Calling all SHOE owners

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:08
ThreadID: 28300 Views:3792 Replies:27 FollowUps:45
What shoes do you like best for wheeling? Not touring, but day tripping...

I have a pair of HiTeks that Ive had for ~12 yrs, that are still going, and finally found somewhere that sells the same model as these :D

Reply By: Rigor - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:11

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:11
Being a Queenslander I drive in bare feet and walk in thongs (on the feet) !!!!

The above is generally true but when bush walking I wear any comfortable jogger/walker with good grip.

Dave L.
AnswerID: 140569

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:16

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:16
Absolutally!, nothing like a good pair of "saftey" thongs. I prefer to drive bare foot (as that's how I learnt on the farm) and if the sand is hot, there's always a pair of thongs.

In fact I wear thongs for pretty much everything, angle grinding, welding, mowing the lawn, whipper snipping, electrical work. The only thing to be aware of though is it still hurts when your shooing a bee away while whipper snipping and you give your feet a gooden with the bugger.! LOL

I've got a mate who's insisting he's going to make a pair of thongs for me at work that have steel caps! ;-)
FollowupID: 394265

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:23

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:23
Shoo them away with the whipper snipper, not your (soon to be) bloody feet.

Your mate could be on to a big seller :))))
FollowupID: 394268

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 02:35

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 02:35
na, your mate is well behind us over here in vic, best use for old blunnie safety boots is to cut em down to slip on "slippers" , awesome for ducking out for firewood etc, around the house.
FollowupID: 394381

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:12

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:12
Thongs old mate! Spend a lot of time in these and they are the best if dealing in sand.

AnswerID: 140570

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:34

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:34
I have my Gumboots, which are very stylish and practical for those wet mud days and go great with my quick dry boardies.

Other wise on a dry sunny day i choose my blundstones
AnswerID: 140575

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 14:30

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 14:30
I can vouch for the stylishness of your gumbies....
FollowupID: 394230

Follow Up By: Member - Miles (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:37

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:37
I'm a gumbies man too, ex dairy farmer in nz, reckon I could run the Sydney Melb too in them, wife reckons thats why I dance funny.....
FollowupID: 394312

Reply By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:47

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:47
for me day tripping I use cushioned Steel Blue very comfortable durable all terrian Shoe ,good on the black top and just good in think of things ;) but when it comes time to relax cant beat my regulation jap work boots..they to hilight my short stumpy hairry legs.Hope this enlightens you....but I still cant find my bl##$#pn laces. Uruu.
JD4WDActivist
AnswerID: 140579

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:53

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 10:53
Thongs for every day use .
Slides with socks for special occasions .
AnswerID: 140580

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:00

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:00
Here is a picture of me with my slides.
FollowupID: 394187

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:05

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:05
link text
FollowupID: 394189

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:18

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:18
Glenno,

The top your wearing, is it made from camel wool?
FollowupID: 394193

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:30

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:30
Do you like my humps .
FollowupID: 394196

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:31

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:31
Trying to keep this G rated . Not easy .
FollowupID: 394198

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:32

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:32
Nice humps...........
FollowupID: 394199

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:09

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:09
You need shoes with laces ;) and low, low, to over those humps
FollowupID: 394205

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:16

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:16
They look like the bloody Swiss Alps......

Make for good skiing...
FollowupID: 394208

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:44

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:44
Who needs air bags !!!
FollowupID: 394214

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:46

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:46
True,

but we all need Fun Bags....
FollowupID: 394215

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:15

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:15
u wish glenno
FollowupID: 394222

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:58

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:58
I think the Beemer needs a 2" ... naaaah ....... 4" lift :)
FollowupID: 394252

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:05

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:05
Blundstones or thongs depending on the terrain... Never shoelaces though...
AnswerID: 140583

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:10

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:10
someone caught on
FollowupID: 394190

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:13

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:13
Just trying to boost your deleted post count... ;-)
FollowupID: 394192

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:49

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:49
wow, that epileptic clicking on the view thread button does increase post views. Maybe we can get it to 5 figures before its deleted??
FollowupID: 394217

Reply By: ellmcg - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:13

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:13
Any sort of elastic sided boot with grip - yes, I've tried flat soled ones and it wasn't fun. The elastic sided bit is also important as they make for an easy transition from boot to thong at the end of the day.
AnswerID: 140585

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:31

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:31
blundstones or thongs but about to upgrade/downgrade to redbacks as been told they are pretty good from day one
fozzy
AnswerID: 140588

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:09

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:09
For work building I use red backs out last blundstones by about a year.

