Breakdown/accident what do you carry

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:37
ThreadID: 27860 Views:4248 Replies:12 FollowUps:19
Have just restocked/checked use by dates in the first aid kit, before some summer weekend trips.

Just interested to see what other people carry in their vehicles or camper in the event of an accident or breakdown.

Have you needed to use it? Did it do the job?

Has anyone used an Eflare? Amber or Red (available through the shop).

Wendy

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:01

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:01

We carry two first aid kits, one is permanently in the car which is an equippe one, the other is a St John's Outdoor Kit, which travels between car and camper, the first aid kits have both been used well, and restocked, as we've got 2 young kids - 4 & 6, you can imagine they get a work out, I also carry another small bag full of lotions & sunscreen, and another with stuff like kids panadol, cough medicine etc.

We have an eflare - red, and have used it once, on the road between Tibooburra and Broken Hill, a mighty boy towing a cub camper broke the camper's axel and the elderly couple were on the road, not sure the eflare did much, as it was during the daytime, though I guess it helped slow some oncoming traffic, as the blokes helped get the camper and car off the road.

We have radio, phones - not sat phone yet, but cdma and standard, and where we've been so far, both served us well.

Yet to get an epirb, but if we were travelling to very remote places and alone we'd definitely carry one.

Al also has a pretty extensive tool kit and recovery stuff in the vehicle as well, which has come in handy helping other people.

Lyn
AnswerID: 138012

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:28

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:28
actually I've got 3 first aid kits, I've also got a st john's hikers kit that I keep in a backpack when we go on a walk or hike, because someone is bound to have a tumble - most likely me... :))
FollowupID: 391667

Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:21

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:21
a walk or a hike.
id like to see that lol
FollowupID: 391708

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:23

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:23
went on an 8km walk/hike with 4 w dadventureoz up in the gulf not so long ago
FollowupID: 391709

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:23

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:23
First aid kit, spare belts for the car and about 10,000 cable ties... Simply the most underated item in your toolbox. If you can't fix it with a cable tie, you might as well burn it.
AnswerID: 138030

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 12:38

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 12:38
Hard to beat #8 fencing wire, cable ties good also
FollowupID: 391683

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:53

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:53
have to agree with the cable ties....
FollowupID: 391689

Reply By: Shakin - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:58

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:58
Hi Wendy.
I'm an occaisonal reader, and first time poster here.
here's my 2 cents worth on your questions.

First aid kits; during the last 15 years (having been a first aid trainer and provider during previous employment and now a full time firefighter) I've had everything from a small plasitic shoe box size toolbox all the way up to what must have been a 25 litre size toolbox and all the way down again. I've worked out that aside from some medications, a dozen gloves, basic instruments, lotions, cleaning swabs, eye wash, and CPR mask, most everything else you need can be improvised from items you're probably carrying anyway. A few triangular and roller bandages are good for the one-off break or sprain, as are some non-stick dressings, but once I viewed a first aid kit as something to treat either a very minor scratch or injury OR provide life sustaining first aid with, you find you can do without a lot of stuff. 20 of each 6 assorted bandaid shapes serve neither purpose stated above, but at a multi-vehicle mva the blankets and old shirts in your van will do nicely.

No mention of a fire extinguisher..... there's one in there somewhere isn't there??? If not for your car then some other poor bugger.

Lots of bottled drinking water. Use it in your car if you have to, but still good enought to drink. Even on a trip to Newcastle you can be stranded for hours in the heat if there's a big enough prang on the freeway.

Those eflares you mention look like a bit of a toy to me, even though the RTA use them and say they show up well in the dark. Your job isn't directing traffic, it's protecting yourself or another car that is in a dangerous location, so you need to be seen. I carry at least 8 warning triangles, and 5 of these are the cheaps ones ($3 each from supercheap auto). If you're on a blind corner you can lay them out far enough to give other drivers ample notice ( 10 metres between them is 80 metres covered!). For $3 each I'm happy to leave them at a broken down car and continue on, and they show up good day or night. I purchased a $30 magnetic based amber rotating beacon from supercheap to use at night. These beacons are better than strobes or LED's as they project a light onto objects around them, so even if you can't physically see the beacon as you approach you see bush and signs lighting up letting you know something is ahead.

