While I'm at it...
Submitted: Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:49
WheelTravel
Got bogged this afternoon. Was fun, rain, mud slop and a gf next to me giving me dirty looks, as if there wasn't enuf dirt around!!!
Amyway, dug, grunted moaned and groaned..to no avail. About to winch out when along came some help and was snatched out after repeated attempts.
Learnt 2 things today...
1-Those airbag jacks are crap!
2-Difflocks get you "really" bogged.
My question...somehow the car popped just slightly out of 4wd in between the repeated attempts to drive out. The 4x4 light was still on in the dash but no power to the front
wheels. I was giving it a bit...is it bad? Whn I got home there was a ticking noise coming from one hub, sounded almost electronic...Once I put it back in, there was drive to all 4
wheels again.
Okie Doke, thanks in advance for your help,
PS Anybody wanna trade a highlift jack for an airbag?
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:04
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:04
Ever heard the story about how a poor trades person always blames their tools....
Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:51
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:51
Geez, ppl round here are stuck in the mud too!
I wasn't blaming my tools... i LOVE my difflocks, and they got me way further through that bog hole than I would have otherwise gotten,
And seriously, ask most...that's "most" trainers or experienced 4wheel drivers, they will take a highlift over a bag anyday. Except in sand
Reply By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:07
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:07
If you are giving the bag away i will take it
The real question is what went wrong with your using the BULLBAG?
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:15
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:15
Do you have a 75 series? was it the 4wd or the hub that was out
Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:44
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:44
Hey mate,
Yeah it was the lever that was out, not the hub. Any damage ya reckon?
Cheers Bud
Reply By: porlsprado - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:17
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:17
that was funny, know how you feel. the only thing maybe i can say about airbag jacks, and i don't have one, is that i only know they are great in sand. Q is with sand there is no downward suction similar to when yr bogged in mud as you were. Stick a gumboot deep in sand and pull it out, no problem. Stick a gumboot in deep mud and your foot might come out before the gumboot. Apply the principle to the 4WD and maybe take the bag thing when yr goin to
the beach and take a 10,000lb winch when yr goin in mud. I own neither a winch nor a bag and have many sore a back from shovelling sand (gotta get that tyre pressure down before i get bogged next time) and many a bored moment waiting for help (why is there so much mud?). winch one day.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:52
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:52
The car popped slightly out of 4WD WTF???????? does that mean.
You are either in 4WD or you aren't.
Am I making the wrong assumption here that you DID HAVE your front hubs locked in.
We are going to need a bit more info to help you out on this one.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 23:10
Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 23:10
No WTF???????? about it - fairly common in 75s when selecting l4 to end up with rear wheel drive only in low range with your 4wd light on. I assumed it was something to do with the linkages. On
the beach once I got it in it was right but had a couple of puckering moments trying to
hill climb and having the selecter bang out of l4
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 11:23
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 11:23
Just so I can get a handle on this ( I'm over 50 and suffering from 'oldtimers' so please humour me on this one.) could you answer the following:
What is the actual state of your vehicles when the transfer selector lever is in that slot/notch between 4H and 4L. You know, that spot when shifting from left from 4H to right 4L
(a) 4WD dash light - on or off
(b) Drive to
wheels - 4H , 4L, 2H, 2L or none of these. ie total neutral drive.
and (a) & (b) again when you actually get/move the 'mother' into what you think/believe is 4L.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 14:58
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 14:58
Must be a Toyota problem.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 23:18
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 23:18
For once I do believe you are correct BONZ
Can't trust these 'Yota mobiles' at all. Have a mind of thier own.
I am just glad these two gentlemen have made me aware of this tendency with 75's so that if I ever experience it I'll know what it is.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 07:13
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 07:13
Yannow why they call them 75's? Cause thats the effort they put in to them, over at Nissan they always put in 110%. They even have extra air in the tyres.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 09:52
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 09:52
BONZ
Education is a wonderful thing and I must congratulate you for Dux'ing your year at the Terang College of Everything and Anything.
Especially that alternative science unit you took a 'major' in - the ancient art of Blinding others with BU L L S H I T.
If I have told you once I have told you a zillion times and that is tell the
Forum readers the truth, the whole thruth and nothing but the truth.
In this case you nearly got it right.
Readers - he meant to say that yes! Nissan do always put in a 110% however there is a breakup of that 110% as follows:
Product = 51%
Injections of Hot Air, c r a p, w a n k , waffle, up themselves attitude etc etc into the owners of their product = 59%
With the honorable member for Terang taking his full quota
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 10:16
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 10:16
Now Lucy you do know that any amount of smokescreen will not deter from the fact the Toyota 75%ers "pop" out of 4WD. I "pop" down the st for a latte, or "pop" around to my mates place for a sarsparilla, but never in the fray of serious 4WDness would I "pop" out. This is a major problem, that obviously the "other" 25% of effort would have fixed.
