Which camper trailer to purchase?

Submitted: Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:32
ThreadID: 27334 Views:6883 Replies:12 FollowUps:4
Hi, I am new to camping and was wondering if anybody has purchased either a outback or track about camper trailer.
I have been looking at these two particular brands and can`t make my mind up on which one to purchase.
Basically I`m looking for an on road camper with extra suspension[6 leaf suspension with a longer draw bar]
for corrugated roads at National Parks.
Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Jocelyn Kelly

Reply By: Robbo3 - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:53

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 15:53
Jocelyn

I ilved in Qld for a while and both these mobs have good quality stuff. There are plenty but I will restrict my views to SE Qld.

Also worth considering are Tough Country are good but personally I don't like powder coating as stones will remove it and it is more difficult to touch up than paint. Although on road won't present same issues.

Camper Factory are in the same league as Outback and I've heard Lifestyle are OK (no personal experience though with Lifestyle)

6 leaf for on road should be fine as you would be able to carry around 750kg all up. Longer drawbars will also help with ease of reversing.

Rob

AnswerID: 134937

Follow Up By: jocelyn Kelly - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:55

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:55
thanks Rob for your advice, very much appreciated.
Jocelyn
FollowupID: 389038

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:35

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:35
jocelyn,

I recently purchased a trackabout safari which is the offroad model.

Very happy with it. Very rugged.

Very good to deal with prior to sale and their after sales help has also been good. I had to deal on a site unseen basis, and they helped through this well.

Not sure how good their on-road trailers are but I imagine their standards should be similar across the board.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 134951

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:52

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 17:52
Hi Jocelyn

I do not have any experience with these trailer brands, so I cant comment on them as individual units.

When I did the process of setting my trailer up, I was shocked how different brands can vary in price from $7,000 to $30,000.

I also found that you have to be careful with the base cost, and then all the extra costs involved to spec up to you requirements.

I started investigating whilst I was living in Sydney, and after relocating to qld, I was surprised how much better value for money they are in SEQ.

I can only comment that I went with Custonline Camper Trailers in South East Queensland and have been very happy with product for what I paid.

TonyG
AnswerID: 134952

Reply By: big red car - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:02

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 19:02
hi jocelyn,

i also can't comment on most of the other brands, except for trackabout, we have both the on roader and safari's in our hire fleet and have not had any trouble with any. thay have been to cape york, darwin, birdsville, lawn hill and carnarvon to name a few. the guys at trackabout will set up a trailer to your request, and as mentioned above the after sales service is solid. ( and no we are not on a comission, lol.) all the best in your search.

johno.
AnswerID: 134956

Follow Up By: jocelyn Kelly - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:56

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:56
Thanks Johno very much apprecaited.
Annette
FollowupID: 389039

Reply By: MYTTUF - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 20:00

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 20:00
I looked around a few months ago and decided that what I wanted was my own design so I could use some of my camping gear I already had. I looked only to find that most only offered what they had and didn't really want to change. I found a mob in Seaford that were more than happy to listen to my requests as well as build what I wanted, and as they get closer to finishing the more excited I am getting. They have been great dealing with me and my fussy little requests but have been great and more than happy to meet my needs.
It is an off road model they are doing for me but they do have an on road range. Before you decide I'd suggest giving them a call on 0397869113 to see if they can help you. I have added a section on my 4WD club forum which has photos if you want to have a look. Visit
http://s4.invisionfree.com/Vic_All_Terrain/index.php?showtopic=375
Jonesy
AnswerID: 134968

Reply By: Member - Maurice F (WA) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 21:27

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 21:27
Hi Jocelyn
just a helpfull tip ,Two friends and i had same offroad camper trailer`s(leaf springs) same 4WD`s 20,000k`s rough roads, i had a set of stabiliser bars fitted on my unit mainly to stop trailer bouncing on rough roads ,i had no trouble with my unit other two broke center bolts shackles tyres ect, at times i noticed there trailers 3ft of the ground mine stayed in contact with road,well worth fitting
Maurie
AnswerID: 134978

Reply By: colin - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 04:47

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 04:47
Hi, one of your main points to look at is the suspension, from my experince leaf springs are very unreliable on rough roads and when you make them bigger you get more weight. Coil springs are a far superior way to go and carry the same weight. Col
AnswerID: 134990

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 11:13

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 11:13
Have a look at www.campertrailers.org. I believe there are few people who
miight have those campers.
AnswerID: 135020

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:33

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:33
After having paid around $11,000.00 for a mid range camper trailer, that was built to about the same standard as a mini-skip, I would suggest to look for a second hand top quality camper trailer, which is what I did after I got rid of the unused new POS, I bought a Track Eagle, & couldn't be happier.
So maybe look at s/hand Kimberley, Heard, Outback, Heaslip, Trak Shak, Track etc etc.
You won't regret buying quality!
AnswerID: 135089

Reply By: jocelyn Kelly - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:25

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:25
Thanks Shaker,
I appreciate your advice. I only have a petrol 2.6 litre, 4 cylinder Mitsuibishi Triton ute, 2 wheel drive, 1994, to tow the camper trailer with.
The better brands seem to be more heavier.
You mention an outback brand. Is that the outback brand manufactured at Tradelink Drive Browns Plains. I have been looking at this brand as well as Trackabout.
Thanks heaps,
Jocelyn.

AnswerID: 135105

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 15:33

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 15:33
I meant Outback in Carrum Downs, here in Victoria. I see you have a recommendation for Trackabout, maybe as they are local to you, have a good look at them.
FollowupID: 389204

Reply By: Tracker Mick - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:44

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:44
Jocelyn,
After months of checking and reading up on c/t's I settled for a Trackabout and am very very impressed.
Very reliable, great set up, flexible designs and staff at their head office in Brisvegas are fantastic to deal with.
Prices are reasonable to after seeing what others out there charge.
Hire and try before you buy.
Mick
AnswerID: 135145

Reply By: Big Trev - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:38

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 07:38
Gidday Jocelyn,

we purchased a SoutherCross Camper a few years ago, we have had no problems at all, we been to WA with it and to Outback QLD (all from Vict) this year as well as a few shorter trips.

Have a look at their website, BTW, it is generally accepted that SouthernCross make the best tents in Australia.

Southern Cross Campers
AnswerID: 135177

Follow Up By: haryey18 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 16:32

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 16:32
I agree big trev ian and steve are the ones to talk to at southerncross,they should be at the 4x4 show this weekend. Also i looked as casuaeina really good too. Red rock look ok as well but not sure about on road trailers with red rock apparently they import there canvas so id try southern cross or casuarina
FollowupID: 389221