Advice on living in Brisbane

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 20:28
ThreadID: 28219 Views:7054 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Okay I know this isnt four wheel drive related but I asked a similar question here about moving to melbourne many months ago and got a good response. I even had 60 minutes contact me as they were doing a segment on sea change and wanted to use my family in the story. (However the wife didnt want to be part of it so I declined)

Anyway now it looks as if we may be moving to Brisbane instead. I dont know much about Brisbane and its surrounding suburbs so would appreciate any information some of you Queenslanders can give me. My work would more than likely be in the Acacia Ridge/ Archerfield areas so we would more than likely want to live in the Southern Suburbs. I have a young family so looking for the nice new estate type areas with the school down the road and the park and local shops near by. I dont mind having to drive to work say up to a maximum of half an hour, so anything within half hour of Acacia Ridge area would be great. I would also prefer to be close to the coast and have been interested in the Redland Shire district.

Also I would like to know what areas to avoid that may be high in crime etc etc. Anything else that you could tell me would be great. I would appreciate any advice given and feel free to e-mail me as well.

Thanks in advance.

Troy.

Reply By: Rigor - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 20:55

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 20:55
Hi Troy, difficult to know what you are after exactly but ,I am not prepared to say here what suburbs to avoid but you can't go wrong if you check out a refidex and look at the 10 Km radius from the city in the direction you want . I live on the north side by preference as I like the country all the way up to the Cooloola region (Fraser Is.) A couple of suburb names would be Mt Gravatt , Holland Park, Ekibin Tarragindi , Salisbury,Sunnybank . Basically the city side of Archerfield will always go up in value. Prices would start around $250K for the older home and go as high as you like..

Good luck.

Cheers Dave L.
AnswerID: 140069

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:25

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:25
Have to agree with Ekibin and Tarragindi area. Older style houses, great prospects for reno's, close to city, good schools, reasonable prices.

Cheers.......
FollowupID: 394047

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:13

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:13
G'day

Have a look at the Wynnum, Manly, Tingalpa, Belmont area. Close to the Bay and the city and within 30 minutes of Acacia Ridge and travelling mostly against peak hour traffic into that area (Acacia Ridge).

Safe and pleasant location with good schools nearby ( including private schools). Some new estates in the Manly area.

Look around $250/350,000.00 plus plus plus ( depending on area ) for house and land.

AnswerID: 140074

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:22

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:22
If you think you can get to Acacia Ridge from Wynnum in 30 minutes in peak hour traffic, your dreamin!
FollowupID: 394046

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:31

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:31
Troy,

I would have to agree with Dave (above) on his choice of suburbs on the southside. I will add we have people we know moving out of the new lakes area around Springfield due to the crime (thier thoughts and opinions not mine) but I have not lived in that vicinity so can't comment with first hand experience. I think the Redland Shire you talk about is a nice area when driving through but don't know enough about the area to comment on crime ect. There is great motorways which connect the Gold Coast with Brisbane so I would even consider looking at some of the suburbs in the G.Coast-Brissy coridor for accommadation. Not a lot of coastal scenery here in Brissy itself as it's not really on the coast apart from a few Bayside suburbs most of the action is 1hr north or south as far as surf goes.
Hope all goes well and the move comes off for you, just don't tell your neighbours how nice it is up here so we can keep it to ourselves ;-))

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 140076

Reply By: theshadows - Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:40

Saturday, Nov 19, 2005 at 21:40
I do this trip every day. Try Manly corridor to Birkdale . Try cleveland to redland bay.
I live Bayside at Victoria Point and love it. It is at least 4 degrees cooler than archerfeild and the the bay breezes are fantastic. 30 minutes to archerfeild BTW.

shadow
AnswerID: 140077

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 07:20

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 07:20
Hi Troy,

Our family moved from suburban south west Sydney to the suburb of Sheldon in the Redland Bay Shire at the begining of the year.

I can not recommend the Redland Bay shire highly enough.

Good points are:

- Depending on your budget, houses reange from $250K to $1M
- bugger all crime (that I know of)
- Sea breezes
- Great community atmosphere
- too many shops for wife to spend money
- heaps of weekend sporting activities for kids
- Heaps of schools to choose from either public or private
- close to everything (brissy 20 minutes, Gold Goast 1 hr)
- close to all 4x4 and camping locations (compared to sydney)

If you want more detailed info, then please send me private message

TonyG

AnswerID: 140110

Follow Up By: troy35 - Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 16:06

Sunday, Nov 20, 2005 at 16:06
Thanks TonyG and to everyone else who has replied so far. Sound slike the redland Shire area might be a good palce to live. It certainly looked good from what Ive found on the net and aslo looking at the area in detail on Google earth too.

Tony Im not a member so cannot send you a private message but my email address is htsbme@wn.com.au if you could send me a short note with your e-mail address, that would be great.

So just wondering those that do live in brisbane how many times a year would you run your aircon? Here in Broome weve had ours on now since the start of November. The main one goes on about lunchtime and runs until bedtime when we turn the bedroom aircons on. Its too hot to sleep otherwise and will be like that utnil April. So any improvement on that in Brisbane is a bonus.
Also what sort of min and max temps does Brisbane get? Does it get down below 12C much in winter? Im really looking forward to some colder winters than what we get in Broome.

