Landcruiser 80 series on LPG
Submitted: Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 14:59
Brush
Gooday, Does any one out there have accurate results on converting a Landcruiser 80 series 4500 auto over to gas. We use the Cruiser for towing and I was thinking about a Conversion to Gas. The Cruiser is in excellent condition, 190000 km and handles our 22.6ft Caravan with ease. We average 24.0 lt/100 towing and we are looking for some cheaper towing costs over the next few years.
Thanks Brush.
Reply By: pathfinder - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 17:21
Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 17:21
ring LPGAS1 in Melb - they're one of the few mobs that actually knows what they're talking about. They also reckon they can set up a conversion so it uses only 5% more lpg than petrol c.f. the normal 20% - remarkable if true...
Reply By: tour boy - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 18:20
Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 18:20
Hi I had my 96 GXL converted to dual fuel in April. The conversion cost $2400 which is about $100 more than it normaly would as my vehicle has been chopped to be a dual cab with an alloy tray. As I wanted a 100lt tank placed in the tray (so I could keep both ULP tanks) steel brackets had to be made to mount it thru the tray to the chassis. It is illegal to mount straight to an alloy tray.
The other cost to consider is if you don't want the tank inside the car you would have to buy a rear wheel carrier.
I get 18 -20 litres per hundred around town and on a long run. Heaps of hills though (blue Mountains)
Tour Boy
Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 20:19
Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 20:19
I had my L/C 94 converted to gas seven years ago when it had 70,000 Kls on the clock. Since then all I have done to the engine is change the plugs, change the oil and filters and regular tune ups (18months apart). It has now done 219,000 Kls and two trips around Oz with a 18'6" full size caravan. Power during towing is no different in power whether on gas or petrol but fuel consuption is slightly higher on gas. It was the best $1200.00 that I have spent
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 14:23
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 14:23
Ray, if i were you, i would book your cruiser in to have the tappets checked and adjusted....once
the gap becomes 0 you will have to spend heaps. I hope you have flash lube on the motor as this assists the valve seats on these motors. The problem is, as they close up, the motor becomes quieter. The book schedule to check them with out lpg is 40000km intervals, i would do it at that running lpg as a minimum, while the plugs (and possibly leads) are getting changed.
Other than that, the new gas injected systems out now are really worth the extra $$ to install, as you loose no power, on petrol or gas, and is computer controlled as is the motor, so less chance of backfire)
Reply By: Patroleum - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 21:37
Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 21:37
We have a 94 GXL and have booked it in for an LPG conversion. We too want to retain both ULP tanks and don't want the GAS tank bashing on rocks under the rear so have opted to have fitted in back and sacrifice the third row seats and the space taken by the tank. Have been Quoted $2300.00. Wait of 5-8 Weeks and difficulty in obtaining tanks due to huge demand. The fitter estimates 21L/100k's on gas.
Mine uses 19L/100 on Petrol.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 21:51
Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 21:51
Hi all, my mate has his on lpg and has kept the original tanks. They have positioned where the spare wheel normally goes and yes the tank hits on everything. pain in the bum. I'd check where the tank will be located before you go ahead if you intend to go off road.Thats why most people put the spare to the rear
gate on a carrier to stop this problem Tank will be the same issue unless they mount them somewhere else now, or you go straight gas which can be an issue with supply in out back areas. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - John Thomas B (VIC) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 22:48
Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 22:48
Hi fellas
I spoke to a guy today he had his 80 series on gas said it only gives 1/2 the k's on gas and that he had done two heads on it .He thought that the these cars dont like gas.
Best of luck
Follow Up By: Ted(Vic) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 08:18
Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 08:18
My 80 series uses 20% more gas but the price difference makes for it pretty quickly.
Also I had the valves re-done and according to the mechanic, gas is harder on an engine than petrol.
Ted
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 18:22
Saturday, Oct 15, 2005 at 18:22
Have just returned from trip (Jayco poptop) Gold Coast/ Broome/Karumba/Charters Towers/
Gold Coast running initially on Gas until engine backfired and blew out the air flow meter 170k's from Kununarra.
Tow truck trip in to Kununarra and resultant repairs was not the highlight of trip.
