snatch strap on tow ball not a good idea

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 17:32
ThreadID: 28398 Views:6477 Replies:24 FollowUps:34
hi all
down at robe last week end with a few mates came across a cruiser stuck in sand a patrol ready to snatch him out we stopped to see if they need any help .they advised they would be ok. one of our guys noticed the snatch strap connected to the tow ball we advised not a good idea. patrol driver said she'll be right.
we watched as he took off a lot quicker than he should have the tow ball snapped with a loud crack went through the back window cargo barrier clipped the drivers ear on the way through on through the front window and landed about a 100m in front of the patrol. the driver was pretty shacken up by the experience we gave him a stiff beer (thats all we had) dressed his ear and retreived the cruiser. i had read and heard about this happening but first time i had seen it . just a timely warning to people how lethal these things can be in the wrong hands.

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 17:42

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 17:42
I think you are spot on there; you can read and be told about the dangers but until you are the person/persons involved or witness it first hand you don’t fully appreciate how dangerous it all can be.
AnswerID: 141128

Follow Up By: sudsy - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 11:53

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 11:53
But still, It's amazing how many people still dont know how dangerous some recovery methods can be and worse, those that do and still do them!

"you can read and be told about the dangers........" Well not every bit of recovery equipment sold comes with proper instructions for correct use, I think it's about time that standardised methods are drafted and should be law to enclose those proper instructions with all equipment, especially when there is some substandard equipment on the market i.e.- el cheapo snatch straps and tow balls etc. which should be illegal IMO. I think it would help save some misery for those who would otherwise get hurt or damage property.

A few months back I was chassis stuck in a hole up the Border track. My bro in law promptly jumps out his rig, gets his old and slightly frayed snatch strap, throws it over our tow balls and proceeds back to his rig.
Meanwhile I undid everything he did (much to his offence) and rigged my own snatch strap through the tow bar hitch sleeves. His comment was, "my tow ball hasn't broken yet!" My response, "and I aint gonna be the first to see it!"
FollowupID: 394839

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 17:49

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 17:49
Some people are just plain stupid
AnswerID: 141131

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 21:37

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 21:37
Succinctly put, Willem.

Some people just can't comprehend that fire is hot without getting burnt first, no matter what you tell them.

FollowupID: 394806

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 17:01

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 17:01
No such thing as plain stupid, they come in all shapes and sizes Willem.

FollowupID: 394861

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 17:58

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 17:58
Hi John

Hi Bonz

Speak for yourself...hahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 394872

Follow Up By: Nick R - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:52

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:52
You can tell some people, others can read it in a book but still some people pee on the electric fence!!!!!
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 394911

Reply By: JW - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 18:06

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 18:06
I am confused here. Was the towball on the Patrol or the Cruiser? Was it a back to back snatch? Please clarify.
Jon W
AnswerID: 141137

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 18:40

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 18:40
Had to be, unless, the tow ball went into orbit!
FollowupID: 394796

Follow Up By: al - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 19:05

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 19:05
it was a back to back snatch ball broke on the cruiser.

al
FollowupID: 394799

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 22:36

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 22:36
I guess the front wishbones were anchored in the sand!!! (tongue in cheek).
FollowupID: 394810

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 19:30

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 19:30
Darwins theory of natural selection thwarted once again
AnswerID: 141144

Reply By: Savvas - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 21:45

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 21:45
I somehow think that too many people watch Russell Coight do this on TV, not realising that it's the wrong thing to do.
AnswerID: 141157

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 22:33

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 22:33
Laughing here.. My sisters father in law said a few years ago after watching russell coight... Gee he doesn't seem to get much right!! yeah!!! i guess he didnt get it LOL!!!
FollowupID: 394809

