Any advice on Landcruiser Bushcampers to go round Australia?
Submitted: Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 10:22
PunterGirl
Hi there,
I've just finished uni and plan to do a round Australia trip before I start work. Just wondering if anyone has ever rented or owned one of those Landcruiser Bushcampers? Are they any good?
Would be cheaper to rent one, or buy one and sell it after a year? I'm a bit scared of owning one in case I get into any problems.
I've found one which looks kinda nice for $26,990 on carpoint. Is that a fair price?
Its at
http://carpoint.ninemsn.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?UsedCarID=1303967&TabID=3328&Alias=carpointau
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 12:38
Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 12:38
I too have looked at the Bushcampers but have found that when they are priced around the $20K plus they have done high kilkometres. The one you are looking at has done 215,000km which is a reasonable distance over 7 years.
Normally these are very strong vehicles and should do around 500,000km without problems. Some of these models had gearbox problems. Have a look at it and if you are still interested take it to your motoring association NRMA or the like for a thorough check-up before buying. Also have a look at
http://au.geocities.com/aym_ng/Landcruiser.html where there is more detail on the vehicle.
You should get your money back or close to it if you decide to sell it again after completing your trip.
Happy travels
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:11
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:11
From my experience trying to sell landcruiser campervans for even a quarter of this price is extremely difficult with very little intrest
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:13
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:13
I even had people others with simular vehicles contacting me and asking if I had sold and I f I had any ideas what you could do to sell one
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:46
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 18:46
Hi Davoe
This is not the type of wagon you are talking about. This is a Troopy with a pop top roof and all built-ins. You had a home made high roof camper built on to a ute chassis....correct?
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 19:36
Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 19:36
It was advertised just as a landcruiser campervan in the kalgoorlie miner, Quokka (trading post), Sunday times, Auto trader and here on Exploreoz with very little intrest and even fewer enquirys from genuine buyers. It came with a lot more room and probably more features than the averadge troopy campervan
Reply By: Pterosaur - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 14:16
Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 14:16
G'day,
I have a similar vehicle - a bit more recent, but from my experience, go for it !
Subject to geting a good report from NRMA - you will be able to arrange an inspection from interstate if needed - cost about $200 - but great for peace of mind, IMHO.
Price looks good too.
General info. on the Troopy users group at
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/TROOPYoz
where there are quite a few owners of similar vehicles
Terry
2003 HZJ78 Troopy camper
Reply By: stevesub - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 15:29
Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 15:29
We have a Troopy with the same setup but a 2000 model - perfect for us. All you will need is a second spare wheel/tyre, recovery gear, CB, EPIRB and 4wd
driver training. The conversion was done by Safari Campers in
Adelaide and seems to be
well put together on our one. The Troopys with this conversion were originally owned by Orix Lease Cars or Hertz in the main.
The model with gearbox problems I believe is 2000 to 2003 models but do not quote me on those years. We had a problem and cost nearly $3000 to fix but that also included a new heavy duty clutch. No other problems and we have now done 205,000km.
If you rent one while going around Australia, you may as
well buy one as it costs a mint to rent one.
Keep it serviced to keep it reliable. Troopies are not the cheapest vehcile to keep serviced by the book but it pays off with reliability in the long run.
Keep the truck when you get home, they are OK as a day to day vehicle. I use our one daily. Fuel consum ption varies between 10 and 14l/100km depending on your speed and road conditions. You have to have a good credit limit on the card to be able to afford to travel above 100kph.
Stevesub
Reply By: WheelTravel - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 21:40
Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 21:40
Heya,
I'm selling
mine which has EVERYTHING for a trip around oz... Inverter, HD
suspension, winch, storage drawer, d.b system,
water tanks and heaps more, it's in the trader section.
Am selling it for around 45k though coz it's only done 70k and has over 30g of extras on it. But, redbook puts it at 32 + extras...a fair price I would say...just gotta find somebody who appreciates the extras...