Do tyres harden with age?

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 00:06
ThreadID: 27918 Views:6413 Replies:12 FollowUps:9
Hubby and I were discussing our Cooper AT's earlier. They've done about 80,000km's now much to our amazement. We've always been happy with the lack of road noise etc but early on they seemed to wear very quickly. At one stage we doubted we'd get 50,000km's let alone 80,000 as the manufacturers claim. Then suddenly the wear rate seemed to slow down and now we wouldn't be surprised if we get 90,000km's. Hubby commented that tyres sometimes harden as they get older and I thought it would be interesting to get some more thoughts on the subject.

:o) Melissa

Reply By: Trekkie - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:03

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:03
There was a post sometime in the past month about this.
Tyres apparently compress and harden with age and the wear rate slows.
AnswerID: 138381

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:05

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:05
I know with racing bikes, tires get hot when in use and the heat softens them. Then when they cool down, they go hard again, and if not used for a while, they go HARD... I mean HARD...

I would think this would happen to a point with car tires. Hot then cold constantly would have this affect on them.
AnswerID: 138382

Follow Up By: GQLWB - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:12

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:12
That's a special quality for motor bike tyres as only 2 wheels are on the road they need all the grip it can get.

I have heard that truckies in the past use to buy tyres in advance and keep them under the sun for a couple of months/years (rotating every now and then) to assist with the curing of the rubbers. Apparently, this hardens the rubber somewhat and gives more mileage.

If I am wrong I am sure someone will correct me.
FollowupID: 391999

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 02:03

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 02:03
All tires are made of rubber, bike tires, truck, plane etc. they heat up, rubber softens. Maybe not to the extent of bikes, but they would, and when they cooled, they would harden.. again, maybe not to the same as bikes, but they are still rubber. IMHO.

In the 8+ yrs I drove trucks, never bought them in advance, never had the coin to really!
FollowupID: 392000

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:30

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 01:30
A mechanic who did some work on my 4WD 10 years ago had two stacks of desert duelers on top of the office in his workshop. He said one pile was for him, the other for his business partner, they both had FJ40's with 350 chev engines. They recon the tyres would "go off" when stored for a long period which meant they would wear longer. But he did admit that grip in the wet was awfull, but they didn't care cos they mainly used the cars for tearing up the beach, not driving around town.
AnswerID: 138385

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 07:57

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 07:57
Yes they do, now, if only us guys would.....
AnswerID: 138396

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:04

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:04
Lone Wolf.

As above, thats a double edge sword "apparently compress and harden with age"

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 392009

Reply By: Rigor - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:31

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 08:31
Speak for yourself Wolfie!!

Is that why you are called "Lone Wolf"?

Time for the purple pill for by the sounds of it.

Dave L.
AnswerID: 138400

Reply By: signman - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:20

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:20
I think this another urban myth. Rubber compound doesn't 'harden' as it ages- in fact it goes brittle.
AnswerID: 138409

Follow Up By: John L G - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 14:31

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 14:31
Signman

I'm with you on this one.

I brought my 1992 L/C 75 in 1994 and for my use it was a bush only camping truck, rarely being used as a daily driver.

Needless to say at 5000 km per year I was hardly in a position to actually wear the tyres out.

In 2002 with these same tyres on and still showing good tread, yes about 80 on the clock, I drove the highway to Darwin and then came down the middle. Although the tyres looked ok I had concerns regarding their integrity so had them checked at the Beaurepairs centre where they were given the ok.

Met my son in Halls Creek, reloaded the trucks and took off toward the Crater to access the Stock Route.

25 clicks out of town, there was an almight bang and both rear tyres blew out simultaneously - and i mean blew themselves to bits.

Went back to Halls Creek and replaced the lot. The guy there, who has probably seen it all before, was not surprised. Tyres looked ok but simply had become hard and brittle over time- past their use by.

Yes, I was probably overloaded but the type of failure was pretty spectacular.

JohnG
FollowupID: 392055

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:00

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:00
Sounds like u had not enough pressure for the extra weight.
FollowupID: 392088

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:35

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:35
Apparently the life of a tyre is about 5 years.
I had a set of 2nd hand Olympic Steel Treks on the CT with heaps of tread left.
Thought one had a puncture and took it in for repairs. Was told it had died of old age and was unrepairable due to side wall failure. They also mentioned the 5 year approx life span.

