CT suspension
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 20:26
uncle
Hi guys,looking for some advice from people who have had FIRST hand experience with either Alko
suspension or leaf springs on an off
road camp trailer.We are purcasing one in the future,and want to know what is easier to repair when stuck somewhere outback,IF something goes wrong.Thanks again,Laurie
Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 20:55
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 20:55
I've had both, ALKO on a small caravan which eventually failed and involved a long ride on a tilt tray and a very expensive replacement with leaf springs in a small outback town.
We've also towed a off road camper all over Oz during the last 25 years fitted with leaf springs and shock absorbers with zero problems. when others travelling with us have had spring probs (only ever twice) we could repair it without too much bother to get out and mobile to somewhere to effect a permanent repair.
The short answer is that leaves can be repaired but with the alko type you can only fit a chock/wedge between the arm and the frame to keep the wheel down. Basically if it is stuffed you are too.
Follow Up By: uncle - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 21:02
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 21:02
This is the sort of feedback I'm after,thanks Pete.The wife and I are going to
Batemans Bay 4wd show,so we'll be casting a care full eye over some campers.Thanks.
Reply By: ACDC - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 21:19
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 21:19
I have had alko rubber
suspension on camper trailers and off road trailers they have two versions std and h/duty off road, i've always used the off road version as long as you get the right load rating no problems i have towed trailers across the simpson and all over the place no problems at all.
Reply By: jackablue - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 21:24
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 21:24
I have an old CT with leaf springs. I did the centre bolt and the leaves were edging out in to the tyre at
Lawn hill. Fixed straight away. Couple of days later snaped two leaves on the other side. Fixed that day with replaced leaves at
Winton. I had no probs.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:42
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:42
I love your comment that you had no problems after just describing how you had problems twice within a short time.
I guess you mean you had no problems fixing the breakdowns!
Follow Up By: jackablue - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 08:49
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 08:49
Well I expected problems with an old trailer in these parts. And the question was asking about how easy the fixs were in out of the way
places.:).
Reply By: govo - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:38
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:38
I've owned a
Dingo off road CT since 1996 fitted with Alko
suspension.
I was told after i puchased it that Alko had a bad history of sagging so out of curiosity i messured the wheel hieght from the wheel to the guard and engraved the number on the chassis...9 years on and it has sagged about 5 mm.this camper has done 2 trips to the cape with friends( never with me i'm afraid )one trip with the father in law who did a 3 month trip around OZ which included Ayers Rock and the Kimberly the
great Australian Bight and the Ondadatta track (he told me before he left he would be 90% sealed road driving..yer right ).
l have been on numerous trips with friends and seen leaf spring and coil spring
suspension fail but never seen or heard of Alko failing.
For my money it would be the best around but it does have some short falls namely it does not have a lot of wheel travel.
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:38
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 22:38
If yu are just giving the choice of Al-Ko or leaf spring
suspension & you want to go to remote areas, then the choice is simple ......... rebound leaf
suspension.
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 23:27
Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 23:27
Hi uncle
Haven't seen ALKO, but have used CT and trailers with leaf
suspension. Best setup was long leaf springs with good quality shockers. Short leaf springs (even proper eye-to-eye ones) are too choppy for offroad IMHO.
Reply By: Member - David M (VIC) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:51
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:51
G'day Uncle,
We have a Trak shak CT with leaf springs and good quality shockers, and have not had one ounce of trouble. Our CT has done about 40,000ks in 5 years mainly on dirt, and can be loaded up quite heavily with 70kg tinnie on top and all the gear crammed in for a family of 6. Trak shak does come out with an option of coils, but they recommend you take a spare coil and stub axle. (you have to wonder why?). A mate of
mine has this one and has replaced
suspension. Coils are a better ride and probably can go faster, but leafs are more reliable.
David M
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:18
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:18
Have leafs on
mine, shackle type, not slipper. Over the years I've broken one spring. Was easy to source spares. Wouldn't like to try getting spares for Alko system in the bush.....
Also, a snapped leaf sring can be jury rigged quite easily to get you going again, at least enough to get you to the next town.
Cheers.........
Reply By: flappa - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:21
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:21
My parents busted the Alko
suspension on their offroad Caravan (yeah its not a CT) , in Cowra , that has an Alko Dealer. Took him 3 days to source the parts from
Melbourne. Cowra isn't exactly the Back of beyond.
They also had no end of troubles with tyre scrubbing because of the
suspension.
Reply By: Kenell - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:23
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:23
Uncle, I sold my
Dingo last year after 7 or 8 years of reasonably rugged use. Alko
suspension was still intact and caused no real issues. I have heard unsubstantiated stories of failure and was warned not to leave the CT loaded up when not in use for long periods. My biggest complaint with it was that everything in the trailer copped a rough ride (limited wheel travel). The trailer also tended to bounce about a bit on rough tracks. I now have a CT with eye to eye leaf springs, no shockers. After completing 22000ks over last 4 months including GRR and
Kalumburu ( as
well as the rest of the big lap) we didn't break so much as a cup. It also carries a frige. I chose the leaf spring mainly because SWMBO and I were travelling alone and the "jury rig" option if a spring did break appealed to me. I was beastly careless about shockers as they present another possible point of failure particularly over long corrugated driving. Easy enough to address and I accept that they improve the ride / handling. I was attracted Alko when I bought the
Dingo but would take some convincing to go back to it.
Reply By: uncle - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 04:51
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 04:51
Many thanks for this feedback guys,and we are a little more enlightened now on a few points that were brought up.Thanks again and enjoy this weekend everyone.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 07:49
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 07:49
Uncle,
Just a little curious as to why you haven't asked for any feedback on coils as a further option. All the "top of the range" type campers use coils and shockers for 2 very good reasons........ride quality and wheel articulation.
The ride quality is important if you have gear in the trailer that you don't want shaken-up too much. We use "correl" plates/bowls etc (swmbo doesn't like the plastic alternatives) and just pile them into one of the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx in the Ultimate..........okay, we've still managed to break a couple on the corrogations of
Cape York and
Lawn Hill, but by and large the trailer rides very
well. It's also better for the guts of the fridge and it's cargo not to be too shaken up too much.
Just another thought for you to consider........and as far as problems are concerned; we haven't had any!! (and we've been over a lot of very ordinary roads).........coils are also MUCH lighter than leafs. As for Alko, I've only ever been on one trip where a bloke had it on his trailer......it didn't break but did sag very badly.
Reply By: uncle - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:21
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:21
Hi Roachie,main reason is budget,most of the coiled models are out of our price bracket.However I have a good mehcanical friend who works on the V8 supercars each year at
Bathurst,and has just built a new Rx7 for Leanne Ferrier.His design on the
suspension system for her car is incredible!We've only just been talking about the possibility of designing a coil sytem using Datsun 1600 trailing arms,stengthened and then putting in the Lovells and Either Decarbon or bilstein shocks.
Follow Up By: uncle - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:29
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 10:29
Ps my wife would just love an Ultimate! But we need to sell a few more BBQ chooks yet!Cheers.