Member - Alan H (QLD)
If "Willem" has told lies and published them in a
forum such as this, the moderator of the
forum should ban him from the site or the site will lose its appeal.
I can be taken as a sucker any day but for him to contaminate such a fine site as this is TOTALLY INEXCUSABLE.
Everyone who was sucked in and voiced an opinion in public (me included) has helped prove that there are some totally irresponsible 4WD drivers out there who would feed misimformation into the public realm.
Willem should hang his head in shame and I urge others who feel similar to me to voice your opinion to let readers know that such acts are not acceptable here or anywhere or am I the only one who feels this way.
Maybe I can live without this site after all. I certainly can live without Willem's contribution.
Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:00
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:00
For those not current with willem's antics see post 27116
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:08
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:08
G'day Alan,
It's a shame you don't actually "know" Willem. He is a stirrer of the highest order and he recently had a new uni-joint fitted to his lower
suspension strut. (aka: knee replacement).
If the moderator removed every post that could be construed as containing non-factual information (ie: a lie), I would venture to say that there wouldn't be too many posts left of here. An example would be those silly posts where some mis-guided people say that Toyotas are better than Nissans.......we all know that is a lie (but the posts don't get deleted.
I was one of the dudes who posted a reply to Willie's silly post...... I call it "having a laugh"....hahahaha
Mate, don't take life, Willie, me or yourself quite sooooo seriously; you'll live a lot longer and find that you tend to enjoy life a lot more. (be aware, what I just said could end up being a lie or misinformation....I take no responsibility if it doesn't work for you my friend).
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:13
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:13
Well said Roachie. I was lucky and came in on the post after a few people had cottoned on to Willem, so I was not suckered in to responding but I was ROFL at Willem's audacity.
Happier for the laugh. Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:19
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:19
A quick check on the SA traffic authorities site told you it was all crap if you bothered to look.
LOL!!!
Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:23
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:23
Must be a sort of humour you get Being South-African.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:00
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:00
I think Alan's point is, that not everyone does know Willem the scallywag, and can be sucked in. But banning is a tad overhanded, maybe a cuddly rebuke or a chide. Thing with any internet
forum is, that from time to time, some people post misleading information, like the myriad of posts saying Toyota's are good trucks.
We all need to look for ourselves and this
forum is one great source of info, fun and merriment, populated by some of THE best people I have ever met, me included.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:37
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:37
Hi Alan
Thats why it,s always good to have most of the facts before you comment
Check the SA Road Transport Site
They KNOW more than Willem "LOL"
Regards Richard
PS some common sense will also help, which Gov. would charge you to travel through there State?????
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:01
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:01
I wouldnt put it past any State Govt to charge.
Reply By: marklynn - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:52
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 20:52
Alan H,
I'm only a fringe dweller on this site, & only a casual contributer, but I find a bit of humour refreshing, & Willems post was certainly humourous. No sensible intelligent person would have taken it seriously. If you are offended by that bit of fun then the Friday Funny's must really upset your delicate sensabilities. Best you take your offended airs & graces somewhere else.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:06
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:06
Don't be chasing anyone away Mark, I like to think I am sensible and intelligent, even perceptive and sensitive and I was sucked in, till I read further.
Believeability is a gift.
Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:18
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:18
i think your angry with yourself because you didnt get the joke, bloody queenslander. ha
Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:44
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:44
ah willem shame shame shame
you got me you old bugger
rotflmao
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:25
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:25
Hey guys... Maybe it was a silly thing to fire up the forumites and yes i was caught enough to call the phone number he posted,,,, but as a non anal retentive sucker,,, i have forgiven him already....
We are all allowed a silly moment once every now and then....
I think it was quite funny to see who are uptight personalities and who are not...
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:32
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:32
you're a good man but I already knew that.
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:42
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:42
:o)
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:41
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 22:41
Alan it was just a 'darned mean trick' to stop me calling on him this week. I can see you don't have a funny bone mate.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:09
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:09
Alan, are you more upset with Willem or with yourself for falling "victim" to his post? Does life always have to be so serious???
It would be a sad day indeed if one was banned from this site for such a
well written practical joke, even if he did do it 12 months earlier. While all may not agree with Willems sense of humor or even his
views, how could you not stand back and laugh at how many fish Willem managed to hook? I don't think you will get much support on this
forum if you are trying to get Willem blacklisted.
Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:15
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:15
You're just a dumb sucker and fell for it. Why blame this site?
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:51
Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:51
and you lot have been taken by this blokes comeback
HOOK LINE AND SINKER!!!!! EVEN BETTER THAN WILLEMS ORIGINAL!!!!! LISTEN TO THAT FISHIN REEL SPIN!
I havent even made it past this line as my eyes are p$$in out tears!!!!
"I can be taken as a sucker any day but for him to contaminate such a fine site as this is TOTALLY INEXCUSABLE."
Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:04
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:04
Well done T,
I was thinking exactly the same, ti's gotta be a joke! can't be botherd reading any further to find out though!
Well done Allan..............Browny
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 01:09
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 01:09
Oh this one-upmanship is killing me!
The brinkmanship in trying to outdo each other.
Hilarious!
I love this site so much.
Reply By: theshadows - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 06:47
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 06:47
very dry humor Alan
I must admit Willem' post had me laughing all over te floor, then I released that some silly polly might read the post and think it was a good idea.
shadow
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:32
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:32
Thanks Alan for pointing it out.
I have been away a few days and missed the post.
Good yarn by Willem in the tradition of Bunyips and things, and other nasty stories we tell each other that are almost acceptably true. I assume you did tell your kids fairy stories, and about Santa Claus and such like creatures?
Another one to join the urban myths.