FollowupID: 394308

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 02:39

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 02:39
eric , mate give steel blues a go, you wont ever go back, best damn steel cap boots by a mile, we wear em for 10-12 hrs straight on tarmac and concrete and no sore or hot burning feet :-)))

They even come with a comfort guarantee
FollowupID: 394382

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:42

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:42
As far as I'm aware, it's legal to drive in QLD in bare feet - but is illegal to drive in thongs.

It is illegal to drive in either thongs OR bare feet in NSW.

How the hell do you feel safe driving in thongs? The damn things are totally unsafe in my view. I remember trying once, and a thong got caught on the side of the brake pedal when quickly moving my foot from accelerator to brake one day. Damn-near hit the car in front. Will never do that again.
AnswerID: 140591

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:43

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:43
PS - I drive in a pair of elastic-sided John Bull boots. Good comfort and great grip.
FollowupID: 394201

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:16

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:16
G'day Chrispy,

Not sure about the bare foot or thongs thing and the law but when on Fraser Island you'd be hard pressed to find people wearing footware and the local boys don't seem to book anyone for doing this.

FollowupID: 394209

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:21

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:21
Hey Beatit :)

Yup - you'd be right there.

There's the "letter of the law"... and there's the "real" world. At least there are still places to go that the law doesn't get in the way all the time.....

Last time I was on Fraser I wore boots - but then again I always do. They look pretty funny in a swimming costume ;)
FollowupID: 394210

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:26

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:26
A bit like my brother in law, lives on the farm. He looks totally uncomfortable out of his boots - always wears them. Has lilly white feet when the socks come off and would get burt to crisp if they saw sunlight.

FollowupID: 394212

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:31

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:31
LOL!!!!!! That's EXACTLY like me! HAHA!!!! I wear mine on our property - and at home too. I won't take them off unless I'm in the shower.

What's sunlight?
FollowupID: 394213

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:50

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:50
Must make a mess of the sheets come bedtime:o))))
FollowupID: 394226

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:53

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:53
Nah - just hang 'em out the end!
FollowupID: 394227

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:10

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:10
Redback boots, no laces. I find regular use they reduce fuel consumption slightly more than a fitch. 10yrs old, elastic ripped on one side, faded so much they're now just off-white, wear them everywhere except the most nicest of nice places.
AnswerID: 140596

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:28

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:28
For all the thong lovers like myself,I can highly reccomend a fairly new brand on the market.They are called Souls made in SriLanka from recycled car tyres and can be bought in a lot of chemists for about $16.Last forever and very comfortable.
AnswerID: 140601

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:47

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:47
I remember an ad in Track and Trail in early 80s which was a pi$$ take on recycling tires.. they were cutting up knobby tires and using them!
FollowupID: 394216

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:02

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:02
I have a vauge memory of,I think they were thongs made out of old tyre tread..maybee mid seventy's...but definatly no laces to seen.!
FollowupID: 394220

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:25

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:25
I think they stuck them onto bases of old cheapy trucky style thongs.. but yea sounds it....
FollowupID: 394223

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:12

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:12
I think they were called treads. You wore them when you weren't wearing your platforms and they went well with the Miller shirt, the Connie cardigan, the flares and the Starsky jacket.
FollowupID: 394279

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:20

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:20
I prefer Wicked Weasel thongs, they are about shoe lace consistency.

FollowupID: 394661

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:56

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 12:56
What about a pair of Nike Pumps? You can lower them whilst driving on sand and mud and then pump them right up for highway travel.
AnswerID: 140604

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:00

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:00
how many psi?
FollowupID: 394218

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:31

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:31
but do you use Stauns?
FollowupID: 394224

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:39

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:39
Yeah,but do we go the broad chunky type nike or would the cheese cutter variety be better.And incase we puncture one or both of our nikes do we plug the hole with lace?.
FollowupID: 394225

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:07

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:07
Drive in bare feet.

