Submitted: Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:52
revhead307
ive got myself into a spin, and would appreciate some advice.
Im looking for an auxillary battery for my dual battery system to run a car fridge im about to purchase, and some
camping fluoro's. (going to buy an evakool RF60 - DT). i think im unrealistic in my needs..as the batteries ive looked at are all $300 - $400. (optima, gel cell style)
the facts
1) it needs to be sealed, as its going in the cab.
2) max time ill be camped without running the vehicle is about 2 days.
3) needs to be deep cycle cos i dont want to kill it by running the fridge for that sort of period.
4) $150 - $250 price range.
any advice is welcomed.
Rev
Reply By: jason - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:58
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:58
Rev if u look on the net & stay away from the big brand retailers u can get some good bargins. The is a place in brissy (can't remember the name) selling a 90amphr deep cyclr for about $170
pooley
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 20:36
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 20:36
Rev,
I suggest you contact Mr. Val at Fridge and Solar and talk to him about an AGM battery.
I purchased a 120 a/h battery for about $300 and it ran my Waeco 110litre fridge extremely
well on trip to
Broome recently.
Val knows his stuff and is very helpful. He sends gear all over Australia.
check out his site, and in particular the story on AGM batteries
Pedro
Reply By: Ingenious - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 20:55
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 20:55
Optima is a Absorbed Glass Matt constructed battery not a Gel Cell. (Most Gel batteries are not suited to being charged from the vehicles charging system)
There are plenty of other brands of A.G.M. batteries in 90 to 100 amp/hr range for between $200<$300. Just ask for AGM type batteries NOT Gel and you should find what you need.
One other thing you really need between 120amp/hr to 150amp/hr to do what your asking & stay within the optimum cycling range which will enable the battery to give it's full life span of 5 to 10 years depending on brand & temp.
Reply By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 21:28
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 21:28
Giday Rev, I have just bought a gq. & it has an 'odysey' battery as the aux.[it was the only type that would fit in the space!] having NO exp. with this design I asked my 'leckie' about them, & also 'battery world' here on the coast, [they also sell them] they both were very positive in the fact that they are the best starting battery money can buy,BUT, did not recomend them as a aux.[not designed for slow discharge].In my system they have wired the fridge plug to the starting for that reason. I,m going to put a deep cycle in the camper/t to overcome this . $170. no maintenance type ..Just my 2c worth, good luck.
Phil.
Reply By: revhead307 - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 22:42
Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 22:42
thanks, for the replies ill have another look around.
go the GQ's
Rev
Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 00:12
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 00:12
Why not look at the new calcium/calcium sealed cranking batteries @$110.00
A good mate of
mine uses one in his 80 series to run a 40L engel and one fluro, and gets 2 to 3 days out of it no worries. The battery might only last 2 to 3 years but at least he's not forking out $300 every 6 to 7 years which works out to be the same.
I use an N70ZZ size deep cycle and find that it takes a long time to recharge.
Reply By: phatblattery - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 00:38
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 00:38
Not sure where ur located, but if in
sydney gives these guys a call.
AGm, Deep Cycle, 12mnth warranty
PHONE: 0297557851
ADDRESS: 30/76 Hume Highway
Lansvale,NSW 2166
100ah @ $165-00
150ah @ $220-00
200ah @ $250-00
These guys are whosale speacialists in batteries. Bought my battery from them and have never looked backed. Ran my waeco 50ltr fridge 4days straight along with some fluros.
Ask for Craig.
Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:45
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:45
Rang these guys. Firstly answered by lady who I had diffculty understanding and her me.
Finally got to speak to someone else.
AGM what's that?
Want the highest rating battery that will fit a 185 x 260 mm tray.
Have to talk to the boss!!!
Maybe it's Friday!
Follow Up By: jabiru - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 06:26
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 06:26
Yeah,
Ross I reckon it must have been Friday.
I rang on Friday afternoon and asked for Craig. I was told he was in a meeting. So I asked for anyone else who knew about batteries.
Sorry but everyone is in the same meeting but Craig will ring me back.
Much to my surprise he did ring back (now that's a good
sign) we had a quick discussion on what type/size of battery would suit my needs and he said he would fax over the specs and prices.
Today is tuesday and I am still waiting for the fax, sent him a reminder email but no response.
Maybe others will have better luck.
Jabiru
Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:29
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:29
Jabiru,
Picked up this company name from another thread on this
forum.
Fridge and Solar
val@fridge-and-solar.net
Sent them an e-mail (they're in Qld) and got a very detailed response the next day.
Reply By: revhead307 - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:17
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:17
Thanks again to all, for the info.
i think i'll head towards a cheaper brand of AGM as mentioned. im in WA so long way from
sydney etc..but can enquire about freight.
like the ability to charge faster than deep cycle, and other properties of AGM without having to
fork out a fortune.
Rev
Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:34
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 10:34
Rev contact
Challenge Batteries
19 Pearson Way,
Osborne
Park, WA 6017
Mon-Fri 7:30am- 5:00pm
Sat 8:30am-12:00pm
Tel: (08) 9446-6122
Fax: (08) 9446-6061
Email: challeng@eon.net.au
Ask for Graeme.
Follow Up By: revhead307 - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 11:19
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 11:19
Thanks Mainey,
Called them and im buying a 100AH fullriver AGM for $209.
Within my budget and should suit my application reasonably
well.
Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 13:15
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 13:15
Sory I should have checked with them first, Graeme's on holidays, Chris has looked after you with the fullriver at a nice price !
was it the name? cause it can't be the face L0L
Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 13:51
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 13:51
Rev,
What's the physical dimensions of the 100 AH unit? I only have 185 mm x 260 mm but want the largest rated deep cycle I can get that will fit the auuxilliary battery tray under the bonet. My current wet cell is an 85 AH unit.
Follow Up By: revhead307 - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 14:54
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 14:54
Ross,
The 100AH AGM from challenge batteries is 331Lmm x 17.5Wmm x 23.9H
My only concern was the width as its had to be under 18cm to fit where i want it in the back.
I have a 24v imported patrol ...2 batteries already under the bonnet in series...this 3rd battery (this AGM) is being charged by a 30A GSL 24-12v battery charger so i can go
camping...
bring on the good life :-)
Thanks Mainey and others for you help in my decision.
Rev
Follow Up By: revhead307 - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 14:55
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 14:55
sorry 331mm x 175mm x 239mm
Follow Up By: Member - Ross P (NSW) - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 15:04
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 15:04
Thanks Rev,
Looks like the 100 AH is a bit too big for me. I was hoping the AGM would be small enough in that size for me but alas it seems I will have to be happy with 80 or 85 AH
Reply By: phil - Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 11:59
Friday, Oct 28, 2005 at 11:59
Hi Rev,
Many people have found that the N70 size Exide Extreme, 80AH, battery is a good compromise between various factors. They can withstand charge/discharge cycles better than ordinary cranking batteries, recharge rapidly which is important if you do not drive all day, and seem to come on special fairly often at about $110
Deep cycle batteries do not combine
well with normal cranking batteries in a dual battery setup because of differing charging requirements.
Whoops, Just re-read your post and see that it must be sealed so Extreme no good.
Phil I
Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:21
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 23:21
Rev
So now you have the battery, tell us what you think of their performance :-)
Mainey...