Love cable ties and hose clamps, and even a bit of wire, but no one mentioned GAFFA TAPE! This stuff is the greatest, it's like "The Force" in Star Wars, it has a light side, a dark side, and it holds the universe together. Combine this with some of those cheap plastic ponchos from the $2 shop and you have replacement windows (clear poncho) blinker lenses (orange poncho), and brake light lenses (red poncho).

Ok, that's my 2 cents worth.
AnswerID: 138062

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:59

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:59
We carry a small first aid kit in the caravan and in the car - just minimal stuff - bandages (crepe, elastic and those all purpose triangles you get with the first aid training), betadine, splinter removers, sticking plaster, gauze for dressings. First aid book in the car. In the back pack - several crepe bandages with clips in case of snakebite or to keep a sprained ankle together to climb off that mountain, and fresh drinking water. Have only needed to provide minor first aid to others, not to ourselves.

Nothing sophisticated in the way of communications. Ordinary Way and cdma phone. Travel with a reasonable amount of common sense and caution.

Winch, tyre repairs kits, basic tools, duct tape, spare radiator hoses, fan belt, and a fairly mechanically minded husband. Have always managed to get out of difficulty and to civilisation ourselves (flat tyres and a fuel blockage about all that have stopped us).

AnswerID: 138063

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 18:48

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 18:48
Forget - we also have a fire extinguisher in the car as well as caravan (carton of beer is more effective, but I don't drink it). I also have "mouth to mouth" mask in my handbag.

FollowupID: 392874

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:37

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:37
How far to you go? I have heard of people carrying spare clutch kits and the like. But there is little point in carrying it if you don't know how to use it.

I just carry the basics. First aid, (mine is stocked from a listof the gear carried by the rangers that came in my first desert parks pass .), communications, a few spares and the tools needed to fit them. The spares I carry are belts and hoses. Then I add the "patch it kit" which most above have mentioned. Cable ties, tie wire, gaffa tape. some rope of various sizes but nothing too big.

Oh and I never clean out the tool box. You know all those odds and ends you drop in the bottom of your tool box when your doing odd jobs, leave them there. I once patched up a steering linkage using a piece of 3/4" copper pipe and a two inch nail.

When it comes to warning on coming traffic, park a car back up the road, at the entry to the last bend or on top of the hill. I am fortunate that my kids are now big enough to be of use. If necessary I can send a couple of them up the road to wave, with a torch if its dark.

AnswerID: 138067

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:24

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:24
Hi Wendy,

We carry two first aid kits being a small one with a few basics that lives permanently in the glove box. Then we have big FA kit in a large plastic tool kit. We stocked this ourselves based firstly on a St John's Ambo kit but added quite a few items of personal choice. As we have 2 young children we carry heaps of bandaids, antiseptic cream etc. When we go hiking our plan is always to carry the small first aid kit out of the glove box but it seems we always forget to put it in our backpack so another small kit specifically for hiking is on my shopping list. I will stock this with pressure bandages, bandaids (assorted sizes), betadine, assorted wound dressings, instant ice pack and one of those silver emergency blankets. I also intend to add waterproof matches, signalling mirror and some Milton tablets which can be used to sterilise water.

For communications we have UHF, handheld UHF, HF radio and satphone. Of course we also carry a range of vehicle spares such as belts and hoses, plenty of duct tape, assorted nuts, bolts, wire etc. We have a fire extinguisher in the car and the campertrailer.

As a point of interest, on our recent Pilbara/Kimberley trip we encountered a couple of "emergency" situations. First was a hiker who slipped and broke her ankle in the Bungle Bungles and second incident was a retired couple who's vehicle had broken down and left them stranded beside the NW Coastal highway in the middle of nowhere. When we came along they'd been waiting for over 24 hours for help that hadn't arrived and by then were flagging down every passing vehicle in the hope that someone had a satphone. The women just about broke down with relief when we could offer ours and after a series of phone calls eventually organised a tow truck to come for them from Carnarvon 3 hours drive away. It would be close to 48 hours since they broke down before they finally made it to civilisation.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 138092

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:23

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:23
Hi Melissa,

Have to agree with you on the Sat phone. We were convinced to buy one when a friend told us they had used one in a break down situation in the middle of nowhere. We also carry an EPIRB that fits into a pocket when walking. Just too many stories of people perishing in the bush even in not so remote places. Not worth the risk!

