PAJ STALLING when air con is on

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 21:53
ThreadID: 27852 Views:2563 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Well we have a problem with the paj stalling when the air con is on.when i go back down through the gears and put the clutch in the rev;s drop away to nothin,goin from secound to first the rev needle drops of dramaticly and some times stall's,has any one got any ideas on whats going on it's abit of a pain in the rear.cheer's GREENDOG

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 22:16

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 22:16
G'day Greendog....howya goin'??

Only thing I can suggest is that maybe the aircon pulley has seized-up and is causing such a load that it's dragging the revs down. If it only does it when the air con is on, maybe you'll have to just drive with the windows down and the air con OFF.....just like us patrol owners have to do when the old 4.2 gets a bit hot under the collar!!!! hahaha

Sorry I'm not much use to your problem.....hope somebody else can help you mate,

AnswerID: 137967

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:18

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:18
Thanks Roachie i'll let my machanic now what every one suggests goin up to the Bendely ranges in a couple of weeks with VOXSON should be good,good to hear you in ther bill thanks mate cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 391633

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:34

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:34
MMM maybe thats why i own abit of a mongrle,i've got all the the acceries a patrol land crusier owner wants but the other is letteing me
down NOT HAPPY JANE
FollowupID: 391636

Reply By: kev.h - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 22:25

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 22:25
Hi Greendog
When the air con cuts in there is a solinoid on the throttle which boosts the engine revs to allow for the extra power draw of the air con my guess is the solinoid's shagged
run in neutral and switch the air con on and off the revs should pick up a little if the solinoid is working if the revs drop by a couple of hundred revs thats your problem
Regards Kev
AnswerID: 137970

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:25

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:25
Kev the engine rev;s came up when i put the air con on as soon as i'm driving and go into neatral push clutch in to go though my gear's on the way down the engine stall's.thanks for your reply any way mate cheer's GRENDOG
FollowupID: 391635

Follow Up By: kev.h - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:48

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:48
Greendog OK its not the air con, if its an EFI try cleaning your oxygen sensor - especially if you have an oil soaked air filter- or the enging is at all smokey
The sensor gets a fine coat of oil or other crap on it and on longer operates properly when backing off as in changeing down you may be flooding the engine the extre load of the aircon could be all it takes to stall then it looks like its the air
has your fuel consumpion gone up ? does it seem to have less power?and is There a puff of smoke when you run it at high revs for 30sec then back off? all these can point to a faulty oxy sensor
Kev
FollowupID: 391659

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:32

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:32
Kev my fuel comp has gone up and yes i have lost power i'll be reportimg this to my machanic maybe i'll get it replaced thanks for your in put cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 391672

Reply By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:00

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:00
Hi GREENDOG , is it petroll, diesel 6cyl or 4cyl, EFI or carby? This may help with the diagnosis.
Regards Ken.
AnswerID: 137983

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:04

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:04
Sorry Ken petrol mate 3ltr v6 thanks for your help mate cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 391640

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:13

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:13
3l EFI or carbie???
FollowupID: 391656

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:33

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:33
3LTR EFI
FollowupID: 391673

Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:47

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:47
Hi Greendog. You may have a prob in the throttle body, they get choked up with sludge in the idle bypass section, also the stepper motor that controls the idle mixture gets sticky. It is not a big job to dismantle and clean it out with carby cleaner, this is probably the first thing to try as it is a fairly regular service item especially if you have a few k's up
Regards Ken.
FollowupID: 391675

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 14:50

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 14:50
Greendog,
I had a vehicle running on LPG that did this, was an LPG problem.
Are you on LPG?
Dean
AnswerID: 138054

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:41

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:41
No Dean straight petrol no gas cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 391695

Reply By: 120scruiser - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:10

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:10
Hi Green dog
I would go straight to the ISC (Idle Speed Control) motor.
We change heaps in the mitsubishi range including magnas.
I buy from AFI in Sydney. Australian Fuel Injection. No body can beat their price.
You have 2 types, normal and bull nose type. Yours being 3.0 litre should be the normal type. Expect to pay around the $165.00 mark for a remanufactured one.
5 minutes to fit but recommend to clean throttle body as well.
AnswerID: 138075

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:09

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:09
Thanks mate every one has been a huge help i reckon i'll get rid of this problem after this,tell me would i have to order one my self from sydeny i could you get them from Adelaide and should if you can get a new throttle body as well i'm not machanically mind so that might sound like a dum question to same thanks for your help cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 391736

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 08:04

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 08:04
I just remove the throttle body and clean it with carby cleaner, usually in a pressure pack.
You would have to ring afi as I am not sure if they have branches in other states. The only drama will be they are exchange.

FollowupID: 391806

Reply By: kerriek - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:19

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 18:19
OMG!! I am not insane or just a bad blonde driver!!! You see this happens to me!

I have a 1993 SWB 3Lt V6 EFI Pajero. I have only had it since my dearest one bought it for me in April and have only just started to use the Air con.

I had to replace the battery a couple of months ago so the first time it stalled on me I thought it was the battery for the first split second and then it started again no worries so figured I had done something wrong to cause it to stall.

Having driven around a bit more with the air con on, I have discovered exactly what you said. When you go down the gears it stalls, most often if I put the clutch in to glide to stop.

Until now I thought it was my bad driving :) This is my first 4WD so I was open to the suggestion.

Please know that you aren't alone and I too would welcome any suggestions.......so that my dearest one can carry them out of course....:)

Kerriek
AnswerID: 138280

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 22:10

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 22:10
Hi Kerriek take note of what every one else has suggested, i'll be lookin at a few things in the next couple of weeks. I'll try and get back to you on the out came cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 391969