Rear Window Saver
Submitted: Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:37
Member - Matt L (NSW)
Can anyone offer any advice on the effectiveness of a window saver and or the best way to protect your rear window from stones when towing a trailer?
I have fitted a stone guard to my trailer, do I need the additional protection of a window saver. If I do what is the best brand.
Matt
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:44
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:44
G'day Matt,
I have both, why? Because I broke a rear window and had to
fork out $700 to have it replaced. Hate to have this happen in some remote DUSTY place - so figured it was cheap insurance.
Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:52
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:52
Make your own from perspex and use velcro to stick it to the window. I used that clear liquid nails to hold the velcro strips on, and a special automotive perspex that "is virtualy unbreakable", it is really easy to cut and drill. On our last corner trip we heard a very loud bang on the rear window but there was no damage to anything. If you do a search there is a bit of info from people who have done their own.
Reply By: Member - Wayne N (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:54
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:54
Hi Matt,
Yes, had a mate travelling with us still break a back window although his trailer has a stone guard fitted. Luckily, he had tinting film on the glass, and it held together for a couple more days till we got to
Broome and got new one fitted. $$$$$ though.
Stone must ricocheted off of the metal frame, although his has foam rubber padding on the frame and under the shade cloth.
We then both had some acralic plasic cut to suit, and we attach with double sided tape and duct tape.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:55
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:55
Obie's Outback sell them.
Take a look here .
Reply By: pmacks - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:56
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:56
G Day Matt
we have one that we made out of core flute platic just cut to fit the patrols rear windows then attach with duct tape and by my reconning has saved the window from breaking at least twice.
We also got big blood shot eyes painted onto ours, we cant see over the goldstream anyway so we are not worried about vision out the back windows.
Looks different, works a treat and the all up cost including the eyes and core flute about $35.00 and has lasted 6 years so far.
Pmacks
Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:20
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:20
Sounds like a good idea. Might be time for me to upgrade from the VB carton and gaffer tape!
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:30
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:30
Mate,
I reakon its time you also upgraded from VB to a decent beer.
Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:55
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:55
Actually Sandy I've been working on it for 26 years, still not sure which alternative is the best...better keep working on it. Actually the Crownie carton might be a better fit (the VB one is just not quite big enough) might try that next...
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:30
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:30
I use one of those sun reflectors that you put in the windscreen when parked, cut to size and taped on. Works fine. Can't see through it but have too much gear in the back to see out anyway. Also keeps sun off the fridge.
Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:55
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:55
Also use the corflute (old real estate
sign) and duct tape. easy to clean, easy to store - folds down. Works for us.
Stones still bounce off the stone deflector frame onto paintwork but we paint Scratch Pro on for the big trips.
Only advantage I can see with Obie is it's 'see through' , but the backs usually packed and blocking sight anyway. Pretty exy for what it is.
Have to watch it if you have auto rear wipers.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 15:38
Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 15:38
Matt ,
I have a Trak Shak camper and it has shadecloth going from the top of the stone guard to the back of the car . It attaches to the bumper bar with occy straps , so that it can flex when you turn the car .
It lets NO rocks through . If you have to worry about broken windows , it means the back of your car is being peppered by rocks - not a good look on the duco .
You can make the extension yourself very easilly .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 15:43
Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 15:43
Yes - big bucks for rear window replacement on most vehicles -
well worth the investment of either an "obies" one or we got from a local perspex place a product called "Tuffek" - 2mm thick - quite bendable - which you need - perpex may be too thick if you have a rounded window shape - anyway - velcro from "bunnings" or some place like that - total cost $75.00 - less than 1/10th of the cost of a rear window - don't think realy that a sun visor thing would protect your glass - need something with a bit of rigidity in my opinion.
jules
Reply By: Neil & Lynne - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 18:55
Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 18:55
We use 1.5 mm poly carbonate cut to the shape of the window, held on with self adhesive velcro on the poly AND on the window. Sticks like chite to a blanket as long as the dust is wiped off first.
Very important I think to have a couple packers (more velcro) in the middle of the window to hold the poly off the glass. If a stone strikes where where they contact then the glass may still break as the shock is transferred.
Another benefit it that I can still see thru the back window when the van is in a
park and we are exploring. (stick that scruby :-)
Neil & Lynne
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:18
Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:18
LOL,
Just had visions of sticking Scruby to the back window where he could function as a stone guard while towing the camper and a pedestrian warning system when the nasty big 4WD is in reverse.... sorry, back on my head now....