FollowupID: 391859

Follow Up By: outbackmob - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:28

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:28
We used satphones when camping in the central desert..... I'm not such a fan. Every phone call made from the phone lost contact with the satellite and was useless! The person using the phone simply dropped out and further calls needed to be made - ending with the same result....
FollowupID: 392027

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:53

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:53
G'day outbackmob,

Not had that problem we only use it sparingly though. A couple of times we had the kids phone us and had no problem. We always ring at least once before we leave to test the phone and we do watch the reception which can be a little finicky in overgrown areas (we have a car antena right next to the GPS antena). Presume not too much overgrowth in the Tanami? Maybe it has something to do with the provider - we use Telstra (who use the old iridium network).

FollowupID: 392032

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 13:42

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 13:42
Outbackmob, I'm intrigued that you had problems, especially out in the desert country. Like member - Beatit we also use Telstra and the Iridium network and also use the phone sparingly. But during the course of our trip we did make a few calls and we received quite a lot from our respective workplaces. Most of the time we used the car antenna and I regularly checked signal strength which 95% was excellent. Only once had a problem picking up a signal when we were camped at Sawpit Gorge south of Halls Creek. Being in the gorge we were pretty much flanked by towering cliffs. Half an hour later we had a signal so a satellite must have come overhead and we were able to ring EO Member - Bigkidz who were at that time camped somewhere along the Tanami Track.

As a matter of interest, I love having a HF and access to the VKS737 but we found we had a lot of trouble getting good transmission in places around the Kimberley. This was mainly due to interference from Indonesian fishing boats and in speaking with other HF users along the way this was a common problem. From that point of view the satphone was certainly the most reliable of the two.

FollowupID: 392047

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 20:52

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 20:52
Be very aware that there are quite a few 2nd hand Iridium phones out there on the market now. The 9500 while a great phone had problems as they aged with the contact cup that accepts the pin from the centre of the antenna. This was particularly prevalent on phones that had been used on on the road with the antenna adapter on it full time. Vibration is a solder joint's worst enemy and this isn't one of the most outstanding pieces of design work I've seen.

The second thing is that the spring pin that determines the antenna is in the correct position to make a call &/or register on the network is easily damaged. This often occurs when the antenna is not completely mated and it is rotated or an attempt is made to rotate it.

Both lead to very high levels of drop outs, and eventually the former fault will result in the inability to make a call at all. This is leading to a number of people who've bought second hand phones or used rental phones (which are often abused and not well inspected prior to the next rental) to accuse the network of faults/dropouts that are not really fair to lay at it's feet.

The repair on the 9500 is a replacement part (at about $250) plus labour from a few select repairers. The replacement part is susceptable to the same faults.

Unfortunately unless you know what to look for the fault is difficult to pick - particularly the first one. Nothing looks broken. Once identified I repaired one fault and modified the phone to eliminate the other.

Fortunately I have a comms background and when mine failed did the investigation required to solve the problem after TR Telecom pointed out that there was an unspecified problem to a friend of mine that had borrowed the phone. All they said was that there was a problem that would not prevent the phone operating but would increase the level of drop outs. Turns out they were right.

It was more than a bit inconvenient at the time though as the phone failed at Well 6 on a North - South Canning Trip. We still had a spare satphone and the HF though so it wasn't too concerning. Just we couldn't receive calls from home on it. Had I not crossed the Tanami with it sitting in the cradle with an antenna adapter on it it may never have completely failed though.

FollowupID: 392156

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:30

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:30
Dave, are you referring to a Motorola 9500? We have a Motorola 9505 so not the same model but I will certainly take note of your comments as there is no guarantee that the basic design is any different. I'd be interested to hear what Outbackmob are using.

FollowupID: 392185

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:42

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:42
Hi Melissa,

I am talking about the Motorola 9500. The antenna base on a 9505 is the same from the brief look I had at one. The inside of the socket I have not seen so I can't make any valuable comment.

A few other comments re Satphones and the secondhand market as those likely to be reading this are possibly in the market for one.

I bought my phone off Ebay. i would say the person that I bought it off had probably been experiencing increasing drop outs but couldn't resist selling it after they upgraded.

It had had a fair bit of use (14 hours on the call timer) so there is no way they wouldn't have known there was a problem. They would have noticed an increase in drop outs as a frequent user.

I would still buy another secondhand one but I can fix it. If you aren't sure and the person is not known to you I'd factor in a potentially $350 repair when considering the price of a second hand 9500.

And the guy that sells them on Ebay using various monikers but from what I have seen is always allegedly from Bergamo, Italy is a fraud. There have also been recent suspected fraudulent listings for HF Radios.

