why dont they just sink them

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:18
ThreadID: 27386 Views:3624 Replies:17 FollowUps:37
Boat boarded after violent response

October 19, 2005

CUSTOMS officers have braved burning poles, knives, machetes and flaming missiles to board an Indonesian boat fishing illegally off the Northern Territory.
An Australian Customs Service patrol boat spotted the Indonesian ice boat yesterday afternoon near the Wessel Islands in the Arafura Sea and fired warning shots.

The boat failed to respond and Customs gave chase.

When Customs and navy officers tried to board the boat, the crew allegedly used burning anti-boarding poles, as well as knives and machetes, to try to stop them.

"The fishing boat crew deployed anti-boarding poles and set them on fire," a Customs spokesman said, referring to sharp sticks that circled the exterior of the boat to prevent anyone boarding.

"The crew also brandished knives and machetes and also threw lead weights and burning objects at the boarding party.

Advertisement:
"The chase continued on for several hours and eventually the Customs boarding party was able to overcome those obstacles and take control of the boat."

When Customs and navy officers eventually boarded the boat they found a large quantity of shark fin on board, as well as a global positioning

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:20

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:20
i feel that when these illegal fishers start carring on like this they become pirates and should be sunk on the spot not stuffed around with

just my opinion

AnswerID: 135300

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:57

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:57
Good to see you're in touch with your warm and fuzzy side Steve :))))
FollowupID: 389246

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:14

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:14
You get my vote for PM!
FollowupID: 389286

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:58

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:58
what electrate you in!
FollowupID: 389305

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:19

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:19
sorry guys couldnt get used to the $$$$$$$$ the pollies earn and i only tell small whoppers ??????????????
FollowupID: 389366

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:23

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:23
be bugered..any one can get used to earning what they do (super included) and as for small whoppers...well when are you going to nominate?
FollowupID: 389367

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:23

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:23
Sinking them would raise a ruckus in this overly-politically-correct world we've let be made for us.

1) Toss their fish and crap back into the sea. Better still - lock them in the hold with the fish and turn the refrigeration off.

2) Pump their diesel out and confiscate it.

3) Let them float around for a few weeks until rescued by another boatful of refugees.

Sorry to be so negative. These people are really starting to get my goat on every front now.

AnswerID: 135302

Reply By: G-wizz - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:30

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:30
Better still. Why not just invade their country and sink their whole fleet.
AnswerID: 135303

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:51

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 18:51
Because their army even thou it is lot chiter than Australia’s it is a chite load bigger, why do you think the Australian government is always the first to give money and aid and are always making nice.

To keep peace in the region and keep their army the hell out of Australia, That and Knowing that Australia would be too much of a Logistical Nightmare to even consider invading keeps us Safe.

FollowupID: 389245

Follow Up By: G-wizz - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:23

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:23
I didn't think I'd need a TIC at the end of that post but it seems I better make it clear.
FollowupID: 389251

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:44

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:44
You don’t I was just Saying why we do not take a more aggressive approach towards these Illegal Fishermen.

I agree sink the fleet, That should be the only image they get of Australia, Burst of canon fire there ship sinking, Navy picking them up and then dropping them back in Indonesia end of story.
FollowupID: 389253

Follow Up By: G-wizz - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:54

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:54
We don't take a more aggressive approach because that would be a major over-reaction. I agree that they shouldn't fish in our waters with impunity but lets keep perspective on it. They are only fishing, nothing more.
FollowupID: 389256

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:08

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:08
Do we know that is all they are doing??

Drug Drops, carting god knows who into the country maybe testing security for other’s. Not saying that is what’s happening but can you rule it out.

FollowupID: 389258

Follow Up By: G-wizz - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:21

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:21
Yes we know that's all they are doing. Drug runners et. al. don't waste their time with barely floating worm ridden buckets just capable of 10 knots with a tail wind.
FollowupID: 389263

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:40

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:40
G Whizz, that isnt completely true, I work up in that area alot, was only a couple of weeks back that a vessel i know well was boarded by some Indo's less than a kilometer of the WA coast and had to be forcibly removed.
Its all very well to say it is only fish, but mate, this is somebodies livlihood. people invest their working lives fishing up there only to have people come in and steal it from under your nose. Armed guards are used for money etc, why not fish?
Only a few weeks ago that the Indo navy machinegunned a chinese fishing boat that wouldnt answer the radio and a crewman was killed. This is what they expect to happen, as it is the norm in their country.
FollowupID: 389287