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 08:45

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 08:45
That's the problem with Russell Coight..... too many people would watch it and think it's a serious documentary! Your sister's father-in-law is obviously one and he isn't alone. I have watched quite a few of his shows, (ever notice that the tv station airs him when there isn't much competition?) and to be honest the only time I ever got a really good laugh was when he was demonstrating karate and kicked his way through his tent. I didn't see that coming! (Usually I find his "stunts" predictable) Too often he shows the "wrong" way which may be good for a laugh, but doesn't correct himself. So many people would think it's ok to do these stupid stunts, thinking he just got it wrong on the day.
The other annoying thing is that other countries probably watch it and think all of us Aussies are a bunch of dimwits like him!
FollowupID: 394822

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 00:11

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 00:11
That is the best decription of an 'apotheosis of a f x x xwit' that I have ever read.

What more can one say.
AnswerID: 141168

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 02:10

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 02:10
yeah another "coit moment" , a bloke at work was trying to sprout about his "hardcore 4x4 adventures" and emailed me some photos of his disco in action.

well pretty tame track with small mud hole, action shots etc, then a dude stuck his old rangie in the hole - dunno how, could have done it on 2wd easy, and they had the snatchie hooked up ready to go.

Where was the strap ? - wraped around the top and middle bar of the homemade bullbar of course !!!!!

I just said yeah man thats grouse, What else can you say :-))
AnswerID: 141172

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 08:53

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 08:53
Quote;
"Where was the strap ? - wraped around the top and middle bar of the homemade bullbar of course !!!!!

I just said yeah man thats grouse, What else can you say :-))"

Ask the poor bugger at Ormeau a few years back who lost his legs thanks to the snatch strap on the home-made bull bar routine.

Some of these people need to be saved from themselves!
AnswerID: 141176

Reply By: Tuff60 - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:40

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:40
Haven't seen a towball break like this yet(touch wood), but a few years back with a mate towing a POS tandem trailor that had run out of brake fluid and using the she'll be right theory we kept going untill, on braking hard for the lights at the bottom of the hill the ball let go just before the "A" frame of the trailor came in through the back doors to visit us. Learn't then and there that even rated towballs are not that strong.
On the bullbar thing have seen plenty of the winch hook retaining loops on the bottom or ARB's and the like let go real easy, and some people are still using them to snatch, just a matter of time.
AnswerID: 141194

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:15

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:15
Yeah I snapped a towball whilst coming out of a steep dipping driveway, the van hit the deck because of the angle we were on, had it been the other way (on a crested driveway) who knows where the a frame of the van would have ended up (probably in the back door like yours). As you said even rated towballs can and will break. Murphy's law says it will happen at the most inoppotune time.
FollowupID: 394907

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 17:05

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 17:05
Wheres the pics?

AnswerID: 141208

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:33

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:33
[ bleep .jpg" target="EOF">View Image]
FollowupID: 394940

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:34

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:34
http://stiksandstones.com/wc1/images/bullchit.jpg
replace the c with an s
FollowupID: 394941

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:31

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:31
You saying its not happened? I dave my houbts

FollowupID: 394990

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:37

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:37
I notice that in a recent issue of 4WD Monthly, they did an article on snatching proceedures. (In fact I reckon 4X4 Austrlaia also did a similar article).....

But I also remember that 4WD Monthly did an articles several years ago called "MYTH BUSTERS"........and one of the 10 (from memory it was "10") myths that they busted was the issue of snatching using a towball. The writer said it was all a lot of bulls h i t about towballs snapping off (he did put an over-rider on it that the towball should be checked for cracks and other obvious signs of a hard life).

Here is SA, those of us who are members of clubs which form the state association of 4wd Clubs, are encouraged to do the official training. The official policy now is that 2 x 5kg of drag chain MUST be attached to the snatch strap.....@ one/third intervals along the strap. That way, if a shackle or body-mounted recovery point "lets go", the chain will dampen the sling-shot effect and the projectile will have a minimal impact......they demonstrate this through the use of a DVD which our SA Driver Training Unit blokes did. It shows that a bow shackle which is attached to a snatch strap which lets go, will fire back and it went clean through 2x 9mm sheets of plywood and an old car bonnet. However, with the 2 x 5kg lumps of chain attached to the strap, the shackle fell to the ground harmlessly.

