Help! Diesel V Petrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:53
ThreadID: 27949 Views:7317 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
I have been a diehard Petrol 4wd man for years I have the opportunity to upgrade to a late model GQ. I have been searching for a good condition 4.2 petrol EFI wagon but they seem to be rare so far.

I keep finding the exact vehicle, price and condition I want but they are 4.2Ds.

Can someone CONVERT ME PLEASE!!! I need some good first hand arguments for going with a diesel version of these beauty's!
It will be used for towing up to a 1.8 tonne boat and family weekend trips (soft stuff) and not really very much around town work, it might also see the cape a few of times considering I live so close but no hard core 4wding for me anymore.

Also this vehicle might even see me out. Hoping for a long term relationship with it so I got to get it right.

Look forward to any Baptisms of fire you may offer :-) .

thanks fnqcairns

Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:56

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:56
Well you had better get the details of where all these diesels are for sale , because the Southern Folks will be GREATLY interested.

4.2 EFI Petrols are a dime a dozen in the Southern States. Getting hold of a decent diesel is more difficult.
AnswerID: 138639

Follow Up By: scoof - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 13:24

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 13:24
I was a die hard petrol head as well.I went across the simpson with a couple of diesels we all towed our campers,I used approx 140 litres of ULP for the trip across and the deisel used 69 litre's about half.The deisel seems to use a lot less fuel when towing compared to the petrol.By the way both vehicles were Pajero's.It's converted me I thought I would run over the top of the deisel when over taking trucks but it was not the case.I struggled to keep on his tail when overtaking.

Cheers Scoof
FollowupID: 392339

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 13:55

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 13:55
fngcairns

For a 4WD you can not go past a decent tubo-charged diesel, although unless you are buying one of the modern ones stick with a 4.2 TD. Usually the diesel engine version will be more expensive than the petrol, however diesels are generally more fuel efficient particularly when working hard, deal with the heat better (first hand experience of Pilbara mechanics I spoke to). Outside of the citys/towns diesel is more widely available in a fix you could even rock up to a mine-site in outback Qld they may or may not carry petrol but they will carry diesel. Anyway good luck.
AnswerID: 138650

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 14:18

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 14:18
In 1990 I bought a new Maverick petrol. Later converted it to LPG. Had it for 5 years.

In 1995, I bought a 2 year old (1993) RX Patrol, 4.2D. After the petrol Mav, the diesel was a real slug....in fact i was convinced there must have been something VERY wrong with it.....It was my 1st diesel.

After owning it for about 3 weeks, I got a Safari turbo bolted up to a 3" exhaust system and it felt like I was back in the petrol Mav again. Cheaper to run; gr8 tow vehicle and excellent low-down torque.

I can't ever imagine going back to a petrol 4by.

AnswerID: 138654

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 14:22

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 14:22
Mate I suggest you drive one with the boat attached because unless they are turboed you may be very disappointed with the lack of go. I owned a standard diesel (Cruiser) and when the time came to update I went petrol. Much easier to drive around town. Yes uses more fuel. But the lack of go was a real PITA.
AnswerID: 138655

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 06:04

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 06:04
I agree with Moose on this one...... I recently towed a 1.8 tonne boat for my cousin as his car was stuffed that weekend. I can tell you from the expierence, my GQ worked fine.....didnt even know the boat was there most times.....UNTILL......i reached some steep hills !!!

As much as i love my GQ as it does everything I need it to do without any problems, They are NOT the best vehicles for towing heavy loads behind them. Heading up hill with 1.8 tonne behind me was hard yakka. I hav never had to drop gears down from 5th to 4th..to 3rd climbing a hill. Also note that temperature guage was climbing. I must point out here that my GQ does not overheat, I fixed that problem over a year ago, but it did climb almost to 3/4 up hills with the boat behind me.
I am not trying to change ur mind on what vehicle to buy, I just want you to know that the GQ4.2 Turbo Diesel is a fantastic motor..second to none IMHO...BUT....wack a heavy boat behind it and add some steep hills in ur travels and you end up with a slug.

