Diff Lock
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:32
Member - Stephen M (NSW)
Hi all, just want to know has anybody had any experience with lock rite diff locks. Am thinking of putting one in the back end of the hilux 89 model 2.8 diesel. Any advantages/disadvantages with them over an arb air locker besides the cost.I have to strip the rear diff down to get limo fixed new seals wheel bearings etc, and was told that the limo will only last 40/50k as toyota limos are crap compared to nissans so thought this may be a better option.Have been told that they are noisy and clunck in and out alot and cause tyre wear not sure how true any of this is, any advice would be appreciated. Regards Steve M
Reply By: dommo - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 01:29
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 01:29
I have a Lokka fitted to the front of my GU Patrol. When turning on hard sufaces (not necessarily sealed) there is a clicking from the diff, you hear it but it's not loud enough to annoy. People outside the car hear it though, you get some interesting looks! As far a tyre wear goes I haven't noticed any difference between front and rear ( the rear lsd works very
well) but I don't think it will cause problems in the rear as the lokka slips/unlocks/starts clicking as soon as I turn the steering.
Reply By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 02:00
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 02:00
search and ye shall find!
Reply By: mik_wright - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:15
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:15
Stephen,
I have the lokrite in the front dif on a '95 Hilux. Obviously I only ever have it engaged on loose surfaces so I never even know it is there on the road but off-road it makes steering very heavy although not unmanageable because of power steering. I got it on the front because it has the effect of pulling the vehicle over obstacles like a locomotive, I do not have to deal with a difference in driving on-road and I believe that the weight up front helps with keeping the
wheels on the ground especially in a ute.
Naturally I would prefer air operated diffs alround but my vehicle is ten yrs old so the cost is prohibitive. I am very happy with the compromise of one lockrite up front.
Michael
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:27
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:27
Are you sure you have a lockrite?
They are always engaged i thought - there is no way of disengaging them.
I could be wrong....
Chump
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:01
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 09:01
I think he means it's engaged when he locks his hubs in, his hilux is not constant 4WD.
Follow Up By: vitara - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:21
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:21
Hi there Chump/redback, was looking at getting one of these myself is it better to fit to the front or the back, or is it just better to get one in the front and get the lsd fixed, I'm the same as mik_wright as far as paying the cost for an air locker????. After reading steve's I would say that my limo would be rs as
well as I have had my'n bogged and noticed only one wheel spinning, definately a limo as it is an sr5 plus a sticker on the diff housing and also when I have jacked it up both
wheels turn the same way not like a single spinner where one wheel will turn the opposite direction.Regards Vitara
Follow Up By: mik_wright - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:33
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 11:33
Spot on redback, talking about the hubs being locked in
Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:32
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:32
Sorry bout that - didn't engage the brain....
Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 07:56
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 07:56
vitara they are better in the front if you have free wheeling hubs and your idea is good fixing the LSD, thats not saying that you can't put them in the rear, i have a mate that has a Detroit locker in the rear of his Disco and i must say it is very good.
An air or vacuum locker is better though the vacuum one aspecially as there is no compressor needed.
Mcnamara, Maxidrive, ARB and now TJM, which is a Mcnamara locker made for TJM.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:25
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 08:25
I have one, they do clunk as they work, but its not very loud. Works really
well offroad.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:08
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:08
Spend the money on air lockers, you control when they work, and when they dont. specially on gravel roads, or slippery corners etc.
YMMV
Follow Up By: vitara - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:05
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 13:05
Hi there truckster, I have seen them advertised for about $1100 at tjm they are arb ones have never rang up about them but would this include air compressor as
well to run it or would that be on top. I do like the idea of being able to turn off/on when required,but if compressor is on top of that price + fitting would make for an expensive locker compared to lock rite. Regards vitara
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:09
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:09
Compressor is extra, but you can go with aircond compressor endless air with a tank, and cut the cost down by heaps.
Reply By: Member - John L (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:40
Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 12:40
Had them fitted to a variety of vehicles T 80 Series , Paj , ) now on Jackaroo never had a problem and they work very
well off –road
Reply By: PatNav - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 21:36
Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 21:36
Hi Stephen,
I was wondering if you have had the LSD repaired, or did you invest in a locker yet? If repaired, where is a good place to get it done?
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:42
Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 19:42
Hi there PatNav,no have got lsd fixed,$450 that was me pulling it apart and putting back together,sent diff and axles away.No not going to get a locker,hope to upgrade my'n next year so will save up and put a locker front and back. I'm in
sydney and had it repaired by a worokshop in silverwater. Regards Steve M