen, my wife and I have a sat phone, didn't want a HF. We get a good deal through Globalstar....on the last trip the satellites were down, for a period of two months.. we were rembursed the monthly rent and all calls for the month of August and September 2004. Calls work out at a cent a second, phone is GSM and Satellite and easy to pick up both signals.
andy
AnswerID: 134210