Capt. Wrongway
G'Day all,
Interesting story in today's
Sydney Telegraph .......
" Police officers searching for illegal trail bike riders found themselves a little out of their depth in
Sydney's west yesterday.
The officers from Penrith
police station got into a spot of bother while trying to cross the Nepean River At Emu Heights.
They had been patrolling an area on the banks of the river after complaints of illegal trail bike riders, when they tried a sandbar crossing of the river.
They soon discovered the
water was deeper than thet expected and their vehicle began to float away. The car ( looks like a Nissan Patrol, no
snorkel ) was stopped downstream by submerged rocks and the officers had to swim to safety.
With their radios and mobile phones saturated, they had to walk to a nearby house to call for help.
The patrol car was winched from the
water after three hours, with the help of police and Penrith Volunteer Rescue Squad."
Who amoung us would have loved to have been there, to be able to assist? I know I would have!
( glad no one was injured )
Bazza.
Reply By: flappa - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:22
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 13:22
Fundamental Rule for
water . . .
CHECK THE DEPTH . . .
Didn't want to get their footsies wet . . .
Reply By: Member - Peter H (NSW) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 14:01
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 14:01
I'd love to read their version of events.
We are all taught to 'walk the depth' before attempting any crossing.
Of course I cannot comment, as I wasn't there to see or experience 'first-hand'.
Yes Bazza, I would have loved to have been there (with the camera of course). It would make for good reading in the Police News.
Haldo
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:04
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:04
Oh my i suspect a few red faces
Reply By: slyonnet - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:08
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:08
Not trying to defend them here, but how many of us have never done a error of judgment when 4wdriving and went into trouble thinking it would be fine? They must have had some sort of 4wd training before being put behind the wheel of a fourby and told to go and chase some dirt bikes offroad, so it would be surprising they did not know what to do. No the question is: where they really negligent and ignore that rule or did they not assess the situation properly?
Another question is who is going to cope the bill of the wet fourby and equipment? I would say the taxpayers.
Rgds,
SLY.
Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:29
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:29
Quote: They soon discovered the
water was deeper than thet expected and their vehicle began to float away.
I would say its a little more then an "error of judgement"
Career "limiting" mistake possibly.
Follow Up By: slave - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 16:59
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 16:59
A certain president of a 4wd club made a similar error of judgement and was lucky to get out of his 4wd as the rising
water stopped his electric windows working and then watched as his roofline was the only thing left visible......
.................and yes insurance paid out
Mrs Slave
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:04
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:04
For sure they will spend a bit of time on walk patrols now LOL.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:12
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:12
tarnation, sounds like Roscoe P Coltrane and Enus up to their tricks agin!
hersh flash...
Follow Up By: Tripp'n Around - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 21:37
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 21:37
Hi Bushfix
Off the subjsct here.....(yes cops were stupid but then frankly who has never been, we are all human sometime in our lives).........great photo, may I copy it?
Thanks in advance if you say yes and thanks for replying if you say no!
Cya
Tripp'n
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:34
Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:34
G'day,
yeah no worries I think, taken by a friend of
mine. A spectacular cumulonimbus coloured by late afternoon sunlight, before an awesome storm. we were camped in the Southern Highlands of NSW.
I find these clouds fascinating. They are frighteningly dominant but at the same time I want to take a spoon to them for a taste. err.....
Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:58
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:58
I have a friend of
mine who is in the police force. He tells me things that sometimes get my blood boiling. Without being there and not knowing what procedures these police officers took before crossing the river, I know from what my friend tells me sometimes with many of his stories that sometimes these
young constables dont follow the book as they should.
I cant imagine any officer who would be willing to get their uniform wet just to see how deep a river is. In fact, some(not all) would love the oportunity to enjoy the challenge thinking at the time they will be fine. I hope those officers get punished for their stupidity. I just cant imagine how they thought they would catch these illegal riders in a 4wd anyway. Remember one thing guys, All the damage caused to the equipment is payed for by US..the tax payers.
I know from personal expierence that at Menai, they have police riders in there to patrol the place for illigal bikes (unregistered). I have seen them ride these bikes hard and i can tell you they are damn good riders indeed. Some idiots think they can get away but most times they dont get far.
My point is ...some people just dont care about the damage they cause if something goes wrong, It happens in all fields, company cars are a good example, some of them are abused beyond belief by the employee just because he / she knows if it blows up, they dont have to pay to get it fixed.
I would love to be a fly on the wall when these police officers are questioned about what went wrong.
Ange.
Reply By: madCrow - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:00
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:00
G'day Capt'n
Tis a brave or foolish soul who attempts to cross the
water without "walking on it" or "walking in it".
The boss had a good laugh @ me yesterday as we prepared for a
river crossing (
well actually it was just me testing the
water depth, she preferred to view the proceedings of me waddling across the river/
creek bed sussing out its depths for the right side of the truck(a Patrol) & the left side in my Mambo t-shirt (with a picture of a dog braking musical wind) & my jocks! Naught else, except a stick for testing depth & providing me support.
I looked so cool, not! But cool I was with the
water temp low from the snow melt around the back of Mt Buffalo, Victoria.
Anyway I think it's better to be caught with my pants down, sussing out
water depth, than to be caught with my pants not down, but my truck floating away!
madCrow
......(\,,,/)
......(0_0)
\\\\(-><-)///// The large shy bunny with a hair cut, hides in the grass.
The sound of a truck backfiring make him sit up straight!
Follow Up By: V8troopie - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 18:20
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 18:20
While the "walking through it" rule makes perfect sense in the lower 2/3rd of Australia, I have always wondered how a
water crossing is done up in the tropics, where wading in might be a foolish idea unless one wants to become the next feed for the denizens of the deep.
So, anybody knows of a tried and tested way up there other than walking the crossing inside a portable cage?
Klaus
Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:02
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:02
follow someone else let them check the depth
Kev
Follow Up By: madCrow - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 00:33
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 00:33
Well what kev.h says makes sense & a sort of answer to V8troopie.
In the tropical north where denizens of the
water abound if you're a "know it all", just "ask" someone how & where to cross the
water & then lead the way as the leader of the pack with all those "know it all's" who wouldn't ask directions, but who'll all be following you across the river in a nice straight line.
They're doing so 'cause the figure you're a local & must know the best & safest way.
This story is based on a true story only the names have been changed to protect the innocent.
madCrow
......(\,,,/)
......(0_0)
Follow Up By: madCrow - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 00:40
Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 00:40
P.S. V8Troopie
actually there is another clue in my original tale as a way to cope with crocs etc. in the
water, you simply cross the
water by "walking on it" not "walking in it" singing the song "walk on water" many times over!
madCrow (the pesty beast)
......(\,,,/)
......(0_0)
Reply By: babs - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:34
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:34
Get the rego, that will end up at Fowles auction for sure. Lol
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:58
Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:58
Would love to have been there, dont think I would have assisted though... LMAO