Prado 120 Owners

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 14:34
ThreadID: 27350 Views:6938 Replies:14 FollowUps:10
I was poking around under the bonnet when i noticed my '05 Prado GXL doesnt have a fan on the AC condenser. All the other cars/4wd's ive seen with AC have had one, is the Prado any different?

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 14:39

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 14:39
Not sure which fan you are refferring to... Photos??
AnswerID: 135054

Reply By: ejukated - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 14:47

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 14:47
The AC condenser is infront of the radiator, closest to the grill. On all the cars i've seen there is an electric fan (similar to those found mounted on radiators) mounted on the ac condenser.

When you open the bonnet is there an electric fan behind the grill?
AnswerID: 135056

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:46

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:46
I'm not sure of the cars you have looked at, but I know of plenty of cars that do not have an electric fan in front of the aircon condensor....

I have a 90 series Prado TD and do not have one, but then again I never noticed either. Come to think of it my aircon works just fine without one.....perhaps I don't need one.......

AnswerID: 135062

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:18

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:18
I have a 1997 Rodeo and my aircon condensor fan died one day. I rang Holden to find out how much for a new one. The answer was that Rodeos don't have such a fan. The spare parts guy reckons that none of the mid sized Jap utes have one. Turns out the aircon in my ute is aftermarket. After a bit of chasing around I ended up splitting the motor open and cleaning all the mud and crap out of it and got it going. That was about 2 years ago and it is still going.

So I imagine if the Hilux doesn't have one then your Prado won't either.
AnswerID: 135065

Reply By: ejukated - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:44

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:44
My old NM Pajero had one, you could hear it come on when you turned on AC, I never actually bothered to check though. I noticed that there was an unused connection near the AC condenser, perhaps other markets got a fan or since AC is a dealer fit option my dealer left it out?
AnswerID: 135074

Reply By: Alan W - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:11

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:11
I have a 05 Prado Grande and it's air con electric fan is in front of the radiator etc, just behind grille on the drivers side.
AnswerID: 135075

Reply By: ejukated - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:39

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:39
Alan W,

Thanks, can you get a photo for me so I can show my dealer?
AnswerID: 135093

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:45

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:45
You will find that the Grande would have the fan because the auto climate control and the air con would be on all the time.

Not all air con have a extra fan.

FollowupID: 389050

Follow Up By: ejukated - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:16

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:16
I dont follow why the Grande should have a fan and the GXL not. I feel the auto climate control has no impact on determining whether the vehicle should have ac fan or not, It shouldnt make much difference if I control HVAC myself or a computer does it.

All the cars I have had with AC have had a condenser fan, somtimes it was on the engine side next to the radiator fan. On my saab there are two similar looking fans on the engine side of the radiator/condenser that are wired independantly, one is controlled by AC and the other by a thermostat in the coolent flow.
FollowupID: 389055

Follow Up By: ejukated - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:20

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:20
Perhaps the reason why the Grande has the fan is not that it has auto climate control but rather it has more vent outlets?
FollowupID: 389056

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:22

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:22
Just had a look and can't see any electric fans on my prado.
It's got dealer fitted Denso Air Con.
AnswerID: 135104

Reply By: ejukated - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:53

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:53
Thanks Stan, its probably a Dual Air con thing. Question is, would it improve hot weather performance? Toyota obviously fitted one to dual air con equipped models to aid performance, perhaps its something those with sub standard AC performance in hotter climates should try. I've only just gotten my Prado and its been mostly overcast and damp in Sydney so far, so I cant comment on the AC performance so far, how has yours been? Over on the lcool groups there have been a few people with AC issues.
AnswerID: 135111

Follow Up By: Alan W - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 20:51

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 20:51
Have returned from a trip to the Simpson Desert and surrounds a few weeks ago. ( Trip was over Melb school Hols)
The outside temp gauge within the car was reading 42c for a few days, but mostly was reading 35 ish.
The car was chockers full of stuff, 2 fridges, recovery gear etc etc. and and to top it all off , was towing a ct.
Well that poor little fan was going hell for leather. I was using the auto climate in manual mode, as always. The rear ac was also on to keep the fridges cool and to keep the dust out.
Now home in Melbourne, used ac today and I drive around with the window open, with the ac blowing on my face so pretty sure the fan wasn't going as I should have heard it, but can't say I did.
Window up there is no way you can hear it running. As you know, noise suppression is pretty impressive in the Prado.
If you like, I take a photo of the fan assembly tomorrow morning and upload it for you to see.
FollowupID: 389069

Follow Up By: ejukated - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:02

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:02
Thanks, a pic would be great.