I did read last week that there are some people out there that havea gas kit for diesels now, I am trying to justify a 3,500.00 cost for a 30 ltr gas tank installation, but from what i have read, It definately does add some nice ponies to the turbo diesel 4.2. But 3,500.00 bucks is way too steep...some people want to get rich overnight. So i wll investigate the setup closer over time and probably try making a kit myself as i still have contacts with LPG suppliers from my taxi days. I recon around 1200.00 might be my all up cost to set my baby up with one, first i will road test one to see if that quoted horsepower is justified witha load on the back of the vehicle.

Do some homework before you buy, take a GQ fora road test with the boat hooked up..see what you think, but make sure you do it with lots of hills, that way you will get to see and feel how the GQ reacts both power wise and temperature wise. Just remember 1 thing, every GQ runs at different temperatures ok...some r maintained well..others are not, so dont think if the one you try is too hot, that they all will be. You need to know how good the cooling system is on the car u test drive.

Ange
FollowupID: 392517

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 14:44

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 14:44
Two more points:

River crossings - no distributor or spark plugs to get swamped.

Fire control - at work we drive through a lot of farm properties all times of the year. A lot of farmers won't allow petrol vehicles on their properties (especially during summer). They claim that their insurance companies will only cover them if they only allow diesel vehciles in their padddocks. The story goes that the catalytic converters of petrol vehicles can start grass -fires easily. I'm don't know if that is true or not - maybe it's a tall story - but that is the story we get.

Jeff
AnswerID: 138657

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 16:45

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 16:45
this is true, my mate burned out his car parking it in long grass after a drive. Also diesel exhaust is around 200 deg C cooler than petrol exhaust. One last intersting point that could be seen as an advantage, if you accidently gas yourself with pertol exhaust you will die, if you gas yourself with diesel exhaust you will get severe nausea and maybe vomit but you wont die, i see that as a +
FollowupID: 392370

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 15:22

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 15:22
2000 V6 3.2L Rodeo - average (hw) 13.5L/100km, (city) 22.5L/100km
2005 TD Pajero - average (hw) 9L/100km, (city) 12L/100km

The pajero has more power than the rodeo.

AnswerID: 138660

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 07:25

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 07:25
Hmm,

How about comparing horses for courses Marquis.
Your figures compare a petrol Rodeo with a Turbo Diesel Paj.

Care to quote the fuel comsumption on a 3.0L TD Rodeo???

FollowupID: 392518

Follow Up By: Member - Marquis - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 09:11

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 09:11
After the problems I had with the 2000 Petrol Rodeo (gearbox died, gearbox leaking oil big time on a trip around aus near Port Headland WA, various electrical problems) and a price tag for an equiv. in TD of $47k - no thankyou.
FollowupID: 392529

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 09:57

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 09:57
Then what was the point of your original reply?

Very unbalanced comparing a 2000 V6 3.2l petrol with a 2005 TD anything IMHO.

Just as an aside, The 2005 3.5l petrol Rodeo has a marked improvement over the old 3.2l and I would suspect the 3.2l turbo diesel would be even better still.

Marquis, based on your reply, what you should have said that based on your personal experience the 2000 v6 3.2l Rodeo was a heap of bleep and that the TD equivalent is too dear.

That would have been a more acurate (in your opinion) reply.

Have a good day.

FollowupID: 392540

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 18:05

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 18:05
fnqcairns,
I owned a petrol 4wd(Ford Bronco) which in itself a an interesting story. It was a great tow vehicle but very, very thirsty so I got it converted to LPG. Solved the petrol expenses but severely restricted the range I could get per fill. I regret I did not convert it to diesel but I just didn't think of it at the time.

I now own and LC Series 80 diesel and its the second one I have owned. I don't debate the merits of makes of 4wd as they all have their good and bad points but I would be extremely reluctant to go back to petrol and would never go back to LPG.

I find diesel to suit my needs very well. They are generally long lasting, more economical compared to an equivalent petrol driven vehicle. I acknoweledge that they are sluggish when towing caravans but they get the job done if you are not in a hurry at the lights or going up hills. Turbo diesels are another thing altogether and I have just joined that club.
I have kept fuel usage records for years and in a standard diesel Cruiser I've avaraged 11-12 ltrs/100 normal driving and 17ltrs/100km towing. I am not an offroad 4wd typec thrill seeker these days having spent a good deal of my working life doing that.

This is just my opinion.
Toolman
AnswerID: 138677

Reply By: Blaze - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 00:34

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 00:34
Seems to be a large lean to Diesel,

I guess I better have a say seeing I have just converted back.