AnswerID: 141227

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:24

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 20:24
Hello Roachie,
Is this DVD distributed by your club?
Sounds like something those of us outside SA should see.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 394890

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:38

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:38
G'day Geoff,
AFAIK, each club has (or should have) a copy of the DVD. Even though I'm the president of our club (YP 4WD Club), I'm not sure if we've got one....if we have it is probably in the hands of our DT coordinator. It is a very long (and somewhat boring) powerpoint presentation mainly about the theory of 4WDriving etc, but it has a couple of these short DVD segments amongst it.
I've actually just come back from 2 days of DT up at Spear Creek (near Pt Augusta) and the trainer we had (from Adelaide) was one of the blokes involved in the filming of that demonstration.
I would think that most clubs across the country should be able to access this stuff through the ANFWDC.
FollowupID: 394896

Reply By: mcgra (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:41

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 19:41
hi Gang

I came across a similar situation a few weeks back and thankfully they had no room to get a decent pull. they had joined two snatch straps doubled over and joined them with a bow shackle and one end on the ball of the tow bar.

We stopped the pair from continuing and explained what was wrong and the dangers at hand.

We then showed them how to join the snatch straps correctly and used the pin from the hitch instaed of the ball. second pull and he was out of trouble.

I have spoke with our association delegate and urge you all to do the same to get the 4x4 bodies to contact these makers of the snatch straps to put a warning in the pack about such danderous practices.
doesnt mean that people will read them but at least its a start.

gra

AnswerID: 141228

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:36

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:36
I really don't want to offend anyone , but it sounds a little far fetched. Yes I know what damage recoveries can do and yes i have experienced it first hand.

Not that I would use a tow ball, but I have never seen a tow ball snap . If it was tight , it would be almost impossible , if it was loose , there is a possibility.

I think the strap would have given before a tow ball

Point 2 , OK, we have all seen a object go though a back window , but through a cargo barrier? that's a bit much .

OK , lets say the tow ball was loose and not rated and was made in Taiwan , the cargo barrier was home made and rusty , I would like to see pics of this to make me believe ti happened .

If you have pic's please send them or post them here for me to see. Then I will apologize for been pessimistic
AnswerID: 141241

Follow Up By: brett - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:57

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 21:57
Maybe I'm picturing this wrong, but if the strap was just hooked onto the towball and the ball broke wouldn't the ball just travel a short way and fall to the ground and the snatch strap go flying back at the car like a slingshot. I can't see the ball staying snuggly in that big loop at the end of a snatch unless it was physically tied on, which it may have been.
FollowupID: 394903

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:11

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:11
If it would snap , I wouls say that the momentum would get it going somewhat . It would be a one in a million that it would have balance the center of weight in the ball to make it a projectile .

One unlucky bloke ?????
FollowupID: 394905

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:50

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 22:50
My GQ has got a pretty reasonable dent in the back door from a flying snatch strap and that was snatch strap only. It was a night time drive with a shorty GQ stuck in a mud hole and the tow hook on an ARB winch bar upright straightened out on the 3rd try and the strap hit the back of my GQ with a sound like a bomb had gone off. Unfortunately, the "arrestor" bag which was on the strap about 1/2 way along had "jumped" off during the previous 2 snatches and no one noticed as it was dark.
I'm sure in my mind that if it had been a shackle, it would have gone through my rear door with no problems at all.
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 394910

Follow Up By: al - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:18

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:18
rock crawler
think what you will i only put this article on here as warning to others
if you think it is safe to snatch on a tow ball go a head we will be reading your
death notice one day or someone else that may be snatching you.
you sound like one of these guys if i haven't done it or seen it it could'nt happen i'm glad i don't go 4wding with you.
al
FollowupID: 394939

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:35

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:35
I smell bovine faeces here too
FollowupID: 394942

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:45

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:45
Good grief, go to 4wdmonthly forum and search for the video of a good and bad snatch when a strap breaks and goes through the rear window of a 60 series when snatching a GQ out of a mud hole, then you might wake up.

