Why is it so?

Submitted: Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 21:49
ThreadID: 27707 Views:3809 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
Whoa! Anyone here who remembers those words is getting long in the tooth...

Anyway, why is it so?

I went to the Mercedes Benz International web site, and was having a look at the vans that they have on offer.

The little Vito, which most of us city dwellers are now familiar with, apparently also comes in 4 wheel drive.

One has to wonder, with all the barren land we have over here, why we aren't getting them.

Actually, besides trying to import Delica's, there's not anything on offer in the way of a van with 4 x 4, unless you want a thrashed ex Telstra van.

Surely, you'd think that the marketing guru's of these companies would keep an eye on trends, such as the importing of vehicles from Japan, and maybe start to bring in some of their own vehicles, like the 4 x 4 Vito.

I would be there at 0900 hrs tomorrow to buy one, simple as that. It would suit me to the ground, as it would for a lot of folks. Okay, it's not a Nissan Patrol, or a Landcruiser, but we all don't want those.

I've ALWAYS had a van in my arsenal of vehicles. Got 2 right now. The old L300 is going soon, as I've had it for 15 years.

The Delica we will keep for another 3 - 4 years, but I'd like a 4 x 4 Vito, not as a replacement for my ageing Mitsi L300, but as a replacement for the little Honda.

Only Tracy & I. Don't need all those seats. Just want lots of space in the rear. Dog, swag, kayak gear, and the list goes on.

As I speak, my Delica downstairs has my swag, (all laid out) in the back, fridge, stove & kayak stuff. I just leave it like that until Tracy gets back from holidays. Don't have to unbolt stuff, remove - replace seats & cages, 'cause it's just a big empty van, which suits lots of people.

I just rock up at camp, cook & drink, and crash out in the back. I can fit 3 wheelie bins in the back, and get them up to the top of my driveway. I can lay down a G bottle of argoshield, and haul a 200 amp Mig Welder, WITHOUT doing in my back, or enlisting the help of others.

So...

... why is it so?

Wolfie (who would look good in a Vito!)

Reply By: ACDC - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:00

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:00
Have you seen the toyota dyna 4wd's they have in Japan twin cab 4wd portal hubs as per unimog and 4 wheel steering coded BU-297
AnswerID: 137214

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:55

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:55
they have them out here too, saw one a couple of days ago and was eyeing the axles off for a rockrawling buggy...
FollowupID: 390958

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:04

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:04
Ahh Julius says that there is always a correct answer for every question Wolfie. I am reliably informed that the 4x4 Vito is a nightmare to convert to RHD with the ADR's. You may be able to get a grey import.

AnswerID: 137216

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:20

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:20
After a quick phone call... you know when you think you remember something but aren't too sure... A friends father has a 4x4 Vito for his work vehicle(Electrician) in the UK... Right hand drive there if I'm not mistaken. Surely our regulations can't be that much harder to satisfy...
FollowupID: 390931

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:44

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:44
Ahhh.... so there is hope!!!

Maybe, just maybe, the head honcho of MB also reads EO, and reads this, and rings up his mates in Germany, and gets a boat load of 'em over here...

Ummmm.....

White
Short Wheel Base
Big Diesel
Black Trim

Oh, and how could I forget....

The Mercedes Benz iPod adaptor!!!!!!

(... just rubbin' it in, for all you heretics....)

Wolfie
FollowupID: 390956

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 19:11

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 19:11
Bonz, Wolfie...

Bit more feedback on the RHD Vito 4x4...

OK so he had driven them elsewhere in Europe and really liked them. Tried to get one in the UK, only to be told they don't come in RHD. He is an electrician who services a wide country area and wanted the comfort, carrying capacity and added bonus of 4wd for the snowy months... Ended up importing one and having it privately converted at a cost which he will not disclose...

So there you have it... I stand corrected and you still can't have one.
FollowupID: 391025

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 16:35

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 16:35
Ta for the dedicated CSI work Blue, it is indeed a strong man who admits he was told the right thing hahahaha.

Wolfie, VW have a Vito equivalent in 4WD thats available here isnt it?, you could always get a Toureg and rip out the back seat?

FollowupID: 391132

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:49

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 22:49
There are heaps of great vehicles out there that we just don't get a look at. My brother just got back from a short stint in Italy and Switzerland. While there he hired a little Renault of some description. Turbo diesel with all the good gear, comfrotable for man, wife and two teenagers. He reckons he sat on about 130km/h and returned about 5.5l per 100km running up through the Alps.

Now I know it's not a 4x4 but there are times when I don't need that and it would be nice not to have to reach quite as far into the pocket.