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:45

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 00:45
Forgot to add alsao, G Whizz, if you were going to smuggle stuff in from overseas, what do you reckon would be more conspicuous, a wooden sampan among hundreds of others or a 50 knot miami vice speedboat in an area where there is nothing?
I think you are being a bit naive maybe?
FollowupID: 389288

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:09

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:09
i wonder why the shark attacks are increasing on the coastline?could it be their being chased out of their normal grounds by allah fearing natives, & so what if they have a bigger army 200million against 20mill aussies seems fair enough odds to me. cheers
AnswerID: 135312

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:14

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:14
To paraphrase Burt Reynolds "Looks like we're out-numbered - they better go and get some more men."
FollowupID: 389260

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:17

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:17
Burn the boat on the spot (preferably let one of their burning poles start the fire). Boats towed back are burned anyway - a huge risk to our agricultural industry - better burnt out at sea. I feel for the people who may just be the sailors paid a pittance and in need of a job, but no boats returning would soon stop the thiefing and barbaric shark fin trade. Just my thoughts at the end of a hard day's work.

AnswerID: 135313

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:00

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:00
One or two well placed rounds from one of these link text will change someone's point of view fairly smartly. Sounds like the customs / navy boat failed to back their lads up if that was the case.

If the boats are being burnt anyway, a stage managed 'on the spot' penalty should apply. All on board should be be removed to the patrol boat with nothing but a pair of disposable paper overalls and then a few incendiary rounds into the engine room of the offending vessel would do. Make sure it is well filmed and provide the edited images free of charge to any media outlet in Indonesia that wants it.

Word would spread and the problem would be solved in a month. I suppose some of the catches are worth more than the boats from the look of it though.
AnswerID: 135316

Reply By: gramps - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:08

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:08
Gentlemen,

The problem is this is the way these people earn a living/survive. I'd suggest that far more of them get away with it than get caught so they are obviously prepared to play the odds - and win! Our stretched Navy/Customs resources have absolutely no hope of stopping it completely. Should we give up trying - no. Should we get worked up about it - pointless.
AnswerID: 135317

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:17

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:17
I would humbly suggest that you're using the term "gentle"men very loosely, Gramps.
FollowupID: 389261

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:21

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:21
ROFLMAO ... good one Wombat. I can't take any credit for a disguised pun.
FollowupID: 389264

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:23

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:23
9i agree wombat i had to look over my shoulder to see who gramps was talking too
FollowupID: 389265

Reply By: steve21 - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:35

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 20:35
Maybe we should give their country more money say another billion, while our roads / hospitals / etc etc get flushed down the crapper!!
AnswerID: 135324

Follow Up By: Robert - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 13:31

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 13:31
Spot on Steve21. Couldn't agree more. Looking after our own should be first priority!

The lack of funding in our hospitals is a disgrace!

FollowupID: 389493

Reply By: govo - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 22:11

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 22:11
Hmmmmm.....how about we give them DR J.Patel....he might be able to fix up all thier worries...:)
AnswerID: 135340

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 23:14

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 23:14
Hmm..stealing sharks is a very serious offence under our law. I suggest that they be jailed for 20 years, their sentences to be served in their own jails :))))
AnswerID: 135343

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 06:35

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 06:35
Such fishing is just one manifestation of the issues which will continue to arise and are largely caused by the huge disparity in the wealth of the Western nations and the second/third world. Why should we remain so rich and they remain so poor?

AnswerID: 135356

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:23

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:23
poverty seems to be associated with gross over-population. The population of Indonesia is about 250,000,000. A veritable human plague. If it were rabbits you'd introduce calicivirus. Some people, muslims and catholics included, seem to be hell bent on turning the earth into a feedlot for impoverished humans. This means cultivating every hectare of land, damming every river for irrigation, and filtering the oceans for every gram of protein (and sharkfin).
We remain relativley rich because our land supports 20,000,000 people (still too many for our fragile ecosystem). If we let the hoards over-run us there would soon be a billion, but we would at least redressed the wealth disparity.
How do we prevent the human plague from destroying the earth? Our aid to overpopulated regions of the world should bve contingent on ZPG. ie give them Implanon not guns. In the meantime, stray fishing boats should be aggressively rejected.
FollowupID: 389296

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:52

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:52
>poverty seems to be associated with gross over-population

United Kingdom = 250 people per sq. km.

Indonesia - 127 people per sq. km.

