Innamincka Pub

Submitted: Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:25
ThreadID: 27163 Views:4040 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
We just got back from Innamincka. The food at the pub was outstanding!! (Helped on its way by some Coopers.) Not only were the steaks terriffic, but everything else we (2 adults & 2 short people) had was just great.

Anybody want to recommend places where they reckon the food is better?

Reply By: GREENDOG - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:47

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:47
TDB we were in Innamicka back in Augast we spent 3 days sitting on the cooper's out ar cullymurra water hole each day we went in to the pub for lunch,mate did you have one of them burgers and chips fantastic. well be back there next year for sure,cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 134026

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:58

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 21:58
TDB.
Unfortunately have not been to Innaminka (yet), buy have to say that the food at the Maree pub is as good as you can get anywhere. Of course it was helped along with a cold ale or two. The "Boss" still can't get over how a place so far from the coast could have such fresh and delicious whiting, and the roo is pretty special as well.
regards Rob M
Rob M

AnswerID: 134029

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:08

Monday, Oct 10, 2005 at 23:08
Agree on the Maree food. Wasn't THAT impressed at Innamincka, but then I went for the weekend barbie and barbie's are much the same everywhere. So is outback food really, and much depends on how hungry you are when you get there! I have good memories of the Tilpa Hotel, the Hungerford Pub, and Cameron's Corner, but maybe I was just starving then?
For REAL food, come to Sydney :-)
FollowupID: 388147

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:24

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:24
"for real food come to Sydney"

What? You mean Neil bloody Perry with his "this is a really simple dish" Sea Bass, a list of herbs and spices as long as yer arm, with a tower of mixed salad, beetroot and ice cream to top it off. Yeah right.
FollowupID: 388168

Follow Up By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:18

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:18
Got it in one, Steve. You must be from Melbourne :-)))
FollowupID: 388320

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:19

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:19
Gee... I'd have to be bloody hungry to go to Sydney just for a feed. Enough good food up here in QLD thanks... There might be some good food, but the problem is...its in Sydney..
FollowupID: 388321

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:19

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 08:19
Mungo: nope. Just outside Sydney. If you want pretentious food, it's the place to be.
FollowupID: 388352

Reply By: J.T. - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 00:10

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 00:10
Karridale Tavern south of Margaret River does pretty well.Good old pub food at a good price and a good serve.
AnswerID: 134052

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:09

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 07:09
My son and I had an overnight stay in Norseman a few weeks ago and asked the caravan park owners for the name of a good place to eat. They suggested the "Miner's Hut". A good honest feed was had which included the roast of the day with a wide array of vegies, smashed potatoes with leek, and even wedges to keep the kids keen. Heaps of variety with dessert including pastries, ice cream for the kids, tea and coffee and prepared fruit. All you could eat without the trough eating types present.

How much you ask??

$11.00 for an adult and $5.00 for the son. Total for two was $16.00 and we left most satisfied with the high quality and the price.

On the return trip we had dinner there again and the steaks were supurb.

This place is part of the mine at Norseman and the facility is there for the employees however the public is made very welcome. The cook is a really big bloke, jolly type and is keen to make you welcome.
AnswerID: 134067

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:22

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:22
West Darling Hotel, Broken Hill

Publicans Grill - excellent

Unbeatable

AnswerID: 134077

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:18

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:18
mums home made soup at home
AnswerID: 134085

Follow Up By: TDBTriton - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:37

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 21:37
We're on the way! What's the address??
FollowupID: 388286

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 21:53

Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 21:53
Enjoyed a few meals at the pub last July while we were camped on the common.
The pub people were the best feature then the meals. Learned to like Cooper Pale Ale from the tap.

I will definitely be back there for a stopover on the way thru to Birdsville next year.

AnswerID: 134542

Reply By: cyclosporin - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 19:56

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 19:56
Hi fellow travellers.........the Stockyard pub in rawson........amazing food
unbelievably friendly.......great prices........
How is the food in Milparinka and where to stay in Broken Hill ? thamks.
AnswerID: 134652