I have also seen some pretty smart looking 4x4 and 6x6 trucks of varying sizes that could make interesting touring vehicles.
AnswerID: 137225

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:57

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:57
Ahhhh...

The Renault.....

Hatchback of Notre Dame!!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 390959

Reply By: G-wizz - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 23:05

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 23:05
We've just purchased a 2wd diesel Vito for work purposes because it's one of very few vans with a drivers side sliding door option which we require for work. Apart from a couple of idiosyncracies like indicators on the left of the steering column it's a very good vehicle to drive and has a lot of nifty German engineering.

I suspect there is simply not a market for 4wd vans in Aust. otherwise they'd be here.
AnswerID: 137229

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 02:46

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 02:46
We just took delivery today of a new VW transporter 5 speed auto, 5cyl turbo diesel van with the twin sliding doors and extra high roof. Had to wait a few months, and the old petrol 5cyl VW transporter was just about routed by the time it arrived. These VW are very well made, solid vehicles, and yes apart from flickers on the wrong side, a bloody good vehicle to drive.
FollowupID: 390949

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:02

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:02
" suspect there is simply not a market for 4wd vans in Aust. otherwise they'd be here."

Gotta wonder though...

I can see a whole sector of people that would embrace the 4 x 4 van. Single guys, with chicks, then you wind the biological clock forward to old pricks like me, who have got rid of their kids, (or is that the kids have got rid of us...) who don't need all the seats.

I definitely see a small market segment, which is not being met. You'd think the marketing guys would have heard of the word NICHE.

Oh well, I've still got my Delica...

Wolfie
FollowupID: 390961

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:40

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 08:40
Makes you wonder why VW stopped importing the 4wd van?
It didn't have a transfer case, but it did have an extra low first/crawler gear.
They are just too hard to find 2nd hand these days.
Maybe more luck with VW than MB?
FollowupID: 390967

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 23:39

Monday, Oct 31, 2005 at 23:39
Wolfie,

We had a Ivco 4wd van on a driver training course a few years ago. Diesel motor large area out back and diff locks as standard. I know that they have the 2wd versions in Australia and have only seen a few 4wd vans about.

They might be worth a look.

BTW what sort of kayaks have you got, plastic or the fiberglass K1?

AnswerID: 137232

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:27

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 07:27
Wayne..

Both of my Kayaks are Roto-Moulded plastic.

One is a Dagger Drifter 2 seater, and the other one is a Hobie Mirage Tandem.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 390955

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:28

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:28
We saw one of those Iveco vans on Cape York years ago. It was a Britz hire vehicle and much larger than the Hiace/Combi type.

Full standing headroom in the back without the pop up roof.

I would have liked a better look at it but the driver was locking it up and heading off on a walk as we were getting back from ours.
FollowupID: 390979

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:40

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 10:40
Mate , the 4wd people movers ARE here. Just need to know where to look for them

[ View Image]4wd people mover
AnswerID: 137274

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 17:10

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2005 at 17:10
no....no....no....

I want a van, just a plain van, no side windows, no seats.

The absolute beauty of this set up, and mark my word, is that you simply open the door, and toss your shlt in, no packing, and pushing, and heaving. Sleep in the back if your lazy (like me), and there is still room to get changed after a paddle if you are within town confines in public.

The people movers are way overpriced, because they'll have 2 air conditioning systems, 2 rows of extra seats, and 4 extra windows, all of which is superfluous to my wants.

Just want a 4 x 4 van, short wheelbase.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 391015

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 00:02

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 00:02
Wolfie.
The gent who saw a "vito" up the cape actualy saw a sprinter if you could stand up in the back. I have a sprinter 4x4 ex ambulance. it is a ripper vehicle and cheap to run. Got mine at a fowles auction ex nsw ambulance service. Eric.
AnswerID: 137374

Reply By: tojo - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 17:48

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2005 at 17:48
Wolfie,
l'm looking at buying a kayak at the moment ,mainly will be used for fitness so l was fairly keen on a dagger discovery as this model seems to be a good basic allrounder.
But , the hobie outback fisherman has taken my eye as l am fond of trolling lures for cod and mulloway aswell .
The local lake that it will be used on for fitness has alot of weed just under the surface so the pedal system would be left off and just used with a paddle (looking to work the back out anyway) so my question lies in how does the hobie stand up to the dagger when used as a normal kayak as far as speed and stableness are concerned ?
lf there is not much between them l see the the hobie fitting the bill as l can use it to work the upper body then install the pedal system when l go trolling for fish .
Any advice would be greatly appreciated
thanks tojo
AnswerID: 137458