arb style switches.
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:11
gareth
i did a search but found nothing. does anyone know where i can find dash switches to match the ones arb supply with their diff lockers?
thanks
gareth
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:20
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:20
Gareth,
ARB do actually sell the switches separately with the stamping on them for either "front locker", "rear locker" or "compressor".
Other than that, there has been an ad' in the last couple of 4WD Monthly magazine issue for a mob ("rocket" something or other I reckon) and one of the piccys in the ad shows a bank of about 6 switches VERY similar to the ARB type rocker switches; but without any writing on them.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:49
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:49
Just checked out the mag in the krappa.......
www.rocketind.com
the switches are made by MOROSO
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 16:58
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 16:58
What are you doing in the Krappa reading mags?
Don't you have any work to do. LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 17:01
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 17:01
Should have added, is that your mag or a company issued one????. LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 18:44
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 18:44
It was MY mag mate.....and I spend a LOT of time on the krappa.....I do my best thinking (& stinking) in there!!!!!!!!!! hehehehe ;-))
Reply By: WheelTravel - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:27
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:27
ARB sell em for $15....
$15 !!!!!!!!!! For a peice of plastic designed to break!
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 19:48
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 19:48
One of
mine landed at my feet just when I needed it, stuck it back in with some blutack, hasn't fallen off again.
Follow Up By: Michael Carey - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 07:40
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 07:40
Actually, from a technical viewpoint they are an excellent design. The sealed version is rated at IP68 (they are designed for the marine environment) 'aint no dust or
water getting in these babies! They are quite rugged, I've used and seen heaps of them on both pleasure and fishing boats and have yet to come across a broken one. Some people may cringe at $15+ a swictch, but when I have spent over $40000 on a new 4WD, spending a what is really very little money on a quality product is a pleasure....
Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:11
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:11
Mate, I'm just talking the rocker cover for $15, not the switch
And i think it's a rip off...
For a switch...OK, but not a cover!
Reply By: Damon - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:31
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:31
While on this subject, my arb locker & compressor switches get really hot! I always wanted to ask if anyone else has the same happening.
Regards, Damon.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:40
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 15:40
Yep, but only when the light/s are on ;-))
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:07
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:07
Damon,
I found the same and ended up wiring a potentiometer across each swich to allow me to dim the lights, now I can see them but they dont get hot. I can also flick a swich and get them to flash via a flashing chip circuit.
Bonz
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:19
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:19
Strewth Bonz,..........how many fingers did you cut off or burn, soldering all that lot up???? hahahaha ;-)))
How are all your injuries coming along? Lucy tells me you're on a first name basis with all the doctors and nurses at your local hospital.....hehehe
Cya mate
Reply By: Ando80 - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 18:37
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 18:37
Quite sure I saw some that looked similar in the 12v
Shop. Were pricey though, I think they were even higher than the $15 a previous reply advised ARB charge!! So, if they are only to replace your broken ones go to ARB..
Ando80
Reply By: Michael Carey - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:52
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:52
The switches that ARB use are made by
Carlingswitch
made in the US/Mexico, distributed in Australia by...
Amelec
They are also available from RS Components. I bought some from both suppliers to fit into my new, recently installed custom roof console, I went through AMI who are an Amelec agent.
a href="
http://www.users.on.net/~michaelcarey/pics/hilux/Nov2005/">Roof Console
I also bought the six gang "holder" from AMI as
well. The Amelec ones are globe illuminated, similar to the ARB ones, but they only have red lenses. You have to buy heaps for them to do a custom order from the US. There are literally hundreds of different switch and actuator combinations!
RS Components have globe illuminated PLUS red and green LED switches. They also have Yellow, Green and Purple actuators! I changed a green LED switch to a blue LED for my spotlight switch, looks great! I did get an ARB Compressor one for my ARB compressor, funnily enough!!
Not cheap, but I think they really look the part....
Follow Up By: Michael Carey - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:58
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:58
Oops, screwed up my link! For those who can't be bothered to cut and paste....
Roof Console
Follow Up By: gareth - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:34
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:34
Aha! Thanks for that. They'll do nicely for my
driving lights (yes, yes... i know... im a bit anal when it comes to things matching and looking decent).
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 06:49
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 06:49
Hi Gareth
Hella mack switchs that are identical to the ARB ones and the interchangable lables. there are also a lot of different switching options
Ray
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:33
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:33
ARB have them at about $23 a pop.
Reply By: 100TD - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:46
Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:46
i broke the glass out the globes leaving the cap only and installed a resistor and high intensity led in them and they work a treat!!!!!
Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 20:39
Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 20:39
Just got this reply from Amelec today - about a
Sydney reseller:
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Hi Chris,
I have just come back today from O.S. so hence the delay in responding.
We do have a reseller in
Sydney, Electric Boat Parts.
Ph No 9417 8455
Contact is Kurt.
I have attached a pdf of our catalogue which showcases a large portion of
our stock.
This is on the V series, a stock line for us, not the J series.
I trust that this will be of help and thank you again for your interest.
Phillip de Mamiel
Sales Manager
Amelec Australia
phill@amelec.com.au