4wds BANNED!

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 00:09
ThreadID: 27592 Views:3706 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
4WDs banned from shark fishing
October 26, 2005 - 4:49PM

The NSW Government has banned the use of four-wheel-drives and surfboards to land great white sharks from the beach.

The ban was announced after a group of men were caught on film landing sharks from seats mounted on four-wheel-drives.

They had earlier paddled offshore on surfboards to drop salmon baits in deeper water.

NSW Primary Industries Minister Ian Macdonald said the ban was immediate, and applied to areas between the Stockton and Hawks Nest beaches in the Newcastle region, north of Sydney.

It prohibits the use of heavy fishing equipment, fishing lines with a wire trace, and baits weighing more than 200 grams.

The minister said the ban was in response to the actions of the fishermen, who were tagging and releasing juvenile sharks in the area using off-road vehicles and surfboards.

"Several fishers have been catching and releasing juvenile great white sharks by using a surfboard to swim salmon baits out to sharks, and then landing them from a chair mounted on a vehicle," Mr Macdonald said.

Legitimate operations of other commercial and recreational fishers would not be affected, he said.

"Actively attracting great white sharks to beaches is highly dangerous for the fishers and other users of the beach," Mr Macdonald said.

"This type of activity is also potentially harmful to the sharks, which are a protected species and should not be targeted by anglers."

The ban is in place from the shoreline between the northern breakwater of the Hunter River at Stockton to the Big Gibber, north of Hawks Nest, and extends 500 metres out to sea.

Any breach of the ban could result in a $22,000 fine, six months in jail, or both.

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 06:22

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 06:22
WALOC
AnswerID: 136560

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:50

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 07:50
Actually Brew it isnt, I have been following the story on these boys on my dive forum , I think all the divers ( greenies ) will be happy with the outcome
AnswerID: 136569

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 06:36

Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 06:36
Time to lift the ban on Great Whites and start the cull IMO. The next generation will thank us.
FollowupID: 390493

Reply By: Member - John (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:24

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:24
they've got it in for us haven't they?
shouldn't it read
D..KHEADS BANNED FROM SHARK FISHING
AnswerID: 136573

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:52

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 08:52
Saw this coming, for those that didn't see the story apart from catching the sharks they were also showing off the attachment they'd made for the bull bar, like a seat on a fishing boat. And in one bit of the footage a guy was sitting in the seat while someone else drove down the beach as he reeled in the shark.

Not saying whether it's right or wrong, but said to Steve it'll be banned tomorrow and the word 4WD will be in the headlines again.

Sandy
AnswerID: 136577

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:07

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 09:07
Not arguing for or against (but I like this type of fishing) I find it trully amazing how quickly this has happened. Saw the story on telly Tuesday and this today - WOW -I wish that the polies could move this quick on issues that were really important.

I agree I could see it coming as well because of the publicity - pretty dumb I thought and a bit of overeaction I reckon. They could have stopped this by merely applying existing laws that prohibit targetting protected species.

Are we due for an election????

AnswerID: 136580

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 12:20

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 12:20
What a load of CRAP!! In my opinion the story highlighted the number of Great Whites that are off the coast. I seriously doubt that a few dead Salmon as baits are going to attract the sharks to the beach (especially since there was footage of a shark swimming amoungst thousands of Salmon. I believe that the tagging program that the fishermen are carrying out could turn into extremely valuable research into the movements and number of Great Whites off the coast of Australia. The use of the 4WD is a practical solution to try and catch (and release) the sharks in the quickest time possible, reducing potential harm to the sharks.
My 2 cents worth...
Drew
ps - Endangered species - yeah right!!!
AnswerID: 136620

Follow Up By: Rojac - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 12:28

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 12:28
So Drew next time when you or your kids go ( or some other poor bugger) swimming at Stockton Beach and get taken by a GW attracted to the shore by retards, what will your attitude be then, good research value.......I dont think so
FollowupID: 390376