This is a problem with many big ticket items on ebay.

FollowupID: 392193

Reply By: Rojac - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:42

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:42
First Aid kits are great but how many actually know how to use them apart from the odd bandaid.

A certified first aid course with St Johns or red cross would be a pre requisite before venturing out.

AnswerID: 138099

Follow Up By: outbackmob - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:30

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:30
I second that! A level two course needs to be updated every 3 years and the CPR course should be updated every 12 months! Correct first aid management is constantly changing.....
Cheers!
FollowupID: 392028

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:55

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:55
Don't carry much at all, first aid kit, a number of radios but radio is a hobby for me, fridge, food and drinks, water and some fencing wire. I don't get bogged down with "what if this happens, what if that happens" I'll deal with it if it happens.
AnswerID: 138103

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:07

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 22:07
Rather than type a new answer I might post the answer I put on Fishnet a while back.

I'll add that the figures on membership have changed since I typed it. The helicopter has gotten more expensive and the membership is now $110 for a family & $55 for singles (Victoria only). Private Health Insurance companies that say they cover Ambulance don't cover all types of ambulance transport. You can get badly caught out there.

When I did the Canning as medical support for the guys on bikes I added
plaster for a back slab if lengthy trip to an air strip was required.
Inhaled pain relief (Penthrane)
IM pain relief
IV antibiotics
Oral antibiotics
IV fluid (4 litres) and cannulation equipment
Cervical collars
Some more splinting stuff
A special gauze for abrasions
(The above was carried with Doctor's authorisation & required consultation with RFDS. If I needed it I was going to need RFDS to evac a rider anyway.)

Further justifying my point that First Aid Kits are preventative medicine all I used was one bandaid.

I also carry a Satphone & HF Radio which I know how to use. I don't carry an EPIRB. The former will definately get help faster.

I can't highlight enough the importance of knowing what to do, do a first aid course. Also if you carry (real) communications equipment know how to use it.

Darky asked for my opinion on the 1st Aid kit question, so here goes. (By the way I am a firm believer that first aid kits are the best form of preventative medicine known to man! If you carry one you'll never have to use it - if you don't carry one look out, Murphy will travel with you... wink-fish.gif )

Gloves - sized to fit you & a size larger - couple of pairs of each. (Tight gloves are hard to fit on sweaty hands affter the first set you were wearing get torn hence the bigger ones)

Disposable face mask for CPR (I carry OP Airways and a disposable Bag, Valve, Mask as I detest mouth to mouth & I have had to use one.)

Safety glasses - often overlooked even by the pros but blood & vomit born diseases Hep b & c, HIV etc can be easily caught by eye splash.

Scissors/Shears - 1 set
Artery forceps - 1 set for 1st aid kit and a set or two for the tackle box - great for removing fish hooks from the gullet of greedy fish.
Tweezers - 1 pair
Splinter pick - or straighten a new chem sharp hook and use that - improvisation is good in first aid.
If you are fishing you should carry something capable of cutting hooks cos the easiest way to get them out is to keep going through and cut the eye off it.

Triangular bandages 2-3 of these (AKA Sling)
7.5cm crepe bandage 3-4 of these - you need a few to pressure immobilise a full leg in case of snake bite
10cm crepe 1-2 (optional, the wider tha bandage the harder they are to put on for people who don't use them often. If you leave these out chuck in an extra couple of 7.5cm)
Don't worry about 5cm or 2.5cm wide crepes.
7.5cm Conforming bandage - 2 of (crepes don't work on head injuries they don't stay on.)
Small Surgipad/Combine (9x20cm) 4 of
Large Surgipad/Combine (20x20cm)4 of
Gauze (7.5cm x 7.5cm) 4-5 of
Eyepad - 2 of

Bandaids - 10-15 (Don't carry a whole box)
Steristrips or butterfly closures - 1 pack of about 6
2.5cm wide transpore tape - 1 roll
1.25cm wide transpore tape - 1 roll
2.5cm Sleek tape - 1 roll (Also useful for other stuff)

Rescue/Thermal Blanket - disposable - 2 of
Irigation water - eyes & other uses - 1 small bottle 250ml
5% Chlorhexidene wash/betadine or similar 1 bottle
Sunscreen - don't use this one all the time it's for emergencies - like when you forget the one you should have taken anyway
Stingose or similar for insect bites
Panadol/Aspirin
Notepad & pencil - not pen they dry out and won't work when you need it most

If you travel with the elderly you could consider a bottle of Anginine Tablets if they usually have them at home for chest pain. Likewise with Asthmatics - a Ventolin Puffer, and Diabetics - a tube of Glutose Paste and maybe some Glucagon (injection). A person prone to anaphylactic (ie really really bad allergic) reactions should talk to their GP about carrying an epipen (adrenaline). If you are carrying any of these items make sure you know why, what they're for and how to use them if you have to.

