Calling all Evakool Owners.
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 07:20
Big Woody
I have narrowed my search for a fridge to the Evakool range about 60 or 70 litres in size. I am after feedback from owners who have the single temp model with the motor inside the fridge as compared to the retro fit model with the dual temp configuration.
Can anyone tell me advantages/disadvantages of either model?
So far I can get the RF60-DT down to $1000 which I think is a pretty good price as we are buying 3 of them.
Thanks guys,
Brett
Reply By: brian - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 07:37
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 07:37
Hello i have the dual zone model it has failed twice,note the last time
mine was repaired at everkools factory they only use secondhand parts not new.Also the cost of an exchange compressor can be around $1000 i think this is typical of most brands.When i took
mine firstly to their nominated agent for examinationin
sydney i was surprised to see the factory innundated with failed engels and everkools,my oppinion is that all the brands are inherently unreliable for their cost.Maybe you could ring any repairer and ask for a qoute on repairing the major brands before you decide.
Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:07
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:07
Brian,
"innundated with failed engels and everkools"
You could get excommunicated for saying something like that on this
forum :)))) The Engel zealots will be out baying for your blood :)
Reply By: uncle - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 07:43
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 07:43
We have the 60ltr dual temp Brett, had it for two years and no problems.Only slight down fall is that the compressor is slightly noisier than the engel,but hey im not that bothered! Has a good warning light system that tells you what the probable cause is by the number of flashes too. Only seen that happen once,as we are about to get a solar set up soon,it flashed a few times cause the deep cycle was getting a tad low.Cheers ,$1000 is a good price,we paid $1300 with the 240v power pack/charger as
well.cya
Reply By: kesh - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:00
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:00
Big Woody. Buying a fridge of this size you may be surprised at what Trailblaza have to offer.
I have no affiliation with the manufacturer, but am a very satisfied owner of their 60l. size unit which has given no problems in over 10yrs.
Whilst they seem bulky compared to say an Engel and others, the amount of insulation makes them considerably more efficient. (a.hr./l.cap./24hr.)
Pays to remember you only get what you pay for!
kesh
Follow Up By: Wok - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:29
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:29
Ditto
Follow Up By: Big Woody - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 09:01
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 09:01
I agree with your comments but my problem is the eqivalent size fridge/freezer in the trailblazer is over $2000.
As we need 3 of them it is a little hard to justify spending over $6000 just on a few fridges. For that could have a fully refidgerated Pantec style canopy fitted to the back of the ute.
I agree the secret to good refrigeration is in the insulation. I have done my research and as far as insulation is concerned I believe Evakool to be next in line afterthe trailblazer.
On paper, the best performance for dollar value seems to be in the Evakool but that is why I am posting here first as a couple of the replies have already shown up some things to look out for.
Brett
Follow Up By: Big Woody - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 09:09
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 09:09
Sorry Kesh,
I just had a look at the Norcoast website and they advertise the 60 litre units for about $1350.
Thanks mate, now I am even more confused.
Might have to do another post titled "Calling all Trailblaza Owners".
Any one else with feedback on Trailblaza's you might as
well add it in here.
Brett
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 15:58
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 15:58
you've all heard of the guy that liked remington shavers so much...?he bought the company?
well I liked the trailblaza so much I... nope didnt buy it.... but made a copy of their fridge....
Big woody.... as for getting a refrigerated )note no 'D') pantec to fit the back for 6K ....gee dont expect much do you...hahahaha it would cost more than that I reckon...but we see your point
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:13
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:13
I have an RF47DT with the compressor on the outside. I bought it because I wanted the freezer section.
We've had it for about a year and a half and have flogged it pretty hard. Problem now is that the whole compressor section on the outside is getting loose and moving around on its main cabinet mounts. I suspect that they don't like being tied down by the handles too hard - one of which is on the end of the compressor section. This has only just been noticed this week.... along with a blown MobiTronic 12V supply (fuses melted for some reason). Time for a checkup me thinks.
Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:47
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 08:47
I have had the 50litre single zone for 5 years now and it hasn't missed a beat.
Runs 24hours/day sitting in the back of the truck.
Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:07
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:07
Giday Woody,
I have had a RF60 now for about 3yrs and hasn't missed a beat. In fact we usually end up bring frozen meat etc home (due to overcatering)so the insulation is very good. Power use is also very good, can go approx 3-4 days depend on ambiant conditions between charges.
Athol
Reply By: Member - Scooby (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:23
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:23
Hi Big Woody,
We have owned a 68 litre model for 3 years now, it has been great. Temperature control is very good, power draw is low. Early on we had trouble breaking the rubber lid catches. The service from Evakool was excellent, new ones in the post free of charge (5 year cabinet warranty). The new catches are a big improvement over the old style, made of different rubber.
Ours fridge is protected in a wooden box and still looks new.
A very happy owner.
Scooby
Reply By: Old Nick - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:24
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:24
Hi Big Woody, I have owned a 60 litre Trailblaza for over 10 yrs. Tied down by rhe handles sitting on the back of the truck and never missed abeat in that time and has had posts and wood thrown against it and me old Blue Heeler perches up on it looking over the rack. Try putting a plastic one through 10 yrs of that!! To those not familiar with Trailblazas, they are built out of marine grade aluminium and very miserly on power also Nick
Follow Up By: kesh - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:57
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:57
Opened pandoras box here woody, but pleased you found the trailblaza price structure to be competitive.
I somehow reckon you could be the next one to applaud their quality and performance, (but it takes 10yrs. to make sure!!)
cheers, the kesh
Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:35
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:35
I have a single temp 92L with the compressor built in.
Great unit.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:01
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:01
"..... with the compressor built in."........errrrr where else would it be ev700????????????......must be a trick statement right hahahaha
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 19:30
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 19:30
On the outside!
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:21
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:21
built in on the outside? hahahaha
Reply By: trentski - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:11
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:11
I have a 60 litre Trailblaza.
I went for a drive through the
little desert national park and didn't tie it down in the back of the ute
well enough and it put a few dents in the tray. A fibreglass Evakool would have been absolutely destroyed but at least the ute wouldn't have been dented ;-)
I sleep with it in the tent at night and have yet to be woken up from the motor runing, I am not sure if this is because it is quiet, because the insulation is so good it doesn't run at night or because I always sleep really
well when I am camping.
Cheaper and very close in weight to the comparitive sized Engel but with a Danfoss compressor I couldn't be happier. Excellent insulation, great customer service, great product. Ring them up and talk to them, only cost you a phone call and very helpful.
They have different shapes so you can pick the one that best suits your application, tall or short or long. You can't do that with an Evakool or Waeco or Engel.
Trentski