Trip to Yarranderie NSW

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:59
ThreadID: 27547 Views:4724 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
I want to head up to Yarranderie for the weekend. Any problems I should know about with taking a O/R camper pulled by a Patrol? There also seems to be a problem when wet. Am I pushing my luck for this weekend with a bit a rain around?

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:02

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:02
Depends which way you go.

From memory , you can follow a decent dirt road all the way through to Yerranderie which would give you little to no grief at all.

Its only when you start taking the Tracks that things are likely to get interesting. The tracks down into Dingo Dell and Limeburners are quite steep and would be very difficult in wet conditions.
AnswerID: 136229

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:08

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:08
That's true - you can take the old Orange stock route all the way through - a pretty benign drive.
FollowupID: 390063

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:48

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:48
G'day,

that'd be the Old Oberon - Colong stock route? :)

If you go in this way, you may have the opportunity to get up to date track info over the UHF or in person, which may enable you to go back via Dingo Dell or Limeburner's. Have a great time.

my favourite part of NSW, Kanangra Country.
FollowupID: 390080

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:55

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:55
Whoops - yup. Oberon - not Orange......sorry....typing without engaging brain again.
FollowupID: 390081

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:05

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:05
Fredl - are you going in from the Katoomba/Jenolan side (via Kowmung) or from Mittagong (via Limeburners)?

Both are a bit touch and go in really wet conditions - but I think the Limeburners option is probably a little easier with a camper. The other way is a bit steep coming up out of Kowmung. We were there a few weeks ago and the Kowmung River was nearly over my 33's.
AnswerID: 136231

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:09

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:09
Hi Chrispy ,Hi Fredl ,
Once I went on a Geological Museum weekend excursion to Yerranderie and we checked out the old silver mine and where they used to mine quartz crystals for radios during the war .

We went in from the Jenolan side and it was a very good road all the way . We went back to Sydney on a track out across the Wollondilly River a few hundred meters above Waragamba Dam . It is Waterboard land with locked gates and a Waterboard man was guiding us through . Apparently people who worked or had houses at Yerranderie could avail themselves of this shortcut to Sydney every Sunday afternoon .

It was a very scenic trip back and took about a tenth of the time to get home that it took Sydney to there via the Jenolan Road .

I am not sure if we mere mortals are allowed to avail ourselves of this service or not. I should ring the Waterboard and find out because it is incredible scenery - you just would not believe you could be so close to such a large city .

You may have trouble getting across the 100m wide ( but shallow )Wollondilly River with your CT, if there has been a bit of rain .

Years later we used to drive in through Yerranderie to fish for the trout running up the Kowmung during the spawning run in the winter . The owners and the NP people have made it very difficult to get in there now .

Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 390085

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:12

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:12
Good trip Willie !! :)

I've always wanted to go on that one. Apparently you CAN still organise it with the Waterboard - you just need to have a group of you, that's all. It'd be a great club trip for those that haven't been that way - and that includes me :)

FollowupID: 390086

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:18

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:18
Chris ,
Maybe we should organise an EOpeople weekend away . We could stay at my land on the Abercrombie River and then come back to Sydney via Yerranderie and the Wollondilly River crossing .
Willie .
FollowupID: 390091

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:23

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:23
Willie - that sounds like a grand plan :) What a great weekend that would be.

Where are you on the Abercrombie?

If you're in, then I'd love to do it. Anyone else???????

Also - we could use our place on the Murrumbidgee later in the year and do a few trips around there (Cooma area) too......

FollowupID: 390093

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:31

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:31
I've got an old mate in the RFS who used to work that ground with the Water Board. He gave me all these beaut old hand drawn maps, love my my maps and history. Sounds like a good idea....
FollowupID: 390096

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:31

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:31
Chris ,
We own the land between the junction of the Abercrombie and the Isabella Rivers . It is very steep and pituresque and useless for farming .
It is even to steep to plant pines on so they sold it off and we just use it for camping .
Where are you on the bidgee ? I have kayaked the river from Youak to Cooma in my younger days . A beautiful trip and a few trout .
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 390097

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:40

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:40
Sounds like a great spot Willie. We love our steep land too, and much of Omaroo is too steep to build a road on (piccy's: www.omaroo.net - then go to "Photo Gallery" from the main menu on the left).