I have used a response that Marquis put in to this post to state my opinion around.

Marquis put out some pretty interesting figures, but I don't believe in todays climate you can't equate L/klm, its $/klm.

I am guessing the 2000 V6 Rodeo is auto to have such a huge difference in city versus highway, If not then the driver had better learn to take off a little easier. I must add Rodeo's are a pretty thirsty petrol motor, and plenty of later model petrol motors have better figures than them.

I have cut and pasted his figures and added in the Fuel costs, which were worked out at an Average price just out of Adelaide, and also added a friends ute also.

2000 V6 3.2L Rodeo - average
(hw) 13.5L/100km, $17.28 (city) 22.5L/100km $28.80

2005 TD Pajero - average
(hw) 9L/100km, $12.42 (city) 12L/100km $16.56

2004 V6 3ltr Triton on ULP average
(hw) 12.5L/100km, $16.00 (city) 17.5L/100km $22.40

2004 V6 3ltr Triton on LPG average
(hw) 13.5L/100km, $5.62 (city) 18.5L/100km $8.32

Fuel was priced at $1.28ULP, $1.38D and $0.45LPG

I have just changed back to an LPG vehicle after owning a T/D Diesel and the only problem I have at present is damand is so high for conversions I may not get mine done until early next year. When making my mind up to change to a spark motor again I also took into account the amount of driving most of us do in areas that LPG is cheap, also the fact that the Turbo Diesel was serviced twice as often as the Sparker and that it cost over $50.00 each time for a good quality oil (larger oil well). We sat and worked it out on a 13,000k trip around Aust we have just completed and even running on ULP which on average was 15cents a ltr cheaper than diesel the difference would have only been $200.00, on LPG we would have saved $450.00 but for local driving which is over 60% of mine and I do above average Offroad, the savings are 50cents in the dollar at least.
AnswerID: 138748

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 07:38

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 07:38
13,000k trip around Aust

Bugga! Which way did you go? Must be a very special shortcut :)))
FollowupID: 392519

Follow Up By: Member - Marquis - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 08:51

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 08:51
Rodeo is a manual
Pajero is a automatic
FollowupID: 392528

Follow Up By: Member - Marquis - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 09:29

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 09:29
Also the petrol rodeo (60Lt), I was forever re-fuelling:
200 - 250km (city)
300 - 350km (h/w)
Trip with equipment (not towing): (h/w only) 600km - 95Lt at 100km/h
(carrying two 20L jerry cans)

TD Pajero (90Lt):
700km (city)
900km (h/w)
Only 1 decent trip so far (with equipment, not towing): 800km - 83Lt
100 to 110km/h
FollowupID: 392534

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 11:34

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 11:34
How much is the conversion to LPG going to cost you and how long will that take to make up the cost with fuel savings?

I have also heard a rumour that the Federal Govt. is going to increase the price of LPG soon to get another finger in the pie. If they don't, everyone will be driving LPG Falcons soon :-)
FollowupID: 392551

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:19

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 14:19
Sky pilot,
LPG installation for a GQ 4.2 Diesel...yes diesel.....is 3,500 bucks.

Here is the reply i received from them in regards to installing LPG to my GQ Diesel....

Ange,

Generally with Patrol wagons we need to remove the centre muffler and
fit a 30l tank there. The exhaust is modified to fit. This isn't
enough gas to do both tanks (especially with the long range one)(I
assume it has twin tanks) but the biggest we can fit without sacrificing
ground clearance.

Price is $3500+GST (plus the cost of any exhaust work). If you think
there is space underneath without modifying the exhaust, call me for
tank dimensions.

