question , what the hell are star droppers ?

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:04
ThreadID: 27991 Views:10029 Replies:8 FollowUps:26
Being young and also from qld i have no idea what star droppers are . What are they ?

Reply By: navaraman - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:09

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:09
Three sided metal rods, sort of Y shaped. Used for fencing etc.

Pat
AnswerID: 138880

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:16

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:16
Commonly known as star pickets
FollowupID: 392645

Reply By: Harry - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:15

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:15
Fencing is where you use them thar steel star droppers or star pickets.
Used in between wooden or concrete posts.
The wire is threaded through the holes.
They are 3 sided and I use 3 short one's for a ground anchor if bogged, spread apart a couple of feet, oops I meant about 60cm's.and tied from top to bottom with short strong ropes that I carry.
Hope that all helps
AnswerID: 138882

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:15

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:15
You mean STAR POSTS .
AnswerID: 138883

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:19

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:19
I've known them as star pickets for 40 years.
FollowupID: 392646

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:24

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:24
I have known them as star posts or star pickets for 41 years .
FollowupID: 392650

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:38

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:38
Yep,but I'm counting from a few years after pubity :))
FollowupID: 392653

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:30

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:30
FollowupID: 392684

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 06:48

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 06:48
I have always called them star droppers.
FollowupID: 392718

Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 07:23

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 07:23
Nah mate , they,re called 'Waratah's
FollowupID: 392719

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:17

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:17
It's a South Ozzie thing.....I spent the 1st 47 odd years of my life in NSW and ALWAYS knew of these as "star pickets".....

When I got to SA and these blokes are all talking about "star droppers"; well I thought it was some kind of special @rse-hole that had "stars" eminating from it's sphingter. ......."scuse me mate, I've just gotta shoot off to the dunny for a few minutes and do a few star droppers" hehehe

Roachie (ex NSW)
FollowupID: 392783

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 23:54

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 23:54
Hey Roachie is it true they use the star droppers to hold up the stobie poles?
FollowupID: 392838

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:20

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:20
What other SELF RECOVERY items do people carry .
AnswerID: 138884

Follow Up By: Star Bug - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:40

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:40
Asprin and Beroca........ sorry wrong type of recovery :)
FollowupID: 392655

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:41

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:41
I have buried a spare wheel on a couple of occasions to winch myself out of a boggy situations ... and that is "hand winch" ... and it worked fine. I have always said that if I get bogged I need to be prepared to be there for a while getting myself out.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 392656

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:43

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:43
Hmm..lets see.
Positive attude coupled with the appropriate skills and experience.
That plus a long handled shovel will do a lot for you.
Remember that 4wd is for getting you OUT of trouble, not into it.
FollowupID: 392657

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:47

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:47
Jack, have to agree with you about being there a while. I usually examine the situation over a long drink. No point in being like a bull at a red flag, usually makes things worse and can be dangerous.
FollowupID: 392658

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:53

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:53
Scenario: You are driving along a forestry track in your falcon miles from anywhere . You drive around a bend and hit a slippery patch of red clay and you are not going anywhere . You have no traction and your wheel arches are full of red clay . What do you do .
FollowupID: 392663

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:56

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 22:56
I have a mate who is into really hard core 4WDing. He has very heavy duty lockers at both ends of a highly modified Rangey with 12000 lb winch and hand winch. I have gone with him through absolutely amazing terrain where I knew my own Rangey would not have had a chance of going. The problem is when he rings at 3.00 am in the morning and says I'm bogged 10 km down such and such track. You just know it is going to take a D9 or a Sikorsky chopper to extract him :-)))
FollowupID: 392664

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:03

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:03
glenno(qld) Something simular happened to me while driving my 1978 nissan campervan along the 4wd track from higgensville to cave hill after rain and at 8 at night at about 5kph the rear end just slid to the side of the track and all the reversing and forwarding got me at right angles to the track with no traction.
SOLUTION?????
jumped in the back -1/2 a dozen beers followed by a good steak and got up in the morning when things had dried out a bit and drove out
FollowupID: 392668

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:07

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:07
I have been approached twice now by drivers of 2WD vehicles driving in areas which were definitely not what 2WDs were designed for. They wanted to know if I could use my 4WD to tow them out of their predicament. When I asked if they had a tow rope - why would I need a tow rope, haven't you got one? Good luck, hope you get out eventually.