The video is mudfest 2004.
FollowupID: 394949

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:36

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:36
Ok , lets get the story straight , I have done my fair share of recoveries , and as stated above , I WOUDN'T snack from a tow ball,

My reason , to much chance of the snack coming off.

My coment IS .... as stated above I find it hard to believe that a tow call can snap UNLESS it was loose or non rated ( havent seen a unrated tow ball in agess)
. Then if it did ,,, you would have to be the unluckies bloke it the world to send it though your window. The fact that it went though the back window is no suprize to me .

What has me stuffed if that it went though a cargo barrier .... This is what I want pictures of.......

A shackle is attacked to a snack , so no suprize to me there that it headed in the right direction.......

Now dont get on a high horse and think we all have no idea on recoveries , because I have been called out in the middle of the night more times that i wish I had. You only need ask people here that have been out with me to understand how seirous I take recoveries.

I hope you have photos of what ypou say happened , so I can say F^&*K what a unlucky B^&*^%D . Unless I see picls I would swear black and blue it wouldnt have gone through the barrier ...

Enjoy your wheeling
FollowupID: 394999

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:47

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:47
Quote ........you sound like one of these guys if i haven't done it or seen it it could'nt happen i'm glad i don't go 4wding with you.
al ..........

Dint you say you gave the guy a beer ?????? is this the right way to treat someone for shock , give him Alcohol ?

Unlike you , I would never with the death of anyone , I hope everyone stays safe
FollowupID: 395002

Reply By: brett - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 23:03

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 23:03
There's no doubt if the towball did get launched it would go through most things in it's path. But wouldn't the loop of the snatch slip off the towball as it snapped. And how did the thing get him on the ear, wouldn't the headrest have got in the road, unless he had big ears of coarse
AnswerID: 141252

Follow Up By: MikeyS - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:37

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:37
The loop of the snatch strap would be very tight around the neck of the towball when max. force is reached. I'd expect the neck, or narrowest part of the ball to be the bit that breaks, although it could be the bolt that breaks off due to the levering force. Either way, I'd doubt that loop would let go the instant the ball breaks.
MikeyS
FollowupID: 394947

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 01:03

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 01:03
You don't have to search far to find coroners reports involving snatch straps and flying objects.

US Dept Labour:
This truck lost traction in a muddy area at the base of the ramp. The second oiler pulled his truck in front of the victim's truck and they attached a nylon tow rope from a hook on the back of the towing truck to a hook on the front of the victim's truck. On the first attempt to pull the victim's truck, the hook broke off the hitch receiver of the towing truck and projected back toward the victim's truck, striking the windshield in the lower left corner. The hook hit the metal support on the left side of the windshield and deflected into the victim's head, causing fatal injuries. The hook weighed 2.5 pounds.

Good link with the physics behind the flying shackle here CLICK HERE

There are two reports of people being killed by towballs in Australia on the net that seem to come up in these sorts of threads. One was on Moreton Island and the other in Esperance WA but you can't find news or coroners reports on them.

One of the mags had a good article on how to use a tree trunk protector as a safety brake if you had to use a shackle to do a snatch recovery, it'd be about 12 months or more ago though.

AnswerID: 141258

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 03:15

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 03:15
Well I have used the tow ball for a reverse recovery and wouldnt hesitate to do it again. However the snatch wasnt looped over the ball it was atached by (rated) d shackle on the shaft of the towball. the shaftof the tow ball is held by an upper and lower tounge whith about 3-5 cm between them. If that busts I reckon you would need a grader or dozer at the other end - I cant see any way that it wouldnt be stronger that a tow bar reciever hitch pin by a factor of heeeeps
AnswerID: 141260

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 08:50

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 08:50
How do you educate the ignorant when some of the blokes on this forum are also non-believers.