WAFFLE = Wine And Fine Food Lovers Extraordinaire
I accept your waffle offer.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 11:10
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 11:10
BONZ
Please be aware that I am more than gratefull for the subject 2 members bringing to my attention this '4WD popping thingy' related to the obviously inferior 75's.
I am also gratefull and accepting of both yours and your fellow 'pink Nissan mafia' members never ending advisings as to how superior Nissans are in relation to any other 4WD thats ever been produced.
I do believe this 'popping thing' will be the straw that breaks the good old proverbial camels back and I will just have to get me one of these Nissan's.
No use trying to trade or sell the 75 as you so rightly have pointed out that they a not worth a pinch of Billy Goat poop.
Think I might get onto '
Rock Crawler' and ask him if he can get me one of those 'special priced' 2001 3.0L GU's like he got 'Truckster' a couple of weeks ago or was that a 'Hungy'.
Whatever, I'll only have the $'s for one of those el cheapo 3.0L jobbies, but I am told there a literally thousands of them to choose from.
Any down your way that you know of.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 11:14
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 11:14
Bonz
Forgot to mention that member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - above, recently sold his 75.
Wondering now if this '4WD popping thing' was the driving force behind same.
If so, it must be a serious 'mother'
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 12:56
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 12:56
Finally a sensible comment hahahahaha all the 3.0L Nissans I know of are loved and not on the market.
There may be thousands of 3L's but theres only one JEEP.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:16
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:16
No just sold it to buy an 80. That camper was living proof that you shouldnt buy hand fabricated campervans made up from ex miners laying about some sandblasters yard no matter how good they look. Fortunatly you will have no worries picking up an ex miner with a nissan - no one is game to drive them down the hole coz they might need to get back
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 06:33
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 06:33
Tyres tyres tyres tyres , Driving skills driving skills driving skill.
First No NO , going off road alone
second , tyre pressures , did you lower them ?
did yo uhave mud tyres ?
when you first got stuck , did you try to reverse out ?
did you bother to get out to
check the depth first ?
Diff locks dont get you bogged , the brain that says , lets try this , gets you bogged lol
Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:41
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:41
If I may rebut,
Tyres were at 25 and are Cooper ST's
Tried to reverse out yes
Yes cheched the depth
It is true that if you get bogged with difflocks you a "really" bogged.
3rdly, why not go 4wheeling alone? It wasn't like I was gonna be stuck there for hours when these fellas came along, I was about to winch out. I have all the recovery gear, a winch (a jack that will soon be replaced) and most of all, 4wheeling knowledge. I have done some of the toughest tracks in Tasmania with just me and my gf, and overcome some pretty crazy bleep e, like popping a rear left bead with front right wheel a metre in the air, and no chance of going anywhere and nothing to winch off.
I don't mind geting bogged, in fact it's part of the fun and keeps me fit.
And the air jack,
well coz I was trying to inflate it with out solid flat ground, it wouldn't go up straight...not a chance. Yes they're great in sand or when the grounds flat, but a highlift would have been ideal.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:57
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:57
tyres were 25
Ok , here is a tip , try like 18
St
coopers , would mater if you had lockers or not , they will be like slicks in no time .
Ok and last , you were about to winch out , this means you didnt winch out , dont asume anything , because you ddint do it to prove that you could have lol .
Anyway , as stated above ,tyres tyres tyres ,
pressure pressure pressure
if you think that 25 to 18 woudnt have made a diffrence , think again .
Good to see you are out there and having fun
Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:12
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:12
I don't want to get into a debate, so this is all I'll say.
I will not go down to 18 in rutty mud coz inevitably you pob a bead or pinch a sidewall, yes I may have got further, but at what cost?
I know my tyres aren't the best mud performers, and I would love a set of swampers, but...pros and cons.
And I have 3 snatch blocks, and 3 lengths of chain, so I reckon there was a fair chance of me winching out.
Haven't you ever been bogged? Your motto insinuates you would have been.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:39
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:39
you may be calling it dabate , I am actually having a discution lol .
I use a wider tyre to keep pressure on the rim , this way I dont pop beeds any more , and I run as low as 15 psi som times , there is no need for swampers , or centerpeeds , there on road handling is nothing to be desired , a good set of BFG buds , or even some MTR's are a good choise for mud .
as to the other question , sorry , but i would have to say , not really ,
well nothing that someone had photos of , so i guess it never happened lol .
on a serious note , havent been in anything I couldnt get out of withougt a simple recovery . The fact that you carry 3 snach blocks is a good thing , best to let the leavers do the hard yards and not the winch
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 11:09
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 11:09
Hey
Rock Crawler
I seem to remember a day on a slippery slope at Gembrook Forest. LOL
Lucky we had some mates to help or we would probably have still been there...hahahahahahaha
There are photos!!!!!