Also asked by 2WD driver stopped in middle of deep creek crossing if I had any WD40. At the time, I had a diesel 4WD. It occurs to me that people who do silly things should ensure they do have some sort of emergency kit to help them get out of their predicament and not just rely on others to get them out of their problem.
FollowupID: 392673

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:10

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:10
I have seen some strange vehicles driving along the beach at times . Everything from statesmans to you name it .
FollowupID: 392675

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:29

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:29
Fraser Island 1977 - sitting by the campfire at Poyungan Rocks at night having a quiet beer and this woman walks into the campsite asking how far to the mainland end of the island. Appears she accepted a ride to Indian Head with a bloke she didn't know and they were lost coming back. The car - a Morris Major Elite with 5.20 X 14 road tyres. The driver was totally bleep .
FollowupID: 392683

Follow Up By: techie - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:41

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 23:41
best I've seen is a guy trying to get onto fraser island with a subaru awd - didn't get off the sand and only just got it back on the boat before the tide came in. Spent most of my time on Fraser giggling about it.
Techie
FollowupID: 392688

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 01:31

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 01:31
Back in the good old days when we were young and dumb and couldnt afford 4wd anyway the 2 wd cars were the way to go. Alot of people these days think you need a 4by to leave the bitumen but back when cars were made alot stronger a bit of careful driving could get you lots of places. alot of walking was also done
FollowupID: 392702

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:06

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:06
Glenno, I've seen that Statesman on Fraser. Also used to be a converted Rolls Royce kickin around Rainbow beach that used to go up on the island. What a way to travel.... :-)
FollowupID: 392779

Reply By: Big Woody - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 07:08

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 07:08
Going back 20 years now but I distinctly remember a couple of HQ holden sedans owned by residents on Fraser Island (before they banned 2wd's). These HQ's admittedly had huge tyres and low tyre pressures but went anywhere they wanted to on the island.
And they were the good old days to before the boardwalks were placed at all of the fun bits that sorted out who had what it took to get to the top of the island.
I remember one year it tooks us 8 hours to get our group of 8 Landcruisers from the Inskip ferry to the camping spot at Ocean Lake. Best bit was around behind Middle Rocks before they closed it and put the bypass track in. It was most entertaining to sit on the banks of the track for a day watching the inexperienced try for hours to get through to Waddy Point and eventually turn around and give up.

I miss those sort of challenges.

Brett
AnswerID: 138913

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:33

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 14:33
Again, going back some 25 years, a mate of mine and his wife spent two weeks on Fraser Island driving a HT Holden ute. They had no real problems. He had standard road tyres on it running at lower pressure. Providing you drive on the harder packed sand on the beach and you can get a serious run up the sand blows, it is quite possible to do much of it in a 2WD. I loaned him a small Tirfor, but he had no need to use it.

It is amazing what can be done in a 2WD with a good driver. In my last big trip around the northern end of Australia, the only road I travelled where I reckon a 2WD would definitely not have made it was the road into the Bungle Bungles. That had some serious bits that would have made it quite difficult. Apart from that, there were some corrugations that would have shaken most of the modern 2WD cars to pieces, but then the Prado didn't like them that much either. Naturally, if you were up there in the wet, it would be a different kettle of fish.

I have also done some bush driving into the great divinding range where the 4WDs in our group were in low range. A mate who was a useful sort of Rally driver brought his rally prepped Mitsubishi Colt along for the trip and made it all the way. He didn't require assistance and he didn't damage it.
FollowupID: 392786

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 08:05

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 08:05
.....oh, now I'm starting to feel my age.... you young buggers asking these sorts of questions...

Yep, the Black steel fence pickets... don't know how they got the name "Star", but it stuck, and that's what you call them in the shops over here.

Actually, don't even know how the word "Dropper" got dragged into the equation either.

I might write a letter to the Adelaide Advertiser, and ask them, as they seem to be able to find the answer to lots of obscure questions.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 138920

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 10:48

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 10:48
If you look at the 'star picket' from above I imagine that is how they got their name.
FollowupID: 392750

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 08:19

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 08:19
Why is it that if you own a troopy with a winch on the front and a shovel on the roof and you are parked at the eurong carpark with a thousand other 4wds the d!ckhead who is i bogged on the beach with no experience or recovery equipment comes up to you and askes if you have a tow rope .
AnswerID: 138924

Follow Up By: Pterosaur - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 10:26

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 10:26
Why have your shovel on the roof ? My troopy comes with a free shovel holder at the front - I think all the 70+ series do ?
Terry
2003 Troopy camper
FollowupID: 392744

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 12:39

Friday, Nov 11, 2005 at 12:39
The shovel is attached to the rhino bars by a pair of brackets .
FollowupID: 392764

Reply By: prado_95 - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 16:32

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 16:32
pickets are for unionists

made of steel and used as intermediate fence posts. they look like this from the the top;

\/
| <- wire goes thru holes here

:-)

AnswerID: 139186