WAKE UP CHAPS!!!

AnswerID: 141272

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:40

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:40
You can take a horse to water but you can't make it drink.

To me, common sense dictates that a purpose built recovery point OR the hitch pin in a HR tow bar have got to be far better/safer propositions than a bloody towball.

One guy I recovered from sand tried to justify using his towball purely on a time taken basis. For crying out loud!!!!

I laughed, removed his towball assembly, connected to the pin, told him to shut up and get in his vehicle and snatched him out easy as pie.

He was still arguing the toss as I replaced his towball, stored my strap and drove on.

I suppose the next good samaritan will have to go through the same rigmarole with this fool.

FollowupID: 394943

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:40

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:40
i dont think it is wise to use the tow ball , I am just astounded that it snapped . a shackle in the tow ball hole is a much better option

FollowupID: 395000

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:56

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:56
I've never seen a towball snap either and I'd prefer to stay that way.

We all acknowledge how dangerous recoveries can be. It's a matter of making it as safe as possible under the prevailing circumstances. That may mean waiting for a better equipped vehicle, more knowledgable/experienced person or spending a lot of time digging etc. Some situations may call for more risk taking than others. As usual there is no black and white to cover ALL situations.

As stated in another post, THINK before we ACT.
FollowupID: 395003

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 18:22

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 18:22
Good advice gramps
FollowupID: 395011

Reply By: Tuff60 - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 09:23

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 09:23
As I said in my previous post, yet to see a towball come apart from snatching, but I will post a photo of the back of the violated 60 series from when the "RATED" towball let go when I get back to Aust. And whoever said it would not go through a cargo barrier, I think you're putting too much faith in those things, visit a few wreckers or damaged auction lots to see what happens to them when the vehicle stops suddenly, which involves the same thing as something being propelled at it.
And using the reciever pin has mentioned, does not provide a heavy weight missile in the event of breakage, unlike a towball or shackle, as the pieces would stay in the tube. But best of luck with any practice you choose.
AnswerID: 141276

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:44

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 17:44
Hi tuff , if you say you have seen a ball go though a cargo barrier , then that make 2 people who say the same thing , has me dumfounded of the force needed , especialy under foing though a window, then to have enough momentum to go through a front window after that is sceary
FollowupID: 395001

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 18:18

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 18:18
Hi Rock Crawler, I don't question the validity of it happening, could have, lots of ifs though. Conditions would have to be pretty good for the broken ball to lock in to the loop until it reached max velocity and then be released at just the right time. One in a billion chances but it could happen and I don't pass judgment on anyone's credibility. Let's for the exercise say it did do this. Could a strap snap off a tow ball?? Course it could, many factors would allow it to happen. Would it have the inertia to go through a rear window, cargo barrier (like a Milford) and then a windscreen??? With the conditions above (ideal) damn right it could!! Could calculate the inertia knowing the mass and terminal velocity or acceleration and distance but no need. Under ideal conditions with the weight of the ball it would pass through the lot and if your head was in the road that too. I'm talking everything to the max here, large strap, max vehicle accel, bogged vehicle not budging, and ball breaking at point of max energy in the strap. However the conditions for the hold and release of the ball would have to be pretty good, hope they are not the odds for me winning lotto.
FollowupID: 395010

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 18:27

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 18:27
would be a great one for mith busters . Really bad odds of it all happening lol . Scary thought , very scary
FollowupID: 395014

Follow Up By: Tuff60 - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 07:37

