Submitted: Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:47
Johnny boy
Hello all
I live in penrith N.S.W and have been told UMTEEN times of the great fishing holes near us ie. NEPEAN RIVER near YARRAMUNDI or up river to MULGOA they all say they catch bass ,mullet ,carp and even catfish but can never give me more accurate directions which brings me to think is it a big fishing secret or a load of ...
well you know, they say to use a float and tin corn or bread for bait a 6 foot rod and small long shanks ?? Im only asking this because my 7 yr old son begs me to go fishing but I really cant spare the time at the moment due to work commitments and with these
water ways being so close I would really like to take him there I would like to avoid taking the Tinnie but am open to any suggestions
and no we are not expecting huge fish I just want to have a bit of fun with him .
Regards JB.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:58
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 16:58
Cant help you on the locations but i can assure you making the time will be
well spent. My dad knows FA about fishing and as a kid he was busy as 1 legged man in a but kicking contest establishing 2 businesses 100k apart and going back and
forth 3 times a week BUT he would make the time to drive us the 100 odd ks to the nearest beach and take us fishing (even caught some sometimes) - I am 36 now and remember those times
well
Reply By: Charlie - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:09
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:09
I'd contact the Regatta Centre and find out the open days you'd be sure to get some carp.
In the main river live bait is required for bass or bread for mullet but its a bit hit or miss unless you have some exprerience.It customary to burley a bit when using corn or bread otherwise good results are unlikey. Either way there are plenty of fish to be caught in the Nepean or surrounding lakes.
Regards Charlie
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:10
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:10
G'day Johnny,
Try this, go to
Richmond (not far) along Castlereagh Rd instead of turning left to go to North
Richmond at the lights go straight ahead. Turn left next street and follow to a picnic ground (
toilets and all). This is the
lake you can see driving to North
Richmond on your right. My dad goes fishing there with my nephew and they have a ball catching large carp.
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:55
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 11:55
Thank you all !
I really appreciate the help from you guys and just to clear things up I do know how to fish I own a smll 10 ft 6HP tinnie and a 16 ft 85hp glass runnabout and heaps of different rods its just the fresh
water fishing that I havnt had much to do with and the fact that when Xmas is approaching all my customers want things done yesterday if you get my drift and I thought that if I can make it
home by 3pm or so ( I start work an hour away at 6am ) I might be able to duck down the road for 2 or so hrs and wet a line with him but I just didnt have very accurate directions at least until now , I will try the spots that u guys mentioned and hope for some luck Hey even if he catches an eel he will be happy !!
Regards J.B.
Reply By: signman - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:12
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:12
Yup...Mulgoa
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:20
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:20
Johnny Boy ,
If you have a tinnie you can catch bass anywhere along that section of the Nepean river although they are usually small . You will need your tinnie to cast small lures into the snags .You won't catch bass floating your corn .
You can fish for carp without the tinnie and corn works fine as a bait , as does bread . Anywhere on the bank - just go down with plenty of bread to berley and use 12 lb line or lighter if possible . Berley is absolutely a must and use a float which is balanced to sink at the slightest pull . Use small hooks , not long shank - I can never remember hook / size numbers - ask at your local tackle store . Also ask him to recommend a float and ask him to rig it for you to show you the correct way . I always had more luck with bread as berley ( and bread rolled up onto a hook ) than with corn .
Carp are a disgusting piece of poop , but they can be fun to catch , especially for your kids .
Apart from the main river ,Cattai
Creek is good for carp and mullet on bait and bass on lures .It is a nicer , more pretty environment than the Nepean .
I used to fish a very large
swamp on Little Cattai
Creek called "The Broadwater " . It is full of big bass and huge carp . Getting access is the trick . We used to get in through the top , and when that was closed off we got in through a property half way down . Then that was closed off and we used to launch our canadians at the
bridge on Little Cattai and paddle and push them up to The Broadwater - that is only worth doing for a full day or an overnighter .
Good luck - You will be greatly rewarded for your efforts when your kids catch a big carp - the look of joy is worth heaps .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:22
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:22
Work Commitments?
7 Days a week???
Shame on you Johnny Boy, you need to re-access your priorities in life.
You MUST take your 7 year old fishing, even if just a day trip.
If it is your first time fishing, buy two sets, so you are both fishing together and just go for it. Mate, this is quality time with your son we are talking about here.
You can buy combo sets of matched rods & reels from K-Mart if you wish, but I would recommend you first visit a fishing
shop and take your son with you so he shares the experience. The staff will be able to advise you on the type of rod, tackle and bait to buy and use.
Bugger work now and again. You can't work seven days a week.
Mate, you will only get one chance to relate to your boy as he is growing up and you will feel great whilst doing it.
Just get out there and DO IT.
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 21:56
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 21:56
Totally agree...
TAKE THE KID FISHIN'!!!!.. It'll be the very best investment in time that you will ever make...
I did this when my "kids" (2 sons, 2 daughters) were
young, and now they just love the outdoor life, and now that they (3 of 'em, anyway)have kids of their own, this love of the outdoors will be passed on....
BONUS... It is now my sons (& sons-in-law) who get to take ME fishin'....
Gotta love that!!!
Ed. C.
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:15
Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:15
Agree totally --- i am weekend dad once every 2 weeks -- Work would NEVER come before my child- dont care how dire things get -
i remember my father working 7 days a week --- I never really got to know him - he was just a stranger that i would see late afternoon / night. When i have my boy - he has my 100% attention - If i have work commitments - they can wait till Monday - If the choice is make $1000 for a days work - or spend a day with my boy ---- my boy wins every time. its a no brainer
dont let this be the case for you - Its not worth it
Frank
Reply By: Steve - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:53
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 17:53
Do fish really exist anywhere?
Well, apart from the shops, that is.
Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:52
Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:52
Don't get all philosophical on us now Steve :)
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 01:26
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 01:26
Of course they do!!! you just have to be their yesterday to catch them
Reply By: gramps - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 00:21
Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 00:21
Johnny boy,
As the other guys have stated - do it! Take time from work and invest it in your children whenever you can. They grow up far too quickly so don't miss the opportunity to spend quality time with them. It is the most important time of their lives.
Reply By: Member - Smocky (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:38
Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:38
G'day JB,
Don't know if you are interested in this, but there is a van village in Vineyard, not far from Windsor. The guy that runs it, Ian has a
dam out the back full of Golden and Silver Perch. It's pretty cheap and my son ALWAYS catches fish there. Let me know if you want details.
I know it isn't the same and I'm gunna get shouted down, but when you've only got a few hours to take the kids fishing, I reckon it's important sometimes to actually achieve a result. My son is 7 and loves fishing. BECAUSE HE SOMETIMES CATCHES FISH !!
By the way, the other thing I did was buy some rubber casting plugs and let him practice casting in the front yard. Best thing I did. Now I don't have to cast his line out each time. We're working on putting prawns on the hook now :-)
Smocky.