Brad
DieselGas Technologies

30 ltr tank wont get u far. And not to mention modifying the exhaust, does this mean the modifications will affect the turbo ..? being mandrel bent pipes and all ..?
Add GST and you will almost hit 4 grand PLUS the cost of ANY EXHAUST work.....sheesh !!!!
FollowupID: 392564

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:48

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 15:48
Its gonna take a hell of a long time to recover $4,000 with the difference in fuel prices. What would the range of the vehicle be with 30L of LPG - about 180km?
FollowupID: 392576

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 02:18

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 02:18
Hey Sky Pilot, what is the average difference in price of same model Turbo Diesel versus petrol? You will see it is about $3 to $4K, so it actually will take you no time to recover the gas fit cost. In the case of the Toyota Cruiser price difference T/D Diesel and spark motor is over $10K.
As for cokeaddict's mention of Diesel/LPG conversion, this is a completly different conversion with the LPG being mixed with the Deisel as it is burntat about a 20% rate, so the 30ltrs will actually last the time it took to burn 120ltrs of the oily stuff, and the other benifit is that you burn cleaner and with better KW's, average increase is over 18%. So by the time you run out of LPG from the 30ltr LPG tank you will have travelled the same distance you would have travelled on 160ltrs of diesel, but with improved power and of course out of that 160 ltrs, 30ltr's of it has only cost the price of LPG. If the LPG tank runs out between fuel stops the vehicle just goes back to original situation of a standard oiler, burning the oily stuff. Stacks of truck companies are running their rigs on this mixed fuel combo. We seriously thought about this option and keeping our Turbo Diesel but of course with all the other figures I mentioned above, (Services etc) Duel fuel (ULP LPG seemed better for us.
FollowupID: 392707

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 05:27

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 05:27
Hi Blaze,
Thanks for the info you posted. I didnt realise that the LPG was mixed with the diesel fuel. Now that does make good sence. And YES...much cleaner burns which keeps engine oil much cleaner for longer. From what i have read over the past few days, It is definately a way to go if you plan on keeping the 4B for a long time ..which i do.
Ange
FollowupID: 392715

Reply By: fnqcairns - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:56

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:56
Thanks!! tons of new information for me to work with and with my other research it is painting a picture.

I have found a GQ diesel I can live with, monday probably will be crunch day if I go diesel.

Anyone know about rebuild costs, as I understand both the diesel and the petrol 4.2s can have more or less the same lifespan. Does the extra fuel consumption of a petrol over say 500k even it all out in the end?

A couple of interesting bits I have found out so far. 1 the diesel engine has an alternator that costs around $600.00 to replace and that there is absolutly no difference between the 4.2P and the 4.2D gearboxes! I had heard a whisper that the D gearbox was a softer one so decided to check it out.

Interestingly a person can pick up a GQ 4.2 gearbox for under $600 at the wreckers, aparently at the one I rang there are that many GQ gearboxes in stock they might be scraping some soon to make room for stuff that sells! Good omen I think!

Forgot to ask what a good wrecker 4.2D engine was worth. anyone know!

Can a gq wagon pull an average 1.8tonn boat at 120-30km/h on the flat? Wondering how much they have in reserve at 100km/h.

So many questions so little time before I want the new car in the driveway:)

Thanks again to all, fnq
AnswerID: 138846

Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 00:31

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 00:31
My experience , 4.2 petrol lifespan 300,000km 4.2 diesel 500.00k plus! dont worry about gearbox probs , it may never happen.
Regards Ken.
FollowupID: 392697

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 21:28

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 21:28
Fnq - some background may help for the Diesel.
Nissan needed a diesel for their buses and light trucks in Asia, so they stripped down a Perkins diesel engine and copied it (late 1970s).
Slow reving, very reliable, low tech motor.
Around 1982 they wanted a diesel for their new Patrol, so they took the engine plus drive train from the truck/buses and dropped it into the Patrol.
Over time some minor modifications to piston weight etc, but basically a highly reliable, almost indestructible, low tech motor. Deisgned from the start as a turbo, but available as either normally aspirated or turbo.
The motors do 500k plus (up to and over 1m Klms in Asia).
No overhead cam belts to replace (eg no $1000+ services).
Minimal electronics - (other than mirrors, central locking etc).
- Mechanical injector pump; non computer controlled engine.
Consumption - not brilliant but reasonable. Our 1999 4.2TD gets 12L per 100ks general use; 15L per 100Ks towing a 1.5ton camper (at 90k/hr).
Fuel - available almost everywhere.
The key to diesels - oil change (with correct oil) every 5000K with filters.
Downside - expensive to repair if they need it.
Upside - for these old tech motors, they rarely ever need major repairs.
If you are looking for a long term buy - get the 4.2td.
If you want something thats fast off the line and expensive to keep - buy a horse.
AnswerID: 139039