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 12:00
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 12:00
is this the same day that we desded not to go up beacause we were the only car that would have made it ?
and we winch the car over a water run off to save time ?
I dont recall been stuck ?
I havent seen any photos hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 15:13
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 15:13
mmm
Robe beach, and I do declare that you had just extricated thew most boggedest Nissan I have seen.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 17:11
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 17:11
yes we wont talk about the bogged nissan lol
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 20:22
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 20:22
Hey Rock Crawler
For a young fella you seem to have a selective memory...hahahahahaha
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 06:55
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 06:55
Things could've been worse... I once approached a big muddy hole, locked hubs, selected L4, checked the depth, good firm bottom, mud not to sticky, proceeded to roll on in, tree root sticking out of the mud came to rest against the arm which activates the clutch...??? 10 minutes trying to figure out why I had no drive, N0 chance of moving the car myself, snapped the shovel handle, no-one to help me, 2 hours of standing around thinking about how you can get stuck real good even when you assess the risks and proceed with common sense.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 15:15
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 15:15
and and and howd u get out?
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 17:11
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 17:11
I happened to have a tin of spinach with me...LOL
Actually my thanks were well received by Parks
Victoria...
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 10:24
Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 10:24
yes well I could have used some of that spinach in
the Otways a few years ago, hmmm 2 cars this time both down the end of a track that needed a 4WD tracvtor to come get us, the SES received my thanx and donation well also.
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:09
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:09
"Learnt 2 things today... "
Really?????
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:34
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:34
Wheely,
Can now understand from your description what you are saying about the exhaust jack on soft, uneven ground. Must admit a hadn't thought about their practicality in that sort of condition.
I don't have a high-lift jack but in circumstances similar to yours and after trying the exhaust jack, I guess I would have tried the standard car jack which also has a smaller footprint. Or placed a board underneath the Air jack. I usually carry a piece in the Camper.
TIP, don't get rid of the Air jack. They are still the most useful piece of kit to have and they don't take up too much room.
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 09:33
Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 09:33
Hi-lift jacks have there place but make no mistake - a high lift jack will prob kill you quicker then an air bag any day. Hi-lifts are more unstable then an air bag, they are even very good for turning a vehicle around in a confined space by deliberately pushing the vehicle off the jack ! Is your vehicle set up to use a high lift ? Most vehicles are not hence the danger. Next time out if you take a high lift you better know how to use it safely or you will be learning more then 'two new things' :-)) There is more experience available to you on this site then you will get in any 4wd mag with glossy pics showing a hi-lift as a "must have" accessory on every vehicle. I suspect that your so-called "most 4wd trainers" do not use airbags very much so they don't rate them. Reading how some of these expert trainers do recoveries soon sorts out which ones I would have you listen to. There is the easy way and the hard way, or should that be, the safe way and the dangerous way? Take it easy and learn how to use the equipment rather then blame it if it does not do what you want when you want.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:03
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:03
More hi lift bashing. I consider them the most useful recovery tool. Other tools MAY get you out easier (eg winch) but nothing beats the vesatiulity and effectivness of a hi lift. I have used them to unbog vehicles when there was nothing to winch off and when the winch wasnt powerfull enough. I have also used them to get vehicles off od hang ups. As for being unstable - yea maybe when you are jacking up your vehicle to change the tyre (this is NOT what they are for) but when you are bogged they are far more stable and in any case this is one thing you should be looking out for with any jacking procedure even when using a bottle jack. Stability when jacking can be improved by using hublifters (vehicle permitting)
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 16:02
Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 16:02
WheelTravel,
I think your Girlfriend knows you better than you think.
You still need to learn some more about "having fun"
Getting stuck is not fun, and as you found out it is a lot of work, not just to get out but also when you get home and do all the maintenance on the vehicle.
If this had been done the last time you went through water and mud you provably not have had the lack of maintenance problem that got you stuck this time.
Going out alone with the attitude that I have diff locks and a winch and wont get stuck is not the right way. They are after made by man and can fail.
I will go through mud if I have to but if there is another track I will use that, not only does it save the track but also the vehicle.
And for the exhaust jack and your comment that a high lift jack would have been better. You vehicle was bogged, so what size base plate would you need to stop the high lift jack from bogging.
Maybe a refresher course in recovery and if you do it with a experienced instructor they will show how the exhaust jack works.