I also carry a Stethoscope and BP cuff but I know what to do with them & why I carry them.

Splints can be made with material at hand, though I carry 1 each full arm and full leg air splint.

First aid manual for those who haven't done a course for a while...go on book that refresher you know you want to....

Join the ambulance ($40 singles/$80 family - a chopper ride from the middle of no where starts at around $2416.44 1st hour $40.27 - each additional minute!! Phone 1800 64 84 84 to join)

I may have forgotten something - I usually do and it is late - but if you think I have let me know and I'll set you know if I think you really need it.

Oh yeah that's it. If you are going to hard to communicate with places ie. out of mobile phone or CB range for gods sake spend the $250 and carry a personal EPIRB, & don't use it unless someones life is in danger, they aren't for using if you've got a headache or a broken wrist but if you roll the truck and someones really hurt they are the only way you'll get help any time soon. And after all that rod and reel you bought last week probably cost at least that - I know mine did.

Any questions give me a yell

Shepparton
AnswerID: 138143

Follow Up By: outbackmob - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:42

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:42
G'day Dave
Sounds like our kit actually! We don't carry all those medications - but do have paracetamol, asprin, salbutamol and glutose paste. Also got a BSL machine handy too. When the old man travels, I check he has two GTN sprays with him.

Do you know what the deal is with ambulance cover in the NT (we moved up from Vic and were members there). I've heard (not sure if it's true) that the RFDS is not covered with NT ambulance membership. We live out on the Tanami - so no chance of getting a road car to us... our only option is the RFDS.

Cheers!
Tracy
FollowupID: 392030

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 20:57

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 20:57
Someone will correct me if I'm wrong but my understanding was that RFDS use the monies it collects from donations to run a service that is provided as a no fee recovery type service.

Where on the Tanami are you? I probably dropped by in May! There wasn't anywhere that was even close to civilised that we didn't stop.

I have friends/colleagues here in Vic that are ex NT Ambos and they service the Tanami also - response times are longer than pretty much anywhere in Vic. It's not all down to RFDS.

FollowupID: 392158

Reply By: ian g - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:30

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 13:30
Hi Wendy, Looks like you have generated a few replies on First Aid equip to carry.As a Ambulance Officer of 30 yrs my recommendations are ,complete a Senior First Aid course or some one in your group has done the course (no weight to carry). Replies in this forum give some good basic must have first aid items to carry and you might want to consider any extras if someone in your group has a particular medical problem. In all the years of travelling around OZ I have come across about 3 or 4 serious accidents. If people can do the basics of First Aid then lives can be saved, however in 2000 I was between Erldunda and the Rock in the NT and came across a single vehicle high speed injection from the car. The person had suffered complicated head /spinal injury's. Other than maintain airway and other basics all we could do was wait for RFDS. This patient required CT scan and Neuro plus. she died 2 days later very tragic.We had all the comms to contact the world with. (One reader has replied with a stack of equipment But you have to have a lot of very advanced training, understanding and ongoing use of the equipment. any drugs otherthan minor pain relief eg panodol requires training into the pharmacology , adverse effects and so forth.)
As I said, get some F/Aid instruction and some basic gear and comms and you will be in a position to help someone if the need arises . Regards Ian
AnswerID: 138250

Follow Up By: outbackmob - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:46

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:46
Good call Ian...... no point having a truck load of equipment when you're not sure how to use it properly. Like you said - in most situations all that can be done before medical aid arrives is FIRST AID, doesn't matter how qualified you are - sometimes you just need an emergency room!
Tracy
FollowupID: 392031

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 21:14

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 21:14
As a fellow Paramedic Ian there's a reason I carry more than a basic first aid kit Ian, as I'm sure you do to.

I mentioned the Canning kit particularly with that proviso that it was carried in the knowledge of the potential for injuries for the guys on the bikes - and the distance and time which I may have had to manage the patient for in the event that a trip to an airstrip was required.