FollowupID: 389303

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 10:40

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 10:40
Birth rate in UK 11.34 per 1000 (and probably not evenly distributed ie higher amongst the poor)
Birth rate in Indonesia 21.87 per 1000 (was over 33 in the 80s)
FollowupID: 389333

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 12:46

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 12:46
>Birth rate in UK 11.34 per 1000
>Birth rate in Indonesia 21.87 per 1000

Infant mortality rate:
Indonesia 35.6 deaths/1,000 live births
United Kingdom 5.16 deaths/1,000 live births

In Mali it's 117 deaths/1,000 live births! Against a birth rate of 44/1000!!

And at that rate of population growth it will take Indonesia well over 100 years before it equals the UKs population density.

If he saved every penny and didn't eat; a man in Mali would be able to afford a Land Cruiser after just 46 years of saving. It would take a man in the UK 1.4 years to buy that same vehicle.

The West lives off the back of the Third World and has largely obtained it's wealth by exploiting them over the past few centuries and continues to do so today. They are poor so that we may be rich - don't expect them to be grateful for that.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 389343

Follow Up By: warthog - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:02

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:02
Thanks Mike for your rational response. I wonder how many of us would act differently than these fishermen if we were in their shoes.
FollowupID: 389421

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:14

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 00:14
Well said mike
FollowupID: 389427

Follow Up By: pathfinder - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 14:20

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 14:20
ditto Mike - good to see there's at least one human being on this site and I'm surprised that the exploroz team have allowed the other xenophobic tripe to be published...a post like this just gives anti-4WD interests more ammunition.

All very well for someone cruising around in a $50K 4WD to get all high and mighty about how poor people should conduct themselves. And the argument that excessive numbers of third world people are causing the demise of the world/environment is a joke. One yank or Aussie is worth 10-100 of these people in terms of resource use.
FollowupID: 389496

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 16:34

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 16:34
I'm not xenophobic - it's just that I don't like foreigners.
FollowupID: 389519

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 16:38

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 16:38
So guys, how are you going to assuage your guilt? Turn Australia into yet another overpopulated disaster?
I am sorry if having an opinion different to yours makes me 'inhuman', 'irrational' or 'xenophobic'.
The future for Indonesia (whose population density on its main islands is 500 per sq km) is not to spill over into Australia, but to restrict its population growth even further, like China has been able to do. You might then see a drop in the devastating infant mortality rates.
In fifty years when your offspring are lining up for there soilant green biscuits you may wish you had been less opposed to population control.
FollowupID: 389520

Follow Up By: pathfinder - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 17:32

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 17:32
overpopulation of any country is not a good thing. However, before you judge someone, maybe you should walk in their shoes for a day or two. These blokes are trying to make a living for their families...they don't have the option of a $100-200/day job doing not much. I'm not saying that we should allow open slather on fisheries - this sort of thing needs to be controlled. However, to start suggesting that the fishermen should be treated with 'extreme prejudice' is extremely narrow-minded and small-hearted...
FollowupID: 389523

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 19:58

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 19:58

Your basic premise is flawed: it is not the population size which causes poverty but the legacy of centuries of exploitation. eg. Taiwan has 718 people per sq. km. yet it would take a man only 1.6 years to purchase a Land Cruiser. Japan has 340 people per. sq. km and it would take a man 1.4 years to purchase a Land Cruiser. Hong Kong has 7000 people per sq. km and it would take a man 1.2 years to purchase a Land Cruiser.

In a third world country with no Medicare, no age care, no mental health care and damn all else care it's _essential_ to have a number of children to ensure you are taken care of in your old age or if you suffer an accident. Even a broken leg may cause a crippling injury because you can't afford to have it set properly. Without children you will be reduced to begging in order to get food to stay alive.

And on the 1pm news on ABC radio today I heard that some Ethiopians are selling their children for US$1.50 into prostitution or service - I don't imagine any of us who have been parents would think they could do that easily.

China's "One Child Policy" was a failure
http://www.overpopulation.com/faq/population_control/one_child.html

Not only that but are you _really_ advocating a system where women are dragged screaming into abortion clinics to have their baby aborted?!

High infant mortality in the third world is not caused by the size of the birth rate but by a severe lack of medical facilities and even more by the fact that very few people have the money to pay for their medical treatment.

The European countries shamelessly exploited Africa and the Far East for a long time - Europeans were doing exactly that until very recently in South Africa. Indeed the slave trade was a respected method of earning a living until the late 1800s (I think?).