On my old NM Paj, you could only hear the fan sometimes from the outside. Is your Prado a diesel?
FollowupID: 389071

Reply By: Alan W - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:14

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:14
Sorry, the point about the heat in desert region was that the ac coped really well in the hot temps. The fan setting was on low to medium (2 or 3) whilst driving and after a stop, of course full bore, but really only a short time before it got too cold and then had to turn the fan back down. Remember that I use it manually.

Also the engine temp gauge didn't move from where it normally sits, which I reckon is a bit odd, considering the load.
AnswerID: 135129

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:06

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:06
Gday alan
I noticed you just returned from the simpson. I was out there during the same period of hot weather as well, low 40 degrees. My a/c worked great. I have a gxl 2005 diesel auto as well.
My question is did you have a dust problem inside your vehicle? Mine was full of dust to the point where I had to clean my sunnies every 30 minutes. I ran my fan on setting 2 or 3 with air con on. I had the settings set to recirculate.
Did you run yours on fresh or recirc?
I checked my a/c filter and there isn't one fitted so I fitted one this week from toyota, pretty pricey but I thought I would give it a go to see if it can reduce the dust. I have been informed from many sources to run my a/c on fresh to pressurise the cabin. I think most of the dust came in through the rear doors. I have since adjusted the rear door so need a run on dirt to see how it goes.
Sorry to be a pain but I haven't read anywhere that people have had a dust problem so I am assuming it is me.

120scruiser
FollowupID: 389081

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:23

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:23
120 cruiser,

the problem is you were on recirculate. When on dirt have your control set to fresh so it keeos the air flowing through and equalizers the pressure inside ande out. If on recirculate it will cause a low pressure area and suck in dust everywhere it can. Only switch to recirc if going through a dust cloud like thrown up from a passing car. I did the Simpson in a 120 Prado I had at the time, part of a 17 car convoy and was always in the middle or back further and didn't have a problem with dust. All the Toyota's are the same and I got this from 30 years working with Toyota vehicles.
FollowupID: 389083

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:50

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:50
Thats what I thought. The only reason I ran it on recirc was with my 80 series I ran it this way all the time and never had a dust problem so I did the same with this new car. I will have to change my ways.
Thanks for the answer.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 389122

Reply By: Alan W - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:16

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 21:16
No, mines 5 speed auto petrol
AnswerID: 135130

Follow Up By: Alan W - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:38

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:38
Mr 120 scruiser,
I had my ac on the fresh air mode for most of the time, when I caught up to the rest of the pack, 5 vehicles in total, then I would put it on recirc. But usually I hung way back, I was tail end charlie.
Dust intrusion was not a problem, sure there was dust inside but it was only a light coating on top of stuff. When I got home I washed out the ac filter, now that was full.
Interesting though, there was another Prado with us, a 2004 model. He experienced a bad dust problem but he would only run his ac for short periods then turn it off when it was cool enough. His passengers were not only eating dust but cooking as well. When he realized his error of trying to conserve fuel in preference of comfort, he ran it all the time. Dont know if recirc or fresh but he still had a bad dust problem. We put it down to that it was the existing dust that already had entered the cabin. But at the end of the day of driving, he would take most stuff out of the vehicle and give it a good shake. Should have seen the dust cloud, as said mine wasn't that bad.
Also can you or someone please explain how I can upload a photo for ejukated that I have taken.
FollowupID: 389085

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:44

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:44
Iv noticed that all diesel hilux's dont have them all v6 petrols seem to dont know why but am in the process of trying to find one that will fit between condensor and grille. I would like to know how the gas is kept cool if you are sitting at a set of lights and your clutch fan has not cut in because the radiator/engine is not hot then you have no air flow till you start to drive off and I have noticed that the air is not as cool when sitting still but will freeze your goolies off when mobile????? Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 135146

Reply By: Alan W - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 23:35

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 23:35
ejukated
Have taken photos of ac fan, but have learn't that I cant post them. See post 27367.
If you give me your e-mail address, i'm more than happy to e-mail them.
But if you are going to your toyota dealer anyway, just have a peek at a Grande demo.
I keep a eye on this post in case you want the photos or anything else that I could be of help.
AnswerID: 135155

Follow Up By: ejukated - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:35

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:35
I think you have to host them. I can host it if others want to see the fan too. ejukated *at* gmail *dot* com

120scruiser, how much did the filter set you back? Might pick one up at my 5000km oil change
FollowupID: 389120

Reply By: ejukated - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:18

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:18
Alan W's fan pic is here

AnswerID: 135320