Can't walk in thongs, they fall off.

Hate doing up laces of shoes or boots. That is formal wear only.
AnswerID: 140606

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:53

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 13:53
This is one of the most interesting and informative laces...I mean threads I have ever read!!!!!

Truckie your an evil man.

AnswerID: 140613

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:20

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:20
What ever do you mean :)~
FollowupID: 394347

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 14:26

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 14:26
Hobs..bottom three holes laced with roo hide
AnswerID: 140619

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:59

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 16:59
thongs....kiwi ray and Cliff from NZ wont have any idea what your talking about fellas.......they call them jandles if I recall!

I still reckon its a wierd name to give to a pair of things....but then again they're from over the tasman so we cant hold that against them eh?

Me usually Rossi lites ....redbacks also sometimes.....
AnswerID: 140641

Follow Up By: crfan - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 19:45

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 19:45
They also call them flip/flops
FollowupID: 394300

Reply By: gramps - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:03

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:03
Bugger ! Don't you guys work at all? Spend the whole bloody day debating a question that only has one correct answer

Black and white formal Jap boots. The ONLY way to travel.

You can get the optional shoelace attachment if you prefer but Bootlaces are coming to a screen near you sooooooon!
AnswerID: 140642

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:14

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:14
For driving long distance - bare feet. When track cruising sneakers with no socks(so you can get out and chase lizards) Now always carry a pair of socks after ripping my feet to shreds walking 40k in shoes with no socks
AnswerID: 140648

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:20

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:20
And keep a closer eye on the fuel situation, eh Davoe :)))) You were obviously distracted chasing lizards at the time.
FollowupID: 394266

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:19

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:19
Any pair of shoes will do me (they're all the same), but the shoelaces are the important factor. Would you happen to know which are the best?
AnswerID: 140649

Reply By: Member - David 0- Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:37

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 17:37
I hate drivin in shoes, hate hate hate hate! There thats better.
When I have to, I wear the lightest thinest soles I can
AnswerID: 140650

Reply By: Member - t0me (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:52

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:52
Std camping/4wd'ing for me is a pair of stretch side Blundstones and a pair of sort of flipflops (like a sandal) bloody comfortable :-) Sorted.
AnswerID: 140664

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:12

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:12
Me fur lined camping slippers
AnswerID: 140681

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:20

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:20
Might have to do a test on these Willem against other shoes..
FollowupID: 394348

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:37

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:37
Day trips, I wear the Blunnies.... the steel capped no-laces variety Blunnie.... feel naked without them!
AnswerID: 140686

Reply By: Turbo - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:44

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:44
Howdy All' dave here what kind of shoes are redbacks.????
AnswerID: 140711

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:02

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 22:02
The ones I got are 'lastic-side work boots.. (no steel caps on mine)...
Been wearin' 'em ALL DAY, EVERY DAY for about 18 months, & hardly a mark on 'em, & the best bit is that they're MADE IN AUSTRALIA (that's what's moulded into the sole, anyway:-))
Ya can get 'em in suede as well, if that's yer fancy....
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 394338

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 10:40

Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 10:40
Truckster, only 1200 views?? Perhaps people don't like their shoes as much as their laces.
AnswerID: 140774

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:12

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:12
So I take it nobody wears shoes?

AnswerID: 140972

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:24

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:24
You're an evil eeviiiiiil man Truckster.
FollowupID: 394634

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:47

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:47
your a cheeky bugger,the lace got the boot but you brought it back withthe shoes...I will have 1 t shirt with with the great lace post 2005..and the resurection..ever so sly of the great shoe post 2005..thanks.
JD
FollowupID: 394678

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 20:31

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 20:31
Kmart flog off a pair of slippers that look for all the world like a pair of moccassins/ boat shoe ,all of $19 and price has not changed in 12yrs , comfort + !!! newest pair as indoor only , 2nd pair as drivers ,3rd pair as out door walking and 4th pair for gardening ,,,
AnswerID: 141028