Walkers Crossing Tragedy Solved Today

Submitted: Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 12:53
ThreadID: 27507 Views:4607 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
Watch the news tonight for more details, but we have this story first hand from Theo from Birdsville Auto who found and recovered a vehicle whose driver had been missing for 6 months - unfortunately found deceased with the vehicle. She had made a wrong turn on the Walkers Crossing Track and had ended up running out of fuel on the southern end of Pandie Pandie station in an area that sees no traffic, or station activity. She had plenty of water as she had stopped at a fencline alongside an operational water tank and stayed with the vehicle. However the tragedy is that she had no communications and was so far off the track that there was no passer-bys to find her until now. Please take this as a warning of how important it is carry emergency communications equipment.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

Reply By: Trev88 - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 13:09

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 13:09
the value of this life less than $100 for an becan sad should be like the AMEX

Never leave home with out it
AnswerID: 136005

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 13:31

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 13:31
Couldn't agree more. Epirb under the seat at all times.
AnswerID: 136008

Follow Up By: Member - ROTORD - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:05

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:05
Burning the tyres and engine oil with green branchs may have saved a life .
FollowupID: 389830

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:30

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:30
One thing we used to do when in remote areas was chuck a bit of a broggie when heading off in a completely different direction. This made it much easier to backtrack, or be tracked by someone else. Becomes second nature after a while. You can't rely on GPS all the time and finding wheel tracks can be surprisingly hard sometimes.

A good rifle with reasonable range (22-250, 243, 308, 6.5 x 55) is very handy too. She could have survived indefinately where she was by living off fresh meat. You can buy something for the job for $500 easily. Even by just being patient and waiting at the windmill, I'm sure she could have speared something. As mentioned, tyres, seats, trim, oil etc will all make plenty of smoke if it's not too windy.

I don't know all the facts and I don't want to sound like Russell Coight here, but it sounds like an avoidable death unfortunately.
AnswerID: 136013

Follow Up By: GU-r-the-best - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:46

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:46
what a tragic situation. we are actually in the market for a uhf would love some tips and ideas of which is a good hard mounted affordable unit . does anyone know if the uniden uho13 uhf is a good unit.
also michelle i noticed in one of your pics you are using a cobb cooker (wandering what your thoughts are on it)
FollowupID: 389833

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:52

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:52
OK, what's a broggie?

Rifles need a licence, don't they? I do not think hiring one is possible so, getting a rifle, licencing it and all that hassle, just for the odd 4WD trip is too much for the average townie. Besides, how many people can actually hit a moving target? Takes lots of practise and plenty of bullets I would think.
Perhaps there is another reason than lack of food for the person's demise?

I wonder how far smoke signals can bee seen in ideal conditions, given a flat landscape?
FollowupID: 389834

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:00

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:00
Would love to give more info but unfortunately I don't have it first-hand and the phone call was direct from Birdsville with just the necessary facts. Apparently, it will be on the news tonight.

GU-r-the-best (gosh, can't believe I just wrote that!LOL) - to answer your question about the Cobb, its quite an amazing unit actually.We had only just got ours for our last trip and I did find it quite useful, practical and easy to use however for us we also take other cooking units such as camp oven so it was a yet another big round thing to pack!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 389835

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:42

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:42
A broggie is just sinking the boot in around the corner to leave a bit of a skid. Probably not the best thing to do everywhere, but in the areas we're talking about it's fine.

Re: the rifle. I wouldn't think average townies would be travelling to places so remote that no-one goes there for six months at a time. If you travel in that kind of area, you should be well prepared I reckon. I always was. Licence is not too hard to get and a bit of practice is all it takes. A 22magnum is classed as 'low power' and can be got on a 'destruction of vermin' licence without all the letters. That'd do the job. Better than starving to death.

