fridges - or ice
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:07
Gronk
Hi all. I currently use a finch 36ltr fridge which is all I need in cool weather but as everyone knows struggles a bit in hot weather. Am thinking of trying an icebox,assume most of the good brands are similar in performance. I need something that will last up to 7 days of keeping my beer cold(don't care about the food) Has anybody had good success with any iceboxes? The reason I'm not considering an Engel(or Waeco) is I like to have the eski beside the tent and not have to go to the back of the car to get a beer etc and I don't like the idea of having to charge the batts in the car every second day (I also haven't got a second batt) If only I could learn to drink hot beer and live on sandwiches !
Reply By: Rojac - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:22
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 22:22
Have a 60ltr evakool ice box. Works great. Travelled down the River Road ,
Bourke -
Tilpa -
Wilcannia several years back.
Temp around 46 deg. Ice box in back of ute under canopy. Was keeping ice/content cold bet 2-3 days. Transfered beers to normal esky ( ice in that lasted about 6 hours) at beginning of day and tried not to open evakool to often. Was only using crushed bought along the way.
Reply By: Nick R - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 23:32
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 23:32
Howdy,
Did 5 days in the lower
glenelg nat
park in april, mild weather, used a Kookaburra??? with a 10kg block and 2 x 1.25 kg blocks of ice, brought most of it home too, always kept it in the shade and all the food went in frozen and the drinks refrigerated. best to pour off the
water as it melts and limit opening the box as much as possible.
Had a mate raft the
grand canyon, 35-40 degrees and they managed to keep ice for at least 2 weeks, at the end of each day they put the eskys in the shade with lots of wet towels and gear over them, poured off excess
water and sealed some for later use so only used 1 or 2 at a time. they would also put ice blocks together when they finished an esky.
The limiting factor to you would be what quantity of beer will you consume in a week.......
NickR
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 23:52
Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 23:52
Been there done that with eskys and ice----get an Engel with dual batteries and you will never look back.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 06:26
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 06:26
I would love to hear about an ice box that keeps ice for 7 days in summer. Lots claim to keep ice for 5 days, and given the right ambient they will. Not worth the risk of a warm beer mate.
Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:40
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:40
Pro fishermen keep their ice by putting rock salt on top and then a wet bag, don't know how long it keeps but worth a try.
I use a hose with a small black connector for clicking onto a 13m sprinkler system fitted , and place that in the bung hole to drain the
water off .
Makes the ice last much longer.
Pedro
Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:45
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:45
Not worth the risk of a warm beer mate.
Couldnt of put it better myself..
Reply By: Volante - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:52
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:52
Gronk previously had an Evakool esky
http://www.evakool.com.au/evakool.shtml which was great. Ice outlasted other brands when with the mates. After my small lotto win invested in fridge and solar system
My son bought a small 18L fridge from the Fridge
Shop for $450
http://www.fridgeshop.com.au/ and purchased a Kit55w for $545
http://members.dodo.net.au/~landline/solarkits.htm
works a treat and uses the esky with ice to store the veges and fruit
Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:12
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:12
Probably be pushing it to get 7 days out of a drink Icebox. I have got 5 out of my Waeco Icebox in Summer.
I had a lengthly chat to the guys from Downunder Iceboxes a few days ago.
Generally , you can expect an extra Day or 2 out of a Fibreglass Icebox , then one of the Poly Iceboxes from
places like Tropical. The construction process and insulation allows it. The problem is , they aren't as robust as the Poly ones , which are almost indestructable.
It seems that most of the Fibreglass ones, Downunder, Waeco, EvaKool , claim the same sort of figures , and AFAIK , they would be right. Same as the Poly makers, IceKool, Tropical etc.
For my money , the Tropicals are good value. I saw a 50l one for $199 at the show. The same size Fibreglass is over $300
Reply By: Spade Newsom - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:14
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:14
I have a 110 litre and a 40 litre evakool icebox.
One time I had the 40 litre full of frozen fish and placed it in the 110 litre and packed the whole lot in party ice. It was in the sun much of the time in Autumn North Qld. Too heavy to lift in and out of shade. The 110 litre was kept tightly closed. After 7 days much of the ice had melted to a cold slurry however the fish was still frozen solid in the 40 litre.
Not really a normal scenario however I swear by me evakool. I think you could keep beer cold for seven days however you would have to keep the lid closed the whole time and not let any cold air out. A bit hard to drink that way.