I consider the crowd to be quite reputable, so have no call to doubt their point of view??

AnswerID: 138413

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 10:17

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 10:17
signman,

INCORRECT mate.

It's a well known fact in the motor Racing industry that heat will have an effect on hardening, or curing of the tyre compound. How much, depends on the make up of the specific tyre compound.

A soft racing tyre is constructed so that heat will have a lesser impact on hardening as the intent is to keep the tyres "sticky" thus providing more grip.

A "controlled" racing tyre is manufactured so that heat generated when racing will have as little an impact on the rubber compound as possible, so that performance is consistent and "racing" life extended.

Back in my racing days, an "open" tyre had a noticeable performance drop after one days racing in that subsequent uses saw an increase in lap times when compared to a "fresh" tyre because they had become "less sticky".
The "controlled" tyres would last most of the racing season without a significant impact to performance. (lap times)

In a similar way, a normal road tyre would be manufactured with the intent of providing consistent performance over a prolonged period, once "cured".

Thus, a new tyre may wear quicker early in its life, if it hasn't had sufficient time for the rubber to cure. Once it has reached normal operating temperature a few times, the tyre will have reached its optimum performance level.
How well each brand and style of tyre performs and how long it lasts, is what keeps the "wheel Industry turning" so to speak.

AnswerID: 138419

Follow Up By: signman - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:09

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:09
I really don't think there is any comparison between Racing Tyres and Road tyres. The 'quality' of a racing tyre is based on the compounds of the rubber used to match the needs of the tyre. Whether it be a 741 or a 760 hardness is the compound- not necessarily the construction. Although I do concede that Racing tyres go off if not correctly cycled for longeivity (sp??) and performance.
I've also had my fair share of circuit motor sport incl. Formula Libre/ Formula Ford/ 2 Bathursts (LC GTR Torana and Mazda RX7)/ rallying incl. Round Australia Rally '79 , London to Sydney and 2nd Aust. Safari etc etc.
Even dabbled just last weekend as a flaggy at the A1 GP at Eastern Creek.
FollowupID: 392073

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:02

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 11:02
Tyre manufacturers will tell you that tyres cure within 12 hours of manufacture. They may seem to become harder with age but that is due to compression. As previously stated soft tyres give more grip, harder tyres last longer.
AnswerID: 138423

Reply By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:57

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:57
Melissa,

I'm not sure of the reasons why, but I've had an almost identical experience to yours. My Cooper STT's wore fairly quickly to start with (after about 10,000 km, I too thought I'd only get about 50,000 out of them) but since then the wear rate has dropped considerably. I too reckon I'll get 80 to 90,000 out of them.

I don't know why this is so - maybe for some of the reasons discussed above - or maybe it's a different compound in the top few mm of tyre? I have no idea.

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

AnswerID: 138475

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:34

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 22:34
Hi Stephen,

We're leaning towards STT's when we replace the AT's. Apart from your comments re wear, how have you found them? Would you buy them again?

FollowupID: 392189

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 01:16

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 01:16
Hi Melissa and Family,

I've had the STT's for some time now and taken them over a variety of surfaces including the Vic High Country, a number of deserts and some mud (but not too much). I've gotta say that I'm pretty happy with them. When you let a bit of pressure out of them, they grip like billy-o.

I'm very happy with them. The true test is, as you asked, "would I buy them again". I certainly will. They perform very well off road and are fairly well mannered on road as well.

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

FollowupID: 392258

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 02:08

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 02:08
Thanks for the feedback Stephen.

FollowupID: 392263

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:09

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:09
Ive always thought the aged principal was a good one, and leave a set of tyres out in the sun for a few months b4 using them if possible.
New tyres seem to be real slippery on the road....might be left overs from manufacture, dont know...but i do know that a set of Bridgestone muddies have almost worn out on my 80 series.
They were bought in 1990 as a second set of tyres for offroad, and used 10000kms in the first 5 years, then 10k per year since then...so i have got 110000kms from them with minimal tread left now. My Coopers are out the back sunbaking right now!
AnswerID: 138476

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 18:39

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 18:39
I thought tyres gave more wear as they wear down due to less block squirm?

Seems to take for ever to wear that last 3mm off the tyres, from 4.5mm to 1.5mm tread depth of the wear bars!

AnswerID: 138504