Smoke can be seen for miles and most stations have little Cessna 150's or 172's. Get up a few thousand feet and you can see a fair way. It does all sound a bit strange, I would like to know more about the background to this tragedy.
FollowupID: 389849

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:48

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:48
GU-r-the-best
A uhf while quite handy are very limited/useless when lost as their range is generally only walking distance. I leave mine on scan when driving and when on the tracks The only time it has made a peep was when Meeting up with someone I knew was coming out.
And V8Diesel I like your idea of having the gun for a feed I could just see me explaining to the coppers down Hannan st that it is only there in case I get lost
FollowupID: 389913

Follow Up By: japmel - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:09

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:09
V8Diesel,

Food would be low down on the priority list remember the three 3s

3 minutes without oxygen

3 days without water

3 weeks without food

japmel
FollowupID: 389925

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:00

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:00
She had clean oxygen, unlimited potable water and excellent shelter, so food would be next on the list wouldn't it? You'd last a few months before scurvey set in providing you were careful of parasites.

I've never had a problem with the cops. It is perfectly legal to have a rifle you know. It may be a problem if you live on a mine site that does not allow firearms (99% of them), but apart from that buy a $300 safe, half a dozen dyna bolts and you're compliant. If you are on a minesite, leave it at the gunshop in Boulder (Freelance Supplies?) for a small fee. Nearly every station owner I've met keeps a rifle behind the seat. Each to his own anyway.

Re: the UHF - ditto what Davoe said. HF is what I think you might be talking about. Expensive and requires a bit of skill to operate properly but does have the 'companionship' side of things. Sat phone may be the go.
FollowupID: 389935

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 00:20

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 00:20
V8 I have pistols which i have taken out hunting but they are alot more restricted than rifles. As far as I understand it you can only transport them for the purpose of taking them directly to a shooting range. I was pulled over as a young fella and was kept waiting while I was questioned on the pistols and rego checks were done. I keep them in a big heavy fireproof safe bought from goldfields locksmiths for $150 2nd hand. When I was in South Oz i had a bunny gun (squires Bingham 22 with scope) for 1 hundred and twenty bucks
FollowupID: 389966

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:51

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 14:51
I suppose it's pretty easy to be critical here and it is sad that another life is lost. I was just wondering how this car could go missing for so long? I know it's a big place etc but surely someone reported her missing and had some idea of where she was heading. I would have hoped that someone would have seen her pass through anyone of the last fuel stops and have some idea of the timing. Why then was there no successful search and rescue? She appeares to have done all the right things (apart from getting lost) and should have expected a rescue.

Anyway I personally do not go to remote areas (even a little remote) without my EPIRB and Sat phone. I don't want to have to rely on passer by's and the thought of having dingo/camel for supper would have me hoping for an early rescue.

AnswerID: 136018

Follow Up By: navaraman - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:09

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:09
I seem to recall posters in Maree, B/Ville etc in July when i was up there appealing for info on a single female travelling in a Suzuki (from memory) who was missing but had plenty of food and water on board. Could well be her, Apparently she was an experienced traveller if I remember correctly.
Patrolman Pat
FollowupID: 389924

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:27

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:27
Hello Beatit and Patrolamn Pat,
I vaguely remember a thread on here several months ago asking if anyone had seen a woman fitting what Pat has described.
From memory a fairly extensive search was done for the lady,

Geoff.

FollowupID: 389939

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:34

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:34
Hello again,

Just did an archive search and found this,
Post ID 23676

Bear in mind this may have nothing to do with the person found today, I just happened to remember reading this post months ago.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 389941

Reply By: GU-r-the-best - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:06

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:06
lol sorry bout the nic . thanks for your response usually our cookers are connected to gas although when going bush have a camp oven but good to here from someone that has used a cobb.
AnswerID: 136020

Follow Up By: Phil P - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:24

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:24
Hate to respond about a Cobb in this thread with the bad news, but anyway we have a Cobb oven with the Pizza tray option. I can't fault the product, it cooks a roast really well with 7-8 heatbeads, we have made pizzas & cakes when travelling. The big problem is the space it takes. You also need to carry a bag of heatbeads. Unless you have heaps of cargo room when travelling, I'd give it a miss.
FollowupID: 389865

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:30

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 15:30
Hi Michelle

Your pics are just fantastic. Can't believe Chardae is now 18 months old. Will have to update my pics!

Will watch the news tonight - very unpleasant story.