We are on the 'Bidgee right where it's at it's closest to Dry Plains Road at Peak and Wambrook Creeks.

Hey bushfix - you in on thois trip too?

FollowupID: 390099

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:43

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:43
Heck , I'm in.

No reciprocial camping property unfortunately . . .

Maybe I can bring along some of my discounted $10 wine ;)
FollowupID: 390100

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:51

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:51
Chris , Flappa , Bushfix ,
I am keen if you guys are . Can you guys member message an email to me and we will organise it . Shall we do it on a long weekend ?
Chris , the other guys are in Sydney , but where are you - Monaro ?
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 390114

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:02

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:02
any opportunity to get bush again in beautiful Kanangra country!

trouble is, need plenty of notice. I have every second Monday off on RDO (thank God for the Union) but need to respect the deal for my wife back home. I can take the 2, 4 and 7 yo with me, can't make it a blokes only trip. This year is just about sewn up though and I will probably be heading through the Kowmung on the way home from Taralga in a few weeks.
I reckon that track Willie is referring to is the Scotts Main Range track. I will also do what I can to find out about any possibility of access.

just need to know what dates you blokes had in mind .
FollowupID: 390117

Follow Up By: timglobal - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:03

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:03
I'm planning a trip that way on the first weekend in November. Did the loop this time last year and were joined in Dingo Dell by a guy in a cruiser with a trailer camper set-up who seemed to be OK.

Keen to say play on tracks around there.

Tim
FollowupID: 390118

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:36

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:36
Willie - we actually live down near Appin (S/W Sydney) during the week - and Cooma on the weekends until we bet our butts into gear and build a house down there.... so no problems there.

I know we're pretty tight on time until the end of the year (maybe none, actually) - but do you guys think you want us to organise (between us) a cross-dam run (bushfix's Scotts 'Main Range' track)?

Even if Jenny is working, I'll try to make it along!! I think that a good long weekend early in the new year would be the best bet for us though. That way we could organise a good group who are interested in doing something that not many get to do or see. How cool is this?
FollowupID: 390123

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:06

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:06
sorry guys, was thinking of another track. i will consult ye olde maps.

will keep further correspondence on this off this post too now :) thanks fredl.
FollowupID: 390192

Reply By: Trev88 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:16

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:16
Hi Fred

I was up there 2 weeks ago came in from Mittagitagong through wombeyan caves Thats were I recomend you set up base camp and day trip if you want to 4WD.

The trip in to Yarranderie from the Janolan end is on a good diret road you wont have any problems with the trailer.

There are two camp spots in Yarranerie in town (bear in mind town is privatly owned and they charge for everything not unreasonably) or just out on the top of the hill the other side of the air strip. no facilites and fairly dry.

A week end is all you will need there they run guided tours which are good and the grave yard is intersting.

trevor
AnswerID: 136234

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:58

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:58
If you want, Val has restored Slippery Norris's old digs - and they're a great place to park the wife and yourself for the night - we've done it and it's fascinating. Not expensive and rolling in local history.

Also - make sure you walk the couple of hundred metres to the old silver mines. It's a loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong way down.................................... :)
FollowupID: 390082

Reply By: ian g - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:16

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:16
g'gay Fredl i live in Oberon. (Emergency Services.) i was down along the Yerranderrie Rd (Colong stock route) a few weeks back. Oberon to Yerranderrie takes about 2 hours travelling . There are about 3 or 4 creeks to cross usally dry but usually passable. Suggest you keep an eye on the weather a couple of days before travelling up here. Take your time the road is graded at the moment but could get a bit rutted with traffic. Take the the time to stop at the Aborginal site on the left going in about half way in. you can stop for a cuppa at the stone hut on left as well. The village and museum are worth the look for the history of the place. You should not have any problem. Nearest fuel and supplies is Oberon
AnswerID: 136304

Reply By: fredl - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:53

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:53
Thanks all for the good info. Looks like we started a movement with all the interest. I will give it a go unless it is p...ing with rain.
AnswerID: 136316

Reply By: Disco Td5 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:03

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 20:03
G'day - fredl ,

There are easy and not so easy tracks that lead to Yerranderie .
The easiest way is through Oberon and the old settlers road which is well sign posted off the Oberon / Goulburn road .