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 12:58

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 12:58
As I said above, I would seriously doubt that a few dead Salmon as bait would attract a Great White. I believe they would already be there because of the Salmon. I go diving every weekend and now wear a 'Shark Shield' after a close encounter with a number of sharks. Those sharks werent there because some 'retard' attracted them. Being from WA I cant comment on Stockton beach, as I have never been there, but whenever I am down south I am always very cautiuons about where and at what time I swim. Believe me I am no lover of Great Whites - if they were all killed the water would be a better place to swim! I just think research needs to be done, and by banning these guys from tagging them wont help...
FollowupID: 390385

Follow Up By: Rojac - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 13:10

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 13:10
Therefore based on your logic lets go out and execute ever fool that caused death by dangerous driving, DUI, speed etc and the roads would be safer.

A rather narrow minded attitude perhaps, it is their natural habitat after all. If everyone had your attitude and exterminated everything that was hated there wouldnt be much left.

Rarther extremist akin to Harold Scrotum and his crusade against 4x4.
FollowupID: 390389

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 13:30

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 13:30
Fair enough - your point is taken. Lets get back to 4WDing, camping, working out which fridge to buy etc
Drew
FollowupID: 390392

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 19:13

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 19:13
Sorry, the tagging exercise was bull bleep .

I had earlier this week written to the Newcastle and Port Stephens Game Fishing Club asking for details of the tagging program these guys are supposedly participating in (I am a fisherman, diver, oh, and a 4WDer!), and to the club's credit I received a very quick formal written response.

The club secreatary says the club has not been notified of any details of not even a SINGLE tag used by these guys (to club is supposed to be notified of the details of any gamefish tags applied by club members, and the club forwards the tagging data to NSW DPI), and the club is in fact taking disciplinary action against the members for their actions involving GWS fishing. The club's own rules state that GWS are NOT to be targeted as part of the club's Tag and Release activities, and that's exactly what these guys were doing. Great Whites are a protected threatened species, and part of the ocean's natural environment. The guys' own fishing club doesn't condone their actions, and wants no association with any of their actions, including the tagging activity being undertaken. The club basically disassociated itself in the letter from anything these guys had to do with GWS. Hardly sounds like a legitimate tagging exercise was being executed.

Drew - saying the ocean would be better off without GWS is like saying Australian bush is better off without the thylacine, or the Kalahari would be better off without lions. As a diver you are in the minority making those statements my friend.

Typical of the bloody media though to call it "4WD fishing". bleep , does that mean I'm 4WD fishing if I drive up to Lake Eildon?
FollowupID: 390442

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 09:55

Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 09:55
Scubaroo,
Yes, I realise my comment about the ocean being better off with out Great Whites was wrong - written in the heat of the moment while trying to get a point across (that I didnt make very well at all)!! Like you I fish, dive and 4WD - usually doing all of it every weekend. I suppose the point that I was trying to make is that research (of a legitimate type) into the numbers and movement of Great Whites surely has to be a good thing.
Drew
FollowupID: 390515

Reply By: sastra - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 15:01

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 15:01
G'day, its Mark, the much maligned shark
We've had some bad press recently
Sure, I understand your high emotion but hey, you're in my ocean!
Licenced humans on roads irresponsibly will
Drive without care this Christmas and kill
Would you chase down and kill those perpetrators?
Or is that just reserved for us, super natural predators?
AnswerID: 136647

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:01

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:01
how could you possibly compare killing a great white shark ( maneater) with dangerous driving etc? kill the sharks save the kids!
AnswerID: 136663

Reply By: Member - Ray - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 20:16

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 20:16
As a diver and a 4wdr I shouldn't even enter this debate but I cant resist.
The blokes may be fools or have the best of intentions but lets not us grt into a slanging match with each other.over this. Stick to what we know will benefit each other.
AnswerID: 136684

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:05

Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:05
I also most apologise in advance for making another post on this subject. BUT I think the main point here is (thanks Trucky) just how quickly these pollies can move and regulate you and me. It matters not how many or few (in this case) have upset them, or most likely some minority group. Or how factual the concerns are, they can and do remove priviledges at the stroke of a computer key that affect everyone.

AnswerID: 136755