Quote from the following site:
http://www.globalissues.org/TradeRelated/Debt.asp
"Debt has crippled many developing countries. Often based on loans taken out by prior rulers and dictators (many of which various Western nations put into power to suit their interests), millions face poorer and poorer living standards as precious resources are diverted to debt repayment."

And that so the banks and major institutions of The West can make fat profits and pay substantial dividends to shareholders (superannuation funds, ie. you and me!).

Harvey Norman are selling wide screen TV sets for $10,000 - that's 10 years income for a family in Benin - perhaps we should consider that the next time we sit down to watch Star Wars?

The people of New York use more energy _purely_ in commuting to and from work in one week than all the people of Africa use in one year.

So what's the deal guys? Bollocks to the lot of them? Or is there something of an imbalance of wealth here?

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

PS. Bob, I don't think the criticsm was aimed at you but more at other posters to this thread.
FollowupID: 389540

Reply By: bernie1 - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:13

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:13
Customs should have called in an air strike. We shouldn't have to put up with this sh##@t.
AnswerID: 135362

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:58

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 07:58
WOW an air strike! a bit over the top dont you think.....
whats wrong with one of our subs (if they really are a sub) just patroling these areas for target practice...no one will ever know
FollowupID: 389304

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:19

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:19
LOL - subs !!

Well at least the collins class bathtubs make enough noise to scare off the fish and therefore the fishermen would also leave. :-)))
FollowupID: 389543

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 09:02

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 09:02
Steve,

Yes, my words were similar to yours but a bit stronger.
"Sink the Bast*rds!" I said.

When I saw the report on the news I couldn't believe how much 50 calibre ammo was wasted "shooting over the bow" Could have been put to much better use, for the same expenditure.

Another option could have been to aim the pointy end of the Customs Boat about midships and steam over the critters. That would have fixed the problem, on the spot. That's all they deserve.

A bit harsh? What if one or more of the Customs crew had have been seriously injured, or killed during the encounter.

Sorry, the "monkeys" do not get my sympathy vote!
Just look at their judicial circus.

AnswerID: 135377

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:26

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:26
1 x 50 cal should be able to reduce their numbers by at least one! that would leave how many more to be spent? probably none as the sight of the first casualty should stop the rest!
FollowupID: 389368

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 10:41

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 10:41
250,000,000 peolple, I am sure some of them look enviously at all that land that is Australia. Our only saving grace is that the logistic o f getting sufficient supplies and equipment across 500 km or so of water to cross thousands of kilometers of harsh desert to reach the populated and fertile South and East coasts is immense. But deffending the likes of Darwin and the Kimberly, the odds would be stacked against us. That is probably one reason why the Australian government takes a relatively soft approach with Indonesia. Having said that if they started landing their military on the Northern shores I would be one of the first to sign up for Armed Services duty. Just my two cents worth for the day anyway, now that I have that off my chest I had better get back to work.
AnswerID: 135386

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 12:16

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 12:16
bring in death penalty for illigal fishing just as they do for drug traficing
AnswerID: 135403

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:25

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:25
Yeah...

and bring in the death penalty for everyone with an IQ of 100 or less.

Problem solved.
FollowupID: 389352

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:53

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:53
And all right handers while we're at it. That will definitely cure 99.9% of the world's problems :)
FollowupID: 389355

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:14

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:14
well actualy you should start with the bleeding heart dogooders first
FollowupID: 389357

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:17

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 14:17
Already covered with Robak's comment :)
FollowupID: 389358

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:26

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 17:26
what a brilliant idea!
FollowupID: 389370

Reply By: Baldrick - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 20:34

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 20:34
I recently attended a talk by the skipper of a patrol boat in Darwin, also had a tour of an old patrol boat and the new Armidale. One of the problems with the old patrol boats is that the guns are incredibly inaccurate. The Armidale has a computer controlled fire system and soon they will be able to target the masts or motors of these boats and stop them dead in the water, with minimal risk of harming the crew.

Most of the crews are just poor fishermen trying to eke out a living. The boats are owned by syndicates so it's them we need to get rid of. I reckon take off the crew, sink the boat and send the crew back home without bothering about a trial. They never pay their fines anyway.

And what we see in the news is only a small fraction of what goes on.
AnswerID: 135471

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 08:08

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 08:08
Those little remote controlled pilot-less planes that fire missiles by GPS..It's either that or "Bird Flu" There are no options..BTW (One can only wonder if rain-water is going to be safe,collected from roofs / gutters that have bird droppings..Mite be time to buy shares in bottled water factories)
AnswerID: 135520