Rosco - Qld
Travelling overnight from
Sydney to
Foster via the coast.
Where would be the best overnight stop??
Perhaps an old pub or something similar. Expect 2/1/06 so need to know and make necessary booking.
Ta all ... :-)
Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 00:02
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 00:02
G'Day Rosco,
Will try to check with a few mates who go up there a bit fishing.
Now, the real reason for my interlude - you wouldn't happen to have a pic of the dual battery system in the 'Fender you could pass on. Have lots of info but pic would make it all come together
Rolande
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:16
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:16
I'll see what I can organise and email them off.
Cheers cob
Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:55
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:55
Much appreciated
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 00:13
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 00:13
What? cant a landie owner just make do with chucking the Bluey in the back!!
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:15
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:15
That's the plan for the return run, via the high country.
Need to behave like a Tojo driver on the way down .......... ;-)
Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 07:17
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 07:17
Try this Travelmate link.
Jack
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:18
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 08:18
Thanks Jack
I'll check it out.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:04
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:04
Sydney to
Foster, if you go via the highway is not a real long drive. Maybe 4hours but probably more like 3.
If you want to stop and look at things it could be a very long drive. I would recommend that you have a look around Newcaslte. The closure of the steel mills has meant the place has cleaned up a lot in the last 15 years and the beaches just south of the river are beautiful. Also go over to
Stockton and have a look at
the beach and the wreck of the Sigma. You need a permit to drive this part of the coast but you can pick one up near the entry point to
the beach. (Servo at the big roundabout)
There are nice CV parks in the Port Stephens area. Have stayed a few times at Middle Rock CP it was very nice and just a walk over the dunes to
the beach. Hallifax Point is also very nice.
You can also drive sections of
the beach north from Tea Gardens and there is a nice drive up between Miall Lakes and the coast, although it used to be a bit rough and there was talk of it closing. Someone more local than me may have more recent info.
You have picked one of the busiest times to visit this area. It's a pitty you won't have the peace and quiet that used to be available in the area outside peek times. It may all be peek times now.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:49
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:49
Thanks mate, but a wee bit of confusion here.
I meant
Foster in Vic, not Forster in NSW
Thanks anyway
Reply By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:34
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:34
Hi Rosco, it’s a long drive down the coast to Vic and if you want to do some site seeing it would probably be worth your while to make two overnight stops.
There's lot to see and plenty of interesting towns to go through.
You can leisurely make
Ulladulla for lunch on the first day and then start your site seeing from there.
With the exception of
Kiama, which is now bypassed, and Berry, it’s pretty ordinary along the hwy between
Sydney and
Batemans Bay but from there on you can make a pig of yourself with things to see.
lots of little towns that are
well worth stopping, at like Tilba Central and you’ll see the others as you go.
I hope you are going to take a run out to
Wilson’s Promontoty while your at Forster. That is probably the highlight of the whole coast road.
Cheers and enjoy.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:03
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:03
Thanks mate
The Prom is certainly on our list.
Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:58
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:58
I’m jealous, if you haven’t been through that area, it’s a beautiful part of the country and now with all the rain they have had, it’s going to be a very green trip.
Again, if you have the time, turn off the hwy just south of Tilba and follow the coast down through Bermagui through
Tathra, to
Merimbula.
Merimbula’s a good place for an overnight stop and the club there puts on a good meal.
Anyway, enjoy your trip, cheers.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:08
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:08
Maaate
That's only the half of it. The cobber in
Foster is a mad keen fisherman with boat etc ... he's talking crays and abalone + fish.
His mate, the local sherriff (sargeant of pol) is talking about taking me out after
deer.
All this followed up by a trip back through the high country ... I tell you what .... ya wouldn't be dead for quids hey !!!!