Ben Halcomb
Hi Guys,
I am currently on a trip and am out in
Menindee NSW, leaving to come home tomorrow to
Sydney.
I am getting very poor fuel economy about 14.5/15 litres p/100kms(the whole way out here), I have just had the car serviced (before I left), cleaned the air filter box and fliter last night at the local servo. I used the cruise control the whole way out here and sat on 100k's, can any one give me some ideas and what else I may look to do to fix it?
Th car has been running heavy for abou the last 20,000 k's before that I would normally get around 11 litres p/100k's on a trip. Nissan has looked at it and told me that nothing is wrong, your input would be appreiated.
Thanks Ben.
Reply By: DEANO WA - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:12
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:12
r u towing????????????????/
Reply By: Ben Halcomb - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:19
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:19
no, just the car and it has not changed since new other than slightly larger tyres about 30,000ks ago, BFG AT 285-75-16, the economy has slowly gotten worse over the last few months. I used to get better fuel ecomomy on a trip than around town but now its the same. I have around 66,000ks on the clock.
Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:23
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:23
roof rack?
Reply By: Chaz - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:33
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:33
Hi Ben,
My economy went from low 11's to mid 12's after fitting 265/75's. (Same car as yours) I'd say it was probably due to the fact that the speedo is now reading correctly.
Cruise control will do it in hilly country also, and so will driving without the converter locked.
Chaz
Reply By: Ben Halcomb - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:38
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 09:38
I do have a Nissan roof rack on, it has been there since new when tha beast was not so heavy on fuel,
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:10
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:10
Have you also lost any power compared to before? Have the air flow sensor checked, its not part of any service and you will have to ask specifically to have it done.
Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:15
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:15
G'day Ben, might be an idea to unscrew the air flow sensor and make sure it's clean. Local Nissan dealer told me this device can cause all sorts of problems, including poor fuel economy.
It's located on the front of the air intake tube that leaves the air cleaner assembly and secxured with 2 "security torx screws" and has an electrical connector attached to it.
There is a bullitin on the Ryco Filter website stating that people using "wet filters" (finer filters and the type) were having troubles because the wet media (filter oil) was gradually sucked through and coated teh sensor causing false readings and upset running. This covered all the GU Patrols. Ryco has introduced a new "dry" media filter with 90% more media in it especially for Patrols, but I don't know if it is better/worse than the original filters.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 12:34
Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 12:34
nissan recommend their wet paper filter. The do have a dry version but said it lets through larger particles than the wet one.
Leroy
Reply By: warthog - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:17
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 10:17
Your larger tyres will make the odometer say you have travelled less distance than you actually have, so that it will appear the same amount of fuel is now not taking you as far. I have a 4.2 patrol with 265/75 and find that although the speedometer is fairly accurate the odometer is about 10% out. It says 100km when 110 have been travelled. If this is common amongst patrols yours will be even worse with larger tyres again. This mob make an adaptor that supposedly fixes this problem, though I have never used one so don't know how good they are.
Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:00
Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 23:00
This seems quite feasible. The new Patrols with the 17 inch
wheels haven't even been recallibreated by Nissan so they are out from day 1. Nissan (apparantly - as told to me by a bloke who got a speeding ticket and tried to get Nissan to pay for it) accept that the odometer is out however it is within an "acceptable" 10%.
A way to test is to measue your economy based on the distance you know you have travelled rather than what the odometer says. Might be worth a try to test warthogs theory. You could follow a friend on a trip and compare readings or simply drive from one PO to another in the next town.
Follow Up By: hl - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 13:49
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 13:49
The 17"
wheels on the new patrol actually have a lower profile tyre.
Hence the actual wheel circumference is the same.
Nice try though.
Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 13:20
Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 13:20
Shall check with old mate more specific details of his conversation with Nissan. Tyre circumference obviously not the issue. Should have checked his facts before spruking here.
I have though found the 2005 Nissan odometer under reading distances compared to the 2002 Patrol just traded.
If I find out more "facts" will post.
Thanks for the correction here.
Reply By: Lyds- Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 14:55
Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 14:55
check your tyre pressure
also, head winds will knock your consumption around a bit too.
Reply By: Ben Halcomb - Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:48
Thursday, Oct 13, 2005 at 08:48
Hi Guys,
Have just arrived back late last night (1000k's in a day), only jusr reading some of the posts now, I will look into the odomoter and the air sensor today, the car has done quite a bit off road and it
well could be dirty, it will just add to the long list of issues that I have had with the car, we have at the moment a love hate relationship, I love it and hate it at the same time.... It has been to have things fixed over the last 20 months 16 times.
Thanks for all the imput, its appreciated.
Ben