Have a Merry Christmas, 10 weeks to go.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:03
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:03
Lighten up Alan,
It wasn't exactly a criminal act, just a bit of Aussie humour with a South African slant.
It had me going for about 3 minutes though abusing the Rann Government until I realised he was "taking the p!ss" and I had not been pre-notified by the media.
I must admit, in previous posts Willem has shot someone else down for performing similar entertainment. He must be mellowing during his "confinement".
G'day Willem!
Reply By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:14
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:14
"dont ya just hate it when".......
hey hey g'day
i'm sorta with ya alan, but a ban is just a bit heavy handed... a very unnecessary and deceptive post indeedy that should've been removed just on the basis of being deceptive and incitivie... but as mentioned above that is obviously the unfunny humour of the south african genre which has been demonstrated time and time agian over the centuries.... as for the post i didn't read it up until now and apart from being in n.s.w. and letting lil' johnny howhard pay for my rego yearly and not giving a rats @$$ about the levy anyways i'm sure it had a few of the local south aussies steaming.... as for humourous posts i posted one yesterday about "dont ya just hate it when".... about absolutely nothin' and it sucked quite a few in to viewing it when on a previous post a comment was "why i do i look at posts about nothin" and it was deleted quite promptly as
well as the original "dont ya just hate it when".... dont get me wrong here as it didn't worry me in the least and expected such action so no skin off my nose as i'm sure a few of ya's out there and i do know for sure at least one responded with a "doh" got me..... it just comes across to me, and others i'm sure, that theres those out there that can do this sort of thing and those that can't...... in the real world this would be, or could be, miscontsrued as a double standard....... not to mention as also stated the author of that particular post could also be guilty of hypocrisy
bl00dy hell i'm glad i got that off my chest...
regards robs
all in good fun
without prejudice
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:49
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 11:49
I got sucked in. Hook line and sinker. Am I mad at anyone ? At me ? It sounded about right in the current climate. I'm so mad with pollies that it didn't take much to set me off. Now thats just my fault, not Willems. Am I mad with Willem ? Nope. Maybe I can't understand his humour but that's just me. I do know that he's a heck of a nice guy.
Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:50
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:50
get out of here alan...if we lose willem i'm going too!
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:16
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 15:16
If everyones going to start spitting the dummy- arguing people getting banned other people leaving too then please use the Overlander
Forum that sort of stuff is common there
Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:03
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:03
hey hey g'day
i was gonna suggest the "outer limits"
forum as this sort of attitude is quite acceptable there from what i've seen of my very few visits............ heres ya hat and coat whats ya hurry...........
regards robs
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:06
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:06
I reckon the reason you dont get all the fighting on this
forum is the recently replied to thread does not stay at the top which leads to reply after reply which just degrades. Tomorrow this thread will be down the page or on the next page --- and forgotton about, Issue over
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:25
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:25
I aint spitting the/my dummy...i like it too much
I'm having trouble trying to pick which side of the fence you and Spondo are on alan's or willems?
Follow Up By: spondo - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:47
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 16:47
hey hey g'day
sorry nudie didn't even notice a fence...... all i can see is the stupidty exhibited by all parties involved but what stands out most of all is the anomosity that has bred uncontrollably since the thread has developed, but most of all nudie be a man and make your own decisions dont be a follower, be your own man.... i frequent this
forum for its info, ideas and suggestions from bona fide people, if i wanna listen to or read redneck crap b!tch!n' then i'd go to the other
forum that i mentioned before, all i can say is dont lower the high standard of this
forum to their lower level.....
regards robs
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:07
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:07
I know your not spitting the dummy - I just thought it was a good oportunity to have a dig at a certain other
forum where comments like yours are commen except they really are spitting the dummy and mean it. As for fence frankly I thought the whole thing is something about nothing both the joke and the response.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:45
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:45
some do get carried away...also thin skinned
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 18:38
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 18:38
Like some posters have said before on this
forum. "If you don't like it, don't read it" hahahahahahahaha.......................
I am not defending my antics whichever way they may go. I can be for or against and there is no continuity to my posts but like the Media in general, I can write what I like as long as I stay away from filth and defamatory comments. Some of my posts have been removed by the moderators but mainly because everyone else, replying to what I had put, went off the rails and degraded themselves with immature comments.
As mentioned by some, I was born in South Africa but have lived in
Australia longer than my time in the Republic. Why this has to come to the fore I do not know. All Australian families orginate from somewhere else in the world.
To read more LIES (also posted on this
forum ) go to my website below, click on 4x4 and then on 'A Pigs Tale' and 'Datsun Cogs'. If you don't get a laugh out of that then it is too bad.
Have a nice life
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:57
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:57
I remember some bloke posting threads once about people posting crap... cant remember who that was though :P
Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:12
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:12
Willem
Yes you sucked me right in!
I am all for jokes etc say about LC rescueing Patrols etc but I still disagree with with your topic. I believe there is a line between misinformation and jokes.
Anyway make sure you have a nice life too.
PS The stats on this post must be close to record??????
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 19:14
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 19:14
For god's sake Alan, chill out and enjoy the laugh, here we had a tongue in cheek post that suckered heaps of people in. I know that I was one untill the second read when I started to have my doubts. In a way I'm disapointed, as a New South Welshman I was looking forward to news clips of rioting in the streets of the City Of Churches.
I've not had as many laughs in a long time. Look where the original post has taken us and the hilarious replies that have come in, (and thats befor we got to Kenya).
This is the sort of set up that makes this
forum so bloody addictive.
Still laughing,
Ian W
Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 09:52
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 09:52
G,day,
This thread has to be the best laugh i have had in a long while.
Bros.