Thanks again,

Troy.
FollowupID: 393828

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:51

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:51
troy35.

I also call the Redlands home.
Hard to beat with the bush and the bay.
We have A/C and only run on cooling 3 or 4 days a year. on the occasional hot night.
The A/C runs on heating (at night) a couple of weeks during winter.

From the responces you have received it would appear EO is well respresented on the bayside.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 393905

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 19:26

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 19:26
Must be cool in Broome. My aircon goes on Mid October and off late March.

Donations to help cover power bill much appreciated.

Why would you want to move to the big smoke? i thought you city folk were trying to get out.

Spade
FollowupID: 394090

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 10:59

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 10:59
Tony,

If you live out bayside way and can catch some of the breezes you shouldn't need aircon at all. Just make sure your house is designed well. We live in a heavily built up area that gets virtually no breezes and we survive without a/c. Although we do have an outdoor plunge pool to cool off in. Generally people only need to use aircon from about the middle of December to the middle of Feb.

As for temps in winter. You will definately get below 12 deg, especiall yat night. Hope that helps.

Also check out moving to brisbane That site also has a link to a good real estate site. Not sure what you're after but expect to pay $400 to $600k for somethng semi decent. Although if I were you, I'd try renting first and see which areas/streets you prefer. If you find a house you want to buy, give me a yell, I might be able to dig up some info about it for you.

Hope that helps.

R.
AnswerID: 140222

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:37

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:37
We looked at moving to Brissie about 18mths ago. Didn't go for a couple of reasons but , we also looked at the Redland Bay area and would have moved there.

We looked around Alexandra Hills, Wellington Point, Birkdale. Schools seem very good, good sporting facilities , good shopping areas , close to the beaches , reasonably priced house wise.

I think it has a lot going for it.

Capalaba is a bit hit and miss , some of it is quite good (Northern Part) , but the Southern part is a bit ordinary.

The one BIG thing I noticed when driving around Alexandra Hills was the lack of burnout marks on the road . . . EXCELLENT sign in my view.
AnswerID: 140232

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:14

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:14
I voted to allow you to come - it must have been those others. Sorry you didn't make it, better luck next time.

FollowupID: 393937

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:50

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:50
What ???

Didn't I send enough cash to go around . . . bastards . . .
FollowupID: 393940

Reply By: Patrick - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 20:07

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 20:07
OK, I'm showing my age but what ever happened to the tick gates at the border to keep those southern pests at bay?

AnswerID: 140305

Reply By: mattlobie - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:45

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:45
A few points to differ from the above responses. As a few people have said, you can get from the bayside to Archerfield in about half an hour when the traffic is nice to you, but I'm sure you're aware that it can take a lot longer.

An alternate suburb suggestion, although the bayside suburbs are very nice, would be Chelmer / Graceville / Sherwood area and down into Oxley and Mt Ommaney. A bit more expensive than the bayside areas but very nice, good schools etc and only 10 mins to Archerfield. Older houses away from the river would be more affordable (obviously). It's also pretty straight forward to get out to the north for the weekend etc, which, as someone else said, is my preferred getaway direction, up as far as Rainbow beach and Inskip point.

There is also the lure of the new estates like Forest Lake, Springfield Lakes etc. They look pretty nice and new and are pretty cheap but you'll be packed in like sardines and there's a reasonable amount of crime etc. (They are pretty close to Inala and Goodna, after all)

One last thing, and this may be obvious, but I'd avoid the suburbs directly around Acacia Ridge / Archerfield, they're pretty dodgy.

matt
AnswerID: 140362

Follow Up By: troy35 - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 00:15

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 00:15
Mattlobie,

Thanks for the reply. I will check out the suburbs you mention. Whats wrong with the new estates? Thats the sort of thing we thought might be the go. Why is the crime in these areas so high?
I wasnt sure but I assumed the suburbs around Archerfield wouldnt be any good being an industrial area. I had a close up look on Google earth and could see mainly wharehouses etc.
FollowupID: 394008

Follow Up By: mattlobie - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 01:48

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 01:48
It's just the area in which they are situated. The suburbs south of and adjacent to the Ipswitch motorway from Archerfield all the way out to Ipswich are all reasonably dodgy. It was all quite a low socio-economic area until the new estates were establshed. The new estates themselves aren't the problem, it's the adjoining suburbs like Inala, Darra, Goodna, Wacol (we all know what's at Wacol) etc. Go for a drive around the area any saturday night and I'm sure you'll see what I mean. I'm sure the area is slowly improving as property prices rise but I wouldn't say that they're out of the woods yet.

Having said that, I lived at Collingwood Park for a year before moving north to Townsville, and it was OK. Quite a new area with reasoanble prices, and because the suburb is not a thouroughfare to anywhere else, it stays pretty quiet. It's closer to Ipswich than Brisbane but is only about a 15-20 min run to Archerfield along the Ipswich motorway. Even with nightmare peak hour traffic you'd get there in half an hour, unless there's a major accident and the motorway is closed. The main problem with that area is that you're basically living in Ipswich and it's generally about 5 degrees hotter than Brisbane in summer and about 5 degrees colder in winter.

I'm sure there are other new estates around Brisbane that are nice, but personally I'd avoid the ones to the south of the Ipswich motorway. The prices are attractive, so be wary.

matt
FollowupID: 394011