Kununurra-Here we come

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 19:33
ThreadID: 27489 Views:2474 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
After visiting twice before and loving the area,we've decided to make a change and move up there.Have lined up a job which starts mid Feb(the heat is going to kill us for awhile)they are going to find accom. for us so now we're in a mad panic getting everything ready(time will fly).At this stage we're only planning a year at a time,renting our house out while we're gone,I like to think of it as a year long working holiday while someone pays our house off for us.
Be a good test for our 4 Runner towing the camper(Tambo Cooper) in the heat fully loaded with our belongings(well some of them).
Should finally catch a decent Barra while there too!!
Leave Tassie end Jan. and take two weeks travelling slowely up there,travelling around the Great Ocean Road to Adelaide then straight up and across.

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:05

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:05
Ooohhh Nick, that is going to be one BIG sea change.

We worked in Kununurra for 6 months in 1982

During March the temp never dropped below 38

We had come from Darwin and still felt the heat.

But there lots to see and do in the area.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 135870

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:13

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:13
Yeah thanks Willem,the heat thing is worrying me abit.I was hoping to not be there until about May but have to be earlier because of job.
As you say,there's heaps to do around there.
FollowupID: 389733

Reply By: Stuck in Hedland - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:07

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:07
Good luck!
Currently 38.3 c, down too 31 c tonight, 43 c tomorrow and it's still Spring! Though that first 110-120cm Barra will make it all worth while.
AnswerID: 135871

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:15

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:15
Carnt wait for that Barra.My current record is-----about a foot long!!
Watch the temps. each day on weatherzone and they do worry me abit.
FollowupID: 389735

Reply By: bruce - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:58

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 20:58
Travelling slowly up there in 2 weeks from Tassie ? I do not think you will be resting to much ...not long back from up there and we have about a 500km start on you and that is from Melb. and it sure is a long way...and yes we really enjoyed it up there also , had a nice shady grassy site right next to the pool at the Kimberlyland c/p which probably helped....cheers
AnswerID: 135886

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 07:34

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 07:34
Its about 4000kms,so we have to do roughly 285kms a day,should handle that ok.Great park that one ,when we stayed there in 2003 we had a great spot right beside the pool to.
FollowupID: 389782

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 21:35

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 21:35
Mmmmm - when will it be Mango season? Last year someone sent us some mangoes from their Kunnanurra Mango farm - delicious

AnswerID: 135899

Reply By: Member - David 0- Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 22:04

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 22:04
Probably begine getting mangos soon. Around my neck of the woods, they are ready to pick from around Dec.

Good luck, don't worry about the heat, the more you think of it, the worse it is, and you do aclimatise somewhat.

It was hot and really humid here in Townsville today, and I spent most of the day doing the annual maintenence on my glider- it was hot in the shed.

Sitting in aircon for the last few hours, and finally, yes finally finished my 2006 Calendar of images of the Kimberly region...brings back great memories looking at the finished product, but must sleep now, after many many sleepless nights. Self publishing is great unless you want sleep and money.

DJO
AnswerID: 135904

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 22:30

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 22:30
Had a mate move from Kurnell in bleep ney up there... Real SHOCK to the system, apart from the fact dude on other shift was shafting his missus while he was at work...

Boab Seads are great to eat, send some down wont ya..
AnswerID: 135908

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 07:46

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 07:46
Hmmmmm....we needed to know that,Trucky?
FollowupID: 389784

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 11:25

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 11:25
I lived up at KN for a while in the 80's. Picked melons for a couple of days, gave that up as a bad joke and worked the local Ford / Nissan Dealer on the spanners. Also built some floodways on the highway.

When we first got there we just set up a camp on the river across from Ivanhoe and lived there. Later, 8 of us rented a shed and we lived in that.

I had great fun but it did get hot and sticky though.
AnswerID: 135976

Reply By: richopesto - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 16:37

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 16:37
A friend of mine up there is the NAB bank manager- Rhett - nice bloke.

His most compelling message is of the suicide rate trebling !! during the 'build up' - great story. Enough to put me off.

Plus, you may find the dry season smoke from burning off as annoying as the weather - we copped so much smoke in two weeks there we left with the "Kunnunurra Cough". Couldnt see across the bay from the lookout at Wyndham for all the smoke - yuk.

Enjoy!

AnswerID: 136038

Reply By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:13

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:13
G'day Nick

You'll love it mate.
Hot, yeah. As long as you get a good nights sleep, no real prob's. Thats why they invented air conditioners.
The wet season storms are brilliant and will leave you in awe of nature.

Where are you going to be working??

Wal.
AnswerID: 136223