RFDS and Derby Health were very helpful once provided with credentials and an assurance that nothing outside of my guidelines was to be used without an RFDS consult - which was no problem as I was going to need to contact them anyway. The other thing that was required was authorisation from a doctor to carry the stuff I was issued with and a statement that he was content that I had the necessary knowledge and skills to use them.

I wasn't going out with the intent to perform heroics or surgery on the track (though I did see "The Flying Doctors" pilot with the brace and bit burr hole as a teenager...) but an open compound fracture after a bike fall at speed from a bike out there isn't out of the question hence things like antibiotics, basically to buy time to organise an evac that may take a day or so.

You can't treat everything out there, an AMI (the guys on the bikes were all over 50) was going to be in all likelihood fatal. But with the skill, support and the right gear you can make things a lot easier to manage for a little longer than we do everyday.

Further to that as preventative medicine (which is what a good kit is) I firmly believe that Murphy likes soft targets. If you go prepared Murphy doesn't think you look like much fun and goes off to find someone else to play with.

An emergency room isn't possible and sometimes despite all best efforts with little available or a lot people aren't coming home. That's reality.

But I don't need to point that out to you.

PS I'm pretty sure no offence was intended by your reply about carrying lots of gear - and none was taken.
FollowupID: 392160

Reply By: Terrano Tripper (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 20:56

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 20:56
Thanks everyone for your comments.

The first aid kit is the first thing I consider packing, especially with two kids.

Unfortunatly, I have been one of the first on the scene to numerous serious accidents over the years (some outside my front gate) and find that some basic first aid and keeping a calm head will get you through in most instances.

I too believe it is important to have an up to date first aid certificate. The thought that people die because no one knew how to preform CPR blows me away.

Hubby also said that anyone who travelled without zip ties and gaffa tape was mad. But that his domain to pack. I get the food, the kids and all the other non vehicle items.

Happy and safe travelling everyone.

Wendy.
AnswerID: 138534

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 21:26

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 21:26
Any attempt at CPR is good and should be encouraged. Most arrests we go to no attempt has been made. I have never turned up to an arrest where CPR has been commenced and said "no stop forget it you are doing it all wrong." Usually you coopt the bystander as part of the team and just coach their technique a little. Any extra hands are extremely useful.

Unfortunately TV/movies give the impression that it's life saving in most cases. But in real life where everything is done, defibrillation, an ambulance and advanced life support skills arrive early (less than a few minutes) and a full resuscitation attempt is made, very few patients ever walk out of hospital.

In 7 years and more arrests than I can remember I am only aware of one save that I can be credited with where the patient walked out of hospital after a few weeks. I was pretty stoked about it all the same.

There are far more important things in learning first aid than CPR particularly for spending time off the beaten track.

All that said if you are ever presented with a pulseless unconscious person at home, work or in public remember this.

IF YOU DO NOTHING THEY ARE DEFINATELY DEAD. YOU WON'T MAKE THEM ANY WORSE. YOU MAY HOWEVER BE PART OF AN AMAZING PROCESS IF THEIR TIME ISN'T REALLY UP.

HAVE A GO! CPR IS NOT A HARD SKILL.

FollowupID: 392163

Reply By: madCrow - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:52

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:52
Hi Terrano Tripper
I know this is a late reply to your questions and you have received an incredible amount of detail referring to communication devices, plus a massive amount of info on first aid kits, all great & very informative.
First aid kits- yes, two minor & major.
Eflare- yes. Handy if you have total battery failure in your truck.
Safety triangle.
Fire extinguishers- yes, two! one fixed under the front passengers seat, it has two locking clips so if one comes loose the other holds, so you don't end up with a fire extinguisher rattling around your feet.
The second larger extinguisher gets packed for trips away in the back.
Lastly something not mentioned by any previous writer,
A FIRE blanket, along with a woolen blanket, both can be used to smoother burning clothing on people, adults & especially children!
Your camping by the river, you've got a fire going, the kettles on it, brewing, someone walks by & part of their clothing catches alight on the fire. Vhooom!
Worst case scenario, but if you needed it once, you needed it period.
Anyway best of luck with it all.

See you out there.

madCrow

......(\,,,/)
......(0_0)
\\\\(-><-)///// The large shy bunny with a hair cut, hides in the grass.
The sound of a truck backfiring make him sit up straight!
AnswerID: 138985