It depends on your off road driving experience as to it being a challenge or not for yourself and whilst towing a camper trailer .

Since this is a new trip for yourself - and no-one on the forum actually knows your experience or your vehicles capabilities - your main question is very hard to answer .

I have taken 4wd's with Camper trailers through the harder sections - in wet weather - down the Kowmung Fire Trail - but all trip participants were very experienced 4wdrivers - and their vehicles had traction aids like diff locks etc .

I have also been down the Kowmung Fire Trail with another group - and this group lost a vehicle off the the side of the track in wet weather - not enough caution !!

A lot more information would be required to give you an honest and realistic answer to your question .

If you take the easy route in from Oberon - you should have no problems .
The tracks are clay based - so - 'slow down' - and you will be ok !.

As to the old 'Water Resources' trips that 'were' being run from Yerranderie to Mittagong - on the old fire trail - - these trips are 'long time' gone !!
Update your resource contacts if you are contemplating taking a few mates down to this area of the Ozzy Bush .

All the best ,
Disco Td5 .

AnswerID: 136322

Reply By: fredl - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 09:25

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 09:25
G'day Disco
I have a fair bit of 4wd experiance but not down a steep wet hill with a 1ton CT on the back. The CT has electric brakes but I guess I will suss out the conditions on the day and go from there. With the missus next to me I don't anticipate taking any risks. I will probably park the ct somewhere and then just wander around. Got Friday off so will be able to get there before it gets too busy.
Cheers & thanks for your advice.
Fred
AnswerID: 136423

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:44

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:44
Flappa ,
Can you send me a member message ? I am not sure if you can or not .
If not , can you contact Chrispy or Bushfix re this Abercrombie trip and put in your ideas about when to go .
Thanks ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 136449

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 12:18

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 12:18
Not a member , so messaging would be out.

Chrispy can get me over on one of those "other" sites in need. He knows which.

I'm open.

Other then directly over Xmas , I'm pretty OK.

I'm located in Canberra.
FollowupID: 390220

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 15:31

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 15:31
Hi Fred,

As suggested in a previous reply, if you use the main track in from the Bathurst/Goulburn Road you remove any doubts about traversing Limeburners or the Kowmung tracks. I would suggest that to be the way to go on you first trip in to Yarranderie.
Is the track difficult? It's a bit like how long is a piece of string, my first trip was a one dayer round trip via Mittagong, Abercrombie Caves Jenolan etc. sticking to what would be called the main roads/tracks. I was driving a n XF Fairmont Ghia on that trip and had no troubles even though it was raining lightly off and on all day, however I do admit to the fact that company cars automatically come with higher ground clearance than those purchased privately.
Free camping is available in the Government Paddock by the old police station or as My wife and I did on one busy long weekend you can pull of into some of the old grazing paddocks out of site of the roads. Not the Ford on that trip but the old Bravo 4WD.
I have not had an opportunity to take my camper in as yet but fully intend to do so as its a fascinating place, particuarly the old cemetery as mentioned in one of the earlier replies. My trailer also comes in well over a tonne, (electric brakes) and it would take a heck of a lot of rain to turn me of the trip.
Don't forget the Abercrombie River National Park for another weekend, we had a great weekend up there but its not a place for Long Weekends, strictly "off peak"

AnswerID: 136479

Reply By: Member - Scrubba (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:26

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:26
Hi Fredl,

This link should tell you lots about:
Yerranderie
including latest road conditions.
AnswerID: 136541