AnswerID: 136024

Reply By: GU-r-the-best - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:51

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:51
thanks for the tip we will most likely tow a trailer but yes it does bear thinking about because we are a family of five so space is vital. but at the same time trying to prepare meals to feed the tribe all at once can be time consuming so always looking for convenience.
AnswerID: 136056

Follow Up By: GU-r-the-best - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:09

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:09
thanks davoe for the info on the uhf. what do u know about the aerial have been told the better the quality and if u are in an area with repeaters your signal can be fin . i guess it depends on how remote the area is.
FollowupID: 389955

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 00:28

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 00:28
If you are in an area with repeaters it means you are in a well travelled area. Good ariels may see you get better reception. Problems like this lady experienced are not that easy to get yourself in when travelling tourist routes it is only when you get off the beaten tracks and notice you cant see any recent tyre tracks you could run into trouble. I am in the process of getting a HF because many of the tracks in the goldfields arnt well travelled (some of the tracks I can still see my tyre tracks from a year ago) and until now I have been relying on telling people where I am going
FollowupID: 389967

Follow Up By: GU-r-the-best - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:20

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:20
thanks davoe , so it does answer my question in a way. really it depends where it is your going to what is going to support your needs. i do plan on going off the track venturing in the middle one day but with a young family not yet . so for now i think uhf will be fine. thanks for the tip
FollowupID: 389985

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:01

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:01
Yes it was the single female in the Suzuki - everywhere in Birdsville were posters asking for news of her. V8 - rifle would have been no good in the circumstances as in an area where there were no cattle - the area was 'locked up' (in cattleman terms) and not much native wildlife running around (very dry). She had already been off Walkers Crossing and guided by some Moomba workers back onto the Walkers Crossing after telling them she was heading for Birdsville, then must have strayed north off the track again. Hazard a guess - about 30 klms south of Page Family Grave. Because there were no cattle in that area there was no need to check dams and waterholes. Amazing series of circumstances.
Travellers gets very 'antsy' when we in Birdsville ask questions about where they are going, what gear do they have, what experience, what communications - we really do this for their own safety and sake. This particular incident brings home very strongly that those people who 'purloin, flog, steal, take, souvenir' road signs should feel very, very bad. Our Shire has a crew just going round replacing such signs - especially the small BDV 360/340/320 klms signs which are normally placed every 20 klms - on the Windorah road they are non-existent now.
The area where she went missing is criss-crossed with roads and tracks used by oil rigs. UHF, HF, Satellite, EPIRB - what a difference it might have made.
AnswerID: 136430

Follow Up By: atoyot - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:06

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:06
Hi, Ruth,

We were with Glenn who bought you a package from Sydney a month ago. Your post on this wasn't there when I posted, but it was interesting reading your thoughts after expressing mine. I just wish people would consider the impact that their actions might have on others when souveneiring signs,

FollowupID: 390296

Reply By: atoyot - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:22

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:22
I can understand why a wrong turn was taken on Walkers Crossing. We went that way a few weeks ago, and from Innaminka, there were a number of signs that appear to have been knocked off. Whilever we have morons that take a liking to a road sign to places like "Birdsville" and pinch them, there is always going to be a risk that something like this might happen. A mate of mine came back down from Birdsville to Moomba and found the same situation - road signs knocked off. He had a lot of trouble finding the right road, and that was using a Magellan Colour with the latest maps. I suppose that the other aspect to this is that there seem to be a lot of new tracks in the area (exploration roads perhaps) that aren't signposted and people mistakenly take them and find themselves lost.

I understand that after the Birdsville races, just about every sign in town with the word "Birdsville" on it got knocked off, and that happens every year. Ruth at the caravan park told us that their sign now is welded on as high as it is to deter morons from knocking it off. Then again, if that's the price they pay for having the numbers of visitors that they get there then, we can't complain. However, pinching signs on remote roads is a bit different. It can end up in someone dying. I don't know if that is the case with this sad incident, but I can see the dangerous potential.

It's already been mentioned here, but if the lastest nagivation gismo's don't help, a HF, Satphone, Epirb etc can mean the difference between life and death.

AnswerID: 136434