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 07:37
Rock Crawler, I was not saying I had seen a tow ball go through a cargo barrier, by the 60 being violated i meant by the trailor we were towing at the time. I have seen all sorts of things destroy cargo barriers, just loose objects that have become missiles in front end accidents, they either tear the barriers loose or pass through them. I was just saying they are not as strong as people percieve. Could a tow ball go through sure, somewhere on the net is a video of a bowling ball going in one side of a car and out the other(taking one door with it) so it is all about the mass and momentum, which someone else can work out.
FollowupID: 395109

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 09:41

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 09:41
a few months ago - early May I think it was with Moggs, Crazie, Stan and Ashley we came across a small group of inexperienced guys snatching one of their number out. It wasn't until after we had seen the extraction we realise it was off the tow ball - one of the old style with a mild steel bolt through..... Could have been a dead'n but they were nonplussed when we suggested they could have killed their mate and the way to have done it was to have "........."

Good on them for being in the bush but hope they learn quickly.
AnswerID: 141279

Reply By: brd - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:21

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:21
Pretty scary stuff, when these sort of accidents are reported so regularly. I'm a supplier to a number of minesites, and a couple of years ago, Rio Tinto banned snatch straps from all their minesites...that's not just banning the use of them, but banning the possession of them! Just as you can't take alcohol or firearms onto a minesite, you can't even have a snatch strap stowed on board.

Of course, minesites have plenty of heavy equipment for safer recovery, so they are not required at all. 4wders don't have that luxury, so safe gear and recovery procedures are vital if snatch straps are used.
AnswerID: 141296

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:27

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:27
Thats an interesting comment about Rio Tinto banning snatch straps, I understand completely why they did this, I would add that I have never seen a snatch strap on any construction or industrial site that I have worked on.

I have mentioned this before that what we do as 4 wheel drivers would not be allowed on any sort of industrial site.
Non tested components, questionable techniques and a severe lack of training by most individuals all spell disaster.

This argument also extends to the use of tow bars in general, No manufacturer will rate their bar for snatch recoveries, nobody can calculate the precise force exerted on the bar at anytime, this includes the tow ball and the snatch strap.

Good practice (Not) to attach an 8000 kg snatch strap to a 3.4 or 5 tonne shackle or ask yourself "How much strength is left in a 8000 kg snatch strap after its been stressed once or twice"?????.
As for using repaired equipment that is now known not to have been rated by the manufacturer (In any form) is also a disaster.

As I said, I know what we do as 4 wheel drivers is not the same as industry but it would be interesting to hear what a coroner may say about our methods and techniques after he has heard expert testimony from someone in industrial safety.

My personal preference is to winch rather than snatch as you can maintain a better control of the whole situation, with a more even and consistent pressure being applied to the loads.

Please just be bloody careful out there and think before you act.

FollowupID: 394958

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:26

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:26
Sounds like a job for mithbusters
AnswerID: 141469

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:27

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:27
so so dangerous

about 7 months ago I watched a guy trying to pull out a cruiser with a chain....he hooked up the chain to recovery points on his car and then he hooked it up on the front bumper bar bit on the cruiser...I was watching this and moved my car away very fast and told the people in my car this is a bad bad idea and I yelled out of the window to the guy doing the recovery that it's a bad idea and again I got back ..."she'll be right mate"
Anyway the guy recovering made sure there was about 3 meters of slack in the chain and tried to use the chain as a snatch...the font bit ripped out of the bumper and snapped the chain and send it flying over the roof of the car...just missing the back window

idiots
AnswerID: 141472

Reply By: ImEasy - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 14:18

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 14:18
Kenoath!
AnswerID: 141513

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:51

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:51
i must say i am shocked at how many people have to see something before they believe it is true!
do towballs break during recoveries? yes they do they are even if rated as they are only rated for a dead pull they are not rated for shock strenght

do they travell at high speeds with lots of punch?
yes
is the story above possible ?
yes
do they have the ability to kill?
yes & there is a family of wa farmers how are living proof of this !

please learn from others experance ,the life it saves may be your own or that of your family
AnswerID: 141542