Prior to this disaster , was getting 3.3k's to the litre on gas.
Switched to petrol from Kununarra and averaged about 4.5k's on petrol.
Highest price for LPG was 98.2cps at
Timber Creek and the price of unleaded there was around $1.55cpl .
This made the differential in pricing about 57cents and the saving on gas about 4.5c per kilometer.
If differential was 70c the saving is about 8.5c per km.
Vehicle is a 94 80 series with 203000k's on clock.
Conversion costs now are about the $2500 mark.
The important part of the conversion is the correct setup initally, and from what I can ascertain to have the mixture not too lean.
Pedro
Follow Up By: Brush - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 18:13
Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 18:13
Gooday Pedro, The threads are very interesting so far. Was Auto-Gas available for all your trip North?
I have spoken to an installer on the Sunshine Coast who Dynos the car before and after to get the mixture right. The cost of installation today is $2650 . The cost of Gas certainly does vary around the country,
Thanks Mate
Brush
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 18:54
Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 18:54
Brush, Yes gas was available usually every 200kms.
Sounds like you are going to Torquegas at Caloundra. That is where I had
mine dynotuned.
I was advised that the original installation was not done correctly and next week will be going up again to have this corrected.
Will also be seeking other solutions as per this thread
At a differential of 70c or thereabouts it is certainly much cheaper on gas.
Pedro
Follow Up By: Brush - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:14
Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:14
Pedro , Yes I spoke to Dean, He was more positive with his explanation on the installation. I have talked to Auto-Gas fitters here in Bundy and I doubt if I would have the unit fitted up here. Torquegas do supply the locals here with equipment.
Cheers Brush
Reply By: ROBST - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 20:52
Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 20:52
Just had my 95, 80 series fitted to lpg 3 months ago with 150000k on it.cost $2500 plus fitted a flash lube kit $95 +$60 for 5 lites of lube supposed to help stop valve
seat recession (info and avalability from DON KYAT SPARES) Have not noticed any power loss. Every one recomened the impco system which i had fitted and had the tank replaced the sub tank and spare ,as i allready had a tyer carrier on the back. Just got back from a 7500 klm trip from
sydney to
alice springs towing a camper trailer about 800kg +family and all the crap ect ,about 22L per 100KLM on petrol and 29 /33 L per 100klm on LPG using cruse control at 90 /100 klm per h.Head winds appeard to make alot of difference to consumption.The best distance i could get was about 330klm before switching to petrol ,they say about 95 usable liters from a 115 liter tank.LPG was avalable at 90% of the trip even Kngs canyon but at 81.09 cents it starts to be debatabel! Dsl was $1.49L,ULP$1.46.But say an 80 series DSL towing the same load at say 16 L per 100klm and no ba##s,it would cost about the same at the worst price 80cents for LPG to do 100klm. around town i get about 18/19lts per100klm on ulp and 25lts per 100klm LPG.
Reply By: prado_95 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:00
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 12:00
You can actually get a power improvement over petrol (on duel fuel vehcile using IMPCO system)
BUT
Expect a lower power output from petrol.
I have run LPG for over 270K km - only issues relate to poor maintenance by 'authorised repairer's who skipped a few maintenance points more than a couple of times.
Things to watch;
1. VALVE CLEARANCES -
check / adj every 40K km
2. reduced petrol capacity - range
3. increased consumption on LPG - range
4. LPG availability / cost in remote areas
5. know how to jumper the LPG system if the electrics fail (in remote locations) - its usually easy
You can safely fit a 120L (
water capacity) tank in your car
I've saved the cost of the car, including the cost of conversion & wheel carrier.
Worst LPG consumption (on highway) was towing 3.5T enclosed 18' trailer thru the hills - 3.7Km/L
prado_95@yahoo.com
Reply By: Brush - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 07:09
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 07:09
Top of the day to you all,
Thank You all for the information on LPG installation. It has been very informative.
We will way up all the 'Pros and Cons' and decide in the near future.
Cheers Brush.
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 11:38
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 11:38
LP1 is the go , the only issue you will have is that you will have to do the valves and seats in the near furtute , but apart from that its all up
hill . Go for it